All

VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Puerto Plata Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 87 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.6
Room Comfort
 
3.8
4 out of 5
"The only complaint I have is the transportation to and from and that wasn't that bad. They just don't have it setup seemlessly but the hotel staff work hard to get the job done" – morenosuave
83 out of 101 (82%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View from our room. Water aerobics Lobby beach view Teleferico in the distance

All VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 87 reviews. Sort by
August 12, 2014
Great value

Staff was friendly, except for one guy who was handing out snorkel gear. He was rude. Wifi was pretty much non existent. Besides those small details it was great. Good food, good weather, good people.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Los Angeles CA
Age: 35-44

July 29, 2014
Price was right !

Overall we rate this resort as good but average. It was a good deal and that is why we chose it. Most of the staff wanted to please, language barrier sometimes was a factor. The bed was comfortable, room was clean and A/C worked great. Food - Although there was a lot of selection and one could find something to eat it was average to poor at times. Again, it was OK for what we paid. Drinks were plentiful. The worst part of our time spent at VH Gran Ventana was on the weekend when the locals that came to stay overnight. It was an invasion of locals which overtook the resort. The swim up bar, which had a sign "Adults ONLY", was taken over by the children screaming and shouting for drinks and playing in that area which made it very unpleasant to enjoy a drink at the bar if that is what you wanted to do. No one seemed to pay attention to the sign. As for the beach it was good in the morning but by lunch the wind picked up and it wasn't pleasant being sandblasted which made us retreat to the pool. If the wind didn't drive you away from the beach the incessant stream of beach vendors every day would. Although a simple "NO thank you" would send them away it was a daily and constant occurrence . The nightly entertainment was OK but tiresome after a few days. To sum it all up - It was OK as a one time great price deal but we would not go again as we were bored after a few days and felt like everyone had a hand out for money (bring single $$ bills) The weather was beautiful, the ocean water was great and the excursions we took were a lot of fun (City Tour and VIP Paradise Island day trip cruise) We'd rate this resort as a 6 out of 10. Avoid weekends if you can (we think this would apply to most resorts in the area) or at least make sure you have excursions planned and the A La Carte restaurant booked for dinner so that you can enjoy your meal without the crowds. Airport transfers can be purchased on your own online through Dominican Airport Transfers (DAT) which is much less than taking it through CheapCaribbean.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Western New York
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 28, 2014
All inclusive excellence

My husband, 1 year old son, & I spent our vacation at the Gran Ventana, celebrating our 3rd year wedding anniversary & it was more than we could have asked for. The resort is beautiful, staff is excellent, & the food was great. The beach was breath taking! The only negative were the persistent vendors on the beach but even they were very friendly & had beautiful items. We even purchased a few. We loved the Gran Ventana & plan to return!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: TN
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 25, 2014
Beautiful Resort, Food Less than Desirable

Had a wonderful time at Gran Ventana for a bachelorette party. Rooms were clean, staff was friendly. Major complaint is with the food, which was not great quality--mostly mass produced buffet food. Restaurants were ok. Also, alcohol used in drinks is very low quality. Pools were fine--my friends and I spent most of our time at the quiet pool, as the big pool was swarming with kids. Beach was nice but way too windy in the afternoon. WiFi only worked in a small area by the reception desk and was spotty at best. All in all, good value for a family on a budget, but I would go somewhere else if you're looking for more high class food/drinks.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 11, 2014
Not what we expected

Upon arrival at the Gran Ventana entrance, my girlfriend and I looked at each other in disbelief, "this is it?" The resort did not look like much of a resort at all. After our trip to Riviera Maya one year before, and the appearance and size of the Now Sapphire, this was a huge disappointment. At check in, which was quick, I was asked if I wanted a room safe. I said yes and then found out there was an extra charge for the key to the safe. REALLY? The resort was tiny. There was no tour. The room smelled musty. I even tried to spray cologne into the vent to make the room smell nicer. There were three 18" wide drawers to store 10 days of clothes for two people. REALLY? There was no room service available at this resort. As a matter of fact, from 5 pm to 6:30 pm, when the restaurants opened, you could not get any food. All inclusive with NO room service or snack shack? The service at the buffet was slow or non existent. After two days of being ignored or forgotten about, I started getting my own drinks when I walked in. One day we lost electricity. One day we had no hot water. Each day, I lost interest in being there and couldn't wait to get home. All in all, it was a waste of time and money. This year, it is back to Mexico.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Lawrence, MA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 8, 2014
Excellent entertainment and staff

The entertainment all day long from the staff was excellent. They helped everyone have a fun experience. In my opinion, they are definitely an asset to the resort.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Queens, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 2, 2014

The experience was wonderful and the staff was fantastic...The only thing that I was not to satisfied with was the rooms..I guess they were a little outdated and the bathrooms were not up to my standards, in order for me to be comfortable with showering, etc...short sec power outages. However, besides that the entertainment, water activities and that they provided and the service was great and well organize for the all and all inclusive stay...Loved PP it was AMAZING !!!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Houston
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 27, 2014
Worst customer service ever!!!

My husband and I went to DR for our 4th Year Anniversary. We were so excited since it was our 1st time in DR. The first couple of days were just beautiful!! The service was good, the food was delicious, the room was clean, we were just enjoying to the full. Since everything was excellent so far, we wanted to try the spa service. They told us that they have it at the sister hotel (Casa Colonial) around the corner named Bagua Spa. We had a little tour of the site. They claimed being one of the best hotel in DR and even Versace was there, so we reserved it for the next day. My husband got the Aromatherapy and I got the Hot stone massage. The therapists were very professional and we were totally relaxed. After the treatment, I came back to the resting area and put my mask on. Few minutes later the receptionist came to the room and rushed me saying that they're closing in 20min. Since I just had put my mask on, I wanted to wait at least 5min more to let it dry, so I said ok. But she was starring at me and waiting for me to move! Oh mine!! We came out all rushed up to the counter before 4. When we got the bill, we were charged for something called "servicio" (service), so we asked if this was the tip for the therapist. She said it was for all the staff working there. Then we asked: "so is it optional?" She yelled: "No!!" We were so confused and as we were trying to figure out the situation, she crashed the drawers to the counter making a BIG noise. Finally we asked: "Is this the tax??" Then she goes: "Yes!!", rolling her eyes and looking at us as stupids. She was totally NASTY and RUDE!!!! Although we were very displeased, we didnt want to make a big deal out of it so we let it go. After this, we said that we wanted to add the tips to the total. She snatched the receipt from my hand, made another receipt with a new subtotal and leaving the tips in blank. We had a feeling that the tips won't go to our therapists so we asked if she can give the tips to them now. She yelled at us saying: "No, they will get the tips in 2 weeks!!" And just closed the counter and kicked us out since she was rushing to be out from there before 4!! It was the worst customer service ever and the most disrespectful employee we ever met!!! We came back to our room very displeased and irritated that I ended up having a dispute with my husband that night. After this incident, our whole perspective of the hotel changed. This receptionist, Noemi totally ruined our vacation!!! We will NEVER come back to this place just to be treated like a crab!!!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: NJ
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 25, 2014
Better than expected

This hotel is a very well kept hotel. The staff is very friendly. They give you cold towels and drinks when you arrive. The only downfall was that every restaurant was booked for the entire trip so we had to deal with the mess hall (buffet) lol. They do however give you a reservation for a restaurant when you arrive which they pick for you. They do need to work on the food quality but definitely a good resort to relax if you are on a budget!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Washington, DC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 23, 2014
Good Value for the Price

The VH Gran Ventana is the smallest all inclusive that I have ever stayed at but it certainly had everything that I needed. I was extremely impressed that the staff was so engaged with the guests. Rooms were adequate, pool was adequate and food was adequate. I was one of four ladies that travelled together and we all had a massage while there. Massages (and the spa) were definitely a "10". The a/c in our room wasn't as cool as I would have liked but it wasn't bad. The beach was very nice but the vendors were nuisance and didn't like to take "NO" for an answer. That would be my only complaint.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Hancock, MD
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year