All

Villa del Palmar Cancun Luxury Beach Resort & Spa Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Cancun Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 476 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.2
Dining Options
 
4.3
Room Comfort
 
4.6
4.4 out of 5
"rooms felt humid beach very small, rocky and too much seaweed" – rmscrna
471 out of 552 (85%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Night 2 eating sushi comfortable bed on beach View from room view from our balcony May never want to go bime A beautiful night inCancun On the ferry to Isla Mujeres view from the pier Beach bar Beautiful at night Must have cilantro shashimi View from breakfast buffet Infinite pool View from my balcony. Isla Muejeres The view from our room south beach style beds -supa chic! The SWEETEST and AMAZING Eligia! From my room. 2nd floor hubs at our favorite pool-the infinity pool by the snack bar enjoying the morning sun beach view Enjoying beverage service by one of 6 pools. Site map of Villa del Palmar Completed Paradise View from our room Look from balcony Poolside One of the most beautiful views A view of the pool Our view View from room View from chair on beach Beautiful pools Incredible tiramisu at steakhouse. Our ocean-front room view! Not the villa del palmar The infinity pool & ocean Beach lounge This view from our balcony Awesome during the day View from balcony Doesn't get much better than this! View from top floor. hammocks on EVERY deck The view of the resort from our room. Elbert making drinks at Tiki Bar Upfront at the Resort View from our room Beach view

All Villa del Palmar Cancun Luxury Beach Resort & Spa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 476 reviews. Sort by
July 23, 2012
Great resort, great pools

Overall really liked this resort. It is only 2 years old and as such they are really promoting their other hotels in the chain and push a hotel "tour" when you first check-in. It's not really a time-share thing but has the same feel. Any time we tried to get help from the concierge they tried to sign us up for the tour. That was pretty annoying. Other wise the rooms were great, all with ocean views. The pools were warm, clean and awesome. Our kids loved em. The restaurants were the best we have had at an all inclusive. There is one restaurant that does require closed toed shoes so heads up to bring shoes, even tennies work. The beach was messy because there was a tropical storm a couple weeks before. The water was nice and you could snorkel rich from the beach. Saw lots of fish, sting little baby rays and conch shells. The hotel has sea kayaks and stand up boards that are free to rent which was a blast with the kids. Isla Mujeres is an island right across the way and that is worth a day trip. The ferry leaves every couple hours and it is a 5 minute beach walk from the hotel. It is $3.5 US and you need to buy the ticket an hour in advance. There is a Dolphin Discovery at the island which was cool for the kids and you can rent a golf cart to trek the island. You can also hire a small boat to take you out to snorkel off the reef. It runs $35 a person and well wroth it. We would de


129 of 131 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 50 Contributor
From: Grand Junction, Colorado
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 24, 2013
Pros and Cons to the resort

This location was one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed. The beaches, pools and landscape were immpecable. I did not like the fact that I had an all inclusive package and others did not. I had to wear a plastic braclet and then wait to sign a bill at the end of each meal or bar tab which was annoying when you weren't paying for anything anyway. I also had to ask for room towels and mini bar service several tmes before anyone took care of it. I just felt they were slow for service in all aspects. This location is about 35-40 minutes away from anything and offers absolutely no night life. If you are looking for anything else to do other than lay in the sun this might not be the place for you. This place literally shuts down by 8 pm.


179 of 192 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Battle Creek, MI
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 29, 2013
great vacation by all...

First off everyone has their own opnions - this is our take on the whole trip. Great resort, great food, and great people. Never had bad service, nor did we have a bad meal. I have been to alot of all inclusive resorts and this food was by far the best. (tiki bar that was your choice for pool side lunch could have had more choices expecially for the young kids) They have 3 levels of stay at this resort and each has a different colored bracklet that you wear the entire stay. So if you go for $499.00 you are going to be given the $499.00 treatment. If you go there and pay $1000.00 a person all inclusive you are going to be treated like a $1000.00 guest. Thats just the way it is. If you pay for budget you are going to get budget. Going on the timeshare deal is i think is when all these bad reviews come into play. We went all inclusive for 3 people - 2 were children and i can tell you it was wonderful. The staff remembered us each night and during the day - if you go to the same spot daily you will have the same pool or beach side server. My son had a birthday the day we arrived everyone knew and wished him happy 9th. Even after 6 days the waiter on the 6th night said so we have a birthday boy with us. Staff couldnt have been nicer. Tipping - come on - go on vacation and have people wait on you all day and dont tip!!! These are the people who write bad reviews the cheap skates. Tip alittle and the service will follow. These people work 12-16 hour days why wouldnt you tip. As far as having to sign everytime you get something - yes you do - its not that big of a deal. I always just signed my name and put xxxxx 's in the tip section. I tipped in cash. They do this because of the different plan options. Pay as you go - timeshare deal - european inclusive and all inclusive. Go all inclusive well worth it... My daughter tried to keep track of what food and drinks cost for the 7 days and it was around $1200.00 with only one adult. If you can upgrade i would do it ( the suite rooms are amazing) I got a free upgrade when i booked thru cheap caribean. The room was great - 2 bathrooms - a seperate bedroom (kig size bed) and whrilpool tub. Great room - i didnt cook but the kitchen was cool to have. Mini bar - pop, beer, water, candybars, chips. filled daily.. This one bedroom oceanview suite had a washer/dryer. We were in building #2 so this is in the center of the horseshoe layout. View was breathtaking. Go to this resort - only down falls - if you get the murphy bed in the living room it is HARD... if you want nightlife - or want to go into town. $30.00/cab to get into town- and nothing going on at night. Great grounds, good people, great food - i would take my kids back next week if i could.


41 of 42 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Joliet, Illinois
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 22, 2013
Villa Del Palmar.....Viva la Fabulous!

This resort was fabulous! Were a family of five with a young daughter and two teenage boys and this resort met the expectations of everyone! The resort itself is beautiful, and even though the resort was full, the layout was so great that you never felt crowded. The Staff was so accommodating, and so willing to go out if their way to meet your needs. This resort isn't for you if your looking for late night wild life, which made it even better for us. There is plenty to keep you busy during the day and the activities staff do a great job at providing pool and beach side entertainment in the evening. Do the all-inclusive, it is absolutely worth it. Breakfast was always fresh and was our favorite meal of the day. Dinner was good - make reservations. A little more variety and a little better food at the tiki bar would have made a big difference, but We had a great time - and we will be back (the sooner the better)!!! FYI - a little like Vegas and Branson, everywhere you turn in Cancun big resorts are hocking time share presentations in exchange for reduced price attraction tickets or other perks. Villa del Palmar has a time share presentation. upon checking we were asked to participate, we said no once and were never asked again - no pressure.


19 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Broken Arrow, OK
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 8, 2014
Beautiful, relaxing resort!

Prior to booking this trip, I did a lot of research on tripadvisor on different resorts. Most of the reviews were 4/5 stars and others were 1 star. After reading the reviews, my boyfriend and I booked because the overall reviews were great. The resort itself is beautiful, and for the people that complained about it being far away from the Cancun strip, obviously did not do any research of where the resort is located. A resort away from the Cancun strip is exactly what my boyfriend and I were looking for because we did not want a "spring break" resort, we wanted a peaceful, romantic place. And this is it! All inclusive is the way to go. CheapCaribbean.com was an extremely smooth process, from being picked up at the airport and dropped back off, to check in to check out. The rooms are beautiful and spacious. And the food is great! I did a lot of research about the food, because I was skeptical of an all inclusive resort, and I have to say the food was great. I read a lot of reviews saying the food was bland, but my boyfriend and I did not have a problem with our food. We had steaks, fish, chicken fajitas, you name it - everything tasted great. It was not the most amazing food I have ever experienced, but it's all inclusive, people who wrote bad reviews were definitely looked for things to complain about. It's vacation! Enjoy the service, food, company, scenery and no dishes to clean afterwards! :) We brought about $100 in singles, to give as tips throughout the week. Even though it is all inclusive, I think it is important to tip because the servers are kind and work very hard. Miguel and Manuel were by far the best servers. They were quick and kind, always smiling, and went above and beyond to make us comfortable and enjoy our vacation. I recommend this resort to families or couples. It's a beautiful place and I would love to come back! I had a wonderful vacation that I will not forget, and I hope other people read this review and go too! :)

Beautiful, relaxing resort! Beautiful, relaxing resort!
17 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 19-24
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 2, 2014
Sad Ending to a Wonderful Trip

When I first arrived at the Villa Del Palmer, I was struck by the grounds. They were beautiful and obviously very new. Chantel helped check us in and she was very kind and the drink they greeted us with was delicious. Chantel was just the first of many amazing staff members. Geovany, the waiter by the beach, also stands out to me. Every waiter and waitress seemed genuinely happy to be helping you. I also loved that the resort was not too crowded. We didn't have to fight for beach chairs or restaurant reservations. The spa was the most amazing spa I have ever been to...a full hour of pampering before the massage! I did hate that the resort gave you checks after every meal or drink even though it was all inclusive. We felt forced to tip extra and spent a lot more money than we planned. I also think it is unsafe that they are constantly asking for your room number. You have to give it almost everywhere you go and all staff members can look up information about you based on your room number. This made me feel uncomfortable. The major problem occurred when we returned to our room the day before leaving. The room smelled musty and strange and everything was damp. Any paper in the room was incredibly damp, the sheets felt wet, and even our clothes when we unpacked the next night were still wet. We went to bed anyways--I wish I complained then, because the next morning I woke up to my suitcase covered in bugs! Multiple light colored bugs were crawling all over my suitcase. Our airport transfer was picking us up in an hour so I took my suitcase down and tried to explain what was happening to the front desk. This was the first time I encountered a rude staff member at the hotel. The man working at the front desk on the morning of April 27, 2014 couldn't care less that my suitcase was covered in bugs from his hotel. They placed my bag with a bunch of other bags ready to leave for the airport. We explained that we didn't want anyone elses bags to be contaminated so it should be kept away from other bags. After speaking to the man at the front desk about it a 2nd time, he finally sent house keeping up, to simply wipe the bugs of my suitcase with a cloth. We tried to explain to him in both and English and Spanish that while it is gross my suitcase as bugs on it from his hotel, we are mainly concerned because we don't know what kind of bugs they are and if they are bed bugs that is a BIG deal. Finally, I had to speak to concierge desk who seemed to take my concern more seriously. They called management but a manager was no where to be found, but one member of the staff came out to look at my suitcase. She said they were ants, but they looked nothing like ants to me and after further inspection online there are not ants in Mexico that look like those on my suitcase. They simply sprayed my suitcase with mosquito spray and sent me on my way because our airport transfer needed to leave. They offered nothing to me but an apology and then asked my room number but in a way that seemed they wanted to check the room for future guests. I didn't bring my suitcase into my apartment when I got home and washed my clothes immediately. Unfortunately, washing my clothes all together immediately ruined 3 shirts, 3 bathing suits, and two bras. Also, it is one week later and while I have not seen anymore bugs, almost every day I have woken up with new bites. This completely ruined my experience at my hotel and understand these things happen in hotels when traveling but the fact that they acted like I was being completely dramatic was a huge turn off to me. Even if they were just ants, it is still a major problem that my bag was covered in them. However, if they are bed bugs this could potentially cost me quite a bit of money and stress.


17 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Boston, Ma
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 29, 2011
Great Short Winter Get-away!

Took a girls only trip for 4 nights at the Villa Del Palmar Cancun. The resort will be beautiful and already is quite impressive with the huge pool with fountains, multiple hot tubs and expansive pool side area. Since only first phase was completed (opened Dec 2010), there were only 2 restaurants open not incuding the beach grill; but that seemed to suit us fine. The beach area was beautiful, but water cloudy and filled with seaweed at the shoreline. I think since the hotel is newly opened and word isn't out yet, we were able to get lounge chairs on the beach without difficulty, though there seemed to be plenty. The staff were all very friendly and quick with service throughout our 4 night stay. There was only one occassion when pool side service was pretty slow. Not sure what that was about. There were plenty of adult activities available daily but we spent most of our time on the beach or lounging by the pool. There were very few activities for children which would make it difficult for families with young ones. Even my 16yo son would have been bored. When the resort is complete, they may offer more children's/teen activities. The room was gorgeous! The main downside was the continuous construction at the resort. We were hoping to awake in the mornings with our sliding doors open to hear the sounds of the ocean; instead we heard multiple loud construction noises beginning in the a.m. on through to at least 5pm. Saturday they only worked a half day and Sunday, luckily, they were off. That one quiet morning on our balcony was perfect. Wish we could have had more of that. This is why my overall rating was 4 palms instead of 5 since the construction will cease one day. I would recommend this resort to friends. Don't know that I'll return as I prefer smaller more intimate resorts. Once this second phase is complete, this resort is going to be huge and could be fun if you like the larger resort. All in all it made for a great winter time blues getaway.


57 of 63 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Atlanta, GA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 12, 2012
Awesome Family Vacation!

Everthing we wanted and more! The all-inclusive package was the way to go. Both drinks and food were AWESOME! We were not "pressured" into taking the tour, which we greatly appreciated sine American cancelled our flight and we missed our first day. The one bedroom suite was perfect four our family of 4. My kids (14 & 18) enjoyed themselves and were very comfortable. The restaurants were AWESOME! My only dissappointment was that eventhough collared shirts and pants were necessary for dinner, there were many people in shorts and T-shirts. You could tell they did not belong there. If you need to wear your bathing suit to dinner at 7pm, then order room service! And that should have been pointed out to them. The presentation at each restaurant was great. Very classy..... no hot dogs or chicken fingers in sight! Steaks were cooked to perfection and the seafood was great, (I had either Shrimp or Lobster each night). We even ordered dessert through room service for a late night snack- wow! So yummy! We enjoyed the beach, the pools, waverunners and even massages. The staff always addressed us by name and were very helpful. We are now trying to figure out when we can come back and who else we are going to bring with us! It was a perfect location and we never had to leave the resort. If you are looking for a little "R&R" this is the place to go!

Awesome Family Vacation!
29 of 31 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Chicago, IL
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 11, 2015
great,hotel,too much mosquito

the hotel is beautiful,it has a nice comfortable room,except a lots of mosquito in the balcony,we were not happy about that,the hotel should do something for that ?.also there is no entertanment. or show at night,it gets boaring.,they also charge the wifi, we will not stay there on my next cancun trip.


14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: new york
Age: 45-54
Travel: 7+ trips/year

August 21, 2012
Beach a BUST

The resort was great, very beautiful and luxurious. The service was above our expectations. However, when we went out to the beach there was a sign that said the ocean was CLOSED! What a surprise for us since we brought our children to Cancun to get in the ocean. We were very disappointed that this wasn't brought to our attention before we booked the vacation. We did make the best of it and swam everyday in the glorious pools, but when you expect to play in the ocean and are told you can't, it's upsetting.


23 of 25 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: St. Louis, MO
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year