All

Westin Resort & Spa Playa Conchal Reviews

Central America | Costa Rica-Guanacaste Beach Region Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 43 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
4.2
Room Comfort
 
4.3
4.5 out of 5
"I liked the resort. I was upset that I paid for a spa and they did not bother to tell me that they had a special and I paid full prize" – Pecas
44 out of 52 (85%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
4th of July performers handing out American flags

All Westin Resort & Spa Playa Conchal Customer Reviews

1-10 of 43 reviews. Sort by
February 3, 2012
Beyond words!!!

Just came back from this AMAZING resort and couldn't be any sadder. This trip was so perfect that it hurt to leave!! The resort beat any of my expectations. We upgraded to the royal beach, which was very much worth it. The private check in was personal and professional. Our room was incredible as was our concierge. The 24 hour room service was great! All the food in the resort was incredible, and was even able to accomodate a vegan such as myself. The staff is beyond professional, and the fine dining in the restaurants surpasses a lot of American restaurants! Definently do the ziplining trip!!! It was beyond words, worth so much more than they are charging. Be sure to bring bug repellant tho, the horses flies are lethal! The whole day was beyond perfect, and the hot springs topped it off. The Maravillas combo is very similar, so be sure not to book both, and bring a rain coat or sweater because its cold up in the rain forest. The ATV tour we purchased from the company on the beach, and it was great! The roads are dusty in the dry season so they supplied goggles, and were very professional. Not to mention it was the same price as the one offered on the resort, and we covered more territory. Make sure to purchase the private transportation, or you will be paying $100 either way. Other than that, this trip was INCREDIBLE. Can not wait to go back again!!!


46 of 47 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: New York, NY
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 13, 2012
Westin - Playa Conchal

The staff here is very attentive. I asked for and received a free room upgrade. The restaurants offer fine fare considering it is all inclusive. This resort has five restaurants however not all were open during every night of my stay, I believe this was due to the fact that I went during the off-season and occupancy didn't necessitate the need for that. I did, however, get the chance to eat at most of them and wasn't disappointed. My only grievance was the noisy air conditioner that seemed to awake me every time it kicked on while I was sleeping. The facility is rather expansive and getting around is made easier by the free point-to-point "taxi" service offered by the staff in modified golf carts. There are plenty of activities to engage in if your time permits - although the exotic excursions are offered at extra cost - but even these are affordable when compared to the cost others would charge here in the United States and other destinations in similar resorts. My advice to those considering the extra excursions, pay for and schedule those activities when you get to the resort, you'll save a few bucks and avoid scheduling conflicts as not all activities are offered every day, especially at this time of year. Access to the beach is easy and there are plenty of things to do when you get there, i.e., kayaking, jet ski (extra cost), snorkeling, and bicycling. I've been to other Caribbean destinations offering similar, all-inclusive packages and this resort is far and away the best experience I've had to date. I would definitely return here for the experience, value and beauty of this resort and this region in Central America


18 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 13, 2013
Everage Resort with few things you should know

Recently we spent a week in this resort, and here are some comments, which may be helpful before you decide to book it: 1. The beach is beautiful due to nature, but you have to be prepared to share your space with crowds of local families, since the beaches in Costa Rica are all public. So there is no security on the beach, no life guards, etc. 2. Dinner in the main restaurant ("Mitra") is very everage: if you are not among the first who came early, you can find that there is not enough food (at least several dishes may be finished). 3. Service in the main restaurant is rather poor: you can wait for 10-15 minutes for a glass of wine. We came to this resort several times when it was "Paradisus Playa Conchal", and it was definitely much better.


17 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 19, 2011
Out of the Ordinary Vacation

Much more interesting than typical caribbean vacation. Grounds are lovely but very spread out - take comfortable beach and evening shoes. Although you can always jump on the shuttle. - Make sure to make dinner reservations the minute you get there or will be stuck with 6:30- Not sure why - the resort wasn't full. - Italian restaurant is the best for breakfast and lunch; many more choices vs alternative venues. Try all the restaurants at night - service very good. - Beach is large, but not quite caribbean blue. Make sure to get there early if you are looking for shade. Limited areas under the trees. Plus it is a public beach where appeared 50% were not hotel guests. Monkeys in trees - take camera w/you - Pool much more crowded and less than sanitary conditions. Babies with diapers allowed in, and after accident occurred, guests were not asked to leave the pool. They didn't even put in extra chlorine. Needless to say we stayed at the beach. -Zip lining trip a must. But take the bus vs RV's - too hot and dusty. Horse back riding on beach fun as well even for a novice. - Disco at night kind of hokey. But bar setting outside the disco charming. -An spa was great . Best massage ever.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 18, 2014
We didn't want to leave!

I don't know where to start... this vacation exceeded our expectations! We had an incredible time. We had never used Cheap Caribbean before, but they were most helpful and we will definitely be using them for our next trip. Our experience was top notch from booking the reservations to traveling to and from Costa Rica. The property was immaculate. There was beauty in every direction. The staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating. We stayed at the Royal Beach Club (HIGHLY RECOMMENDED) and were made to feel like special guests of the resort. This was an anniversary trip and when they realized we were celebrating a special occasion, they delivered wine and chocolate covered strawberries to our suite. Kenny, our concierge, was simply wonderful. He checked on us often to see if there was anything we needed. He truly made us feel special. If we didn't feel like venturing out because we had a full day of fun, the room service was a great option and was part of the all-inclusive. The restaurants were great - our only disappointment was that certain restaurants were only available on certain nights... you'll definitely want to plan ahead (once you get there and see the schedule) to ensure you have reservations for the ones you want. Regardless, we never had a bad meal, although I would shy away from the open air buffet. The water was gorgeous. It was our first time to the Pacific and didn't know what to expect, but the water was clear and beautiful. The beaches in Playa Conchal are public, but it was a non-issue. The people are so nice and it never felt crowded. We enjoyed massages on the beach and the vendors selling locally made items are not pushy and are pleasant to talk to. We didn't have to worry about currency exchange - everyone takes American dollars. As far as excursions go, you can’t miss the zip line. We rode ATVs to and from the forest (about an hour each way and the scenery was awesome). There were many other cool excursions but we sadly ran out of time to enjoy them all. We absolutely recommend using Cheap Caribbean to book your trip to The Westin Playa Conchal. We can't wait to go back!


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Atlanta, GA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 25, 2012
our experience

We just went to Costa Rica last week and stayed at the Westin, it was an amazing resort with amazing, accomodating staff, always will to help out and do anything you needed from them. The dining options were amazing and we didn't have a bad meal while there. Try the Apple tart at the french restraurant it was amazing. The next best definately were the Thia and Italian. The grounds were great, amazingly well kept. Everything was a wonderful experience. Thinking about going back next fall already.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Colorado
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 8, 2011
SUPERB IN EVERY WAY!!!

Me and my husband just returned from a 6 day, 5 night stay and I can't say enough about the Westin resort. The property, people, food, activities, etc., are TOP NOTCH!! I have not one complaint about anything. For a minimal amount, we upgraded to a Royal Beach room and although I have no idea what the standard rooms look like inside, I would highly recommend the upgrade. The room is a SUITE unlike any other I've stayed in. If you want to vacation in paradise and be treated like royalty, go to Costa Rica and stay at the Westin. You won't be dissapointed!


21 of 27 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Houston, Texas
Age: 35-44

March 25, 2016
Nice Resort

This was a nice resort with some things done very well and some things not so well. What I liked: Location (only one hour from Liberia airport), service - the staff was very helpful and friendly (my children had some problems with rude staff in the gift shop and restaurants when they were not with me, they are 11 and 9 and very polite, but everyone I encountered was nice), the pool bar and the pool bar staff - they are fabulous!, the beaches (not private but I did not mind that. I also liked that you could walk to two other beaches to the left and the right of the resort beach), activities at the pool and beaches and the ease of planning excursions from the resources provided at the hotel. We did the zip line and diving/snorkeling excursions and both were excellent. The guys played golf and liked the course although they said it was difficult and they are decent golfers. All the animal life on the property was awesome! We loved seeing the monkeys! What I did not like: This resort is SPREAD out. A 5 minute walk does not sound bad until you are doing that 4-5 times a day from the beach and pool area with a bag you tried to pack everything you would need but never did. They do have carts but I usually could walk faster due to the picking up and dropping off of other people. They have one towel location at a massive pool area, and the pool deck is EXTREMELY HOT and SLIPPERY. Also, make sure you have clothes and cover ups to eat lunch by the pool as they did not want any bathing suits showing, even on kids. The Brazilion type steak house restaurant was very good and that is the only one we were able to get reservations at in 5 nights. All restaurants were booked all the other nights. We had lunch at the pizza restaurant one time and it was mediocre as were the buffets and room service - bland food. Room service was always 45-50 minutes no matter the time of day and that made for a long wait if you missed the buffet times. The food on the buffets was very heavy and there was a small selection of fruits and salads. Surprisingly, not a lot of fresh seafood options, maybe one grilled fish. I also thought the rooms were blah for the price. I really did not like the bathroom set up as there is no door closing off the bathroom area. It is an open area with an open top frosted shower door and open top frosted toilet door. Did not allow for much privacy and was noisy if someone used the bathroom at night while others were sleeping. Overall, it was ok for the money. I would probably not choose to stay here again but would feel comfortable recommending it to someone who did not mind the above dislikes.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Virginia
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 13, 2017
Excellent Vacation

Our trip to the Westin Playal Concal was on of the best vacations we've had. The room accommodations were outstanding and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. There are terrific trails for hiking with lots of wildlife to see. They have a great family section as well as an adults only area that is quiet and peaceful during the day. We will definitely be back.

Excellent Vacation
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Spring, TX
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 11, 2011
very nice place

very nice place.. it was being remodeled while we were there so not everything was open. There was about 150 people checked in so we had the whole resort to ourselves. Pools were nice, bartenders great, food very good,great sevice, and front desk was great. Would like to warn you about the excusions offered on the beach..AVIOD THEM!! use the ones offered in the hotel. We used the excusions offered on the beach and got shamed.they charged More money and not as good as what the hotel offered... we rented a sailboat for $700 and was offered snorking,food and liqour and we got dirty snorkle gear, saw no fish, dirty baot, beans with a can a tuna mixed in, and just a half bottle of vodka and tequila. so please aviod those guys on the beach offering you the world and not getting it!!!


7 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: linwood, nj
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations