All

Viva Wyndham Maya Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 152 Reviews
Value
 
4.1
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
3.3
Room Comfort
 
3.5
3.9 out of 5
"very nice ,family friendly resort.greit beach,nice pool,lots of activities,good service.poor quality of food." – vlad
155 out of 189 (82%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View from the room pool-side looking to beach Pooside at Viva Wyndham Maya Relaxing beach From our room #2100 A place to use wi-fi and relax near the front desk. The beach security Pool & Bar beach chairs & unbrellas At the front of the resort Our view from our resort. view from our room Beach Walk-way to Main Buffet the beautiful beach Climbing the pyramid at Coba.

All Viva Wyndham Maya Customer Reviews

1-10 of 152 reviews. Sort by
July 21, 2012
Excellent Resort

This was my first trip anywhere with my 2 boys 13 &11. I booked based on photos and reviews. We had a room near the garden, lower level with beach view as well. The pol,beach and snack bar was very close to our room, seemed like they do put families on the lower level with access closer to those things and far enough away that by 10pm we heard nothing in our room. Staff was great, room comfortable and very clean. All water purified that was available at the resort in all locations where you could get food. Food was great and with a picky eater, my youngest ate very very well on this trip. Would go back again. Myself and boys didn't want to leave. Olympus was great schduling dolphin encounter and the snorkling trip was the best. Relaxing and safe not a worry once on the trip.


32 of 32 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Orange, MA
Age: 25-34

June 7, 2012
Worst All Inclusive Ever!

We just returned from a 10 day, 9 night stay at this resort. This was by far the worst all-inclusive experience we have ever had. We try to make one trip like this once a year for around 10 days. And, we love Mexico. All inclusive is the way we typically go and have had good experiences everywhere else we have been in Mexico, as well as Punta Cana and Aruba. We do not have unrealistic expectations, but for the money, this was a total disappointment. The food was not edible at the buffet at all, which is where you had breakfast and possibly lunch and dinner. The grill by the pool was actually worse, with raw hamburgers, hard hotdog buns, and greasy food in general. And, we were mislead to believe that you did have dining options every night, which is NOT TRUE. The sit down restaurants are only allowed for a few nights based on the number of nights you stay there, For our 9 nights, it was only a total of 3! So, the other 6 nights had to be at the buffet, which had terrible food, was hot, dirty, loud and had absolutely no service. The only saving grace was that the actual restaurants (which only 2 of the 4 are in the resort. The other two are 10 minutes away at the sister resort) was that the sit down restaurants were equally as bad. So, you didn't feel you were missing anything. Now don't get me wrong. We certainly do not go down there for the food. We simply want to have a few cold drinks , have decent meals, and lay on the beach. The only good thing about this resort is the location. The beach is beautiful and you are in close proximity to Playa Del Carment, which is good because that is where you end up spending extra money for a decent meal. I would not recommend this resort to anyone. And, I strongly suggest that if you have a current reservation here, pay the extra money and book somewhere else!


51 of 57 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Carolina Coast
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 28, 2011

From my well-handled reservations with Joanna Quiqley to our entire trip, it was great. Olympus Tours responsible for our transfers in Cancun/Playa del Carmen was very professional & friendly. The only problem we had was that our hotel, Wynham Maya was the last of the 4 hotels. . So instead of 40 min to the Hotel, we had to endure addtional 40 minutes on stretches of bumpy & unpaved roads to the other 3 hotels. My friend became ill because of the bad roads. The hotel check-in was most courteous and friendly. Our request for rooms near the beach was graciously given to us (2 rooms). We appreciate very much the room amenities of coffee/tea maker, hair dryer, refrigerator and a new safe. The activity staff were very upbeat and friendly. The food at the Mexican and the Med restaurants were moderate. We ordered seafood and they tasted frozen and salty. The quality and choice at the buffet restaurant are adequate. The dining staff were very friendly, happy and always ready to please us. Thanks so much for the enjoyable vacation. You will hear from us again. Have been sending your website to my travelling friend & family.


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Port St Lucie, FL
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 11, 2011
Good deal for the money

We stayed at the Viva Wyndham Maya June26-July3, 2011 with two adults and two teenagers. The rooms were really small and they had no dressers for clothing other than two shelves near the door so most of the time we left the clothing in luggage. The food was average with some days offering a better selection than others. Our room was right at the beach which was nice because we were so close to the ocean, the pool, the food and the nightly shows. The coffee is terrible and if you like cream in your coffee they only offer milk but luckly Starbucks was right accross the street from the resort. $$$ The weather was unpredictable due to storms passing through the week we were there so most of the water sports were closed due to high winds which created a safety issue. You need to sign up for these activities to insure you get a time or you will miss out. We did not try any resturants because you needed to make reservations and everyone I talked to said the food was just average. I would suggest making your reservations soon after you arrive in order to guarantee an opening. The spa was nice and the prices were really good, especially with the discount cheap caribbean had offered through the resort so we did take advantage of it. I would recommand taking skin so soft (which worked really well) or some other type of insect repellent for the evening because the insects love to bite. Overall it was a nice place to visit with beautiful beaches. If your looking for a 5 star resort this is not the place for you but it was relaxing and enjoyable. I would have liked more Mexican style music but there was very little of that other than once or twice a day when the staff came out to teach a dance step. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were clean, the beds very comfortable, the AC worked well, the place felt safe and for $7/US you could take the taxi to 5th ave. for shopping which was also safe. I would go back again if I needed too however, I like to try different places each time I travel. It was a good bargain for the money and a nice place if your taking kids. If you decide to take the ferry to Cozomel I would suggest buying a one way ticket and on the return trip buy another one way ticket. This way your not locked into a specific time when you need to return. A one way ticket allows you to return when your ready to return.


17 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 27, 2014
Clean Resort & Great Service at Viva Wyndham Maya

Our family of four, two adults and two teenagers just stayed at the Viva Wyndham Maya resort February 18-23 2014. The resort is very nice and well kept. The staff works very hard and the cleanliness shows as does the fantastic service. Check in was quick and we were greeted with a welcome drink. -Rooms are nice, nothing fancy but are clean. Ours was on 2nd floor of the 3000 block back by the small relaxing pool so it was quiet. The AC works very well and we were treated to a different towel animal every day. Our room had two queen beds, refrigerator, small balcony, and safe. -There are lots of food choices at this resort and sister resort Azteca. We stayed 5 nights so had two ala-carte dinners. We ate at Portofino and Viva Cafe both at Maya. The service and food was exceptional at both, though I preferred the atmosphere at Portofino a little better. Be sure to book your reservations at guest service desk early as these fill up quick. We had the other dinners and breakfast every day at the main La Terraza buffet area. The food here is good with a lot of choices. The service is also good here. We ate at pool side snack bar a couple times. There are not as many choices here but is very convenient when you are dripping wet from swimming or don’t feel like putting shoes on. -The grounds are very well kept and pretty. The resort is not huge, but we found to be a nice walk with covered paths, bridges, and large central courtyard. The Azteca is quite a bit smaller then Maya but was also well kept. There are iguanas and Agouti on site but they stay their distance and are harmless. -Viva Wyndham Maya is about a 20-30 minute walk to the shopping area of down town Playa Del Carmen while Azteca is a little closer. There are taxis available if you would rather not walk. It is a nice area with a lot of shops and a safe setting. The ferry to Cozumel is also here. -The beach was a highlight at this resort, nice sand and lots of loungers in shade as well as sun. The main pool is also nice with a swim-up bar. Most of the activites are around the main pool area. -There are activities all day and a show each night at 9:30. We went for a catamaran ride and kids painted pots and we watched two shows. The shows are not ‘Vegas Quality’ but are entertaining. There is also volleyball, archery, bingo, dance, tennis, and trapeze to name a few of the activities on the grounds of Maya, again the staff does a nice job with these activities. -We went on a snorkel excursion to Akumal and a Cenote and highly recommend it. We booked it through Under Water Technical World right on the resort site down on the beach. Carlos was our guide and was fantastic and really made the trip special.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New Hudson, Michigan
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 15, 2012
amazing

This was my first trip out of the country it was amazing CheapCaribbean set up the perfect vaction. as soon as we got off the plane and transporter was there to take us to our hotel he was very nice and helpful when we got to the hotel we got there early they ttok our bag and gave us our arm band so we could go eat. the food was amazing the hotel was so beautiful. the hotel is only 15 min from 5th ave. where you can shop eat and we rode bikes provided by the hotel the excursing are a lil exspencive but they where great we went ATVing . over all this was a amazing experence highly recommend this vacation.... A+++++


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: SANFORD, NC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 7+ trips/year

December 8, 2015
First time in Mexico

We went for our tenth anniversary. The service is fantastic. The area is beautiful. Everyone is friendly and helpful no matter what we asked. The "Animacion" team is so much fun. They are a part of the staff who plan fun things to do every day. They are so happy to be at work. It made our days without planned excursions fun just being at the resort!! They are also VERY talented. They put on a free show every night. It's rated (in my opinion pg-13 bc of costume choice and the dances can be a little risqué.) But they are TALENTED!!! The food was just ok. Not terrible but ok. The all inclusive is the way to go. They had a buffet open 24/7. If you sleep thru lunch it's ok because there's going to be food ready when you are. The wi-fi was nonexistent from our room. We had to go to the common area where people relax and get drinks and talk, near the front desk. If you are nervous about scheduling an excursion wait til you get there- the concierge will get you all the info you need to pick the right excursion for you and they'll even set you up with the tix. I was amazed that the excursions had shuttle buses that pick up daily as part of your ticket price. The shuttles are very nice. And no taxi costs. We did take a taxi one day to the ferry that then took us to Cozumel. It felt safe and he was very cordial. Being on the golf course you felt safe at all times. The ferry was very nice also. Clean and air conditioned. We went deep sea fishing on a boat named Blue (also recommended by a hotel employee). The day was perfect. The fishing guide fed us and had a cooler of drinks. We caught 6 fish. We were told when we got back to port that other boats didn't catch anything! The other excursion we went on was to Excaret (esh-caret). It's awesome. It's like a zoo/ scuba dive/ buffet/ Mayan ruin/ ocean swim all in one. Well worth the $. I hope this helps. If you have questions ask the hotel personnel. They are always ready to help.

Our view from our resort. A place to use wi-fi and relax near the front desk.
7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Indiana
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 7, 2013
The hotel was a great value

The hotel was a great value. Everything was satisfactory. The rooms clean and comfy but no luxuries. The service friendly but not out of the way exceptional. The food was a good variety and some stand outs but nothing stellar. The shows were fun at night and great location and beach. Kids club looked like alot of fun. Wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel for a minute for the price, unless you are looking to be pampered. 9-18$ cab ride to playa each way so If you like visiting the city hopefully you like walking (20-30min walk). The playacar neighborhood extremely safe.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: minneapolis, mn
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 6, 2013
Nothing Amazing, but Not Terrible

We stayed here 4/25-4/30/13. The weather was great. The beach is wonderful, sand is soft, water is warm. It was a little difficult to find 4 beach loungers next to each other by 11am, and impossible to find them together in the shade at that time. The pools get pretty crowded too. We spent a majority of our time at the relax pool. Much easier to find a spot to layout there. Water was warm. The bar at the relax pool was great. The jacuzzis are not very hot, basically the same temperature as the pool. Also, the pools close at 8pm, and you cant get a fresh towel after 7pm. The snack bar had decent food. The buffet was alright, there was a pasta bar every night, omelet bar every morning. We only had one a la carte reservation for our 5 nights. We went to the Mexican food restaurant and it was delicious. Luckily we saved it for our last night there, the buffet would not have been as enjoyable following that great dinner. The room was my least favorite, the bed was terrible. Terrible! Sleeping on a lounger was much more comfortable, and I was looking forward to returning home so that I could sleep in a comfortable bed again. That was disappointing. Most of our time was spent out of the room anyways, but that bed was rock hard. Also, hallways connecting rooms are loud, everything echoes. Their nightly shows were actually really impressive. Drinks were good. We did the tour of chichen itza with swimming in the cenote and that was awesome, definitely recommend it, even if it does take an entire day. Not my favorite all-inclusive, but we went with friends and still had a great time. Its good for an affordable vacation which is what we were looking for. As long as you dont have super high expectations you should enjoy it.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Monrovia, CA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 22, 2015
Not the best, but certainly OK

We stayed at the Viva Wyndham Maya for 12 days, where we were joined by family from Germany. Overall, we enjoyed it, and would have no trouble recommending it. However... We thought the food quality at the buffet was so-so. There was always enough that we liked to enjoy meals, but having stayed at inclusive resorts in the Dominican Republic, we were just disappointed in the overall quality of the food. There was some Mexican food at every buffet, but we would have appreciated more. A lot of the food was just over-cooked, and it always seemed to be the cheapest cuts of meat. The fish was almost always basa (swai), which is extremely cheap. The food at the specialty restaurants was a lot better, and the service there was superb. We recommend tipping generously. For just spending a few dollars every day, you get a lot of attention from the staff. We noticed that a lot of people didn't tip much, if it all. The shows every night were generally pretty good, although the young people in the shows seem to have to work 13 hour days, six days a week. They don't just perform, but they also entertain the guests during the day. We doubt they are getting paid enough to justify 80 hour weeks. The free Wi-Fi is absolutely terrible. I've had better internet access using drums. The paid wifi is $15 USD per day. Way too much. It should be included. It costs very little more to provide good wifi than it does to provide bad wifi. No mosquitos. Yay! A central courtyard runs down from the lobby to the beach. We recommend a) a room not on the ground floor, and on the outside of the buildings, not facing the courtyard. Too much noise at night on the inside, and no privacy on the ground floor.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Oakland, CA
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year