All

Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - La Romana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 200 Reviews
Value
 
4.1
Service
 
3.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
3.5
Room Comfort
 
3.5
3.8 out of 5
"Loved the atmosphere, beach and pool. Felt like I was in paradise. Staff was another story." – samali2597
171 out of 234 (73%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Palace beach open water near saona island shot from snorkeling right off the beach My wallpaper at work. dominicus palace beach View from our balcony Very quiet beaches! Viva Cafe pool at Dominicus Beach Mexican night at the buffet La yuca restaurant Gelato at Palace Pool Catalina Island View from my chair in the mornings.

All Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace Customer Reviews

1-10 of 200 reviews. Sort by
December 19, 2012
awesome

I am an avid traveler and I always do my research before my trips. One thing I dont understand is why there are so many negative people in the world. Despite that no one speaks, seriously no one,snobby foreignors and the 2 hour car ride to get there.....the place was amazing. top to bottom, the people there try their best to accomodate you. the beach was perfect, no need for a snorkel excursion because you can just walk out. so bring your own. if your gonna do an excursion do the catarmaran to saona island. the food makes or breaks a vacation for me. the buffets were ok, never felt sick from that. but the fine dinings were amazing, except for la roca....dont waste a dinner night there, all the rest are a go escpecially bambu. bring all the cash your gonna need while your there, especially 1 dollar bills for tip, bc they dont have them for you. do not exchange your money....ever, not in the airport or resort,you wont get as much back, but if you have been anywhere you already know that. tip your cleaning lady always. no internet, no wi-fi. dont let them lie to you it never works, be prepared before you go. try not to fly on spirit airways, you might think your getting a deal until they charge you an additional 100$ each way for luggage and nothing is complimentary....no water, no peanuts, chairs dont lean back and your packed in so tight so they can put more people on their planes.


118 of 121 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: Harrisburg, PA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 5, 2013
Absolutely beautiful.... BUT....

We stayed at the Dominicus Palace for 1 week. It's a beautiful resort and the fact that it's connected to its sister resort Dominicus Beach was a major selling point for us. We got double the restaurants, bars, pools, etc. for the price of one. We saw a different show every night, lounged on the beach, and took advantage of the many excursions they had to offer. Here are some of the negatives: We are from the U.S. and we maybe came across 3 people that spoke English, so communication was very, very difficult. The food was OK. It wasn't bad, but we expected better. You have 8 restaurants to choose from, but you're only allowed to make reservations at 4 restaurants. We went to Il Palco, Viva Cafe, La Mexicana and 25. The best restaurant by FAR was 25.. My mouth is still watering over the food. The others were just OK. When you can't make a reservation, you have to eat at the buffet. They do a good job switching out the food every day, but still, eating there for the majority of your meals gets annoying. There are a lot of women that run around topless. Maybe that's something you get at any resort, but we weren't expecting that. When they take you on a tour of the resort, they talk about a welcome package held by the Viva Vacation Club. It's basically a Vacation Club that's supposed to save you money when you travel. Long story short, avoid it, or at least take some time to think about it and do your research! They mislead us and exaggerated about many things. They want your money so bad.. even on the resort. We went into the shops and they harassed us to buy items. They don't have a packet telling you all the things you can do on the resort. They offer so much, and they tell you on the tour, but you can't remember it all. They offer dance lessons, classes, shows, and so many other things, but you have no idea what's available because they don't have it all listed somewhere. The beach is really rocky, even in the water. My husband kicked a rock when we were swimming and banged his foot up really bad. Another thing was when my husband banged his foot up we went to the medical place to get it cleaned up. The worker then asked us if we could go get him a hamburger and fries. I'm sorry, but we were on vacation, not there to go get the staff their lunch. I thought that was so rude. Here are some of the positives: We enjoyed the Safari excursion through Olympus Tours so much and would highly recommend it! We also did the ATV/Buggy excursion.. it was OK. It was something we could have done at home. We got to drive ATV's and Buggy's through the city and some sugar cane fields. One thing I would recommend is waiting to book excursions until you actually get there. When we booked online we had 2 to choose from. When we got there, there was an entire list. Our room was huge! Very clean and very comfy. Again, the resort was BEAUTIFUL and there were a variety of things to do. There are different shows every night at the Theater. We saw a comedy, Aladdin, Michael Jackson (which was awesome), and a Dominican Dance. All were great! We experienced more negatives than positives with this resort, so I can't say that we would visit this resort again, but we would definitely visit the country to try a different resort.


162 of 173 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: USA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 28, 2012
Absolute Best Vacation I've ever had....

In the beginning of August my husband and I stayed at the palace. Both of us have never been on a vacation alone without our children, and the was the best experience we've had. Going into it only seeing the pictures online, I was a little skeptical..However, once we arrived all of our expectations were met above and beyond. We are two americans who aren't snobby, weren't going to whine and moan because our pillows and room wasn't white and fluffy. To us, the rooms are medicocre...but who cares, you're there to rest and get up and be outside! Never did we just go hang out in our rooms, we wanted to be by the gorgeous beaches! We were taken care of promptly when we arrived. Our room service was everyday. However, when I paid in pesos, opposed to dollars we got a towel statue on our bed...haha it's the little things, I liked walking in seeing that at night. We took full advantage of the free water sports, we kayaked, took out the katamaran, and snorkeled. We had to buy snorkels from the gift shop, but for 13 usd, that was GREAT! and they were great quality. Alot of the coral off the beached were dead which is sad, but on the other hand there was a plethora of fish to see. Angel fish, Rock fish, sand fish....just millions of different schools of fish right at your feet. We did this almost daily!. All the restaurants were good....Viva Cafe and the Italian were our favorites. We weren't too keen on Bamboo, must of been an off night. The Buffetts were always fresh and plentiful! The staff definitely don't speak a lot of english, but we managed and got by...it wasn't enough to complain about. The entertainment staff were awesome. very nice! The shows are fun and a little raunchy, but something to d each night at 930 was nice. Being that we stayed at the palace and were able to use the Beach hotel amenities as well was nice. This resort is so spread out, we never had to chase to get a chair. If we wanted a busy pool you can find one, if you want a peaceful pool with nobody, there's that too. The infiniti pool at the end of the resort was always super quiet with great views! I noticed there was plenty to do for kids if you do bring them, and is kid friendly everywhere. We paid $35 usd each to do the Saona Island day trip. SO WORTH IT. take bug spray though....the walk through the forest to get there has a lot of mozzies. the beach was great....then the stop at the natural swimming pool was awesome! take the snorkel set! you get to dive for starfish....and they are HUGE!!!!! If you get a chance have the photographer that goes on the trips to take some shots....They're amazing and they do a professional job and they turn out great. It's worth it. We will definitely go back, and take the kids next time. This trip was awesome! Oh and the sand on the beach was exactly what I wanted.....soft sand! no rocks....and the sand at Saona Island is even better...it's baby powder soft. To read complaints on here about the language barrier annoys me and saddens me that it gets a bad review. It's very advertised that it's Italian Owned, and the local languages are Italian and Spanish. I loved hearing all the different languages, and for the most part....they knew as much English as we knew their language....we got by, and it was perfect. 5 STARS! Thanks for the best vacation we have ever had. Highly Recommended

shot from snorkeling right off the beach Very quiet beaches!
56 of 60 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Wheat Ridge, CO USA!
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 13, 2013
not what I expected

So, I am not sure I would use Cheapcaribbean again. The rooms shown on the website weren't what we got when we arrived. As an avid traveler I can say it was one of my least enjoyed vacation. The facility was old and the room water stop functioning...very weird experience.


20 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: washington
Age: 25-34
Travel: 7+ trips/year

April 10, 2013
Pretty but disappointing

This hotel is actually a "two in one;" it is huge and pretty, but they cut corners, "nickel and diming" by charging for the room safe, only occasionally having bacon for breakfast, on request, charging for WiFi, not having enough beach towels, and generally providing little guest services. Even though my wife and I both had a relaxing week at the beach and swimming pools, we would never recommemnd this resort to anyone we cared about. On the "plus" side: The food ranged from excellent to poor, depending on the restaurant and the meal. The breads, pastries and linguini at La Yuca buffet were, however, consistently excellent! The soups were not particularly good, though the variety and choices of entrees were generally fine and, for the most part, very tasty. All but one of the five specialty restaurants required no additional charge, though reservations had to be made in advance and in person (not by phone.) Though we were able to make reservations for the entire week "in one blow" on our first morning (second day,) many of our choices were already "filled," though all of our alternive requests were met. Both the food and the service at the open air restaurant on the water near the pier was very good. The Asian restaurant was OK. The entrees were good but the sashimi was not fresh. The beach is wide, the Caribbean waters clear and beautiful, but the constant wave action makes snorkeling a bit difficult from the beach.The swimming pools were all nice, with varying degrees of activity and/or congestion. In fact, there was always at least one pool that was as quiet as another was raucous. Otherwise, even though the grounds were well manicured, the beach nice and wide, the water varying shades of pretty blues and clear throughout, there were too many waves for snorkeling. On the "minus" side: The staff (with very few exceptions, including attentive housekeeping service staff) pretty much sucked. "Service" was either non-existent or inadequate, and the "helpfulness" of the management could not be found. Staff at the front desk referred all concerns and complains to "customer service," which consisted of one staff member person ponderously dealing with lines of guests with varying concerns. We were never able to access the purportedly free WiFi to link up our Kindles and the available WiFi that charged $4 for 15 minutes (about twice the daily rental fee for the safe in our room) did not function more than sporadically. At one of my three separate attemps to access the fee-required WiFi through the "business center," I was totally unable to access the web. When I requested a refund of my $4 (really on principle, rather than on cheapskateness,) I was refused. When I brought the matter to the front desk and asked to speak to management, I was passed on to "customer service," and when I went to "customer service," I had to wait behind a line of seven other guests, ... which I chose not to waste time doing. (It was "only" $4.) Telephone attempts to contact management proved unsuccessful. And yet, the place was physically very nice and we had a relaxing time swimming, sunning, reading, beachcoming, and just enjoying a slothful, sun-filled week. BUT, this place is a 2 hour car ride away from Santo Domingo, far away from the nearest towns, far less charming and interesting than many other places we have been, and I would NEVER recommend it to friends. In fact, if it is representative of Wyndham service and accomodatuions, I will steer all AWAY from Wyndham resorts.


60 of 68 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Saratoga Springs, NY
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 15, 2010
Best Purchase Ever

I had no idea what to expect when I bought my vacation. I did see a few small pictures. The place was absolutely beautiful. The service was amazing. You would never believe that you could have such an amazing vacation for so cheap. I highly recommend the vacation spot and cheap caribbean.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Tampa, Fl.
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 28, 2013
Not a good place unless you enjoy smoikingede

Where to start. We are on a budget along with our traveling friends. So we need one room with 3 beds. We we made the reservation we were assured that they had a roll away bed and could upgrade the room when we got here. I called 3 days before check in to check again and asked about an upgraded room. I was assured they had the roll away and would talk to us about a room upgrade when we arrived. You can see this coming right? We get there and are told they do not even have roll away beds. So they told us what we wanted to hear to get us there. No room upgrade available, So our two friends had to share a bed the whole vacation. not what we planned. The room had a very strong odor of mold. We had to leave our patio door open even when gone to tolerate the smell. With AC and door open at the end of 10 days it was still strong. I have stayed in many tropical places so I am aware that it is hard to keep the rooms dry, but this was way above that. You have to be able to tolerate smoking. It is everywhere but in the enclosed dining, On the beach we never could get away from it. We picked places far away from everyone only to have someone park nearby and start smoking. They smoked often and one right after another. We were told they have internet, but it only worked occasional, more not then working. Very slow when it did work, If you buy the code to use theirs, you will get very old computers, (still have slots for disks) and very slow connection. The front desk was no help, when we told them about our concerns about the room and lack of roll away bed, they would acknowledge the problem and then go about their business It had good food, tasting and variety. The specialty restaurants were good, The entertainment was what you would expect we enjoyed it. Beach volley ball was spotty, it was supposed to be everyday at 4:45 but they often had other entertainment set up so no volleyball. This is one of the things I enjoy a lot, so I was disappointed. Overall, I would not go back because of the smell in the room and the smoking. If you can get by that, the Place was OK. If you only speak English you can get by, but it can be difficult the help tries hard to speak with you,, but some only have very limited English


26 of 30 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Wisconsin USA
Age: 55-64

August 16, 2011
Great Value

After reading reviews directly before my departure (August 5, 2011), I was worried about how this resort would be. I'm not sure what people were expecting for the money, but we really liked the resort and thought it was a great value. The beach and water are gorgeous, and there were plenty of chairs and shade. The pool was terrific and it was easy to get a chair during differents times of the day (especially when the Europeans were having siesta). The grounds were very pretty, Flamingos and Peacocks wandering around, a fountain and lighted paths, beautiful flowers and trees, a big open air lobby (with free WiFi), nice pool bar with entertainment (also with free WiFi). The Garden View rooms faced an interior garden that was lovely and each had a small terrace, with table and two chairs. The rooms were OK. Very standard, but clean. The shower was dark with the curtain closed and the toilets were a little slow. When we called Maintenance about the toilet, they responded promptly and the problem was fixed when we returned to our room. The air conditioning was cold. This is the Caribbean. Sun, sand, salt etc. The elements are hard on things. If you need a luxurious room, this won't be the place for you and you may be disappointed. The Buffet food was plentiful and quite good for an all-inclusive. The reservation restaurants were also good. We never waited for a drink (they poured a very nice one) or anything to eat. The staff passed fresh fruit on the beach The resort is filled with mostly Europeans (Italians and Germans), but we loved that. The "Animae" Staff did their thing in Spanish, Italian and German, but it made it easier to ignore them. I'm sure if I wanted to take the Salsa lesson, they would have done it in English. The people were super nice, including the young women at the Front Desk, which were described in other reviews as snotty. The bartenders were also very nice in all the locations we visited. All-in-all, we had a great and easy time here and would return. We were a group of eight, inlcuding four adults, a young adult, a teenager and two younger children. B/t/w, the kids in the Kids' Club appeared to be having a really good tme. P.S. Watch out for the guys in the airport on your return claiming to be "Immigation Workers," there to help you through Customes etc. Once they "help" you they demand $5 a head for their assistance and the guy who "helped" us rushed us along so fast, that our boarding passes got screwed up, which was a pain in the neck to fix further down the Security Line and could have really messed up our return travel. Buyer Beware.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Manhasset, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 11, 2013
Good and Bad

On the good side I have to say that the food was excellent with many options; the staff was attentive and always friendly. The facility was immaculate, the pools were clean, and the beach was pristine. Staff was constantly clearing the pools and beaches of dishes and glasses left by guests. Also no trouble with insects anywhere. On the bad side. NO AIR CONDITIONING ANYWHERE EXCEPT IN THE ROOMS. I live in South Florida so I know hot and humid, but we have AC. The shops I can understand, but not the restaurants. All the restaurants are open air, some by the water and some not. After showering and dressing for dinner, I was was damp and uncomfortable after walking to my chosen restaurant. ICE seems to be a rare commodity here. Drinks are usually served without ice or with only a cube or two that melted almost instantly. I found only one soft drink fountain that had an ice dispenser. The room was large but had only one very uncomfortable chair and very dim lighting. Entertainment at the Palace was non-existent. You had to walk over to the Beach Resort side to find what passed as entertainment.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: South Florida
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 2, 2012
**Must Read This Review**

First things first- the Language barrier isn't as bad as people make it seem to be. The staff was very helpful- and even the ones who didn't understannd much english still tried the best they could to help. If they couldn't they found someone who can understand. Beach/Pools- No fighting over any lounge chairs, there are more than enough to go around (seeing we went on Memorial Day Weekend) it was still nice quiet and relaxing. There is no beach service for drinks however but with that being the only downside it was perfect. Rooms- We stayed at Dominicus Palace so we had access to both resorts we didn't see much of the Beach Resort because we were having so much fun at the Palace- but it was nice to have the options. The room was nice- nothing spectacular but who on vacation spends most of the time in the room anyway? There was a safe in the room ($2 a day- but worth it- and it was big enough to fit the most important things. The fridge wasn't that cold but it could've just been our room (i wont speak for all of them). but as said before- it's not that big of a deal- we went to the bar got a couple of cups with ice and we were good to go. Overall- if you're looking for a nice, quiet, relaxing place to just be a beach bum, have some drinks, some good food and meet some nice people this is a great place to do it! I'd recommend it for people who are just looking for a nice getaway

**Must Read This Review** **Must Read This Review**
17 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Queens, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year