All

Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - La Romana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 372 Reviews
Value
 
3.8
Service
 
3.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
3.1
Room Comfort
 
3.1
3.6 out of 5
"The place is great! Beautiful people! And im going back in December" – CASPER1
284 out of 427 (67%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
sugar cane on mud buggy/4 wheeler tour beach infront of Viva Wyndham Beach Romantic Dinner! View from our hut! Kayaking beach view (over by La Roca) our garden view bunalow bangalos Saona Island Beach view by the main area Wyndham Beaches the lobby of the resort View from our favorite pool. OUr oceanfront Bungalow small dark bungalows Viva Wyndham beach Paradise island View from Bungalow. LIFE IS GOOD our bangalo behind

All Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach Customer Reviews

1-10 of 372 reviews. Sort by
December 14, 2012
La Romana

I'm not a fan of reading reviews, I believe everyone has there own opiones and experiences. But my husband did read the reviews and had me concerned thinking I had made a mistake. So I started reading them but it was to late I had made the purchase already so I apologized to him before hand. Cheap Caribean was great during the purchase the gentlemen that attended me was great, very professional and informative. When we arrived the trasportation company was already there waiting for us. The drive there was so so. The greeting at the hotel was great, the room was a bungolo, was big, clean and nothing was missing like toilet paper. The food was great, every night was different. One night Italian, another mexican,asian and so on. Never got bothered with the food. And the midnight Pizza was awsomeeee. To my surprise cheap carribean had a representative at the hotel, and they where very helpful in advising you on the excursions and things to do in the area and in the resort. It was like having your own travel agent traveling with you. I felt good just knowing they where there. The shows where incredable, there entertainment staff was amazing. They are all so friendly and happy hard working people. The ride back to the airport with the driver juan was so enjoyable and relaxing. The pools and beaches where amazing. I would recomend this hotel to my family and my friends. Thank you Viva Wyndham and Cheap Caribbean for a great vacation and great service.


194 of 196 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 29, 2011
Terrible

The Wyndham Dominicus Beach hotel (all inclusive) was a terrible experience. The customer service was extremely rude and unacceptable. They did not have rooms available for half the first half of our trip and we got shipped off to another resort where they put us up in the lowest quality of rooms (moldy). We had to sleep with the doors open or outside to be able to breath (seriously, we slept outside the second night there). Once the resort finally had our rooms available, they had us come to the hotel only to find out that our rooms would still not be ready for 4 more hours. I tried to get a pillow and some bottled water from the service desk once we were finally in our rooms. Three phone calls later, over the course of 4 hours, I finally gave up. The food was ok at La Roca Grill and the Pizza Place, nothing to write home about. The food at the buffet was rather disappointing. When reserving activities, they had you sign up on a list. This sounds logical and easy enough, but for some reason we stll had to fight for our turn even though we were sitting on the beach waiting for 2 hours. Not sure if that was because our spanish was not fluent enough, but I was able to communicate just fine with the guys earlier??? Overall, I would not recommend you go to this resort. I've stayed at $3 hostels that had a smoother running front desk and friendlier customer service. We are extremely easy going and read some of the reviews about this hotel. We never imagined that it could ever be as bad of an experience as we encountered. Their are other hotels in this area and any of them could be better. The majority of the staff is extremely rude (except for the trapeze guys) and treated their guest like pests. I some what felt better (as I spent most of my time in the front desk area waiting) to see that we were not being singled out because they treated 90% of their guests that way. My group that I traveled with are currently awaiting a response from Cheapcaribbean.com.


58 of 59 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 5, 2011
Worst trip ever

-          Upon check in at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach, we were told the hotel had been overbooked, and that they had made arrangements for us to stay at the Catalonia Grande Dominicus resort for the first two nights (Nov 23-Nov 24). We had rented a vehicle from the airport, and this meant we had to navigate ourselves to a new hotel that we had never heard of before. This made us extremely uneasy as it was not a sister resort, and it was not affiliated with a trusted well known company, such as Wyndham, Hilton, Sheraton etc. All of our planning and research on Viva Wyndham Dominicus beach was completely wasted, and we had to hope for the best.   -          We checked into Hotel Catalonia Gran Dominicus resort, and we were immediately disappointed in the room provided. It was at least a seven minute walk to the beach. Catalonia has upgraded rooms, but we were put into the cheapest one available, a standard basic hotel room. At the Viva Wyndham, the villas are a quick one minute walk to the water, whether it is a pool or the ocean. This was not an equal exchange for the room we paid additional money for.   -          The two nights at the Catalonia were tolerable, but it was a hassle having to pack up and move once the two nights were over. We checked in on a Wednesday night. We had the entire day at Catalonia on Thursday, but Friday morning we had to pack and try to get in touch with Viva Wyndham Dominicus to insure there was a room available for that night’s stay. We spent two hours Friday just trying to get a hold of someone at Wyndham who could assure there was room for us and our party. We were hung up on numerous times, and put on hold for long periods. Once we got someone on the phone, they assured us a taxi would come to transport our friends within the hour, and that the rooms were available.   -          Once we arrived back at the Viva Wyndham resort, we had to wait in line to speak with someone at the reception desk. The attendant informed us that there were no rooms available, but that we were free to use the resort in the meantime. This process of working with the front desk staff took another hour and a half of our day. Our morning was completely wasted. We had to check our luggage, and were told to come back at 4pm to pick up our room assignments.   -          We arrived back at 4pm, but were told our rooms were still not available. While we were waiting, we spoke with Jose at the front desk, and he said we would be compensated for the full vacation- a five day four nights all inclusive package at any of the Viva Wyndham resorts. We waited for another hour as he worked on our paperwork, and then said he could not provide the voucher at that time, but we were promised to receive it before we checked out of the hotel. By 5:30 pm we finally received keys to our rooms. We were in limbo for a total of 7 hours during this moving between resorts process, unsure of whether or not we would have a place to stay for the duration of our stay.   -          The villa we were assigned was with two double beds, not the King size bed we had originally reserved. We had a roof over our head, but we had to settle. It was not the vacation setting we had paid for. I was not able to share a bed with my wife; instead we had to sleep apart on two beds.   -           On Saturday night, we made reservations to dine at the Steak House on property. My wife ordered the kabob dinner as her entrée. When she bit into her meal, we then realized her meat was not fully cooked. It was entirely raw (red and bloody). The waiter quickly took the plate and apologized profusely, but the total ambiance of the dinner was ruined.   -           We have no desire to return to Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach. The service of the staff and the quality of the food was subpar to what we received at Catalonia resort. We do not trust that our next stay would be any different than what we received at the Viva Wyndham Dominicus resort. Management never came forth to handle the situation or to admit to their mistake. They never fulfilled their promise for compensation.  


451 of 484 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Melbourne, Fl
Age: 25-34
Travel: 7+ trips/year

September 15, 2012
DO NOT MAKE THIS MISTAKE

First of all please know that by no means am i a picky person. Never> I am actually very easy to please. throw me a pool with a nice comfortable room and I am having fun. However, these people took the micky out of my holiday. got there at 6pm. they got us to our room by 6:30 and there were enough mosquitoes in that room to start an epidemic. I called to complain because my wife is pregnant. they kept us on hold for 30 minutes then said we would have to wait till the end of the night for them to know if there was any availability to move us. Air conditioning stopped working at 8pm. will you believe that the engineer came there and tapped and fiddled with it and said ok it will work now. I am no Einstien but when you slap a unit to get it to work chances are it will stop working again. This it did. And we called and they hung up everytime. At midnight I stormed there to speak with the manager. There was none, but the guy at the front desk saw me coming and went into his office to hide. he took off his name tag and when he would finally speak said my attitude was bad and that was why no one answered us. i said ok I want to leave. to which he responded differently and quickly tried to upgrade us (with us paying an extr $100) the next day the Cheap Caribbean Associate took it upon herself to remind us that this was a 3 star and so we should not expect too much. personally, I feel like I should get my money back. Not only is the Viva Wyndham rubbish, but so are the reps from Cheap Caribbean over there. to show you that I am not crazy in saying this, my wife and i played shrink to all the other Americans who came and found themselves just as shocked by the service offered. A couple from New York and one from New Jersey. What is sad is I am sure no one will look into this problem. I can almost bet that this feedback will never make it passed some customer service rep with a high school diploma who will say...eff this i do not get paid enough to deal with this type of stuff. And here lies the problem with this type of business. you may have gotten my $1500 this time. but as long as i see tomorrow and have friends, you will never get it again. Oh did i forget to add that the food is a set up? I dare you to touch that salad or Chicken. you will be sitting on the mosquitoe infested toilet till it is time for you to catch the shuttle back to the airport. Try it. The only thing good here are the staff members for the excursions. they had great personality and customer service skills. if thats what you want to pay for, be my guest. To you English speaking Americans who are not Bi-lingual...... Go and learn in the following order, one of these languages. Spanish, French, Italian, German, or Deutch. English will not get you very far here.


27 of 27 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Hartford, CT
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 8, 2011
horrible bungalows

The rooms at the Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach Hotel are not the quality that is shown in pictures. the rooms are in beach bungalows which look very quaint from the outside but the inside of the bungalow is horrible. The picture on the website shows nice furniture and shows nice lamps...well,. the only light in the room was a dim light bulb that was nearly 20 feet at the pitch of the ceiling. I had to move the furniture and pile up tables in order to make room to close the bathroom door. The rooms smelled. We had a handicapped bungalow which was so small my mom could not fit her scooter in the room. The pool is lovely and the food is OK but if you want a nice room, stay at the Viva Wyndham Palace which is just down the beach. We ended up moving because the Beach bungalows were so terrible and had to pay an extra $200. The bungalows are dark and dreary and small and very poor quality.Depressing yucky bungalows

horrible bungalows small dark bungalows
40 of 41 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 29, 2015
if you are only going for the beach....

First i will say we have used cheap carribean for 4 trips now and they deliver everything they promise and we would never use another place. As far as Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach, i will be brutally honest and professional in my review. This was the most beautiful beach we have been on. Great beach, great ocean swimming, and if thats what you are looking for then this is the place for the money. The actual resort though, unless you speak spanish, you are in trouble. Very hard to get answers for anything. This is a resort that caters to spanish culture and europeans not americans. All shows are in spanish, all workers only speak spanish, all staff speak only spanish. We did not upgrade our room because beach bungalows were all booked. Our room was tiny, air conditioning barely worked (sweaty sleeping) bugs in bathroom, no fridge, charged for use of safe, only 2 free bottles of water a day, and they forgot towles and waters one day. Dining was fair to good. First few days got real boring on buffet. If they spoke english, we could have found out about 2 other buffets on campus, and yes they were better. Dinner choices you must make reservations, and when they tell you only certain times and days are available for each restaurant because they are booked, don't believe it. Every restaurant we went to that was "booked" we entered and it was less than half full. But the meals there were good. Much better than buffet. Also beware, although all inclusive, half of the restaurants for dinner have additional charges you have to pay at checkout. 10-25 dollars per person. So ask before you book. The staff at the desk, the concierge, and guest relations is attrocious. I spent 4 hours on thursday getting the run around from desk to desk to person to person with attitudes from staff just trying to find out what time our hotel shuttle was taking us back to the airport on friday. The positives of course was spending some relax time with my wife on the beach and swimming in the ocean. So for that reason we still managed to have some fun, but because of staff and service, we would never book this resort again. We will still use cheapcarribbean for every trip, but will go with dreams or secrets which staff are friendlier and helpful.


24 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: kenosha,WI
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 20, 2011
Worse Purchase Ever

If it where not for some of they employees at the bar this trip when had even been worse then anything i have been to, the front desk personally are not friendly or helpful they talk to you like you are nothing when i am the one paying for me stay. The food was not what they say there ranking is a 4 star it should be more of a 2 star and that is even given to much.


22 of 22 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 14, 2011
RELAXING VACATION

Overall we had a great time, I read every review before I left & with mixed feelings we arrived to a beautiful resort. I packed for the bad reviews in packing washcloths, toilet paper & an alarm clock just so we were prepared for the worst. Room: We stayed in a beachfront bungalow it was very nice exactly like the pictures. We stayed in a room that was close to the main pool which was great because we were in the middle of everything but it was loud at night with the DJs. The rooms Do Not have Alarm Clocks, & no washcloths. But it was very clean...the mini frige was only stocked once with one beer & one soda. Drinks: Good variety of mixed drinks....& we loved the Presidente Beer...however they only give you 8oz glasses....go to walmart before you go & get a "BUBBA Keg" its well worth the $9 Food: MAKE ALL YOUR RESERVATIONS THE DAY YOU ARRIVE SO YOU DONT HAVE TO EAT ALL YOUR MEALS @ THE BUFFET This is where we had our issues....there was a decent variety on buffets but everything was very bland. The Mexican Restaurant was good with a great serving staff. The La Rocca Restaurant was terrible a glorified buffet. You got to pick beef or fish and the rest of your meal was from a buffet. The Viva Cafe was very good worth the $10 extra dollars & the open aired atmosphere was awesome. The El Palaco (italian) was the best there was an extra charge of $10 but it was great. Portions @ the sit down restaurants are a bit small but were sufficient, not sharable. We're from Pennsylvania & own a Pizza Restaurant so the pizza to us wasnt that great but it made due if we couldn't find anything else. Staff: All of the staff was very friendly. They always had a smile on their face. The men that were on the beach keeping it clean were the best. They were awesome, they would crack a coconut & let you drink the juice. Language: Like many of the reviews stated the dominant language is Spanish & Italian. Us being English speaking it was a bit hard to talk to anyone but eachother. Beach/Pools: We are beach people & really didnt spend anytime at or in the pools. There weren't many people at the pools however they were beautiful. The beach was awesome...tons of chairs. There is so much coral in the water, you could walk right up to it and see all the beautiful fish swimming around. MAKE SURE YOU TURN YOUR TOWEL IN SO YOU COULD GET A FRESH ONE EVERYDAY Overall we had a great time, it was exactly what we expected and would return with a group of people. I wouldn't return with just 2 of us again unless we learn to speak spanish or italian.


84 of 92 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 5, 2013
too cozy at the wyndham

We are a family of 4 and this was our first all inclusive experience. We are a well traveled family. Lets start with the good. The beaches,pool areas, and the overall atmosphere of the resort was wonderful . The locals who worked their couldnt have been friendlier and we truly had a terriffic vacation. Now for the not so good. Please understand i am not a fussy person and not a complainer, but when im shown and sold something, that is what i expect to get for my money that i work so hard for. The service at the hotel was both good and bad. Our room was missing an iron, dead tv remote, low battery on safe etc. It took two days to get the iron and after a day they told us we had to go to the desk for batteries for the remote. As with dining, at times waited extremley long for coffee, silverware, etc. The food overall was good but i felt two huge disappointments. First, the fruit. Im on a tropical island and there wasnt a huge selection of fruit and it was always hit or miss. One day good watermelon, the next bad. The other was the lack of seafood. Even in the finer restaurants there was no shrimp,crab,lobster, etc. Again, im on an island, i get more seafood in pennsylvania! You also had to make dinner reservations at the front desk and they offered very few times yet every place we ate was half empty? Lastly and most important was our room. On the website they say a bungalow accomodates 4. No way. My children (teens) didnt want there own room being their first time in a foreign country and the website said 4 adults. Not only was the room very outdated (cracked tile,porch lamp hanging, cheap motel bedding,poor lighting,only two receptacles) , we were on top of each other the whole time. I was given no satisfaction at the front desk. They made me wait to the next afternoon and then all they did was show me another room exactly the same. I feel most taken by the verbage and photos on the website. The viva palace next door was much nicer and i really had no preference to either from what was on the web, they looked equal, not so. Again i am not a complainer and we had a great time but my son talked about eating seafood for a month before we left and the room was just not even close to what they show you.


35 of 37 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: reading pennsylvania
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 30, 2010
Do not pick Viva Wyndham for your next vacation

This place did not live up to my expectations. The setting was beautiful, but service.....Very poor service, no attention to guests. People who were trying to sell you more vacations (other Viva branches) were beyond annoying. They were everywhere, it was impossible to get a drink at the beach bar without being approached by at least two of them. Viva is very far from the airport (more then 2 hours) and even in ac bus it is not the best ride. Welcome drink? it says that it is included...was not there...more then an hour to check in After official 3pm check in time. No clock in the room, TV that I used to keep reference of the time did not work well first few days (asked it to be fixed...nothing) stopped working all together on the last day. No fan in the room either. Towel sevice in Viva standards means that they give you a beach towel and you are using the same stinky, salty towel for the duration of your stay. Food was ok. The only place worth getting reservations at is The Grill...everything else is nothing to write home about, better choices at buffets. Very few people speak English if that is important to you....Service staff is 95% Spanish speaking only. Guests: Mon-Fri that I was there were 90% Italians and Sat-Sun 90% Dominicans. Internet service is $30 for 3 days...at the speed of dialup and very spotty service. I am an experiences traveler. I have been to other all inclusive resorts as well as non inclusive places. Taking that experience in prospective, I would not recommend Viva for your travel. (try Dreams La Romana, I hear it is good, if pricey)


81 of 90 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: White Plains, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations