All

Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman Reviews

Caribbean | Cayman Islands Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 40 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.5
Dining Options
 
3.5
Room Comfort
 
4.3
4.5 out of 5
"Great place for adults or family’s. You will be well cared for and the Staff will make you feel right at home." Рldfordpilot
47 out of 51 (92%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sun setting Sunrise View from our room! Right out our balcony (2nd floor) Found on the beach view from room 206-B A view from our balcony view from back porch

All Wyndham Reef Resort Grand Cayman Customer Reviews

1-10 of 40 reviews. Sort by
June 13, 2012
Go for the beach at The Reef

So many places have small crowded beaches. My idea of paradise is getting away from the crowds. the Reef is located on the East end away from the crowds of Georgetown area resorts. We went in June so it was the off season and we were pleasently surprised by how few people were there. Never a problem getting lounge chairs in a shady spot on the beach. The beach was beautiful and plenty big enough. Great snorkling right off of the beach. The room had a great balcony and the jetted tub was very nice. We had a very relaxing time, it is not party headquarters so if that is what you are looking for dont stat at the Reef. There is a nice bar on the beach with the usual island music but it is all very laid back.


20 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Houston
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 3, 2011
Best Price Ever

The Reef was exactly like the picture on the web. Sometimes pictures on the web look airbrushed but this was not the case. The place was so very nice especially the room that we stayed in 101A where we just walked out of our room and on to the beach. Loved it! Although we were aware that the east end is very quite, and as three single women, we rented a car and drove to the 7 mile beach where there was more people and of course, lots more excitement. However, it was nice to come back to the Reef to relax. But we perferred the 7 mile beach because there were no rocks. The convenience of the grocery store was also an added plus if one would like to cook as there were many amendities to use. I would recommend the property to anyone who would just like to relax and not explore the west end where shopping and the Run Point is as it takes about 45 minutes to drive to the west end. We also liked that there were no hagglers. Apollo was certaintly a pleasure to meet as his positive attitude and morning carribbean songs gave us the real flavor of the island. Peace and Love Allets ,


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 31, 2010
Fantastic Destination

My wife and I spent the week at the beach or in the pool. This resort is isolated a bit from Georgestown, but that's exactly what we wanted.

Fantastic Destination Fantastic Destination
21 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Columbus, OH
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 15, 2012
The Reef

This resort is a breath of fresh air. This was our first time visiting the island of Grand Cayman. My wife and I wanted a quiet get away at a tropical destination. We chose well !! If you have researched the Cayman Islands, no doubt you have heard of 7 Mile Beach; A beautiful stretch of 7 miles of sand and sea. Well although what you may have read is true, please consider staying at the other end of the island. The Reef is located approximately 30 minutes away from the airport via a very scenic drive along the coast of the island. You can escape the very "commercial vacation" atmosphere of the 7 mile area and experience the true feel of the island. Every room at The Reef faces the Caribbean Sea. There is a steady breeze and the sound of the waves meeting the shore is sure to set the most harried traveller at ease. We felt like we had our own private beach. There was such a vast area of sand and the resort only has 3 levels in each building. This guaranteed that there were no crowds on the sand. It was absolutely serene. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Say hello to Doris and Sandra in the Barefoot restaurant. Two of the many pleasant servers on staff at the Reef. Even though our plan was to just lounge on the beach, I talked my wife into tagging along on a jetski tour with me. It was both our first time on a jetski and my wife had her reservations. Alan and his staff (Trini Chris and Raphael) put her fears to ease with a very comprehensive walk through of the vehicle operation and water conditions. We had a ball. I recommend visiting some of the local attractions. Rum Point was one of our favorites. 15 minute drive up the road to more good food and fun surroundings. Take your bathing suits with you. I also recommend visiting Tukka restaurant. Kevina, took good care of us.

The Reef
12 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York City
Age: 35-44
Travel: 7+ trips/year

November 17, 2011
Good Choice!

I decided on the Reef Resort at the East End of Grand Cayman and I'm so glad I did! My husband and I really enjoyed staying at the non-touristy, more remote end of the island. The Reef Resort was lovely and very clean. Every room has an ocean front patio or balcony with a great view. Easy walk to liquor store and mini supermarket. You will need to rent a car but it is so worth it!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Phoenixville, PA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 22, 2011
The Reef Resort

Very nice and restful resort. Just being away from all the congestion of 7 mile beach was wonderful. We had a one bedroom with full kitchen, (very clean!!) and ate most of our meals in. Looked at the menus of the 2 restaurants, and they looked ok. Not a lot of choices like in many of the large resorts we have stayed in, and glad we didn't get the all inclusive package. The convenience store across the street has plenty of food choices. We only purchased 1 meal there...cheeseburgers, so can't rate the food, but the free continental breakfast was toast, muffins, fruit, juice and coffee. Some days there was oatmeal and bagels. If that doesn't do it for you...there is the store across the street, and also a Dunkin Donuts in the same plaza or the free breakfast can be used for $5 off the breakfast menu, which is pretty varied. There is a large section of the beach that is sandy, though much of it is rocky and reef-like, which is really neat with sea life, etc. Might want to take water shoes, though they do rent them there. The pools and beach were clean. The staff was very friendly and worked very hard. Concierge and front desk were helpful. The 24/7 internet lounge was great since we don't like the hassel of traveling with a laptop. We had a rental car and went all over the island exploring and felt safe at all times, or as safe as you can feel when so many drivers including us are new at the driving on the left side thing! We NEVER talk to time share people, so can't rate that either. Salesmen are salesmen, and you have to let them know your "no" is firm. This isn't a place for people who like lots of activities, hubbub and pizzazz. They did have some scheduled activities and entertainment nightly, but we just went for relaxing and getting away, which was perfect. Only criticism would be architectural...why on earth did they design it so the balcony is shared with a next door neightbor??? Just annoying, not a deterrant. Would go there again if we returned to the Caymans.


17 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: PA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 18, 2011
Quiet and Low Key.

theReef Resort was perfect for our stay. We had a lovely one bedroom suite overlooking the ocean/beach and there was a full kitchen with everything you'd need to have food in your room...which is what I would suggest for most of your stay. The included continental breakfast left a lot to be desired and for the money they charge for a very limited menu at the "barefoot bistro", you're better off going to the grocery store (just across the way) and getting your supplies for the week. Keep in mind...I'm not complaining. I knew what to expect going into this so it didn't bother me. Just know that theReef isn't like a Marriott or Hyatt on Seven Mile Beach. It's quiet, in the East End and there really isn't much around. You need to rent a car for sure. That way you can come and go as you please to visit the wonderful places such as Rum Point (our favorite), the botanical gardens, seven mile beach, etc. I gave service a lower number b/c when I went to return my rental car I felt as though I was much less important than the "orientation" people. My guess is that "orientation" is for those who have purchased a time share there. If they had told me when I was picking up the car that I would have to wait until Noon on Sunday to return my car, it would have been fine. They told me to return it by 10 am...and when I went to return it...they told me I had to wait until Noon. Doesn't sound like a big deal but we had planned our day around not having the car. If I had known I couldn't return it until Noon, I would have gone to Rum Point one last time. Not a big deal...but with limited time, you want to make the most of it. The amount of places to eat/drink were very limited. But again, if you know this, it's ok. Also, don't go there expecting the white, sandy beaches with the light turquoise water. There are patches of that but most of the area is covered in sea grass and active coral. This is why it's called "theReef" resort. There's awesome snorkeling and enough places in the water to romp around without stepping on anything. Overall, it was a nice place to stay and I would go back.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 28, 2011

This was our 4th time staying at The Reef, we love it and as soon as we get back home, we are always planning our next trip. The guys at White Sands are awesome!


7 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Virginia
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 21, 2011
Beautiful weather

could not ask for better weather,6 days of sun and no rain.The trip was long because of the ride to the resort about 50-60 minutes from the airport. Got in and had trouble finding the room plus keys did not work well on the door but finally got in. A few things were annoying like the safe did not work but they took care of it and keys were replaced to work. if you are looking for totally peace and quiet this is the place to go,you are away from the crowds on the other side of the island. the shopping center across the street was great,could buy food,water and snacks and bring back to the room.there was a refrig and microwave in the room which helped. pool was okay nothing big but relaxing.the ocean was warm but the rocks and seaweed did not help.The beach was kept clean and it was great to be on beach level and open the door and walk out to the beach to sit and relax. The price was right for loding but food was a little pricey,try Tukkars for a great meal they will pick you up at the reef if you don't have a car. Bikes were offered free to ride which was very nice. would I go again,second time I have been to Grand Cayman and I like the island but would prefer 7 mile beach if you are looking for more than just sitting on the beach and not doing much but getting a suntan.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: nj
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 10, 2012
A relaxing escape.

A laid-back alternative to sprawling mega-resorts, this one still has everything you need. The beach is nice and has some pleasant snorkeling opportunities. Food is on the pricey side but has decent variety and surprisingly good quality. Economize by using the grocery and liquor stores across the street and the kitchenette in your room. There is also a Subway attached to the hotel. We were pleasantly surprised that, although there is also a time-share component to this resort, there was no pressure whatsoever to take a tour or sit through a sales pitch. Caveats: (a) studio rooms don't have stoves, just fridge, microwave, toaster, coffeemaker; for a stove, get a larger room; studios also don't have desks or eating tables, (b) coffeemakers but no coffee!; either buy it across the street or pack some to bring with you, (c) wi-fi worked great, even outside on the beach!, (d) excursion opportunities, e.g. for diving or snorkeling, are more limited on weekends, so plan ahead carefully or look into it as soon as you get there, if on a weekend, (e) concierge is very helpful, as was service in general. We did not have a rental car, but would probably rent one for a future trip for extra flexibility. The resort is 50-60 minutes from Georgetown and the airport.

view from room 206-B
4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Nashville
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations