All

Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - La Romana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 197 Reviews
Value
 
4.1
Service
 
3.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
3.5
Room Comfort
 
3.5
3.8 out of 5
"This is a wonderful resorts, please ignore all the negative reviews. As a family with 17 people travel age ranging from 5 to 80 years old, everyone had a wonderful time." – Nguyen2424
169 out of 231 (73%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
dominicus palace beach Catalina Island Very quiet beaches! View from my chair in the mornings. pool at Dominicus Beach Palace beach Gelato at Palace Pool View from our balcony Viva Cafe shot from snorkeling right off the beach Mexican night at the buffet La yuca restaurant open water near saona island My wallpaper at work.

All Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace Customer Reviews

1-10 of 197 reviews. Sort by
December 19, 2012
awesome

I am an avid traveler and I always do my research before my trips. One thing I dont understand is why there are so many negative people in the world. Despite that no one speaks, seriously no one,snobby foreignors and the 2 hour car ride to get there.....the place was amazing. top to bottom, the people there try their best to accomodate you. the beach was perfect, no need for a snorkel excursion because you can just walk out. so bring your own. if your gonna do an excursion do the catarmaran to saona island. the food makes or breaks a vacation for me. the buffets were ok, never felt sick from that. but the fine dinings were amazing, except for la roca....dont waste a dinner night there, all the rest are a go escpecially bambu. bring all the cash your gonna need while your there, especially 1 dollar bills for tip, bc they dont have them for you. do not exchange your money....ever, not in the airport or resort,you wont get as much back, but if you have been anywhere you already know that. tip your cleaning lady always. no internet, no wi-fi. dont let them lie to you it never works, be prepared before you go. try not to fly on spirit airways, you might think your getting a deal until they charge you an additional 100$ each way for luggage and nothing is complimentary....no water, no peanuts, chairs dont lean back and your packed in so tight so they can put more people on their planes.


118 of 121 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: Harrisburg, PA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 5, 2013
Absolutely beautiful.... BUT....

We stayed at the Dominicus Palace for 1 week. It's a beautiful resort and the fact that it's connected to its sister resort Dominicus Beach was a major selling point for us. We got double the restaurants, bars, pools, etc. for the price of one. We saw a different show every night, lounged on the beach, and took advantage of the many excursions they had to offer. Here are some of the negatives: We are from the U.S. and we maybe came across 3 people that spoke English, so communication was very, very difficult. The food was OK. It wasn't bad, but we expected better. You have 8 restaurants to choose from, but you're only allowed to make reservations at 4 restaurants. We went to Il Palco, Viva Cafe, La Mexicana and 25. The best restaurant by FAR was 25.. My mouth is still watering over the food. The others were just OK. When you can't make a reservation, you have to eat at the buffet. They do a good job switching out the food every day, but still, eating there for the majority of your meals gets annoying. There are a lot of women that run around topless. Maybe that's something you get at any resort, but we weren't expecting that. When they take you on a tour of the resort, they talk about a welcome package held by the Viva Vacation Club. It's basically a Vacation Club that's supposed to save you money when you travel. Long story short, avoid it, or at least take some time to think about it and do your research! They mislead us and exaggerated about many things. They want your money so bad.. even on the resort. We went into the shops and they harassed us to buy items. They don't have a packet telling you all the things you can do on the resort. They offer so much, and they tell you on the tour, but you can't remember it all. They offer dance lessons, classes, shows, and so many other things, but you have no idea what's available because they don't have it all listed somewhere. The beach is really rocky, even in the water. My husband kicked a rock when we were swimming and banged his foot up really bad. Another thing was when my husband banged his foot up we went to the medical place to get it cleaned up. The worker then asked us if we could go get him a hamburger and fries. I'm sorry, but we were on vacation, not there to go get the staff their lunch. I thought that was so rude. Here are some of the positives: We enjoyed the Safari excursion through Olympus Tours so much and would highly recommend it! We also did the ATV/Buggy excursion.. it was OK. It was something we could have done at home. We got to drive ATV's and Buggy's through the city and some sugar cane fields. One thing I would recommend is waiting to book excursions until you actually get there. When we booked online we had 2 to choose from. When we got there, there was an entire list. Our room was huge! Very clean and very comfy. Again, the resort was BEAUTIFUL and there were a variety of things to do. There are different shows every night at the Theater. We saw a comedy, Aladdin, Michael Jackson (which was awesome), and a Dominican Dance. All were great! We experienced more negatives than positives with this resort, so I can't say that we would visit this resort again, but we would definitely visit the country to try a different resort.


162 of 171 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: USA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 28, 2012
Absolute Best Vacation I've ever had....

In the beginning of August my husband and I stayed at the palace. Both of us have never been on a vacation alone without our children, and the was the best experience we've had. Going into it only seeing the pictures online, I was a little skeptical..However, once we arrived all of our expectations were met above and beyond. We are two americans who aren't snobby, weren't going to whine and moan because our pillows and room wasn't white and fluffy. To us, the rooms are medicocre...but who cares, you're there to rest and get up and be outside! Never did we just go hang out in our rooms, we wanted to be by the gorgeous beaches! We were taken care of promptly when we arrived. Our room service was everyday. However, when I paid in pesos, opposed to dollars we got a towel statue on our bed...haha it's the little things, I liked walking in seeing that at night. We took full advantage of the free water sports, we kayaked, took out the katamaran, and snorkeled. We had to buy snorkels from the gift shop, but for 13 usd, that was GREAT! and they were great quality. Alot of the coral off the beached were dead which is sad, but on the other hand there was a plethora of fish to see. Angel fish, Rock fish, sand fish....just millions of different schools of fish right at your feet. We did this almost daily!. All the restaurants were good....Viva Cafe and the Italian were our favorites. We weren't too keen on Bamboo, must of been an off night. The Buffetts were always fresh and plentiful! The staff definitely don't speak a lot of english, but we managed and got by...it wasn't enough to complain about. The entertainment staff were awesome. very nice! The shows are fun and a little raunchy, but something to d each night at 930 was nice. Being that we stayed at the palace and were able to use the Beach hotel amenities as well was nice. This resort is so spread out, we never had to chase to get a chair. If we wanted a busy pool you can find one, if you want a peaceful pool with nobody, there's that too. The infiniti pool at the end of the resort was always super quiet with great views! I noticed there was plenty to do for kids if you do bring them, and is kid friendly everywhere. We paid $35 usd each to do the Saona Island day trip. SO WORTH IT. take bug spray though....the walk through the forest to get there has a lot of mozzies. the beach was great....then the stop at the natural swimming pool was awesome! take the snorkel set! you get to dive for starfish....and they are HUGE!!!!! If you get a chance have the photographer that goes on the trips to take some shots....They're amazing and they do a professional job and they turn out great. It's worth it. We will definitely go back, and take the kids next time. This trip was awesome! Oh and the sand on the beach was exactly what I wanted.....soft sand! no rocks....and the sand at Saona Island is even better...it's baby powder soft. To read complaints on here about the language barrier annoys me and saddens me that it gets a bad review. It's very advertised that it's Italian Owned, and the local languages are Italian and Spanish. I loved hearing all the different languages, and for the most part....they knew as much English as we knew their language....we got by, and it was perfect. 5 STARS! Thanks for the best vacation we have ever had. Highly Recommended

shot from snorkeling right off the beach Very quiet beaches!
54 of 56 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Wheat Ridge, CO USA!
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 13, 2013
not what I expected

So, I am not sure I would use Cheapcaribbean again. The rooms shown on the website weren't what we got when we arrived. As an avid traveler I can say it was one of my least enjoyed vacation. The facility was old and the room water stop functioning...very weird experience.


20 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: washington
Age: 25-34
Travel: 7+ trips/year

April 10, 2013
Pretty but disappointing

This hotel is actually a "two in one;" it is huge and pretty, but they cut corners, "nickel and diming" by charging for the room safe, only occasionally having bacon for breakfast, on request, charging for WiFi, not having enough beach towels, and generally providing little guest services. Even though my wife and I both had a relaxing week at the beach and swimming pools, we would never recommemnd this resort to anyone we cared about. On the "plus" side: The food ranged from excellent to poor, depending on the restaurant and the meal. The breads, pastries and linguini at La Yuca buffet were, however, consistently excellent! The soups were not particularly good, though the variety and choices of entrees were generally fine and, for the most part, very tasty. All but one of the five specialty restaurants required no additional charge, though reservations had to be made in advance and in person (not by phone.) Though we were able to make reservations for the entire week "in one blow" on our first morning (second day,) many of our choices were already "filled," though all of our alternive requests were met. Both the food and the service at the open air restaurant on the water near the pier was very good. The Asian restaurant was OK. The entrees were good but the sashimi was not fresh. The beach is wide, the Caribbean waters clear and beautiful, but the constant wave action makes snorkeling a bit difficult from the beach.The swimming pools were all nice, with varying degrees of activity and/or congestion. In fact, there was always at least one pool that was as quiet as another was raucous. Otherwise, even though the grounds were well manicured, the beach nice and wide, the water varying shades of pretty blues and clear throughout, there were too many waves for snorkeling. On the "minus" side: The staff (with very few exceptions, including attentive housekeeping service staff) pretty much sucked. "Service" was either non-existent or inadequate, and the "helpfulness" of the management could not be found. Staff at the front desk referred all concerns and complains to "customer service," which consisted of one staff member person ponderously dealing with lines of guests with varying concerns. We were never able to access the purportedly free WiFi to link up our Kindles and the available WiFi that charged $4 for 15 minutes (about twice the daily rental fee for the safe in our room) did not function more than sporadically. At one of my three separate attemps to access the fee-required WiFi through the "business center," I was totally unable to access the web. When I requested a refund of my $4 (really on principle, rather than on cheapskateness,) I was refused. When I brought the matter to the front desk and asked to speak to management, I was passed on to "customer service," and when I went to "customer service," I had to wait behind a line of seven other guests, ... which I chose not to waste time doing. (It was "only" $4.) Telephone attempts to contact management proved unsuccessful. And yet, the place was physically very nice and we had a relaxing time swimming, sunning, reading, beachcoming, and just enjoying a slothful, sun-filled week. BUT, this place is a 2 hour car ride away from Santo Domingo, far away from the nearest towns, far less charming and interesting than many other places we have been, and I would NEVER recommend it to friends. In fact, if it is representative of Wyndham service and accomodatuions, I will steer all AWAY from Wyndham resorts.


60 of 66 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Saratoga Springs, NY
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 2, 2012
**Must Read This Review**

First things first- the Language barrier isn't as bad as people make it seem to be. The staff was very helpful- and even the ones who didn't understannd much english still tried the best they could to help. If they couldn't they found someone who can understand. Beach/Pools- No fighting over any lounge chairs, there are more than enough to go around (seeing we went on Memorial Day Weekend) it was still nice quiet and relaxing. There is no beach service for drinks however but with that being the only downside it was perfect. Rooms- We stayed at Dominicus Palace so we had access to both resorts we didn't see much of the Beach Resort because we were having so much fun at the Palace- but it was nice to have the options. The room was nice- nothing spectacular but who on vacation spends most of the time in the room anyway? There was a safe in the room ($2 a day- but worth it- and it was big enough to fit the most important things. The fridge wasn't that cold but it could've just been our room (i wont speak for all of them). but as said before- it's not that big of a deal- we went to the bar got a couple of cups with ice and we were good to go. Overall- if you're looking for a nice, quiet, relaxing place to just be a beach bum, have some drinks, some good food and meet some nice people this is a great place to do it! I'd recommend it for people who are just looking for a nice getaway

**Must Read This Review** **Must Read This Review**
17 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Queens, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 15, 2010
Best Purchase Ever

I had no idea what to expect when I bought my vacation. I did see a few small pictures. The place was absolutely beautiful. The service was amazing. You would never believe that you could have such an amazing vacation for so cheap. I highly recommend the vacation spot and cheap caribbean.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Tampa, Fl.
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 28, 2013
Not a good place unless you enjoy smoikingede

Where to start. We are on a budget along with our traveling friends. So we need one room with 3 beds. We we made the reservation we were assured that they had a roll away bed and could upgrade the room when we got here. I called 3 days before check in to check again and asked about an upgraded room. I was assured they had the roll away and would talk to us about a room upgrade when we arrived. You can see this coming right? We get there and are told they do not even have roll away beds. So they told us what we wanted to hear to get us there. No room upgrade available, So our two friends had to share a bed the whole vacation. not what we planned. The room had a very strong odor of mold. We had to leave our patio door open even when gone to tolerate the smell. With AC and door open at the end of 10 days it was still strong. I have stayed in many tropical places so I am aware that it is hard to keep the rooms dry, but this was way above that. You have to be able to tolerate smoking. It is everywhere but in the enclosed dining, On the beach we never could get away from it. We picked places far away from everyone only to have someone park nearby and start smoking. They smoked often and one right after another. We were told they have internet, but it only worked occasional, more not then working. Very slow when it did work, If you buy the code to use theirs, you will get very old computers, (still have slots for disks) and very slow connection. The front desk was no help, when we told them about our concerns about the room and lack of roll away bed, they would acknowledge the problem and then go about their business It had good food, tasting and variety. The specialty restaurants were good, The entertainment was what you would expect we enjoyed it. Beach volley ball was spotty, it was supposed to be everyday at 4:45 but they often had other entertainment set up so no volleyball. This is one of the things I enjoy a lot, so I was disappointed. Overall, I would not go back because of the smell in the room and the smoking. If you can get by that, the Place was OK. If you only speak English you can get by, but it can be difficult the help tries hard to speak with you,, but some only have very limited English


24 of 28 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Wisconsin USA
Age: 55-64

September 16, 2011
Can't Beat the DR!

My husband and I have been coming to Punta Cana or La Romana for the past 5 years. We really love spending time here. This vacation we tried out the Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace. We had a third floor corner room that was ocean front, however, the room height is the same as the palm trees so you could barely see the ocean at all, just the pool. Not complaining just an FYI. You can use the activities and restaurants at the Dominicus Beach and Palace which is nice, but the hotel becomes pretty spaced out. Rooms: The rooms were fine, nothing fancy, nothing bad. They stock the refrigerators with bottled water, coke, and sprite - nothing diet. The bathroom amenities were soap, all purpose body gel, shampoo, and conditioner, and nothing more. Lots of TV channels, but make sure you get a remote control from the front desk. There is a safe which is nice to lock up your passports, etc. Pool: The pool at the Palace was nice, but not overly large. There were some activities pool side, but not too many. Restaurants: We enjoyed the buffets and could ususally find stuff we liked to eat. We tried all of the a la carte restaurants. The mexican was by far the best and the mediterranean was our least favorite. Nightlife: We went to each of the shows that was put on and they were all very good. It may be italian/DR humor, but we felt a few were a little racy if you had young kids with you. The Michael Jackson tribute was well attended and standing room only! After each show they had music by the pool which was predominantly latin music. If you enjoy that you'll be in heaven. If you wanted a little Top 40 you'll be out of luck. As others have said, this hotel caters to italian visitors. There was very little english spoken at the planned activities. Most things were in spanish and italian - with a little english, french, or german thrown in for good measure. With the exception of the reception staff who spoke fluent english. There was no vendors bothering you on the beach, etc. which was nice. We never had a problem getting a lounge chair in the shade. The beach is a series of coves so you can't take a long walk on the beach. It's also a little rocky so no boogie boarding (boo!). All in all, we enjoyed our 8 nights here and don't have any major complaints. We do have other places we've stayed that we liked better so although a good place, we wouldn't recommend first.


11 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: West Palm Beach, FL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 9, 2013
Never to return

This hotel is set in a beautiful part of the dominican republic. The beach is absolutely gorgeous and the resort is very clean. The food in the buffet was a little better than average although generally the same food everyday. If you are staying here for 6 nights you only get to eat in the restaurants 2 out of the 6 nights. We tried to make a reservation for 7.30pm in the restauarant and we were infomed that they were totally booked out only time available was 6pm. When we arrived in the restaurants both nights they were totally empty and come 8pm when we were leaving they were still empty, so I think this may be a gimmick to force you to eat in the buffet. However the staff in the restaurants were very attentive and friendly. The one restaurant that we were looking forward to eating in "Bambu" ( asian restaurant ) closed 3 days before we arrived. Also you can smoke anywhere in this resort and since 98% of the guests are italian there are many smokers. Sitting in the lobby enjoying a coffee you are surrounded by smoke. The staff on the front desk and guest services are totally obnoxious they treat guests like dirt, and believe me everyone we spoke with had the same issue. In serious need of training what customer service means! The bar staff talk to each other and clean bottles instead of serving their customers. They also speak very good italian and pretty much no english. ON the 2nd day we went to the Gym by the main lobby, myself and husband were the only guests. We got on 2 treadmills and after 3 minutes the power blew, lights went out and we flew of the treadmills. The attendant reset the power we returned to the treadmills and 3 mintues later the same thing happened. After relaxing on the beach for a few hours we returned to our room to take a shower. We had no hot water so called the front desk, they told us they had an issue and should be fixed in 20 mintues. No hot water until the next day. We have stayed in many different resorts within the carribean and US and have never been treated like we were in this resort. We will most definitely never return here again.


11 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: new york
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year