All

VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Puerto Plata Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 70 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.6
Room Comfort
 
3.7
4 out of 5
"The only complaint I have is the transportation to and from and that wasn't that bad. They just don't have it setup seemlessly but the hotel staff work hard to get the job done" – morenosuave
66 out of 80 (82%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Water aerobics View from our room. Teleferico in the distance Lobby beach view

All VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 70 reviews. Sort by
April 17, 2014
Good place for someone on the budget

This resort is very nice - food was excellent - we loved every single meal we had here. Rooms - good, nothing special Service - also good. Cleanliness - very good. Domestic alcoholic beverages - wine and beer good, cocktails - juts NO. Wi-Fi - is not working. Free one was not working all together. I purchased one week service for $ 20 - was fairly working in very few places Overall - very good place for someone who is on the budget


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New York. NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 16, 2014
First all-inclusive

This was our first all-inclusive experience and we had a great time. Anyone from the staff that we encountered was very friendly and helpful. Our room was very, very nice. The resort grounds are beautiful. The beach is gorgeous and stocked with thatched-roof umbrellas for shade, a nice touch. The food was always very good. The grill by the beach was a great place to get lunch. The bartenders are a happy bunch and will mix any drink you may want however you want it (no ice, extra liquor, etc.). Plus they will gladly fill whatever bring to them no matter how large. The standard cup is just a small, plastic one so you will probably want to get your own larger cup. The local strip mall has a ton of shops that sell insulated travel cups and we even met quite a few people who brought their own jumbo mugs from home. All in all we loved it there and we would highly recommend it.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Upstate NY
Age: 45-54

April 15, 2014
Fun time

So I will start with the staff, friendliest I have ever encountered and they cater to your every need. In addition to that I must say that they were on top of the cleaning. I'm talking washing the pavement daily. The only thing I wish was different was the food situation. I felt there was some time restrictions that put a damper on things at times. Also they are pretty weird about taking a plate to your room. You hate to literally ask permission to do so. Booking excursions through the mall right next to the hotel is cheaper. Also always barter! ALWAYS! Oh and bring SPF! The sun is scorching! Overall met some awesome people and had a really good time!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 13, 2014
good for the money

So, We usually travel to Mexico and decided we wanted to go somewhere different. I didn't quite know what to expect because we had never been to the Dominican before. I read the reviews and became a little confused because there were so many conflicting stories. Well I decided to write this to help out other confused people. To start off I wanted to tell you they have a tourist tax of $10.00 per person to enter their country. I didn't know this and was caught off guard. Secondly, they have 3 restaurants and you need to make reservations as soon as you arrive, they book up quick. Also, they only allow one reservation per restaurant per week. So the other 4 days you are made to eat at the buffet. Wednesday is a day that all the restaurants are closed and you have to make reservations for the buffet or you can't be seated til 9pm. The food was pretty good. There was a nice selection in the buffet. The Grill and Italian restaurants had great food. We didn't try the Caribbean restaurant. Thirdly, the power goes out all of the time, at least 2x daily but for just a few seconds then comes back on. I guess I expected the atmosphere to be like Mexico but I was totally wrong. Please do not think the Dominican is anything like Mexico because it is not! It is def a step or two below. When we arrived we were totally turned off because it was not like Mexico. But we made a agreement that we would make the best of it. After being there we realized it was a nice place. Sure it wasn't Mexico but it was nice. All of the staff were nice and for the most part the resort is clean. Oh and you have to pay $18.00 for a safe lock so be aware. I was thrown off by this. I read reviews that said people had money stolen so I was leery of having the maids make up our room and I refused to purchase the lock for the safe. So we only had our room made up once in the 9 days we were there and that's because they said we had to. I heard nothing about anyone having any problems with missing money so not sure if that was even true. The rooms are just plain nothing fancy. But I did like that they had HBO and Cinemax and most all of the movies were in English. Another thing I was thrown off by was you had to pay $5.00 to play Bingo but the prizes were not monetary they were alcohol (mamajuana). I was taken back because there were no cash prizes but yet you had to pay to play. I guess the resort pockets all that money. Overall, our trip was great. We were very satisfied with almost everything about the Gran Ventana. I will have to say by the time we left I was so tired of hearing the song "Chocolatte'" You will see what I mean. We really had a great experience overall and I do suggest (for anyone that is skeptical) trying this resort. I think you be as pleased as we were.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: St. Louis, MO
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 9, 2014
Great Trip

We spent 7 days and 6 nights had a fabulous time. The service at the hotel was great. The rooms were adequate but beds were firm. The food was good considering they are serving about 1000 people per day. All in all a great trip and would come back to this hotel should we return to DR.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Shelton WA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 30, 2014
Nice proeprty

Just returned form 1 week spent at Gran Ventana. Property was spotless, and picturesque Always saw workers cleaning the beach in the a.m., and the grounds daily. There are 4 bars plus swim-up bar. Very nice, but swim-up closes at 6pm. Staff was friendly most of the time. Food was good, lot of choices. Specialty restaurants were excellent. Service was great. Never had to wait for them to bring more water. Room was spacious, had a veranda that overlooked the beach, but rooms could use a coffeemaker and a 2d chair. Plenty of chairs on the beach; security was always around, so we felt very safe. Entertainment ranged from okay to excellent.. Wish they had a list to check the many activities...had to ask staff. It was a excellent overall value .


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Mass
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 27, 2014
Good Value

Upfront, for the prices we pay we are never picky or critical about the trips we go on, but cheapcaribbean never disappoints. The resort was quite small and when there were a half dozen kids in the main pool we decided to check out the "quiet pool." I think the average age there is 70 and you could have heard a pin drop, we quickly went back to the regular pool and just enjoyed the time there. They don't let kids hang out or order from the swim up bar so hanging out there was always fun anyway! The beach is super close and was beautiful. The breeze there was a nice reprieve from the sweltering sun and lack of air flow at the main pool. No rocks in the water makes for an easy time wading and swimming there too. On the beach there are also a LOT of vendors trying to sell you stuff, but if you ignore them or just say "no thanks" they just keep walking. We booked a couple excursions on the beach that were fun. We did 7 (of the 27) waterfalls (wish we picked a trip that did more of them though, but it is a pretty physical thing, so let the weak be warned). We did the catamaran and snorkeling (I got seasick even though the waters weren't that rough.. wish I took Dramamine but I've never been sea sick before!). We also did horseback riding (it ended up being just my husband, myself, and a tour guide.). The ride was pretty tiring too, about 2.5hrs in a saddle through run down villages, the woods, and the beach (with some of that time galloping) made us tired and very sore. Definitely not for the faint of heart, but it was an experience I'll never forget! At the resort the buffet was pretty small (smallest of the 4 all inclusive resorts I've been to), but my husband and I aren't picky and always found something to eat. The desserts were always delish. We ate at the Ocean Grill and at the Italian restaurant, both meals there were very good. The beach snack bar was ok, I thought it was weird that they had a dress code there, I went in with my bikini top and a skirt and flip flops and was told to put a shirt on but whatever. The entertainment staff at this resort was the best I've encountered. They were all high energy, funny, and remembered you all week long. The staff alone at the resort would encourage me to return. Oh, that and the fact that it's only about 15-20 min from the airport! Love not having to sit in a van for an hour after all that flying. All week we only saw 2 planes go over head so they didn't effect our trip negatively at all!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 21, 2014
Go Elsewhere

My girlfriends and I decided to go here for a few short days to get out of the cold northeast winter. Spend a little more money and go ELSEWHERE! Rooms were very tiny and there wasn't even a dresser to unpack your clothes. Only 3 hangers in the closet. "Fully stocked fridge" contained a few soda's and water that was in a re-used plastic gallon milk jug that they just refill and put in the fridge-so nasty!!! About 3 out of 20 staff members were friendly and accomodating. During breakfast or any buffet meal it was very difficult to catch anyone for a water or coffee. Food was NOT good and I don't consider myself to have a very sophisticated palate. At one of the "finer" seafood restaurants on the resort where we made reservations I ordered the seabass (and goat was also an option on the menu. can't imagine the quality of that). It was a very thin slice of a cod type fish (that was served at the buffet as well), covered in a thick tomato sauce and gravy??? I think I had one bite. At the bar when asked for a change of pace instead of the islandy type drinks, I got a wine. To my surprise, the wine was also poured from the same type of plastic gallon milk jug that the water comes in. To get a towel at the pool you have to present your card, you can only get one, if you are at the pool past 6pm you can't return your towel and in the morning they won't allow you to get a fresh one???? The towels are also really gross and very "lived in". The type of quality towel I would drop off at the local animal shelter because it was so used. The perks were the beautiful beach, the "resort" was close proximity to the airport, and the pool was pretty nice. Otherwise, splurge a few extra dollars and go to a nicer resort!!!!!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 18, 2014
Gran Ventana

Overall great place to visit. The staff are all excellent! The only complaint was the drinks were terrible. I had a sugar overload by the first day. What I mean is wether you drink vodka, whiskey, rum.... the mixes they use (and the alcohol) are very bottom shelf. The beer is draft Presidente and not bad. The rooms were clean and the maids did a great job. The beach is loaded with peddlers trying to sell you something. Just say no if your not interested and they will bargain on the price. Tips are always appreciated by the staff and dont give them coins. They can exchange paper for dominican paper with ease but no one can change change in for them. If you snorkle its fun. Fill a coke bottle filled with bread (no coke) and when you get in the water fill the bottle and ive it a squeeze and watch the little fish come running out of no where. Its not a pretty reef (which is only out 20 feet from the beach) but ful of life. It seems the reef is dead in regards to coral but still is home to crabs, lobsters, and i even captured a 12" eel. Over all great place to stay with a group. We had 17 of us from college kids to 60 years of age.

Gran Ventana
0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: CT
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 18, 2014
Very nice Resort

A very beautiful beach awaits you at this resort. Plenty of shade with lots of trees, hut's being taken at the crack of dawn!! There are many venders that 'hang' around this part of the beach, but a simple no does the job. Do not bring them refreshments, tempting as this may be, it will escalate to " you bring me a burger " very fast, lol Great assortment of food at the main dining room, try to use the dining room to the far right as the service seems more experienced than the other two. Very crowded at times so have patience. As with other resorts a few $$ goes along way to faster service. It should be noted that Canada has their spring break in March, so be prepared for the "kids" who arrive on the 3 night/4 day packages. They can be noisy after the all inclusive drinks are consumed. I would use the resort again if the price was right, I stayed two weeks. You will enjoy yourself, very clean and something for all family members to enjoy.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Springvale, Maine USA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year