All

VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Puerto Plata Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 81 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.6
Room Comfort
 
3.8
4 out of 5
"Good hotel for the price. A few little things that could be improved, but its not a 5 star modern country hotel." – mm70
77 out of 93 (83%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
beach view Teleferico in the distance Water aerobics Lobby View from our room.

All VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 81 reviews. Sort by
July 2, 2014

The experience was wonderful and the staff was fantastic...The only thing that I was not to satisfied with was the rooms..I guess they were a little outdated and the bathrooms were not up to my standards, in order for me to be comfortable with showering, etc...short sec power outages. However, besides that the entertainment, water activities and that they provided and the service was great and well organize for the all and all inclusive stay...Loved PP it was AMAZING !!!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Houston
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 27, 2014
Worst customer service ever!!!

My husband and I went to DR for our 4th Year Anniversary. We were so excited since it was our 1st time in DR. The first couple of days were just beautiful!! The service was good, the food was delicious, the room was clean, we were just enjoying to the full. Since everything was excellent so far, we wanted to try the spa service. They told us that they have it at the sister hotel (Casa Colonial) around the corner named Bagua Spa. We had a little tour of the site. They claimed being one of the best hotel in DR and even Versace was there, so we reserved it for the next day. My husband got the Aromatherapy and I got the Hot stone massage. The therapists were very professional and we were totally relaxed. After the treatment, I came back to the resting area and put my mask on. Few minutes later the receptionist came to the room and rushed me saying that they're closing in 20min. Since I just had put my mask on, I wanted to wait at least 5min more to let it dry, so I said ok. But she was starring at me and waiting for me to move! Oh mine!! We came out all rushed up to the counter before 4. When we got the bill, we were charged for something called "servicio" (service), so we asked if this was the tip for the therapist. She said it was for all the staff working there. Then we asked: "so is it optional?" She yelled: "No!!" We were so confused and as we were trying to figure out the situation, she crashed the drawers to the counter making a BIG noise. Finally we asked: "Is this the tax??" Then she goes: "Yes!!", rolling her eyes and looking at us as stupids. She was totally NASTY and RUDE!!!! Although we were very displeased, we didnt want to make a big deal out of it so we let it go. After this, we said that we wanted to add the tips to the total. She snatched the receipt from my hand, made another receipt with a new subtotal and leaving the tips in blank. We had a feeling that the tips won't go to our therapists so we asked if she can give the tips to them now. She yelled at us saying: "No, they will get the tips in 2 weeks!!" And just closed the counter and kicked us out since she was rushing to be out from there before 4!! It was the worst customer service ever and the most disrespectful employee we ever met!!! We came back to our room very displeased and irritated that I ended up having a dispute with my husband that night. After this incident, our whole perspective of the hotel changed. This receptionist, Noemi totally ruined our vacation!!! We will NEVER come back to this place just to be treated like a crab!!!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: NJ
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 25, 2014
Better than expected

This hotel is a very well kept hotel. The staff is very friendly. They give you cold towels and drinks when you arrive. The only downfall was that every restaurant was booked for the entire trip so we had to deal with the mess hall (buffet) lol. They do however give you a reservation for a restaurant when you arrive which they pick for you. They do need to work on the food quality but definitely a good resort to relax if you are on a budget!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Washington, DC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 23, 2014
Good Value for the Price

The VH Gran Ventana is the smallest all inclusive that I have ever stayed at but it certainly had everything that I needed. I was extremely impressed that the staff was so engaged with the guests. Rooms were adequate, pool was adequate and food was adequate. I was one of four ladies that travelled together and we all had a massage while there. Massages (and the spa) were definitely a "10". The a/c in our room wasn't as cool as I would have liked but it wasn't bad. The beach was very nice but the vendors were nuisance and didn't like to take "NO" for an answer. That would be my only complaint.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Hancock, MD
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 19, 2014
Great Getaway

My 3 friends and I decided to book this trip as a girls long weekend. We booked everything through Cheap Carribean and had a wonderful experience. The shuttle picked us up at the airport and it was about a 20 minute ride to the hotel. The hotel is in the gated Playa Dorada complex of hotels so we felt very safe. We were welcomed with a nice cool towel and refreshing drink upon arrival (Passion Fruit margarita if you want to order it later while you are there). Check in was quick and easy, the bell hop carried everything to our rooms and even joked with us about the electricity only working certain hours. It works 24 hours but his friendly joking got the vacation off to a great start. The rooms were very nice, they were updated and very clean. The maid staff worked hard to make sure everything was tidy and we even were delivered hot fresh towels one night. We were located overlooking the pool which can be noisy but the entertainment ends about 1030/11 each night so it wasn't an issue for us at all. The beach was beautiful, there were plenty of umbrellas and chairs. The resort owns a large portion of beach property so getting a good spot was never an issue. You could go snorkeling right off the beach which was a nice perk. The beach vendors didn't bother us, we actually had a good time with them and we purchased a few things. If you just say no thank you they will leave you alone, if you give them a glimmer of hope they will try to make a sale. They were all nice and polite though and it was fun to walk onto the beach and say hello to all of them each day lol. We didn't do any excursions since we were only there for 4 days, we just did the beach in the mornings and then headed to the pool in the afternoons. Both areas were great and had plenty of seating. The food was pretty good for the most part. At every meal they had plenty of options from fruit smoothies to grill items to rice and beans. One thing that we didn't like was the limit on seats for the a la carte restaurants. Our flight was delayed the first day and the reservation desk closed when we arrived so we had to wait until the next day and ended up only getting to eat at the Italian restaurant. We all really enjoyed that one but would have liked to try another. We loved the lunch at the beach bar - the staff there was so nice and friendly and knew our drink orders when we sat down. I do agree with other reviewers that the wine was not the best but you could either purchase a bottle or drink something else, they had access to bars everywhere so it was easy to grab a drink (or 2!) and just bring it into the dining area. The entertainment staff was very friendly and there was always something going on in the afternoons and evening. There were entertaining contests at the pool in the afternoon - even if you didn't participate it was fun to watch. At night they had karoke, bingo and a live band. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a great get away. All of the staff was friendly and helpful and make the place what it is. If you are looking for an enjoyable, affordable get away this is the place for you!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Stamford, CT
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 4, 2014
It was "ok"

There are pros and cons with this resort. The service all around was excellent; they will cater to your every need. However, there were some negatives: random cats with eye infections strolling around the resort, as well more bugs and Mosquitos then I could have imagined (I have about 40 bites on my legs!). The good thing was that the beach was beautiful/clean (no bugs there!), and they had a quiet pool if you wanted to avoid the entertainment. All in all it was a good trip, but I wouldn't stay there again in the future.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New jersey
Age: 25-34

May 23, 2014
Awesome resort, beautiful country

It's definitely a trip to remember! everyone one was so nice and friendly and we really don't have a downside on this resort.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Buffalo, NY
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 22, 2014
Honeymoon

We just got back from our honeymoon in May 2014 at the Gran Ventenna and this place was perfect for us!! It was a small resort which we loved bc it was not overwhelming during breakfast, lunch or dinner and quiet! They had entertainment at the pool area where they played games, kinda cheezy but tons of fun! The food was awesome! My husband is pretty picky about his food and he loved everything! I have no complaints other than the vendors on the beach but the resort can't control that bc it's not technically part of the resort. We can't wait to go back!!!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Columbia, SC
Age: 25-34

May 15, 2014
Great vacation

This place is amazing. The staff are super friendly, hardworking and easy going. You can choose to join in the fun and party, or you can keep to yourself and relax...I went for a combination of both. The beach is clean and the water is crystal clear. There are big name car rental offices in the airport and 5 minutes outside of the resort, so you can rent a car and drive around on your own. We did this for 2 days and it was interesting, to say the least (I don't recommend this for inexperienced drivers, traffic gets a little nuts in the cities). My biggest complaint has nothing to do with the resort - it is a little frustrating when vendors follow you around on the beach trying to sell you things. But this happened everywhere we went outside of the resort and most back off with a simple no gracias.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Brooklyn, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 12, 2014
Another great visit

My wife and I enjoyed another wonderful vacation at the VH Gran Ventana the week of May 6-12. This is our second trip there, and it was better than we remembered. We give a lot of the credit to the new manager Sr. Oscar Lora. He has stepped the already better than average service up another notch! Since we like to explore on our own, we rented a car for the duration of the trip from Hertz. It cost around $250 for the six days we were there. There were two couples in our party, so most of the cost was covered by eliminating the bus transfers between the hotel and the airport. We arrived at check in at 2:30 and our room was not yet ready, so we wondered around the resort and reacquainted ourselves with the bar for about an hour. Our room was exactly what we expected, clean, well furnished and equipped, and clean. The bed was a little hard for my wife, but I thought it was perfect. Be sure to spend the $16 for a lock and key for the in room safe. After getting into our room we started our weekly routine, bathing suites and pool (with a swim up bar), back to the room for a shower and a little rest before dinner, and a session of after dinner cocktails. In the mornings we would have the breakfast buffet, then, we would hit the beach and spend a little time at the beach bar having coffee or soft drinks. Then we would go on a driving trip or walk down to the local shopping mall on a t-shirt hunt. The mall is not doing well. It has a lot of vacancies. If we were not out driving around the area we would eat at the buffet for lunch. We ate dinner at the restaurants when we could get a reservation. We seldom were able to stay awake long enough to enjoy the evening shows. The resort is a little dated and starting to show its age. But for the most part it is very well maintained and clean. The grounds are kept immaculately! We had no issues with things working in our room or the cleanliness. The room staff kept us well stocked with towels and kept the in room refrigerator stocked. The air conditioning worked and the hot water was hot. What more do you need? The beach is soft, sandy, and beautiful. It is raked daily and has very little to no seaweed. The first line of coral reef is just off the beach and is waist deep. The small fish there are plentiful and very colorful. There is a deeper reef line just past the first one that offers some good snorkeling. The only downside for us was the constant flow of local vendors asking to sell us something. But that goes with the territory on any vacation beach. The vendors here are not overly pushy or aggressive, and seen to understand “Gracias, NO”. The food was very good, even though we ate at the buffet for most of our resort meals. The variety and choices at the buffet were enough to keep us from getting bored with the same old thing. The fruits and veggies were always fresh. The restaurants were a disappointment this trip since we could only get a reservation for one night. They were booked out solid for the whole week by the time we got checked in on Sunday at 2:30. I was very disappointed! The one night we got a reservation for, the Ocean Grill, was fantastic! Since we had our own car we made up our own excursions. We drove in Puerto Plata for a day. The start of the day was a couple of hours doing the cable car ride to the top of the Mount Isabelle, behind the city. The top is at 2555 feet and has a fantastic 360 degree view of the area. At the top are some wonderful botanic gardens, a monument with a statue of Christ like the one in Rio, and some souvenir shops. The cost for the cable car is $100 each. We were approached by a city licensed guide who agreed to explain the site and make sure we saw the best part for $7.50 each (4 people). He was well worth the expense. After that we drove down to the water front and visited the old Fort San Felipe. This is a small fort, originally built in the late 1500’s. The admission is not much, a few dollars, and comes with a recorded self guided tour of the fort. We spent a little more than an hour there, and it was worth the effort. From the fort we drove down the water front on a 6 lane boulevard, Avenida General Gregorio Luperon. There are many choices for lunch on the avenida. Some of them have no English, we have always had a good meal at any of them, from the little hotdog shops on the beach side to some nice restaurants on the city side. After lunch we drove up into the city for a visit to the Amber Museum. It is worth a stop to see the history of amber and a good collection of amber displays. They also have an amber sales outlet on site. After that we went a few blocks to the city square and wondered around the local shops for most of the afternoon. We found a few “deals” we liked and has a good time. At the end of the afternoon, back to the resort for a little pool time and dinner. Our other excursion was along the east coast to the towns of Sosua and Caberete. These are both resort towns and have some fun “tourist shopping” experiences. Caberete is known as the Kite surfing capitol of the world and also has great sail boarding. It is fun to sit on the beach and watch the aqua/aerial performances on a windy day. There are many places on the beach in Caberete for lunch. This time we found a Hispanic Irish Pub with great seafood. My only downsides for the resort his trip were the lack of reservations for the restaurants and the poor wifi service. The wifi was only available in a very small are and was not a reliable connection. I usually expect free resort wide wifi in today’s world.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Fort Myers, FL
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year