All

Vik Hotel Arena Blanca Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 180 Reviews
Value
 
3.7
Service
 
3.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.2
Dining Options
 
3.3
Room Comfort
 
3.0
3.4 out of 5
"The food and services were great, the wifi suck so bad the excursions were reasonable" – Desirablelady1
140 out of 216 (65%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
The pool area from building 3 The beach area Smear on wall VIK Arena Blanca Beach He was so helpful and treated everyone equally no matter what language you spoke. Very intelligent clerk Michael Jackson show wonderful from our balcony Fun ,sun and good food Tres Ojos Caverna Sto. Domingo Nachos Just having fun. El Bucanero Mexican dining La Playa

All Vik Hotel Arena Blanca Customer Reviews

1-10 of 180 reviews. Sort by
January 3, 2013
Great vacation for the traveler on a budget!

Was this the nicest, most luxurious resort I have ever stayed at? No. Was it still a beautiful property with a gorgeous beach? Yes! Did I still have a fabulous trip? Yes! The positives: Beach--soft powder white sand with beautiful warm water. Also, I never had a problem getting a beach chair. The pool was also very large with warm water. It wasn't super deep, either. The food was delicious! Breakfast was a huge buffet with just about anything you could think of--homemade smoothies, eggs cooked to order, homemade yogurt bar, cereal, oatmeal, waffles, pancakes, donuts, churros, cold cuts, hot lunch items, fresh fruit,eggs, bacon, etc. There was a snack bar poolside that was open 11 to 6. They cranked out fresh, hot pizzas all day, plus there was a selection of hamburgers, hot dogs, french fries, chicken, etc. For lunch, there were 2 buffets--a casual one where you could go in your beach ware and a more formal one that had a larger variety of items. For dinner you could either eat at the buffet or order off the menu at one of 2 restaurants (an Italian one and an "international" one.) I liked the fact that you could eat at the ala cart restaurants as many days as you wanted to during your stay. Also, they did not require you to make reservations ahead of time. I never waited more than 5 minutes to be seated despite eating at various times throughout my trip. I would highly recommend ordering the fish, as it was always fresh and deliciously prepared. The resort was small and easy to get around. Service was very good on the whole. There were always more than one bar open, so I never had to wait long for drinks. The negatives: Smoking is allowed throughout the resort with exception of the restaurants. It was really annoying to have smoke blown in your face at the beaches and pool, Also, you could not sit in the lobby or enjoy drinks at the bars without inhaling in tons of smoke. There weren't a lot of things to do at the resort during the night time. The animation team did play a game every night at 7:30 that was basically name that tune--but it was conducted entirely in French! At 8:30 every night was kids disco hour on the main stay, even though there were barely any kids staying at the resort. 9:30 was showtime. There were a couple outside shows that were good, but the ones performed by the animation team were awful! My room was very large and up to date. I had a large balcony with a table and chairs on it. The hotel provided absolutely no toiletries--not even a bar of soap, so make sure you bring your own. The shower got warm, but never super hot. Also, it had zero water pressure. Finally, there were not hot tubs. All in all, I had a wonderful vacation. I probably would not stay at this hotel again, unless they modified their smoking policy and at least provided some smoke free areas at the beaches, pools, & bars. Also, I booked the optional transfer vouchers through the cheapcaribbean website with Olympus tours. I would advise against doing this. After arriving at the airport, I was given a card by the transportation company stating that I had to meet with one of their reps the next day in order to receive my return pick up time. I took time out of my vacation to meet the rep and she never showed up for this meeting! I went the next day and she didn't show up again. I had guest services call the rep, who said she would meet me in 30 min. Again she never showed up. I had a rep from a different company call and was told that my rep no longer works for Olympus tours and that the new rep would meet with me at 5:30. I met with her and she still wouldn't give me a pick up time! I had to call the night before to confirm a pick up time. When I did, the rep told me to call her later because she didn't have my paperwork with her! Avoid using this company--it is not worth the stress! Taxis are plentiful and relatively cheap.


176 of 180 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Baldwinsville, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 19, 2013
Fair value

This was our first all inclusive vacation and it was very relaxing. We started off in a bad situation missing our connecting flight in philadelphia so we had to spend the night there and I made the mistake of not buying the travel insurance. The service at the restaurants is terrible and the food is not very good. The pizza/grill bar is where we found the best food that is available to the vik hotel arena Blanca side. There are vendors set up inside of the resort and they are very pushy, they will bargain with you but expect to spend a lot of time with people trying to sell you junk or overpriced photos. We had originally booked 4 excursions but the tour company (ocean adventures) who we booked through Olympus forgot to pick us up on the day it was scheduled and they never called to let us know so we sat in the lobby waiting an extra 30 minutes in case they might show and ended up calling our tour representative and he said he would call us back. When he called back, he said it was cancelled due to the weather... It was sunny, blue skies and calm winds. As far as value goes, the Vik cayena is in the same resort but it is a more exclusive spot and they do a much better job with serving the customers. Plus you will get access to the swim up bar which the vik hotel arena Blanca does not have. Punta Cana is an awesome destination but I would not recommend the Vik hotel Arena Blanca to a couple looking for a getaway.


33 of 34 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Cincinnati, OH
Age: 19-24
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 5, 2013
Great Vacation

Loved our direct flight from Cincinnati to the Dominican on Sun Wing out of Montreal. Free champagne, hot meal with choice of red or white wine, hot towels, snacks, mints and movie. Great service and would definitely fly with them again! The VIK Arena Blanca Resort: This is an older resort but very clean which was important to us - clean room and bathroom. Flat screen TV mounted on the wall but hardly was used. Bathroom was just remodeled using an open concept and pretty stonework. Although we were to have an ocean view room, none of the rooms could have had much of one. Although we could see a little sliver of the ocean, that makes it an oceanfront room. The room was everything you would need for your stay. Three of us girls staying in one room, we could have used another mirror - only one was in the bathroom. Food: Food was good. There are some different dishes there but they also have food that anyone would like. With the all-inclusive, there is a Mexican Restaurant (would give it the lowest rating), and Italian Restaurant (very good!), an International restaurant (didn't eat there) and then the nightly buffet. Different food each night but there was always a pasta bar and stir fry bar. Both are very good. Lunch was at the brick oven where there is pizza, fries, roasted chicken (very good!), hamburgers and hot dogs. I guess there was a buffet for lunch as well but we never went to the buffet for lunch. Drinks: Lower shelf alcohol. Think it would take a lot of it to even make you tipsy. We drank frozen drinks with rum most of the days on the beach. Tried some of the other drinks and they were o.k. Several locations on the resort to get drinks which is nice. Resort: small and easy to get around. Saw other resorts where it took you 20 minutes to walk from your room to the beach. We were in Block #4 (room 4109) and we were literally 2 minutes from the beach - if that long. Like I said, a little older but very well maintained. Lobby has free Wi-Fi so it was crowded in the evening time after dinner with everyone wanting to get on-line. I believe they probably have just so many license so we had to wait to get on line at times. We heard from other resorts where you have to pay for Wi-Fi so this is def. a perk! Pool is nice. Pretty clean - needed a little maintenance but fine. They had water exercises each morning and that was fun! No hot tub that we could find, though. Plenty of seats around the pool and no need to have to reserve early in the morning. Entertainment is limited. Pool aerobics in the morning, some beach games during the day and one night there was a "party on the beach." It is pretty family oriented with a Kid's Club - no kids with us so don't know that much about it. Beach: Ah, beautiful! Softest sand I've ever felt! There are lots of huts on the beach with chairs but you must get up EARLY to get the front two rows. if you go out to the beach after 8:00 a.m., more than likely the huts are taken and as hot as it gets, you need that relief from the huts. We spent the majority of our time on the beach and loved it! Took walks up and down. Lots of people trying to sell you everything from jewelry (pretty cheap), cigars, hair braiding, pictures with live parakeets, monkeys, snakes (Yikes!), etc. Just ignore them and they will go away and not bother you. Saw other resorts from the beach view and I believe The VIK has probably one of the best parts of the beach. Excursions: All kinds of excursions to choose from. We decided to go dune buggy riding and it was fun. Angel from Olympus Tours is great to work with. Honest and cares about you having a fun time. Service: I would lower this down on the scale a bit. We have been to other Caribbean resorts where they wait on you hand and foot. I guess we missed the beach service and pool service. At other resorts, there was always someone there getting you a drink whether by the pool or the beach. Not here. You get it yourself. Kind of slow getting your drink orders at breakfast and dinner as well. That type of service was not top-notch but our maids, bartenders, etc. were extremely friendly - the bigger tip, the more friendly, found out! Culture: We are Americans who speak English and found very few Americans who travel to Punta Cana. Was told the country that comes there the most is Russia, then France (lots of French speaking people) then Canada and Europe. More Americans are going to Punta Cana but not like Cancun or the Bahamas or Jamaica. Found it somewhat difficult to understand them and for them to understand us. We had heard that from others but until you live it for a week, it does make communication difficult. Overall: We like going to different locations so not sure we will come back to the Punta Cana in the near future but if we do, I believe we would stay at the VIK again. Biggest reason: Clean, good food and room was close to everything!


18 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Indiana
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 7, 2015

I went over Thanksgiving Break with my daughter and we had a great trip. The resort was small but very beautiful. The grounds were maintained and manicured. The staff was very friendly and aimed to please in every way, especially Navidaad, the woman who cleaned our room! She was like our D.R. grandmother. The food was delicious and plentiful. The beach was gorgeous. No matter what time you went to the pool or beach there were always chairs available. The shows left a little to be desired but Charlie always entertained and made the audience laugh. When they brought in the entertainment it was much better, especially the Michael Jackson show!!! The newer buildings are 3, 4 & 5. We stayed in 4 and were very happy. Obviously we booked through Cheap Caribbean and all went smoothly. We used Amstar as our transfer to and from the airport and they too were excellent. I would highly recommend this resort. While there I met a stewardess who has been coming to VIK for 10 years and told me this is the best resort for the value! She was many people we met who have been coming for years. *AND FINALLY, MOST IMPORTANTLY MY DAUGHTER WHO MUST HAVE A SAY IN EVERYTHING* Hello.. well Im *** to be honest out of the numerous times I've been to Dominican, I would have to say that VIK resort was one of the best hotels I've been to. One of the most important things to me when I stay at a place other then my home, is the food quality. Yes, I love food. No, I'm not fat XD But their food was very yummy and should be recommended to all!


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 20, 2015
Best Honeymoon!

This resort is seriously amazing! If you like it to be mid size and not too big of a resort this is for you! When I read the reviews, it was all horrible reviews, saying that the AC does not work and that the food was nasty, or how the people were rude there. They must have high expectations. My experience was great and so was my husbands. Our room was very cool, the cleaning ladies did a wonderful job. The people were so friendly, everyone always had smiles on their faces, they always say hello to you. The pool was clean and kept up with. The ocean was nice as well expect there was a LOT of seaweed, they had men picking it up and those poor guys couldn't catch up. But seaweed is normal so it comes and goes and not much we can do about it, they did their best cleaning it up. There are vendors here and there, which if you don't want something just say no thank you and they leave you alone. Also our driver was very nice that brought us to the resort. We also did excursions but did not go through the agency, and it was very safe. They were all friendly and always checked to make sure everyone stayed together. Overall, it was an amazing honeymoon and would recommend this to a lot of couples out there! Don't always pay attention to the negative reviews!


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York, USA
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 18, 2012
BEST PRICE EVER

this hotel is one of the best, the staff treat you like king the drinks are amazing i will definitely go back, the only thing i didnt like is i was trying to get cash from my credit card they charge me 34$ us when i withdraw 150$ us so i dnt know why it is so high orther than that i have lots of funnn


62 of 74 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Orlando florida
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 19, 2013
Great family place!! Gorgeous Beach!! Nice pool!!

Service was awesome!!! People in general were extremely friendly. The room and the common areas were kept very clean. As far as the food goes, you get what you pay for, it's not the best all inclusive type of meals we've had, but there's enough to choose from. The Seafood and the Italian restaurants were the best. Entertainment from the staff during the day and every night was something to look forward to. In general VIK Arena Blanca is a great place to stay at with your family. We read a bunch of bad reviews after we had booked it, which got us disappointed, but once we got there we figured that there's people that complain about everything and anything! We were a large group of two families of all ages and we all had an amazing time!!! ;)


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Santa Clarita, CA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 20, 2015
Not Bad

The resort was smaller, but we liked that. We did not want to trek a long way to and from our room, as well as the other places on the resort we walked to. The food was AMAZING, although the Mexican restaurant was closed....we were very disappointed about that. The pool area and grounds in general were kept very nice and clean and were simply beautiful. I loved that all the buildings on the grounds were open air (with the exception of the hotel buildings). The staff, although a bit difficult to communicate with if you don't speak Spanish, was very accommodating and friendly. The beach area is a public area, so the groundskeepers do not maintain it. Thus, there was a little bit of trash in the sand (cigarette butts, plastic utensils, straws), but not enough to deter us from the beauty before us. Vendors trying to sell their goods and services, but a 'no thank you' was all we had to say and they were on their way. They were harmless. The liquor included with the inclusive package was not top shelf, but that was probably a good thing. :) When we wanted top shelf, we just paid for it. No worries. We upgraded our room to Building 3 (at the recommendation of other reviews on the Trip Advisor website), which was supposedly refurbished. However, the bathroom was not refurbished and needed a bit of upgrading. Once again, this was not enough to deter us from having a good time and enjoying our stay. Not a huge, five star resort, but definitely good accommodations for the price we paid.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Buffalo, NY
Age: 45-54

July 8, 2013
VIK information

This is the most beautiful beach ! Word of warning: top floors do not have a/c...if they do its not what we in America would call a/c...lol The lower floors are alot cooler. The view is best on the 3rd floor...gotta toss up "view or a/c!" Front desk staff speaks pretty good english and very accomodating. They showed me 5 rooms and let me pick what one I wanted because of the humidty I wanted a/c in my room. its a very "international" hotel so most of the guests do not speak english. if you are "sensitive" to nudity, watch out, you will find topless suntanning is the norm and or thong swimsuits. There is a shopping/craft market on the beach that you can walk to. vendors will swarm you, so if you dont like that, just ignore them..lol once you ask a price or look at something, they plan on you buying it! It is cheaper hotel but the food at the buffet is ok. I am not picky like that. Mexican and Italian restaurant is really good. If you need a budget hotel with the best view of the beach, nice pool and very pretty grounds then go for it.

VIK Arena Blanca Beach
9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: michigan
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 14, 2015
Very relaxing

Great beach and pools. You will want reserve a shaded spot by 8:00 AM, but it's that way everywhere. Food was good at buffet. Dinner at specialty restaurants was very good with good service by staff. Check-in took about 45 minutes. A lot of people arriving at once. Most, like us, arrived at 1:00 PM. Check-in is at 3:00PM. Many thought their rooms should be ready and waiting, and complained. I found the lobby bar an excellent way to pass the time while waiting for room assignment. All-inclusive, of course. The rooms are showing their age a little, but ours was clean with beautiful view of pool and ocean. We upgraded to ocean-view room. It was worth it. Our trip was for four days and three nights, which was about right for my wife and me. Remember the sun-screen or you will be sorry. Also, English is not the language of the country. Don't expect everyone to be fluent. A lot of the guests will be German, French, French Canadian, and Russian so expect a little communication gap. I found that a smile, and a "good morning", or "good afternoon", goes a long way. I would go again.

from our balcony
8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Illinois
Age: 55-64