All

Viva Wyndham Tangerine Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Puerto Plata Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 37 Reviews
Value
 
3.5
Service
 
3.6
Beaches & Pools
 
3.5
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
3.2 out of 5
"from the airport to hotel everything was really great nice people great service" – cubana
29 out of 46 (63%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Bed Buge by the beach Huge Bed Bug

All Viva Wyndham Tangerine Customer Reviews

1-10 of 37 reviews. Sort by
October 29, 2012

A nice get-away for a relaxing time. The food was not great but was edible. The drinks were fantastic. Sign up for the shuttle when you make the reservation. It is quick and economical. Taxi cost 2 to 3 times what the shuttle cost and don't get you to the hotel much faster. Maybe 5 minutes. The employees of the hotel are amazing.


29 of 29 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Florida
Age: 55-64
Travel: 7+ trips/year

July 15, 2015
BED BUGS

Do not stay at this resort! During my stay at this resort with my girlfriend we experienced poor living conditions, poor customer service, unfriendly and apathetic staff members, and, worst of all, BED BUGS. Wyndham Tangerine does not treat all their guests equally. This explains the wide spectrum of online reviews for this resort, from highly favorable to highly unfavorable. My girlfriend and I had two very different experiences at this resort before and after a room change (which occurred after much hesitation by the management upon our complaints of bed bugs). In the nicer rooms at the resort (rooms we think are numbered 2000-2999), we enjoyed all the basic amenities that should be offered by any half-decent resort (e.g. hot water, mostly visible cable, working air conditioning, no bed bugs, no stains on the walls or ceiling, decent maid service etc.). In the poorer qualities rooms (rooms numbered 3000-3999), we dealt with bed bug infestations, terrible and barely-visible television reception, ineffective air conditioning units, stains on the walls, ceilings, toilets and showers, lazy and rude maids and cold showers. If you end up in one of the inferior rooms, it will be very difficult for you to enjoy your vacation. However, ending up in one of the nicer rooms at this resort does not make up for the egregiously terrible management and customer service that Viva Wyndham Tangerine (and Wyndham Hotel and Resorts overall) offers. After our horrible experience at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, my girlfriend and I wrote a formal letter of grievances and sent it to the corporate office of Wyndham Customer Service expecting some sort of compensation for our experiences. After weeks of phone calls and representatives at the corporate customer service office frequently pushing our case to numerous different employees and “specialists” (again more terrible customer service), we were able to be compensated with 60,000 rewards points (converts to about 4 nights of free stays at any Wyndham hotel or resort) for our grievances. The letter, which describes our customer service experience in more detail, follows at the end of this review. _______________________________________________ The letter that follows is addressed to the Customer Service Division of Wyndham's corporate office and discusses the complaints we had about our stay at Viva Wyndham Tangerine in detail. To Whom It May Concern: My girlfriend and I recently stayed in rooms 3114 and 2616 of the Viva Wyndham Tangerine resort in Cabarete, Dominican Republic. We purchased an all-inclusive package from CheapCaribbean.Com, and stayed at the resort for six days and five nights. Of all the resort packages offered by CheapCaribbean.Com, we chose to stay at Viva Wyndham Tangerine because we trusted the Wyndham name, expected value for our money, and anticipated excellent customer service. However, when my girlfriend and I arrived at the Viva Wyndham Tangerine, we were treated poorly by the staff, and were forced to stay in uncomfortable, unsanitary, and overall, unpleasant conditions. One of our biggest grievances were the bed bugs we found in our bed. Five days into our stay at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, when my girlfriend and I were staying in room 3114, my girlfriend woke up in the middle of the night itching. When we turned on the lights and flipped over the pillows, we discovered about a dozen bed bugs. When we pulled up our sheets and lifted up the mattress, we found dozens more. Discovering bed bugs in our room significantly ruined our vacation. We were completely disgusted by the bed bugs and felt very uncomfortable staying at Viva Wyndham Tangerine. Additionally, the bed bugs gave my girlfriend bumps, redness and rashes, which caused her great discomfort throughout the entirety of our vacation. Upon discovering the bed bugs, we recorded video footage and took photos of the bed bugs, which we are attaching to this letter in files. We also caught live bed bugs and brought them home with us to be tested for diseases. Though we were greatly appalled by the bed bugs in our beds, we were more appalled by how the staff at Viva Wyndham Tangerine handled our complaints about the bed bugs. We discovered the bed bugs at approximately 5:00am on Friday, June 12, 2015, our fifth day at the resort; we still had over all full day left in our vacation. After killing/capturing the bed bugs we found, and taking thorough showers, I went went to the front desk of the resort at about 6:30am to give our grievances to the staff and ask for a room change. After explaining the situation to the girl who was managing the front desk, I was first told to remain in my room and expect an employee to come by to fumigate the room. I immediately told the front desk girl that I did not want the room to be fumigated when my girlfriend and I were in the room, and would be more comfortable in a new room. However, she told me that there was not a single room available in the entire resort and that the chemicals they would use were harmless, and tried to get me to allow the fumigation to occur while we were in room 3114. I returned to my room to discuss the situation to my girlfriend, who expressed great discomfort about the fumigation. I returned to the front desk girl and asked her to call off the fumigation. The girl at the front desk seemed irritated by my concern for our health, and begrudgingly called off the fumigation. More importantly, she acted as if I was inconveniencing her. I also asked the front desk girl if I could talk to a supervisor and she said that the supervisor would not be in until 9:00am. After waiting two hours, I returned back to the front desk at 9:00am to talk to the supervisor. When I finished explaining the situation to the supervisor, the supervisor also tried to convince me to allow to room fumigation to occur, and claimed the fumigation chemicals were safe. Again, I expressed mine and my girlfriend’s discomfort towards the fumigation, and asked for a new room. The supervisor told me there was not a single spare room available, and said to come back at 1:00pm that day and there may be a new room available. He did not show me anything that affirmed the resort was fully booked. The supervisor then asked me how much longer I would be staying at Viva Wyndham Tangerine. I told him that I would be leaving at noon the next day, Saturday, June 13, 2015. The supervisor then asked me if I really wanted to change rooms since I only had one day left at the resort, implying that he did not think the bed bug situation was a problem. He further mentioned that the bed bugs were a result of the tropical climate, and that it was “not a big deal.” I told the supervisor I would not be comfortable staying in a room infested with bed bugs, and told him I would return at 1:00pm to again request a new room. When my girlfriend and I returned to the front desk at 1:00pm, we were finally given a new room, 2616. We checked the mattress of room 2616 for bed bugs and did not find any. Unfortunately, we were unable to enjoy the rest of our vacation because we no longer felt safe nor welcomed at Viva Wyndham Tangerine. My girlfriend and I have a lengthy list of other grievances we had about our stay at Viva Wyndham Tangerine, in addition to the two I have just discussed. I will be attaching a document that articulates the problems we had with our stay at the resort along with the bed bug pictures and videos to this letter. Overall, my girlfriend and I were highly dissatisfied with how we were treated by the staff during our stay at Viva Wyndham Tangerine. We thought our experience was a poor reflection of Wyndham, and we were very disappointed with the vacation we had paid for with our hardearned money. I hope that Wyndham can find a way to compensate my girlfriend and I for our grievances so we can regain our trust in Wyndham, and someday feel comfortable staying at another Wyndham hotel or resort. Thank You.

Bed Buge Huge Bed Bug
15 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Washington, DC
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 15, 2011
Fantastic Beaches

The Wyndham Tangerine was absolutely gorgeous. We rented a car at the airport. Upon arrival the bellman was spot on, parking was easy and convenient and check in was efficient and smooth. Our room had a musty smell, there was no bottled water in the fridge and there was no hot water. The door lock did not work properly, but it was fixed within 4 hours. I requested a room change but none were available. When one became available I did not feel like packing up and moving. On a more positive note, the maid kept our room very clean. The beds were comfortable and the air conditioner worked very well. There were food and drinks available any time downstairs. The hotel employees were very helpful and friendly. The free alcoholic beverages made for some very loud guests and parties at night, so get a room in one of the buildings a little further from the bar and disco action if you want to sleep.The food was better than average, and sometimes excellent. There was always fantastic coffee, fresh fruit and yogurt. The pool exercise class, body boarding and beach vollyball was a blast. I highly reccomend the pool and the beach. There are nightly shows that were entertaining. Plenty to do.The nightlife clubs in town are within a mile. Check out was fast and easy. Two thumbs up and a great staff!


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Ocala, FL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 20, 2011
Not the best

The rooms were clean and big, and the staff was very friendly and entertaining. The beach was not so great because as soon as you stepped onto it, the vendors hit you up and didn't leave you alone a bit. The property itself was very small compared to others for the price. I was disappointed there was only one pool and basically one place to eat besides the snack bar where you had to fight to ask for something. Doesn't seem to be very many resorts in area. I have family in the Dominican and we pretty much got to know the island even more this time and I am not planning on visiting the resorts in the Puerto Plata, Sosua, Cabarete region any longer. For the same price or lower go to Bavaro or Punta Cana, beaches and resorts much bigger and nicer.


21 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 9, 2012
just ok...one MAJOR negative

My biggest complaint is that the resort has a program where local Dominicans are bussed in on the weekends, COMPLETELY overrunning the resort !!!! (very disrespectful, no common curtsey, waiting lines for food are meaningless as they MOB the food , children standing around peeing in bushes and standing poolside peeing in pool !!!) If I could erase those 3 days, my ratings would be better. The room was adequate , but in disrepair. The card key worked 1 out of 50 times and did not get fixed despite numerous complaints and visits from maintenance, the shower backed up, the toilet had a broken flushing mechanism. The only in room beverage is bottled H2O and we were unable to get more then 2 small bottles at a time. The food was adequate, however I have had much better at larger all inclusive resorts (You get what you pay for) More often then not, there was NO glassware to get drinks at the buffet. The one and ONLY bar is a poor excuse for one...(sub par brands of liquor and poor communication with guests) The beggars on the beach are intolerable and overly persistent...the word "no" is meaningless and I doubt if a bat would have been enough of a deterrent. POSITIVES....The resort grounds are well kept and pretty, the entertainment staff were fun and the shows at night were enjoyable for what you would expect , the beach is beautiful, but there is a reason that Caberete is so popular for kite-boarding...the wind"turns on" at 12:00 and stays on until 7:30....this is GREAT for kite-boarding, but makes the beach into a sandblaster !!! The beach side of the town of Caberete is beautiful with some nice bars and restaurants only a 10 minute walk down the beach. I rented a car and drove less then 15 minutes to Susua (a beautiful beach area....rivaling ANY in the WORLD)...again however the begging is unbearable. NEXT TIME, I WILL STAY WITH A LARGER MORE RESPECTED RESORT


11 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: NJ,USA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 17, 2012
Great Value

Overall we loved the resort. The transportation from the airport was not very good. The van we were in didnt shift and we were not sure we were going to make it to the resort. When we arrived the ease of checkin was great, the staff was friendly and prompt. We arrived on a Saturday, and found out that the resort lets the locals come in for weekends, needless to say they locals were very rude but they were all gone by Sunday so it was all good. Our room was just as expected, a bathroom and a king bed and we had a balcony. The food was just as expected for buffet, it was good. The beach is great and there are plenty of little beach bars to walk to. We loved it and will be back.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Cincinnati, OH
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 8, 2013
No Complaints

My husband and I just got back from our Honeymoon at Wyndham. I didn't realize when booking Viva that the resort was in Cabarete and not Puerto Plata. At first I was disappointed by this but after driving through Puerto Plata a few times I am actually really glad to have stayed in Cabarete. It was close to some of the excursions we did and didn't have as many vendors or tourists traps in my opinion. I have to say when we first arrived the entrance to the resort and the room itself were somewhat disappointing. However, the pool layout and beach were great and that was what was most important to us. We also had a nice view from our balcony so that helped improve the room status. There was quite a mix of people from Canada, Germany, locals, and the States. Everyone at the resort spoke English. Food was pretty good , not everything was great but there was always something good to eat at the buffet. They also have a snack bar until 5am that comes in handy late at night There were two restaurants that needed reservations (still all inclusive). Our favorite was the Mexican one, it was delicious and we come from Chicago where there is no shortage of good Mexican food. The drinks were decent. We pretty much stuck with beer and espresso drinks (coffee bar right next to the main bar, amazing!) since grenadine was a main ingredient in most drinks. We really loved that the resort is on the kite surfing beach. We didn't actually surf ourselves but it was really cool to watch and all the kites made for a very pretty skyline. You can actually walk down the beach to "downtown" Cabarete and there are a few bars and restaurants right on the beach. The beach is pretty long too which is nice for walks/runs. The resort also has nighttime entertainment (dancing performances usually or live music) which makes for a fun atmosphere. The bar gets lively at night but not obnoxiously so. Then there is a disco for dancing. There were a few groups of mid 20s guys and girls but this is not the spring break environment of Cancun so I think they were somewhat disappointed. Overall, we had a great time. The resort was a great mix of fun, relaxation, and service and I would recommend it with the disclaimer that it is not a 5 star hotel.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Chicago
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 22, 2011
Great Vacation

Spent a week in April at the Viva Wyndham Tangerine. What a great time we had. The resort was beautiful. We upgraded to an ocean view room in the Tangerine Palace. What a beautiful site every morning. Our housekeeper Griselda was wonderful. Our room was always made up nicely with little surprises. Tipping daily helped too for extra towels, etc. Did the horseback riding on the beach, altho our butts were sore, it was worth it. The water was warm, the beach perfect, weather great. Kite surfing is big here. Late afternoon when the wind picked up they were all over and very pretty. The food was not too bad. Only disappointment was the drinks. We had lots of rum drinks and rum is not my thing. But overall, had a great time. Your vacation is what you make of it, and we made it work quite well. I would definitely go back. Unfortunately lost my glasses on the 3rd day in the ocean, so sightseeing was out of the question. Stayed at the resort and enjoyed every minute. Thanks cheap caribbean.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Lakewood, NJ
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 28, 2012
this was the worst hotel i have ever stayed in

my reason for my visit was my wedding aniversity,for start,there was smell in the room,we had no hot water,the food was horrible.the best thing about this vacation was the service.i will never visit this place ever again.house keeping told me i would have to wait to the next day to recive a wash cloth.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: new jersey
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 21, 2016
Good vacation but needs some change

We got an upgrade at the front desk to a "VIP" room. It was nice because the room was big and spacious. All though on the 2nd night our bathroom roof started leaking from bad plumbing. You can see that this is a common occurrence as the ceiling is bowed in and probably has mold. At the front desk I asked for maintenance to fix it. It took a while for maintenance to come but the problem got fixed. Our maid service on our second day came into our rooms and took our shower towels but did not leave fresh new ones nor cleaned our room? I had to go to the front desk to ask to have it done. The bar tenders had a bit of an attitude and generally did not seem happy. The entertainers were absolutely welcoming and good people. Most of the staff were nice. The food was OK/good depending on what you ordered. The buffet was not bad at all but the Mexican restaurant was by far the best. The beach in the photos is no where near the size of the actual beach by half. There was a lack of beach chairs. Everyday we got frustrated looking for a beach chair and would give up and just sit by the bar. The beach did have a decent amount of litter on it. Probably from the guests that just left their trash. When we finally found open beach chairs we couldn't enjoy it because we were swormed by vendors trying to sell trinkets. Even after curtious "no gracis" they would try to force their merchandise down your throat. All in all we made the best of the trip and put on a smile.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: NJ
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year