All

Westin St. John Resort and Villas Reviews

Caribbean | USVI St. John Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 44 Reviews
Value
 
3.8
Service
 
3.8
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.2
Room Comfort
 
4.1
4.2 out of 5
"man made beach,so no snorkleing. fine for swimming. our hotel type room was in need of repair & remodel. But the bed was very comfortable." – larskelly
48 out of 58 (83%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
The view from our balcony View from our balcony View from our room in the hillside villas Beautiful Westin St. John Heading out from Westin on sunset cruise.

All Westin St. John Resort and Villas Customer Reviews

1-10 of 44 reviews. Sort by
September 17, 2012
Not all it's cracked up to be

Stayed in room 1623. The cleaning service never refilled everything as they should and didn't clean everything either. Our floor was very dirty for half of the trip. Ice machine was broken for half the trip. Service was poor. The concierge had no idea what she was talking about. If I ever go back I would have to stay in one of the villas. Never stay in a regular hotel room. They are old and outdated. I felt like our room was constantly dirty. The whole time my husband and I joked that they are going out of business because nobody ever seem to care or do anything in a timely fashion.


43 of 46 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Kansas
Age: 25-34

August 23, 2012
The Westin

Our stay to St. Johns was phenomenal, but not because of the Westin. The beach at the Westin is disapointing, because it is really a marina where they blocked off a small section for people to swim in the marina. Therefore, the water is murky and not the typical Caribbean blue water.. The people who worked at the Westin were for the most part rude and unwelcoming. The concierge seemed interrupted or bothered every time we had a question to ask. Our room was hot every day we were there. When we called for an engineer to come fix or look at our A/C he came with a very visible attitude, so we dare not ask him any questions and the room remained hot for the duration of our trip. Most of the waiters and waitresses in the dining area, not the cafe, were unhelpful and didn't want to answer any of our questions, so we just ate other places in St. Johns which were better anyway. Last but not least, we were never asked if we needed a ride to and from the various areas within the Westin compound which is very large and hot. So with all of this I would not ever recommend the Westin St. Johns to anyone. However, I look forward to revisiting St. Johns.


35 of 37 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Columbia Maryland
Age: 45-54

August 5, 2012
Bring Lots of Cash

The Westin St. John is very beautiful and very expensive. The airlines was over 2 hours late so we missed our connecting flight in to St. Thomas and had to stay on the mainland. We had to pay for a room at the Westin one night that we could not use. We left 5 very detailed messages for Westin's Guest Services office - who FINALLY returned our call late the night before we departed and said to please call them. Really??? Call them again for a 6th time??? The first 5 very detailed messages got us no where. Pool is nice, beach is nice, golf carts are great, but the guest relations office needs improvement. Meals are very expensive - much cheaper to pay the cab fair into town and eat there. I would recommend Cheap Caribbean.com to a friend, but carefully watch your quotes. We had to pay the airline luggage fee $25.00 per suitcase - we thought it was covered in our CC package. Also when we booked the trip it ended up being several hundred dollars more per person than what we found on site. Besides that it was a good trip.


25 of 26 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 5, 2013
Great Vacation

The island of St. John is amazing! This resort is situated very close to Cruz Bay and because the island is so small it is only a short drive to all of the amazing beaches. I highly recommend renting a vehicle while you are on St. John so that you can experience the entire island on your own schedule (we rented a Jeep from Budget at the airport and then took the ferry to St. John). The service at the resort is good and the "vacation concierge" was very helpful in pointing us to the good places to eat, snorkel, and lay on the beach. The food options at the resort are okay. There are two sit-down restaurants and one bar where you can get food. It is understandable that there isn't a large selection at the resort as it is not all-inclusive and because there are so many other local eateries that are incredible! The beach is wonderful and very peaceful with umbrellas and lounge chairs. There is also a good watersports pavilion which provides all non-motorized sports complimentary. My wife and I went paddle boarding around the bay and had a blast. Our room was incredible. We had reserved a resort-view room (which is the cheaper option) as we weren't planning on spending much time in the room while the sun was up anyways. But, when we arrived at the resort we were upgraded to the villas up on the hill. The villa that we were placed in was two floors and had an amazing view of the bay, a full kitchen (with a fridge, microwave, oven, stovetop, and dishwasher), a washer/dryer, and 2 bathrooms. The villas also have their own shared pool (with a grill area) so that you can enjoy the view and dinner separate from the rest of the resort. If you do stay in a villa and plan on cooking your own meals occasionally, then I highly recommend that you do your grocery shopping on St. Thomas before taking the ferry over to St. John. There is a decent grocery store on St. John; however the already high cost of food on an island (due to shipping costs) is exaggerated by the price of the ferry to get from St. Thomas to St. John. The absolute worst part of our trip was having to leave and go back to reality. I highly recommend St. John and this resort to anyone who is looking for a Caribbean vacation and would like to explore outside of the resort. St. John is a very safe island and you never feel uncomfortable traveling around by yourself. Also, as a testament to the openness and kindness of the people on the island, about 50% of the people that we met who lived on the island were not locals (i.e. they fell in love with the island and decided to pack everything up and make it their permanent home). This is in stark contrast to other islands, such as Jamaica, where almost everybody is a local.

View from our room in the hillside villas
16 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Greenville, SC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 19, 2011
good island beach resort

We found the resort good located and with a jeep very easy to go around the island and do beach hopping. The restaurants options are limited in the resort but plenty in the nearby Cruz bay downtown area. The free shuttle inside resort are great.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Boston MA
Age: 35-44

April 15, 2012
ST JOHN the Greatest Island/Westin Resort the Best

We tell everyone this is the Best Vacation spot ever! Everything is right there at the resort. Boating, Jet skiing, paddle boarding, canoeing, para sailing, day trips off the dock. It is so convenient from the water taxi at St Thomas to the luggage brought right to your hotel room in St John, You don't have to do anything but get a lovely cold Tropicolada at the pool bar or down at the beach looking out into the Beautiful Blue ocean. Our room was clean and comfortable. My husband said, he slept like a baby on the most comfortable bed. The airconditioning cooled you off after a long sunny day at the beach. Hot showers, great housekeeping and all around friendly staff,. Every morning we went down to the Beach Cafe sat outside overlooking the Beautiful view and had a delicious breakfast. The buffet is worth every penny. I wouldn't be hungry again til dinner. If we did need a snack before dinner the Mango Deli on the property was perfect for that. We would get a Salad or pizza . We could get cold drinks and coffee and a pastry in the morning. We will be definitely coming back for our third time! We love the resort, the island and the friendly laid back atmosphere. A Gem Island belonging to the US. Make your Vacation the Best! Visit the Westin Soon! I'm already looking forward to my next trip to the Westin St John!


20 of 22 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Boston, Ma
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 14, 2010
trip redeemed!

We stayed here October 9th, - October 16th. The week before our arrival, there was a huge rain - 15". Everything was in disarray, the pool was closed due to mud, the beach ruined and unsafe to swim in for days. However, we requested a room upgrade before we got there, and we were given a lovely villa! It was our 40th anniversary, so this was a real treat. The staff did their best to serve, in light of the disaster, and were very pleasant.. We went to other island beaches to snorkel and swim. Our villa had it's own ;pool, which was undamaged. We also sailed twice with Cloud Nine - loved Jason and Leslie - had a great time snorkeling. Look them up next time you're there! The only bad thing about the Westin is it's restaurants - the food was terrible and overpriced. We taxied to Cruz Bay for dinner. They really need to do something about their food choices. When in Cruz Bay, make sure you eat at Cafe Roma! Delicious!


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Naperville, IL
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 26, 2011
Westin, St John USVI

It was a truly wonderful week. The resort is really nice with lots of amenities. We purchased the Gardenview Room package and we were upgraded to the Poolview Room at no extra charge. The fine dining restaurant was closed for renovations but you still had the Snorkels Beach Restaurant and the Ocean Cafe for breakfast and dinner. The hotel offers an island tour on a open air taxi for only $25 per person which was very reasonable. Taxis were plentiful and the prices are clearly marked. No games or gimmicks. Trunk Bay was by far the most beautiful beach on the island. We tried SNUBA there and it was really fun. There is a dive shop on the resort. There was a mixup with our reservation. The girl who took it never reserved us and then quit!!! It all worked out fine and we had the dive boat to ourselves for 3 days out of 5. Sept and Oct is low season and great time to come down barring any tropical disturbance. I highly recommend the Westin's airport transfers as you fly into St Thomas and have to take a ferry to St John. You could probably do it cheaper on your own, but they made it so easy that it was well worth the extra money to have so little hassle. Highly recommend this resort.


11 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Mulberry, Florida
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 11, 2014
Eh...

The Westin Resort was just okay. I think it had great potential but unfortunately, there were too many aspects that kept it from being a great trip. Here is what we experienced... The construction was apparent and very noisy. Multiple mornings, we were woken up to the sound of a jackhammer and heavy equipment. My mother and father also experienced this in their room and they happened to be in a different building closer to the beach. However, I must say the renovations looked nice from what we could tell. Oh also, be aware that in the current rooms (not updated), we heard word for word what our neighbors were talking about and doing in the room next to us. The people at the resort, and really the island in general, weren't the friendliest. I have been on multiple trips to small resorts and large resorts, where the staff has truly made our stay feel so relaxing and welcoming. The Westin didn't make us feel this way. The wait staff seemed annoyed that we asked for ketchup, the concierge seemed annoyed that we asked for a restaurant and activity list, and the beach waitress seemed annoyed when we told her she brought us the wrong drink order. I mean...I really started to feel guilty for asking for things. That leads to the next thing, information didn't come easy. It CONSTANTLY felt like no one wanted to help you or had no idea. The girl who rented floats near the beach had no idea where towels were located. The front desk and concierge had no idea about car rentals even though it says you can book directly through the hotel. We called the day before we needed a rental and they said we had to call back tomorrow for any pricing and availability. Shouldn't they be aware of their inventory for the next day? All that aside, the beach cove that The Westin sits in is beautiful. The pool area was also nice. However, again, they were doing construction on the hot tub, so it was not available. I would say the best part about our trip wasn’t the resort at all, it was the beaches we visited - Cinnamon bay, Trunk Bay, Maho Beach, Caneel Bay…all beautiful. So would I come back to The Westin at St.John? Probably not. And really, probably not St.John again. That was my second trip to St.John and probably my last. There are so many great places to visit in the Caribbean and this one just didn't leave me wanting to return. Last thing - a tip! If you do happen to go here and have more than 2 people in your party, rent a car! It makes the island so much easier to access and explore.


17 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Houston
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 18, 2015
Great family trip

Highly recommended for an active family. Resort is beautiful. Staff is super friendly. You do not need to bring much. We overpacked. Beach front rooms are the best. The ferry, however is something that we will skip next time. We are going back. You do not need to use westin services to go from airport to ferry. It is extremely overpriced. Best bet is to cab it to red hook and get ferry to cruz bay. And then a 3 minute cab to resort. You will save hundreds, yes hundreds!


17 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Connecticut
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year