All

Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Los Cabos Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 19 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
3.7
Room Comfort
 
4.1
4.1 out of 5
"absolute beautiful place. Very relaxing with great view of the water from the beach. Service was excellent as well as the food." – Slick
18 out of 23 (78%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Luxury Sailing

All Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas Customer Reviews

1-10 of 19 reviews. Sort by
August 4, 2011
many better options than here

the bell staff is great but from there on it is very disappointing, we asked for a roll away and were assured it would be delivered 4 times, called for extra towels 3 times neither ever showed, they constantly bug you about doing there time share tour, the pools were crowded the towel service has limited hours and is down by the beach so getting pool towels was a hassle, the bedroom in a jr suite back to the hall and you here all of your neighbors when they come and go, the beds are uncomfortable and we didnt get maid service one day Over all there are much nicer places to stay in Cabo san Lucas


39 of 39 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Portland, Or
Age: 45-54
Travel: 7+ trips/year

July 19, 2011
Cabo not what it used to be

We visited Cabo 8 years ago. We loved it it was one of our favorite places. The food was great back then, and the service was the best we had had on any vacation. We were so excited to go back. I have to say Cabo is still a great location as for beaches and the view. However the service level, at the hotel, was not very good at all. Mexico used to be a good value vacation. Now everything in Cabo is more expensive than in the states. The expectation for tips is bordering on rude. They want $27 for a dinner buffet, and it was not very good food. We did it twice, and regretted it both times. The Villa Da Palmer needs to provide better restaurants. They were to expensive, and 90% of their food service are buffets. I dont go on vacation to eat at buffets. Also their were many hotel employees, almost over staffed. However, they refuse to provide any life guards. It is absolutely crazy that they don't. We saw two people in our 8 day stay almost drown. The waters their can be dangerous and the hotel just doesn't want to deal with the liability. If you care about your guests you will station a few trained life guards to protect your guests. Common sense. Bottom line is service stinks at this hotel. My family several times were treated rude by bar tenders at the pool side bar. And if you are all inclusive (we were not) plan on being completely ignored. They know they are not going to get a tip from an all inclusive person, so they ignore you and give service to the paid patrons. Last thing BEDS are rock hard and the maids didn't do a great job cleaning. I would stay somewhere else unless they make some changes.


27 of 30 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Minnesota
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 24, 2014
Villa Del Palmar on a Tight Budget

I took my 16 year old daughter for a short 3 night stay at Villa Del Palmar over her spring break. We spent a little extra to have an ocean-view room and that was worth every penny. I watched the sunrise from our 3rd floor balcony every morning while having a cup or two of coffee. The resort is meticulously kept, from the grounds to the rooms to the beach itself. Our room had a kitchen with a stove and a microwave, fully equipped with dishes, pots and pans, and utensils. We had a coffee pot, a blender, and a toaster as well. The rooms have been recently renovated with new furnishings and bedding. It was lovely, with extremely comfortable beds. The resort sits on one of the only swimmable beaches in Cabo, and it's a mile-long stretch of sand with gorgeous blue water. There is a strong undertow, so caution is needed. And now for the cons: I decided on the European Plan and was extremely glad I did. We ate at the resort twice - once on the buffet and once at the taco stand. Not only is it hugely expensive, but it is unimpressive to say the least. I expected a gourmet quality meal for the price and got cafeteria food. I'd recommend eating downtown or going to one of the local grocery stores to stock up. (We did both) I would also caution you that everything on the resort, not just the food, costs about 3 times as much as it would downtown. Avoid using the resort's grocery store. Also note that cab service in Cabo is expensive. The marina and downtown areas are within walking distance along the beach. The local bus is another cheap option available. Be prepared for your "concierge" to attempt to sign you up for a timeshare presentation before you even get to your room. When I told her we were not interested (politely) she continued to try to insist, and I had to tell her no 3 times before she stopped. I finally told her we just wanted to go to our room. We were approached again for a timeshare presentation by another resort representative while walking down to catch the bus. They do offer some nice kickbacks - free massages, drink coupons, free excursions - but since we only had 3 days I didn't want to waste any of it on a sales pitch. The resort offered many kid-friendly activities for younger children, and it is clearly geared toward families. If you're wanting more of an adults-only resort, this is not the place for you. The nightlife at the resort is non-existent, and everything shuts down around 10 pm. Head downtown for nighttime fun. While we did enjoy our stay at Villa Del Palmar, on our next trip to Cabo we will be staying downtown instead. If you must have a beachfront resort that is family friendly, I would highly recommend Villa Del Palmar One last thing: CheapCaribbean.com is the way to go for all your vacation needs - so easy, and has the best pricing. I know because I checked around, believe me! This was my first time using them and I will continue to use them from now on for all my beach vacations.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Oklahoma City, OK
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 22, 2014
Villa del Palmar

Great hotel, amazing location. The beach breaks are so fun but the tide is very deceiving. You can be standing back and watch the water and it stays far from you and then about the 5th time it will come and take you out. Kids of all ages enjoyed swimming & getting thrown around like a washing machine. The service is great. We stayed on the 3rd floor, garden view in a suite and it was very well insulated. We could see the ocean from the side view. The town is a 15 min walk straight down the beach. Make reservations at The Office. Coconut shrimp was tasty! Nice bathrooms there too. Watch out for the water taxi's. They will say $5.00 but they mean $5/person + $1.00/person for the security guard at the drop off! Tell the driver you will go if 1/2 the people in your group ride free! Enjoy!!!


21 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Tulsa,OK
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 24, 2014
Not worth the hassle

If you are going to Cabo to enjoy the beach skip this hotel. This is all about selling their time share / private ownership scenario. From the time you check in until you leave you are followed and harassed by 'your personal concierge'. Messages appeared in our door even with the "Privacy Please" note on it. The beach along the hotel is surrounded by the locals selling everything. To get to the water you have to fight through the salespeople. Many other hotels did not have this problem. The food was good but expensive. Better food was found downtown a short walk away. Having a fridge made the trip to Walmart worth it to get food. Didn't really want to stay in the room though. Pools were nice but getting hit with basketballs and volleyballs was not pleasant. The 'adult' pool was much smaller and many people brought their kids there too. The service was nice but you never knew if you were going to get help or hit upon for their sales talk. Often had to look for help. Had a beer poured on me, it was replaced but really?!?


13 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: California
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 30, 2014
dissapointed!!!!

Right off the plane we were approached by real estate (I'll call them a bee's nest, and I had honey in my pocket!!) wanting my wife and I to tour another resort for discount activities in the area, not interested! On to Palmar resort, after check-in we were approached by our concierge who really tried to pressure us into purchasing "a gold card membership to palmar, along with guess what!! another tour!! I declined at least 3 more time of her persistence. After all was said and done we felt like we weren't really guests as long as we didn't hold the gold card. The visit to downtown Cabo, was interesting and we enjoyed the Mexico experience.


12 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: El Dorado,ar
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 11, 2011
Great resort experience overall

Here are the things we loved about our stay: - the resort was very nice, the staff friendly, they made every effort to help us feel at home - the restaurant had great food, the drinks at happy hour fun, the beach was gorgeous, we loved all of that - the room was large and spacious - it was wonderful having the deli and market on the premises - the spa experience was very nice - the location was exceptional - just at the end of the row of hotels but a $7 ride by taxi to the downtown - or a short walk - the weather was nice - the beach and water clean - staff was knowledgeable - the room was clean - the ladies at the concierge were very nice - our room faced north - overlooking the private house and the beaches to the north - it was a nice view and pretty quiet overall - the gym was very nice - but a little crowded - given the amount of people working out, you may consider expanding the space Areas for improvement: - the bedrooms are next to the hallway, so it is VERY noisy at night when people come back from the bars - the plumbing was VERY loud when someone flushed a toilet or took a shower - it sounded like an airplane taking off - people above us were loud - every time they walked on the floor or did things (like move furniture) - we could hear it all - the glass block walls in the bedroom let in a LOT of light - and the curtains didn't cover the window so that the light won't come in - we had to take a blanket and find a way with hangers to attach it above the drapes to keep the light out - the daily activities were surprising to us - we are in our mid 40's and didn't want to lay by the pool due to the amount of kids and noise - also the nightly food and entertainment events weren't something that we wanted to deal with - we ordered a grilled cheese sandwich through room service and the sandwich arrived with one slice of american cheese - it would have been nice to have melted 4 or 5 slices of a higher quality cheese - like Tillamook - in front of the hotel, you have a couple of small little buildings - one of them has pottery, the other real estate. the other is empty. we bought some gifts while staying there - and thought it would be nice for that empty building to be a place to buy shipping/packing material and for that place to provide a shipping service - we think you or the vendor would get a lot of business! - the breakfast buffet was very expensive - we asked to order from the menu each day - and they graciously let us do so - but it would have been nice to have that as a normal option instead of an exception


13 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Los Angeles, CA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 6, 2010
villadelpalmar in cabo

we vacationed there in june and the accomadations where unbelievable. We had the all-inclusive and wass very pleased with it. the weather was great and the entire vacation was very much enjoyed. the service was great and would love to vaacation there again.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: california
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 20, 2014
Great Value

We booked our trip to Cabo San Lucas with Cheap Caribbean.com on black Friday. Because of that we received an AMAZING deal for 4 nights, 5 days, including round trip, non-stop airfare, transfers to/from airport to hotel, and hotel. We chose not to do the all-inclusive package at Villa Del Palmar, but did have their food two times during our stay, and it was delicious. VDP is all about location, location, location. You are ON THE BEACH! Great pools, and great beach (roped off for VDP guests). Take a boat/water taxi from hotel beach to "The Office" or other popular areas like "The Marina" for just $5. If walking to same places, its just about 15-20 mins easy walk, or a $7 cab ride. The point is, you are close to everything, but far enough away form the downtown to hear the ocean waves! I would book this trip again, and recommend it to friends/family. Hint: go to Walmart (bus is less that $1 per person from hotel each way) on first day. Stock up your kitchenette with everything you need! Perfect trip! Cons - just keep saying NO to the time share sales people. They eventually give up.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: San Francisco, CA Bay Area
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 23, 2010

The room comfort was good. The only uncomfortable part was the pull out bed. They are renovating and adding Murphy beds to all of the suites. When that is complete I would rate the room comfort as excellent


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Temecula CA
Age: 45-54