All

VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Puerto Plata Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 96 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.6
Room Comfort
 
3.7
3.9 out of 5
"Good hotel for the price. A few little things that could be improved, but its not a 5 star modern country hotel." – mm70
87 out of 110 (79%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
beach view Water aerobics Your unsealed water supply Lobby Rust / Mold in fridge Teleferico in the distance With CheapCaribbean rep Amber museum View from our room.

All VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 96 reviews. Sort by
March 29, 2015
disappointed :(

I booked this trip thinking I was getting a great deal for a great hotel..payed more than I would have in other hotels ( about 100 or 200 more a person) expecting to have a more than average experience. The grounds were clean, and very lovely. The beach was amazing...the vendors weren't that bothersome, and went away with a simple "no thank you."The rooms were clean and fumigated for bugs while we stayed there. The pool is smaller but still fun and lively...the smaller quiet pool was relaxing and fun as well. The food was absolutely horrible. For someone that cooks and knows how food should be prepared, stored and served this place was a nightmare. The dishes in the a la carte restaurants were HEATED IN THE MICROWAVE( one can tell by the "hot spots" and steaming food and plate). The buffet was the same bland, practically inedible dry, over sweetened food every day. The storage of food was unsafe as well (cold cuts /cheese left out sweating in the heat), as well as rotten milk by the coffee station. And lastly on the last day I saw a mouse..run over a mans foot and behind the grill. That's what put me over the edge with this establishment. We enjoyed our room, and the beach for a quick trip and the price but would never return to this resort and possibly any other resort though this third party website because of the lack care this establishment put Into the quality and safety of their food.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Long Island, NY
Age: 19-24
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 14, 2015
Great first experience!!!

Me and my friends had the time of our lives on this trip! Although it was our spring break, there was nothing too wild about the resort. The people were so nice, and the service was excellent! Our CheapCaribbean rep was beyond helpful and we were able to do most of the things we wanted. However, if you're going to be needing wifi do not rest on the "free" wifi they offer. It's horrible, they do have the option to pay for it which we didn't because out stay wasn't that long but this was okay when used. The food was great! They often had many choices but the restaurants that have to be reserved were hyped up if you asked me. The pools stayed crowded, but the beach was always spacious. There are a lot of vendors but if you just say no they mostly leave you alone. This was such a great trip and me and my friends are already booking our next trip through CheapCaribbean!

With CheapCaribbean rep Amber museum
0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Washington, D.C.
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 8, 2014
Nice beach.

Very nice beach area, the resort needs upkeep. Staff is very friendly that's common in Dominican Republic. Rooms need to be remade led, might have some moister build up on the walls. Food was ok. Nothing spectacular.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Appleton WI
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 19, 2014
Great vacation

We just returned from spending 4 nights and 5 days at the VH Gran Ventana in Puerto Plata. The hotel is beautiful, clean and friendly. We will return because once you find a place that gives you what you are looking for with no surprises, you shouldn't mess with that success. We were told of this hotel from a neighbor who has gone here for years with their family and had no hesitation recommending this location to us. The food was good. We enjoyed the restaurants that needed reservations for dinner and the ocean grill for lunch. The BFast buffet wasn't the best but the fruit is good. We will return here. The pools are beautiful and the beaches are fantastic.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Long Island, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 7, 2014
One and done

The property was nice. Only one main pool. Beds were VERY hard; I've never experienced anything like it. They provide a sheet and a very thick comforter for a hot climate. No room service. Dining options were limited, but buffet was pretty good. Buffet dining area was covered, but hot! Sweating in your plate. I got lots of bug bites. Was hard to keep the flies off your food. Drinks were typical for all-inclusive open bar. Entertainment was very boring. Some of the evening shows were sexually graphic without any warning to parents with children in the audience. No nightlife activities or late night dining options. Room fridge had water, beer and soda. I spent $70 for monkey adventure and ziplining excursion; highlight of the trip. Also, Christ Redeemer statue was a cool trip up the mountain. Done it once, would not return.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Maryland
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 16, 2014
You get what you pay for

The hotel was just okay. They only had one pool. There were too many little ones to enjoy yourself. Plus adults would get up early, put towels on chairs, and not come back for hours, even though they tell you not to. You had to walk to a separate resort to the adult only pool, which was just okay. The entertainment was lousy! The beach was real nice and the food was pretty good.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Maryland
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 4, 2014
Budget/Value Based Vacation

My girlfriend and I stayed at the VH gran ventanna for 4 nights (Monday-Friday). This was our first time using cheapcarribean to travel to Puerto Plata, in the last 2 years we have been to all inclusives in Punta Cana, Costa Rica and Riviera Maya. This is actually the first and only review I've ever written, I felt the need to clearly convey a few things that I wish I had known before making the trip. To start, this is a budget vacation. Price is what you pay, value is what you get, you'll see what I mean as you read more. The Good - hotel is small enough to get around quickly and the pool is large enough to accommodate everyone - the beach is absolutely gorgeous and very large - the water is crystal clear and contains a large reef which makes for great snorkeling (complimentary rental) - end of August / Sept is "off" season, you basically have the resort to yourself - Hotel employees genuinely cared and were for the most part good at their jobs The Bad - ROOMS. There are no elevators at this resort, if you are staying on the 3rd floor, you are climbing (one) spiral staircase. - the mini fridge (pictured) is from the early 90's and was covered in rust / mold. - bottled water is not carried at the resort, instead, each day the maid fills what looks like an unlabeled old Clorox bottle (unsealed) with water for you to drink... Picture attached. - TOILET. The toilets take anywhere between 2-4 flushes to actually get the job done, front desk noted this was to be expected. - BEDS. the beds are rock hard, I usually don't have a problem, however these beds felt as though we were sleeping on a large slab of plywood. - FOOD. the lobby and main Buffett are completely open to the outside, no air-conditioning at all. - the selection at the Buffett is decent. The food is edible, but seriously pales in comparison to every other all inclusive Buffett we've ever been to - it seemed the chefs would just recook whatever item had been left over from the prior meal and re-serve it in a different form - Being located outside, flies were all over the food and certain areas of the Buffett and seating area had a distinct smell of pure garbage. - BAR / DRINKS. Drinks were not even worth ordering, one out of 5 bar tenders actually knew what they were doing, liquor is as low quality as it comes - the bars DO NOT even use real fruit or blenders... (just sugary premade mix). We basically switched to just beer after the first day. - No mimosas as the resort does not have champagne. AIRPORT TRANSFER - these guys were clueless and rude (amstar). Upon getting ready to leave he resort they took our luggage, checked off out names and proceeded to literally drive off without us actually being on board.. They realized they left us 20 minutes later and luckily for us returned.. Overall, Puerto Plata seriously pales in comparison to any of the other destinations or resorts we've experienced, do yourself the favor, spend the extra $100 per person to book a resort that is truly going to take care of you, I know ill be much more conscious of this going forward.

Rust / Mold in fridge Your unsealed water supply
3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 19, 2014
Great quiet resort.

Great bang for buck quiet resort off the beaten path of usual DR resorts. Definitely NOT a party seekers resort. Good food at 2/3 restaurants. Great service. They will make the drinks as strong as you want. There is NO IRON in the rooms which is pretty weird and you have to pay and extra fee if you want to use the safe in the room.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: NY
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 19, 2014
disappointed

Just returned yesterday, Aug 12, 2014 from 5 days at VH Gran Ventana Resort. Although the staff was very friendly and accommodating the experience as a whole was not good. The quality of food in the buffet is not good. Variety is poor and all meats were like eating shoe leather. Only thing palatable was the omelets because they were made to order. Even the desserts were poor, reminded me of the desserts you get at all the Chinese buffets in New Jersey. Though the restaurants where you can eat once each were a step up even they were not very good. Drinks, while plentiful, were of poor quality alcohol and served in small plastic cups. No real Caribbean flair. The influx of locals on the weekends causes crowding and all the entertainment is geared towards the locals as all music was in Spanish and we could not understand a word of the songs. We were booked for a king bed but had a queen. Rooms were small and not what is pictured in the views on this site. I realize that this is not Punta Cana however I do not believe 5000.00 for 4 people for 5 days is considered cheap so I did expect more. One trip to DR will be enough for us. Resort was kept very lean and the staff is hardworking and pleasant but the owners need to improve the quality of food . Beach vendors are annoying. On the weekend when the locals came I heard the word "gringo " used more than I had ever heard it in all my 60+ years. A very uncomfortable experience.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 55-64

August 12, 2014
Great value

Staff was friendly, except for one guy who was handing out snorkel gear. He was rude. Wifi was pretty much non existent. Besides those small details it was great. Good food, good weather, good people.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Los Angeles CA
Age: 35-44