All

Wyndham Reef Resort All-Inclusive Grand Cayman Reviews

Caribbean | Cayman Islands Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 8 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
3.8
Dining Options
 
2.8
Room Comfort
 
4.1
4.3 out of 5
9 out of 11 (82%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.

All Wyndham Reef Resort All-Inclusive Grand Cayman Customer Reviews

1-8 of 8 reviews. Sort by
July 1, 2013
Not quite a resort

My wife and I went to the Reef "resort" for the first time as well as the first trip to the Caymans. When we first arrived at the "resort" it was a little of a let down. I am used to going to a resort with large open lobbies and someone getting my bags. That did not happen here, we had to sturggle to get our bags in while we held the door open.We then checked in and they wanted to give us a free coupon for a rum punch and we were all inclusive. We got that straight and then were told in the general direction where our room was. Here we go dragging our bags around trying to find our room, luckily some house keepers pointed us in the right direction. We finally made it to our room and was quite pleased with the room. It was more like a one bedroom apartment with a full kitchen and living area. They are all beach front with great views. We figured out where to eat that evening and the food was good. To me the best meal was the steaks. The room was always kept clean and the staff very friendly, I have no real complaints about this place other than it is really a time share and not your typical resort. Some of it is my fault because I didn't research it good enough to know what to expect. If we go back again I won't do the all inculisive and would rent a car. We did rent one for one day and it takes a little getting used to driving on the wrong side of the road but it's doable. Rum point is the nicest place on the whole island in my opinion and stingray city is cool if you've never done it before. I think I would go do the jet ski tour at rum point if we go back. We go to the Carribean quite offten and the Caymans is nice but we perfer other islands over this, we just didn't get the laid back island feeling there except at Rum Point. If you do go be sure and snorkel under the Morrits peir, lots of large tarpon hang out there.


80 of 84 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Houston Texas
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 1, 2014
Nice Getaway

First time to Cayman Island and staying at the Reef Resort. The resort is on the east end of the island which is not near Georgetown or Seven Mile Beach. A rental car is highly encouraged so you can sightsee on your own without using their not so dependable public transportation. The resort offers several activities and trips for additional fees. Snorkeling equipment is free if you are all inclusive. There is a bar outside that offers food and an inside dining area. Best option is to purchase an inclusive package. I had a nice experience with the resort and didn't have any problems. I purchased transportation to and from the airport through CheapCaribbean and it was a disaster. The company was Tropicana Tours. On my arrival to the island I had to wait one and half hours for the bus to take me to the resort and on my return trip which I confirmed the day prior the company never showed at the resort to pick me up. There was another couple who wasn't picked up also and lucky for us the resort staff drove us to the airport. This was my first bad experience with CC on purchasing this service.


19 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Virginia
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 17, 2016
All inclusive???

My friend and I booked an all inclusive resort vacation on Cheapcaribbean. I was pleased with the online process used by the site. Upon checking in at the resort I was taken aback when asked if I wanted to UPGRADE our plan. I stated that we had booked an all inclusive stay. The desk person explained that all inclusive does NOT include everything. She went on to explain that all inclusive includes most but not all things on the dinner menu and does not include premium alcohol choices. We declined the upgrade but still had to charge a $350 balance to my credit card to cover something we might decide to order that was not part of the all inclusive package. We did NOT make any choices that were outside the all inclusive package. At check out time we were presented with a bill for $133 for "restaurant expenses." I questioned this. The desk person was at a loss to explain. After making a brief phone call she stated that there would be no charges and the full $350 charge would be removed from my card. I find this to be a curious business model for Wyndham to use, an all inclusive package that is NOT all inclusive.


52 of 56 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Milwaukee, WI
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 3, 2014
Great place for family vacationers

Beach was beautifully maintained and pools offered something for all ages. We snorkeled right by the pier as staff fed the fish, ski jetted to ship wrecks and more snorkeling, watched the sunrise and just relaxed. If you are the type that prefers to stay active, plan an excursion elsewhere on the island. Concierge was very helpful with suggestions and making arrangements. Deluxe Suite bathroom door, shower and commode are difficult to maneuver even as an average size person. Bathroom sinks are in the main living space. Work out facility is much like working out in a home basement.


15 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Midwest
Age: 45-54

October 17, 2016
relaxing and far away

Rent a car!!!! All inclusive not worth it, but they will sell you a better food package with better liquor! Again not worth the price! Don't select the all-inclusive! One other big annoyance is that you have to sign for every thing you eat or drink! There were many local places to go to eat and there is a grocery store across the street (closed on Sunday). We were bored with the menu. Very casual dining and very little at the resort to do if you don't like to snorkel or dive. White sand sports is the reason to go there!!!! They are awesome! They took great care of us and took us to amazing sites and have a max of 8 divers with 2 dive masters! Small groups make it even better! Sting ray city is a must!!! Captain Chris (white sand sports) is like a parent to these rays! They almost fly up on him when he jumps in! He kisses them and they rub all over him, he is happy and excited like it is his first time and you really feel how much he enjoys them and it makes for an amazing experience!


18 of 22 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Toledo, Ohio
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 22, 2016

The Wyndham was nice. The room was very nice and clean. Had a great view of the beach. The all inclusive was wonderful. Enjoyed the cocktails and dining experience. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Didn't have any issue with the resort itself. However, the resort is on the other side of the island, so the beach isn't very clean and clear. You will need to get a rental car because everything is 30-60 minutes away. The best part about that is that the resort has an island feel and isn't overly crowded. The bad part is that you will need to drive to everywhere you want to go. Also, they do not have a shuttle. Overall a great experience.


11 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 11, 2016
Awesome escape

It was worth the drive to be on the east side of the island. The resort was a perfect place to stay. Away from the business and on the quiet side. Had lots of entertainment, great food, awesome employees, clean, spacious rooms and beautiful beach. Great for families. Pools were small.


3 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Burnsville, MN
Age: 45-54

July 2, 2017
Family vacation

Great place, not overcrowded. Clean and comfortable rooms. All inclusive option definitely worth it, although food options are limited. Wait staff super friendly and fun. Not much to do at the resort but lots of activities available for purchase. However, you have to pay separately for transportation to those activities... which is surprising and somewhat annoying since they are offered by the hotel. They are not cheap either so a complementary bus ride provided by the hotel would have been appreciated. Great vacation though... thumbs up.


0 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: NJ
Age: 35-44