All

Viva Wyndham Azteca Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 69 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
3.5
Room Comfort
 
3.6
3.9 out of 5
"Beds were hard. Housekeeping did a great job. Food became the same so staying more than a week probably would not be good. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Excellent beach and property location." – Corningtravel
68 out of 82 (83%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
beach at the resort On the beach - Riviera Maya Walking onto the beach Viva Azteca Lobby Bar View from the room I wanna go again! pool (small) From the beach looking at the property Santa Claus! beach (beautiful)

All Viva Wyndham Azteca Customer Reviews

1-10 of 69 reviews. Sort by
October 14, 2015
Would stay again

I hope someone finds this review useful. I want to start out by saying overall I was pleased with the stay and I would stay here again. The hotel is a good bang for the buck; however you must realize that an all-inclusive hotel at their prices does come with some drawbacks. Read on if you want the details. What I liked: Staffing – Plenty of workers around keeping the place well kept, rooms are clean, beachfront is clean and overall a nice looking hotel. When you order a drink you actually get a drink, not some watered down version of a drink. I took my 20 oz tumbler with me and they happily filled that with my drink of choice instead of the little service glasses they usei. They poured an extra shot or two, all I had to do was ask and of course a tip never hurt the situation either. Drinks were fabulous. Staff was fabulous I have no complaints there. Beach is fabulous – no rocks in the water, you can swim without swimming shoes if you like. As for the seaweed they kept it picked up as best they could and that is all you can ask for. Mother Nature don’t care and they just deal with it as it roles in. Although worth noting, I never saw a woman with her top off. Beach and pool are family friendly in that regards. Very impressive beach!!!!!! Town and 5th street – It was less than 15 min walk to town and 95% of that was behind a gated community which made me feel safer. Granted it is not fort knocks but judging by the runners and activity at night on the street I felt safe. Close but not too close to downtown. Exactly what I wanted and that is exactly what I got. For those who don’t want to walk it the cost is 90 Pesos to downtown in a cab. That is a little over 5 bucks USD. Location was perfect. The Room – Ok I upgraded to the suite and more than enough room for 2. The room had a Jacuzzi in it, but I am 52 and did not even use. I can’t discount the fact it was there, if I were 20 again I would have used it. The AC was a little funky, musty smell if you did not keep your room freezing. It may be time to replace that AC in unit 1101. We spent little time in the room so really it was fine. I wanted a view of the ocean and I got it so two thumbs up on the room. If you read this far keep going because now I get to the not so great stuff!!!! What I found Average: Pool - small and had only a few chairs. If you did not claim a chair by 6:00 am you were out of luck as all pool chairs were taken by 6:15 am every day and stayed full till after the sun went down. I didn’t care that much as I can lay out by a pool any day of the week at home. What I can’t do is lay out by the Caribbean Sea everyday so that is what I was there for and they have plenty of covered lounge chairs on the beach. So the pool size or seating arrangements were of no concern to me. I am only noting it if it is a deal breaker for you. Buffet - Hey it is a buffet. Answer this, When was the last time you went to a buffet and walked away saying, “Man that was great food!!!!” I suspect never. If you want great food don’t go to any buffet much less this one. As for their buffet the food is fine and plentiful. My hat is off to them because wine on tap that you can serve yourself. I found that unusual and neat. If I were a wine drinker I would have loved it. As for the food it is good, not great but good. The same is to be said for the snack bar by the pool – good not great. Trust me you won’t starve. My wife who does not eat red meat found plenty to eat. She loved the guacamole and they always had it out, even at breakfast. If you are going to this hotel with the expectation of gourmet food on a buffet you will be sadly disappointed, if not you will be fine. What I didn’t like: No pool or beach service - Ok I get it, they pour less booze if they don’t have someone taking your order as you sunbath on the beach or hang out at the pool, but man would have been nice to have someone get me a drink instead of hauling myself up to the bar when I wanted one. This service would have added the “WOW” factor to the trip. OK not a deal breaker, but something to consider. Lack of Air Conditioned areas - Again I am sure their business model calls for it and keeps cost down, but I can only tolerate sweating at breakfast and lunch, Heck I am outside anyway so that was ok; However, at dinner would be nice to be cooled off and only option for AC dinners are 2 of the 3 specially restaurants. The Mayan specialty restaurant is outdoors, the buffet outside and both seemed hotter at dinner. Just got tired of being hot when I ate is all. Hot water in the room -The second night I was there I went to take a shower and I got barley lukewarm water in the shower. We called the front desk and maintenance was there in less than 5 min. They told me to wait 20 min and all would be good. Well I had already toughed out the shower but my wife waited and in 30 min there was only HOT water. We went from one extreme to the next. The next day was “ALL” hot again then the last night and next day where back to lukewarm water. This is my only one true complaint about the hotel. To wrap this up: I would stay here again as it was in line with the money I spent and well worth the cost. Just know when you go do not expect to be in the lap of luxury. If you want that spend 3 times the money and stay elsewhere. If you want to chill, have a good time, have plenty to eat, and be centrally located all on a budget then this is the place for you. Hope you found this review useful.


50 of 50 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Houston
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 18, 2013
VIVA AZTECA- plain, but OK.

We were at the Azteca 3/10/13-3/15/10. We've been to Riviera Maya several times. The GOOD: 1. Excellent beach and clean ocean. Last year we were closer to Cancun at the Ocean Turquesa and there was lots of trash floating in the ocean-DISGUSTING!!! 2. Food was average, BUT the salad bar and fruit were very fresh and we try to eat vegetarian. 3. Staff was very friendly and helpful. 4. Lots of sun pagodas on the beach, BUT you must get up early to get one, by about 8:00 AM. The NOT-SO-GOOD: 1. The facility is VERY plain and basic. We are used to much more lavish and beautiful surroundings and architecture and this place felt like a Holiday Inn on the beach. Compared to the RIU Palace next door, the AZTECA looks like a motel. 2. Wireless internet is TERRIBLE and there is no option for in room internet service. 3. They charge you for an in room safe. 4. The SPA should not be called a spa because it's just a small back room with 2 massgage tables in it. Not even a bathroom there! We look forward to a beautiful spa on vacation and this was very disappointing. 5. The nightly shows were LAME and consisted mostly of the staff jumping around. The theater also was poor. 6. They charge you for bottled water. SUMMARY: We had a great time because of the excellent beach and location to Playa del Carmen. I wouldn't say don't go there because nothing was really wrong, but don't expect to find yourself in a 4 or 5 star environment. This is a 3 star at best, but they are lucky they have a great beach location which makes alot of other things tolerable. We would only go back there if we got an incredibly cheap deal.

VIVA AZTECA- plain, but OK. VIVA AZTECA- plain, but OK.
19 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Saugerties, NY
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 13, 2012
Great Thanksgiving vacation

My family and I met up at Azteca for a Thanksgiving vacation and had a wonderful time. There was so much to do between the two sister resorts (Maya) there just wasn't enough time. We stayed for 6 days and went into the trip having read many previous reviews. Our findings: Room was great, spacious and recently remodeled, a little musty smelling but to be expected in the moist humid climate. Once you opened the balcony door it was fine. Our room did not have an alarm clark or coffee maker which I was already prepared for having read reviews. The safe we used at $2/day for our valuables. They provided plenty of towels (3 adult women in one room) along with the adorable towel animals each day. They did not have washcloths which was bizarre in my mind but had read that in a review, so brought washcloths. They provide soap dispensers for the bathroom and shower gel and shampoo dispensers in the shower. Bring your own hair conditioner and lotion as this is not provided. The beach towel is provided via a card - you hand them a card, they give you a towel. You return the towel you get the card back for the next time. The food was wonderful - huge amounts of choices with the buffet being open for long hours and if they were not open, then the snack bar was. We were told we could get two reservations for their specialty restaurants during our stay but if we checked in prior to 3p at guest services and the restaurants had openings we could get in as often as we wanted. The asian restaurant was our favorite followed by the italian. The mayan restaurant had poor quality food. The service at the mayan restaurant was really wonderful though, so was too bad the food was so poor. In our party there were two vegetarians and one needing a gluten free meal. The mayan restaurant did not have any meals for vegetarians but went out of there way to create an entree for them and very kindly pointed out what could and could not be eaten for the gluten free diet. The buffets and snack bars had so many options that any one with specialty diets will have no problem what so ever. Every night, both hotels had shows to go to. We made it to a couple of them which ranged from a little cheesy to very entertaining. Both hotels offer many events like games, spanish leassons, exercise, dance lessons, archery, trapeze, as well as bicycle riding and kayaking. Beware of the bicycles - we took them out a couple of different times but they are in pretty rough shape and took some time to find ones with seats the right height so your knees weren't in your face and ones that actually worked. Other lessons were avail for additional fees like catamaran and scuba diving which we did not do. The beach was lovely and we had good weather. Playa Del Carmen is well gated and we felt extremely safe to be there. We enjoyed a couple of other excursions like the Jungle Maya tour and Tulum/Xel Ha. Definitely recommend those. The staff was very friendly and helpful and did a wonderful job with all of the languages. Highly recommend this trip to anyone wishing to have a great time in Mexico.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 19, 2013
nice place

Enjoyed the smaller resort atmosphere compared to some others nearby that were much larger. Beach is beautiful. Nice to be in a more residential area rather than isolated. Close enough to town to walk or ride bikes to shopping. Was surprised resort dining room was not air conditioned, but at least tables outside offered a breeze. Room was large and very clean. Very pleasant staff. Would recommend this resort. If purchasing a package, worth signing up for the shuttle to and from the airport. Very easy to find the transportation company and on time pick-up when returning to airport.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: midwest
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 1, 2016
Didn't want to leave!

This was our first experience with an all inclusive resort and our first vacation to Mexico. My husband and I were worried that our teenage children (17 and 19)would be bored vacationing with the parents. The total opposite was true, they had a blast and so did my husband and I. The size of the resort was perfect, not too many people and room to relax. The entertainers/ workers made the difference for our kids and us. They took the time to interact with each person and included everyone in the daily activities such as water exercises, volleyball, learning to dance,yoga, and fun competitive games. Not to mention the nightly entertainment was excellent, we looked forward to the show every night! Mario and Maricio ( not sure I spelled names correctly) were two of our favorites. Our kids loved the nightly dancing that occurred after the show. The entertainers would dance with everyone and made it a great time. There was so much positive energy that the entertainers/ staff brought to the resort! The food was good but wish we could have gone to more than three of the restaurants. The beach was beautiful but u had to get there early to get a chair. We always had luck getting chairs by the pool. The rooms were clean and the cleaning staff did an excellent job cleaning our room daily, loved the creative towel figures. They do not provide wash cloths, so we brought our own.The beds were hard. The drinks were awesome, never short on alcohol! Luis was our favorite bar tender!! We would definitely return to this resort and we would use Cheap Caribbean again for all the arrangements. We honestly were sad when we had to leave to come home from this vacation!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Baltimore, Ohio
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 6, 2015
Great time

First the good: 1) Great food. I was shocked at the quality of the food. The buffet was always good and the beach side grill hamburgers were great. No complaints there. 2) Grounds: absolutely beautiful with plenty of shade 3) Staff: No complaints I loved the staff. They were always friendly and professional, never had one bad encounter. 3) Activities: a short walk away to the Mayan and you have archery, trapeze, and a rock climbing way. On grounds you have kayaks pin pong and bikes. Now not so great (but not bad). 1) Way too much see weed in the ocean. I don't know if its the time of the year we went, but if you swim out a few feet it gets better. 2) Entertainment: not so much for young adults and teenagers, but for couples it is nice and relaxing. Just the right balance. 3) the bad: You are only allowed two dinner reservations at the restaurants so despite what they say about checking in before 3 PM to be placed on stand by, you will never get in. Be honest and say you can only eat twice in the restaurants


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: anaheim, ca
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 19, 2015
Great destination

Our family was looking for a smaller resort with full service and this one hit the spot. Upon arrival we were skeptical of the beach due to the amount of seaweed, but that cleared up and by the time we left the water and beach were beautiful. Apparently they don't see seaweed & dark waters like they did last week very often. Traveling with two teenagers we were worried they may get bored with the beach resort, but they didn't. There were so many free water activities to try and the entertainment staff did an excellent job by getting everyone involved in the activities throughout the day. We enjoyed bocce ball, volleyball, bingo, water aerobics etc. Each night the same entertainment crew put on an excellent show with games and events to follow. Everywhere we went there were familiar entertainment members saying 'Hola" and making us feel at home. It was also very impressive that they covered so many languages. For every activity they would ask what languages are needed and then have the appropriate staff available to interpret! We would have liked to try more of the restaurants, but based on a 6 night stay they only allowed 2 reservations. The food was plentiful, but we did get rather bored eating at the buffet, so on our last night we went into Playa and ate on 5th avenue. What a great experience. It is similar to Bourbon street or Key West. It cost only $9 to go by taxi and it's a must see.. We did venture to the other Wyndham resort for dinner one night and discovered a nice strip mall to shop at. This was only a 7-10 minute walk from the resort. We always felt very safe. The beach was beautiful. There were plenty of comfortable chairs and cabanas/tiki huts to find shade. The pool was very nice and usually not very busy. It varied by day. The limited pool chairs did get reserved very early by people laying towels out etc. as early as 6am. It would be nice if the resort could eliminate people from reserving chairs. Often times the chairs were empty the entire day, because people were involved in activities etc. and they never actually used the chairs. We ended up playing along and started reserving our chairs very early as well. If you can't beat em- join em! As far as the room, our view was nothing but a wall with some plants in front of it. It wasn't the garden view we expected, however, we weren't in the room much to worry about it. The air worked great which is needed, because a lot of the dining locations do not have air. We would encourage the resort to add additional hooks in the shower for all of the wet clothes. There was only one hook and one bar for towels etc. With four travelers and all of our suits & towels each day we had to be incredibly creative as to wear to hang our stuff. We ended up hanging things outside to dry, but we were on the bottom floor so that's not the best idea (nothing was taken though). Overall we loved the trip and are already thinking about future plans to return to this resort!


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Iowa
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 10, 2014
Great deal, amazing trip!

My two friends and I went on a girls' trip and were admittedly very skeptical about booking through a website with such a cheezy name. Everything turned out incredible! The hotel was gorgeous, the service was amazing, and the entire experience exceeded our expectations. The pool was a bit smaller than I expected, but with the ocean there it really didn't matter. Plus, the pool water was incredibly warm and not so refreshing. When we first got to the hotel, we had to wait around for a while because the check in time is a strict 3pm. They would not let us into a room, which was really annoying, as we had been traveling all day and were eager to get into our bathing suits with some fruity drinks. The first room we got wasn't that spectacular (meaning the view was of another resort and some trees). I asked at the front desk if they had anything else available and everyone was so friendly and helpful. We got switched the next day to a room with an incredible view! The food was buffet style, but the special restaurants they have on-site are amazing. You have to make reservations at least one day ahead, but it's still included in the all-inclusive and it's worth it. We went to the Italian place and the Mayan one, and they were great. Try the tequila shots. There was purified water to drink everywhere, which is great because it's hot in Mexico...who would've thought. We did excursions to Tulum (through a company), Cozumel (on our own - not worth it), and XPlor Park, which I highly recommend. I'd definitely recommend this trip. We had a fantastic time and it was everything we could've hoped for and more.

beach at the resort
3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 7, 2010
Great vacation!

We stayed at the Viva Wyndham Azteca Dec 19-26, 2009. The four of us included a 19 year old daughter and a 16 year old son. This includes a review of both Cheap Caribbean and the resort. First, booking through Cheap Carribean was so easy it made me nervous! No worries though, everything was as promised. We booked air, transportation and the resort, and one excursion while in Mexico. We flew into Cancun, and when people say don't talk to anyone in the airport, they mean it! Go directly outisde to find the rep. We waited a few minutes for the van, loaded up and headed out. The return van was just as prompt. Both drivers were courteous and informative. Booking through Cheap Carribean was a great experience and I would (will) do it again. The Viva Wyndham Azteca was very nice. The room came with two beds, but of course the two teenagers (boy and girl) won't sleep together. No problem, we asked for a roll-away at check-in and it was set up before we got to the room. No charge. And the room was of sufficient size that we didn't really feel cramped with it there. All the staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was very close to the 24 hour bar. It was lovely to step out in the morning and practically have my caffe americano waiting for me. At night the beach, actually the whole resort, was discreetly patrolled. Here's how safe I felt - I would have no worries about my daughter and friends travelling there. The pool was on the smallish side, but it didn't matter. Why swim in that when a beautiful beach is just steps away? Yes, there area few of the giant sandbags in the water, but if you squint you can make yourself think they are rocks! Plenty of chairs and beach/water activities. I was so happy to be there in December, instead of cold, gray Illinois. The first few days the weather wasn't great, just ok. But then, the weather turned and it was amazing. It was a joy to see Santa Claus come to the beach on his catamaran. The buffet food was good, not great, and actually a source of entertainment. I love refried beans so I swore I would eat them everyday. Well, the beans weren't like Taco Bells! More of a runny soup, but I still poured them on. The amusing part was hunting them down, never in the same place. Then there was the time my husband thought he had vanilla ice cream but it was coconut gelato! He hates coconut. His face was priceless. The Christmas Eve buffet was quite impressive! The dining facility was nice. I ate every meal outside, or just one row in. In December! The dining staff was attentive and quick. We ate at the two sit-down restaurants and the food was delicious. Some of the breakfast and dinner leftovers would make it out to the lunch buffet. Hot dog or zuchini pizza anyone? The burgers at the outside grill at lunch were excellent. The grill service is a little slow, so don't wait until you are starving to order. We walked to the other Viva Wyndham resort to check it out. It seemed much bigger; less cozy. The buffet area seemed really noisy since it was enclosed. We probably would have loved it if we had booked it. We enjoyed the entertainment staff. Young 20-somethings that worked hard to make sure you felt welcome. They even got my 16-year old son to try salsa dancing! The location was convenient. Not too far from the airport and a walk away from Playa del Carmen. We walked to Playa several times. Even just walking down the main street in Playacar was nice. Resorts on one side, private homes on the other, gated at both ends. Again, I felt very safe there. We did a day trip to Tulum, and then zipline/rapelling/snorkeling. Our guide was awesome, and the lunch that was included was the bomb! International clientele, which I find intriguing. In the span of 10 minutes I heard six different languages - English, Spanish, French, German, something Asian (no disrespect intended) and Swedish??? And all those crazy Canadians! They know how to have a good time! In summary - great location, wonderful staff, rooms are nice, the food is tasty and interesting, drinks flow freely. The weather was soooo very nice. We all had a great time, and have many fond memories of our time at the Azteca. We were sorry to come home, and look forward to another visit/

Santa Claus! I wanna go again!
5 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Belleville IL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 16, 2015
excellent resort/nice value

would have been a terrific vacation experience, except cheap caribbean didn't tell me that although i paid my booking with my chase/united plus card and flew united airlines, my free baggage reward would be voided because cheapcaribbean books with their own credit card (thus voiding my reward). the c.c. agent should've been aware of this and notified me. i will no longer book thru them, and will cease to recommend this company to others as i've done in the past.


6 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: south brunswick, new jersey
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year