All

Westin St. Maarten Dawn Beach Resort and Spa Reviews

Caribbean | St. Maarten/St. Martin Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 8 Reviews
Value
 
3.9
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.5
Dining Options
 
3.4
Room Comfort
 
4.2
4.1 out of 5
"We had a great time at the Westin in St. Martin. Service was terrific. Staff was very helpful. Property was fantastic. They also have a lovely Sunday Brunch as well. I would stay there again." – Grace20
7 out of 8 (88%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Surise at Dawn Beach

All Westin St. Maarten Dawn Beach Resort and Spa Customer Reviews

1-8 of 8 reviews. Sort by
July 26, 2011
Will be back again

The beach had white sugary sand, the waves had just enough action, but not too much. We also had a place to snorkle at the resort. The people were friendly and helpful. It was our anniversary and they had chocolate covered cherries and a bottle of wine waiting for us in the room. We were very pleased with the room and bed. The housekeeping staff had to be reminded a couple of times to bring decaf coffee for the room, some cream and to bring another washcloth. They responded quickly and didn't expect a tip. The food at the beach cafe was good, but the best food was at the Ocean restaurant. I wish we hadn't eaten at the Aura restaurant our first night there. There was a much better restaurant just down the street, the Big Fish. We went there two nights in a row. The bar in the lobby was very accomodating to our difficult to please wine taste. They went to the restaurant for the wine we wanted and served us well. The concierge was very helpful and recommended great restaurants. The taxi driver they called for us was excellent. Nelson, our taxi driver for the week was excellent. The sunrises were incredible (see photo). Overall, this was an excellent place to stay and I plan to return to this resort in the future.

Surise at Dawn Beach
44 of 44 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Tennessee
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 3, 2011

Had a very lovely, relaxing time. The only negative is that the resort is trying to sell time shares next door and hound you to death to go on a tour. The resort was fabulous, probably the most beautiful beach on the island, but very isolated. You really need a car when staying here. It is very close to the French border so you can access the best of both sides. The resort has a small casino which was fun at night. It also boasts a 5 star restaurant but I felt it had a limited menu so we chose not to eat there. Th room was very spacious, clean and very comfortable. Would definately recommend this hotel.


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Montville, New Jersey
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 27, 2010
off Season month in October

Went on off season, which means hardly any guest. Would not upgrade to a beach front, had to beg for hot water, no air condition in the room, the lights blacked out at least 3 times for the 7 days we stayed, not to mentioned it rained 5 days out of 7 non stop. The least your hotel could have done was to try to accomadate us the best they could. They act like it was a privlidge to stay there. The lobby area was flooded(gift shop) it was horrible. I would NOT reccomend this hotel. The Oyster bay resort upgraded the guest room when they requested it. It was hadly anybody there why wouldnt you????


30 of 35 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 4, 2010
Paradise

We had a great time at the Westin in St. Martin. Service was terrific. Staff was very helpful. Property was fantastic. They also have a lovely Sunday Brunch as well. I would stay there again.


16 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: DC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 30, 2014
Our Research Paid Off

The Westin St. Maarten was fantastic. My girlfriend and I planned the trip together and did plenty of research before we chose this resort. We couldn't be more satisfied. THE STAFF: Amazing. Everyone greeted us and treated us like we were the guests of honor. Nadine & Rahul (I hope I spelled it correctly) knew it was my birthday when I arrived and offered us some special gifts; they really made us feel like we were special guests. Dan, the regional manager, greeted us later on and appeared genuinely curious about our plans for our week on the island. Dan and the rest of the hotel personnel offered options for places to see/eat/explore but never were pushy or came off like they were trying to sell us something. THE ROOM: Very clean, dry and cool...exactly what we needed after venturing around the island for the day. The room smelt clean and had plenty of space. The bathroom was the perfect size, as was the shower, which allowed a person of my (large) size to be comfortable in what usually is a confined/small space. Quality soaps, shampoos, etc were always replenished each day. If there is one nitpicky comment I can leave, I wish there was an option to empty the pre-stocked fridge so we could leave our bottled waters inside. The fridge was packed tight with purchasable items, leaving no room for our own items. Regardless, for the price, the room was excellent. THE CASINO: It was quite nice to have a few (free) drinks and play some cards, roulette and new slots. It was a breath of fresh air to have a casino that was clean, quiet, not-packed and not open all the time. I think it would have been too attractive to always have access to the casino. We actually won a fair amount of money on slots which paid for a fantastic dinner at Aura, the resort's high end restaurant. THE FOOD: The quality and variety were better than we expected. Poolside, the choices were limited, but we did not need more than what was offered. "Ocean", the mid-line restaurant had decently priced items for food and drink and service was quick and friendly. The main attraction was Aura, the high end restaurant. The service was excellent, the atmosphere was sublime and the food was fantastic. Wait staff was friendly and eager to please. The value at Aura was quite good. We had two glasses of wine each, plus two appetizers, two sides, the lobster, sea bass and filet, along with a dessert and tea for only $190 including tax/tip. That, to me, is value. We did not try room service, but based on our experience with everything else, I bet it was just as good. THE BEACH/POOL: We did not spend too much time in the pool since the beach was so close and so nice, but the time we spent there was relaxing. Some loud kids were around once in a while, but the noise level was, overall, low. The beach was clean, and the water was warm and clear. It was windy at night, but that helped keep the temperatures down so you could walk around with slacks/jeans on with no problem. There are more scenic beaches on the island and neighboring island, but that is what you rent a car for. OVERALL: We had a great time at the Westin St. Maarten. If we decide to make another trip to St. Maarten (we have plans to visit other parts of the world first), we will certainly stay at the Westin. We explored other hotels on the island and believe the Westin has the best value, by a long shot. This resort was a home away from home. When we were tired from exploring the island or neighboring islands for the day, we were excited to relax in our cool and comfy room, followed by some time at the casino and a walk along the beach. I highly recommend the West St. Maarten and I must thank the staff, again, for making us feel like royalty.


8 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: San Francisco, CA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 4, 2013
Great Vacation

We enjoyed the Westin Dawn Beach very much. Our main concern is the poor dining options on the premises, especially the fine dining retaurant Aura, where customer service is extremely poor: no one at the podium outside to seat customers - for long periods of time. No wait staff even acknowledged us after we were seated, so we just walked out. The prices at Aura are very high and the food very average. This needs to be corrected and fast!!! The representative at the concierge desk for booking tours was unfriendly, distracted, terse, and disinterested. She spoke so fast that no one could understand her - seemingly trying to discourage questions and not caring whether we booked a tour or not. Maid service especially excellent, Nicholas, a server in The Ocean restaurant was very polite and friendly.


5 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Massachusetts
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 29, 2015
Great getaway

The Westin was located in a relatively less-touristy part of the island, very close to the border between the Dutch side and the French side (it's in the Dutch side). The facilities were as expected from a well-known hotel chain. What really blew me away was the pool and the beach right at my doorstep. The beach was enjoyed only by a handful of people (I think because of its location, only the people staying at the Westin were allowed access) and was extremely well maintained. There were staff available to hand out towels and take orders for drinks, adding an extra layer of convenience. One shortcoming of this hotel was that there were very few dining options, three if I remember correctly. We only tried the snack bar at the poolside and didn't go check out the two restaurants inside the hotel building because they were a wee bit too expensive. For those of you who are thinking of staying at the hotel throughout, this lack of dining option will have to be taken into account. Other than this, I would highly recommend this place to anyone thinking of a quiet and relaxing getaway to St. Martin. I know I'll be coming back in the near future.


3 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: London, UK
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 26, 2016
St Maarten

Dawn Beach Westin is awesome! Oyster Pond is awesome. The rest of St Maarten is sub-standard due to over population and the local population being not condusive to tourist Drive very carefully!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: North Carolina
Age: 55-64