All

Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa Reviews

Caribbean | Cayman Islands Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 97 Reviews
Value
 
4.1
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.2
4.3 out of 5
"overall, very nice. Could not regulate air cond in room. got a bit stuffy." – BabsNJ
93 out of 105 (89%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Beautiful beach/water Typical day Beach at Hotel Relaxing in the private beach of Westin Sunset from Westin Panoramic Ocean View Night shot from room The view from our balcony Westins Pool Sunset at Westin Seven Mile Beach Sunset Nightly stroll on Seven Mile Beach at the Westin

All Westin Grand Cayman Seven Mile Beach Resort & Spa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 97 reviews. Sort by
May 7, 2012
Great Vacation Choice

Pleasantly surprised as we booked the Westin within a week of departure so wasn't expecting a great room. Turned out our island view room was a partial ocean view and the room while basic (king bed, table 2 chairs) was very nice, modern, clean and had a nice balcony which we enjoyed. Westin's trademark Heavenly Beds were comfy. Beach is amazing white sand, water crystal clear, no waves and little reefs 100 yds out to snorkel with many fish, turtles, rays. This is not a typical over the top, huge Westin property, but a more scaled down version. 2 restaurants are very good (pricey but we'll get to that). Breakfast buffet was very good. Outdoor lunch eatery was good too. Pool and beach service was nice and waitresses friendly and will serve menu items too to your beach chair. Bars were very small (indoor lounge and pool bar). Night time entertainment is a guitar singer or classical pianist. Nice but too laid back for us. Pool was nice though on the small side. If there were a lot of kids it wouldn't be enjoyable. Again, nice Westin just not one of their huge resorts like they have in other locations. So price. Well everything in the Cayman's is VERY expensive. $1 C.I. = $1.25 US. Expect to pay $20-$35 C.I. for a nice dinner entree. $10 C.I. for a bar drink (liquor store across street is cheaper option). DO get out and use the public bus system. For $2 CI you can ride anywhere and the buses come every few minutes. Just tell the driver where you want to go. We found them to be friendly and helpful. After 9pm its taxis which range from $10-$16. Explore local restaurants and you'll find bargains like Eats Cafe across the street having very good food and 1/2 the price. Heard the restaurant at Sunshine Suites was excellent and a good bargain too. Overall a good choice. Westin felt like a small 4-star resort. And this was our first booking with CheapCaribbean.com. Got a great deal and it was Dan in customer service who made us feel comfortable with booking here. Provided great information, local tips and was everything a customer service rep should be. Thanks Dan.

Great Vacation Choice Great Vacation Choice
44 of 49 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 25, 2011
Grand Cayman Westin Casuarina

The Westin Casuarina is located on the best area of the beach on 7 mile beach. It has the cleanest beach with the softest pure white sand. The beach area is the largest of all the areas hotels and resorts. The Westin "beach area" staff are constantly walking the beach asking the customers if any food or drink can be brought to them. While walking the beach, they also continue to pick up any cups, papers etc, keeping their beach area spotless. Although the room needed a little attention regarding getting soaps, and maintenance on the toilet, it was correcvted immediately. The beds are called "Heavenly Beds". They made specifically for the Westin Resorts. The name resembles the comfort they provide. Upon check out, we were given $80.00 in credit towards the resort fee because of the maintenance issues. This was unexpected since we didn't ask for it. The "Red Sail" group is located in the Westin next to the Concierge desk. They were extrememly helpful helping us plan our stay and the activities for the week. This was the second time we have stayed at the Westin in Grand Cayman. We were pleasently pleased to have had the same great experiences during both trips. The first Westin Crand Crayman trip we planned on our own, we paid a reduced price at Westin because of credits received from Westin previously. This trip was planned through CheapCarribean.com. The cost of both the flight and rooms at the Westin were even further reduced which made this trip even better.


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: illinois
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 30, 2016
Never again!

I would give negative palms but that's not an option. The first 2 times I used CheapCaribbean.com , no problems....then this! Here is the email I sent to the director (of the Westin) DURING my stay, it was that horrific I will tell this story to EVERYONE who will listen! Good day Morty, I am at the Westin as I write. This stay has been a nightmare for my lady and I. We were placed in room 517. It started with the water being shut off for 36 hours and not having any hot water for 48 hours. Then 2:30am Wednesday the air conditioner went out. I reported at 7:00 am. No air at 3:00pm. I ask to speak with a manager. I spoke with Alexandria. She put us in room 189. No hot water. FYI room 189 (as I write)has no hot water, room 187 does. Jodine rearranged a vase it the room. It broke in her hand, just the top. I have pictures of the vase for review. Off the the hospital we went. 9-10 stitches and a $680.00 medical bill later we returned to the Westin at 7:00 am. I filled out a report to security. We missed an excursion. Another $150 loss. We spent the next 24 hours in our room. I spoke with Alexandria just now. She stated that "security tried to get into the 'room' to see the vase and complete his report". Morty we were in our room ALL DAY! No one came, not security, no one came to check to see how Jodine was doing. Shoot a telephone call would at least shown the Westin cared! But no! funny we step out of the room this morning and when we returned the vase was gone (but I took pictures) remember per Alexandria 'no one could get into the room". Morty if I hear one more time " we know how you feel or I am so sorry". I will scream. Not only do NOT know how we feel, no one cares. Morty you folks are freaking 'The Westin' not Motel 6. I am in customer service industry, I handle Fortune 500 accounts. The worst thing is to lose a customer but worse yet is to lose them and not know why! Now you know! Jodine will have follow up medical bills. It is sad that your customer service is at this level. I am quite sure I will not hear from you. But the Westin, SPG and Cheap Caribbean.com will hear from my attorney. Jodine wants leave this resort. I am now spending my vacation time searching out a resort that can put us up till Sunday. You, my friend, should be embarrassed! This nightmare ends Sunday. I can easily be reached at The Westin (for now) or Jodine's cell (763) 276-6421 Respectfully submitted David Hepfl (612) 919-2262 . FUNNY It's now Monday morning and still no response! I know it's not quite what you were looking for. The Caribbean.com com site said the pool would be closed for "renovations" NO the pool was being completely replaced with the sound of jackhammers and heavy equipment all day! They should have not taken guests. Early Sunday morning 2am not one but 2 warning/fire alarms go off. you question why the world needs lawyers??....... this is your answer!! Dissatisfied Dave Hepfl (612) 919-2262 cell


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Aruba, Jamaica Hawaii,
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 31, 2010
A piece of heaven on earth

This was our fourth trip to Grand Cayman, Seven Mile Beach... Travelled last week of June. We have always stayed at the Marriott, because it was cheaper... However, The Westin was cheaper this time, and we had always wanted to stay there, because they have the nicest beach. We were NOT disappointed. We spent 10 nights on the heavenly beds, and that they were. I've always had a difficult time sleeping on any hotel beds, however not this time. Had trouble with our tub draining and immediately the desk sent a maintenance man. Our beds were turned down at night, staff was always willing to help. The breakfast bar and the Omelet and Waffle Chef were incredible. The hotel is located within walking distance of many restaurants, and there are buses running up and down the strip that will take you anywhere you want to go for just 2.50 a person. We always go to Sting Ray City, it is a must.The only problem we had was the pool was too warm at times, but it was because temperatures were so hot. We had a fabulous trip and WILL return!

Westins Pool Nightly stroll on Seven Mile Beach at the Westin
15 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Ohio
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 13, 2010
disappointing upkeep

although the westin was beautiful, i was disappointed in the general upkeep and maintenance on the property. litter was not cleaned up on the beach by personnel in the mornings, glass doors always had handprints, i saw a chunk of pineapple lay on the sidewalk to the pool for the entire week we were there, tiles were missing from the pool, etc. i was surprised for a hotel of this caliber (and price!) that it was not better maintained.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: northeast us
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 26, 2011
Great Trip to Westin Casuarina

We just got back yesterday from our week long adventure to the Westin Casuarina on Grand Cayman. As we understand, there is new resort management that has been in place for about six months. We had outstanding support and service from every Westin staff member we came into contact. Very helpful, extremely friendly, and willing to do anything in their power to make our stay as relaxed and pleasurable as they could. We would not hesitate to stay here again. The resort itself was beautiful and our room nicely furnished. The food at the resort restaurants was very good. The service at the lobby bar, poolside bar, or restaurant bar was outstanding and the bartenders were knowledgeable and entertaining. Some of the best snorkeling in the area is right off the beach next to the Westin at Governor's Reef. Easy beach access and like swimming in an aquarium. The Red Sail Sports dive programs were great and well organized. Their ferry over to Rum Point Restaurant was fun and the food and service at Rum Point outstanding. In addition to the great local dive spots (loved the west wall site "Big Tunnels"), we also recommend diving the new "wreck" of the Kittiwake, which was intentionally sunk in January, 2011 as a dive and snorkel destination. We did opt for the prepaid airport transfers through Tropicana Tours. They were waiting for us at the airport when we arrived, but wanted to take us to the airport later than we were comfortable. We were able to share an earlier shuttle to the airport, so it all worked out, but didn't like the feeling that they were in control of my schedule. Next time we might opt for a cab. US Airways travel was a complete joke and we will pay extra to travel on a different airline in the future. We didn't have one leg of our trip depart or arrive on time except the one departing Cayman, which left 5 minutes early, but was then held at Charlotte waiting for a gate to open. US Airways stranded us on the way down after multiple attempts and rebookings. Flight crew without a passport caused one delay. Mechanical delays on three separate aircraft. After changing planes after one mechanical reject, we started to back away from the new gate and the captain decided that we should probably get some gas in the plane, which caused an additional 45 minute delay. Luggage not arriving when we did, including our checked dive gear. US Airways cost us an extra day and a half out of our vacation and missed two days of diving as a result. There just isn't enough space to say all the bad things I would like about the terrible service we received from US Airways. If there were that many mechanical problems on just our short trip, how well can the rest of the planes in the US Airways fleet be maintained?


18 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Olathe, KS
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 8, 2012
Our First Caribbean Geteway.

We want to say that our trip to the Grand Cayman Island was a fantasy adventure to be sure! It went beyond our best expectations! Upon exiting the plane, we were met by kind people from the start. Even in the customs clearance line, we felt welcomed by all. The bus driver ( Tropicana Tours) we met that took us to our hotel was almost like an old friend and seemed very glad that we came. Same feelings at the Westin Hotel. Anyone we spoke with or asked questions to were only too eager to help explain things to us and help us get the most out of this far too brief of a trip. We don’t remember meeting up with anyone who was unkind in any way! Even when we crossed busy streets, people nearly always stopped to allow us to cross! We wish people were that courteous in our country! Anyone we met on the street to get directions, or about where to eat were always glad to give a suggestion! You’d think we were on a different planet! we can only give the highest praise to even the house keepers and maids. We had asked for an extra shampoo and lotion. When they were bring over fresh towels and other things to the room, they had forgotten about the shampoo. After they were reminded of this minor oversight, a surprise occurred! Upon returning with the shampoo, they gave us a small package containing a spiced rum cake that the island is famous for! Needless to say, the delicious cake didn’t last long. On the beach, a young Indonesian girl came to us and offered drinks and snacks, which we bought. She stayed and chat with us at least half an hour before she left! We fell in love with this young girl, Ruby. She was like a long lost niece or something. On the last evening, at a restaurant called “Prime”, we enjoyed one of the best dining experiences! The buffet that was offered was fit for a king to be sure. The best cuts of meats were served at our table and we ate to the point of absurdity! Best tasting steaks of my life! In conclusion, I recommend this island paradise get-a-way to anyone wanting to get their spirit recharged. The only fault with these four days I can find is that it wasn’t long enough!

Our First Caribbean Geteway. Our First Caribbean Geteway.
16 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Dallas Texas
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 6, 2010
Beautiful beach and water

Very nice hotel that has been around for sometime.Our kids and us loved our vacation there. The beach is beautiful and the water is absolutely fantastic. One of the best I've seen. Pool is nice and not quite as grand as some of the larger all inclusive resorts you see in other locations. Rooms could do with some upgarding and renovation particularly given the price. Friendly staff and the main restaurant was very good (and expensive). Very nice location and lots of great restaurants and things to do in the quant cayman islands.


7 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Atlanta
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 17, 2011
Sept. 2010 Trip.

My wife and I just returned from 10 days at the Westin and we had a wonderful time. The people at the resort were wonderful. Some to mention would be FIFI at the front desk and Shaun at the pool bar but they were all wonderful. The facility was very nice and because it was my wifes birthday they did upgrade us to an ocean front which was very nice of them. The Casa Havana was closed but we expected that because we were there in th off season. We found many other great restaurants that were open. We love it when it is quiet. The beach was some of the most beautiful we have every seen and we were in the Turks and Caicos just last year and this has that beat. The pool was very nice but you can see that it does need a little tile work around the edges.n. The bus service on the island was so very convenient and easy to use. I would recommend this resort to anyone!


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Michigan
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 26, 2012
Excellent place to stay.

I chose this hotel because of the beautiful architecture, garden like pool area and beautiful view of the ocean. For a small upgrade we got a room with a balcony overlooking the pool area and the ocean. All of my requests had been met when we checked in, The room was simple elegance with white linens and dark furniture. We loved it. From check in to check out the staff were friendly and helpful, absolutely no complaints on that score. Everything was clean, the pool, garden area and beach were cleaned every morning. There was only one dining room open, and a lunch and drink bar by the pool, which is why I gave it a 3. There were a few nice restaurants in walking distance, but you had to take an expensive taxi for the others. The Sunshine Grill is just across the street, and accurately claims the best hamburgers on the island - definitely worth going there. We took the dinner sundown cruise on a catamaran and I can definitely recommend this. The construction work going on around the hotel was only a minor inconvenience and didn't interfere with our enjoyment of the hotel at all. Can't wait to go back.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Maryland
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year