All

VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Puerto Plata Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 84 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.6
Room Comfort
 
3.7
4 out of 5
"The only complaint I have is the transportation to and from and that wasn't that bad. They just don't have it setup seemlessly but the hotel staff work hard to get the job done" – morenosuave
79 out of 96 (82%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Lobby Teleferico in the distance Water aerobics View from our room. beach view

All VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 84 reviews. Sort by
July 25, 2014
Beautiful Resort, Food Less than Desirable

Had a wonderful time at Gran Ventana for a bachelorette party. Rooms were clean, staff was friendly. Major complaint is with the food, which was not great quality--mostly mass produced buffet food. Restaurants were ok. Also, alcohol used in drinks is very low quality. Pools were fine--my friends and I spent most of our time at the quiet pool, as the big pool was swarming with kids. Beach was nice but way too windy in the afternoon. WiFi only worked in a small area by the reception desk and was spotty at best. All in all, good value for a family on a budget, but I would go somewhere else if you're looking for more high class food/drinks.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 11, 2014
Not what we expected

Upon arrival at the Gran Ventana entrance, my girlfriend and I looked at each other in disbelief, "this is it?" The resort did not look like much of a resort at all. After our trip to Riviera Maya one year before, and the appearance and size of the Now Sapphire, this was a huge disappointment. At check in, which was quick, I was asked if I wanted a room safe. I said yes and then found out there was an extra charge for the key to the safe. REALLY? The resort was tiny. There was no tour. The room smelled musty. I even tried to spray cologne into the vent to make the room smell nicer. There were three 18" wide drawers to store 10 days of clothes for two people. REALLY? There was no room service available at this resort. As a matter of fact, from 5 pm to 6:30 pm, when the restaurants opened, you could not get any food. All inclusive with NO room service or snack shack? The service at the buffet was slow or non existent. After two days of being ignored or forgotten about, I started getting my own drinks when I walked in. One day we lost electricity. One day we had no hot water. Each day, I lost interest in being there and couldn't wait to get home. All in all, it was a waste of time and money. This year, it is back to Mexico.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Lawrence, MA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 8, 2014
Excellent entertainment and staff

The entertainment all day long from the staff was excellent. They helped everyone have a fun experience. In my opinion, they are definitely an asset to the resort.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Queens, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 2, 2014

The experience was wonderful and the staff was fantastic...The only thing that I was not to satisfied with was the rooms..I guess they were a little outdated and the bathrooms were not up to my standards, in order for me to be comfortable with showering, etc...short sec power outages. However, besides that the entertainment, water activities and that they provided and the service was great and well organize for the all and all inclusive stay...Loved PP it was AMAZING !!!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Houston
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 27, 2014
Worst customer service ever!!!

My husband and I went to DR for our 4th Year Anniversary. We were so excited since it was our 1st time in DR. The first couple of days were just beautiful!! The service was good, the food was delicious, the room was clean, we were just enjoying to the full. Since everything was excellent so far, we wanted to try the spa service. They told us that they have it at the sister hotel (Casa Colonial) around the corner named Bagua Spa. We had a little tour of the site. They claimed being one of the best hotel in DR and even Versace was there, so we reserved it for the next day. My husband got the Aromatherapy and I got the Hot stone massage. The therapists were very professional and we were totally relaxed. After the treatment, I came back to the resting area and put my mask on. Few minutes later the receptionist came to the room and rushed me saying that they're closing in 20min. Since I just had put my mask on, I wanted to wait at least 5min more to let it dry, so I said ok. But she was starring at me and waiting for me to move! Oh mine!! We came out all rushed up to the counter before 4. When we got the bill, we were charged for something called "servicio" (service), so we asked if this was the tip for the therapist. She said it was for all the staff working there. Then we asked: "so is it optional?" She yelled: "No!!" We were so confused and as we were trying to figure out the situation, she crashed the drawers to the counter making a BIG noise. Finally we asked: "Is this the tax??" Then she goes: "Yes!!", rolling her eyes and looking at us as stupids. She was totally NASTY and RUDE!!!! Although we were very displeased, we didnt want to make a big deal out of it so we let it go. After this, we said that we wanted to add the tips to the total. She snatched the receipt from my hand, made another receipt with a new subtotal and leaving the tips in blank. We had a feeling that the tips won't go to our therapists so we asked if she can give the tips to them now. She yelled at us saying: "No, they will get the tips in 2 weeks!!" And just closed the counter and kicked us out since she was rushing to be out from there before 4!! It was the worst customer service ever and the most disrespectful employee we ever met!!! We came back to our room very displeased and irritated that I ended up having a dispute with my husband that night. After this incident, our whole perspective of the hotel changed. This receptionist, Noemi totally ruined our vacation!!! We will NEVER come back to this place just to be treated like a crab!!!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: NJ
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 25, 2014
Better than expected

This hotel is a very well kept hotel. The staff is very friendly. They give you cold towels and drinks when you arrive. The only downfall was that every restaurant was booked for the entire trip so we had to deal with the mess hall (buffet) lol. They do however give you a reservation for a restaurant when you arrive which they pick for you. They do need to work on the food quality but definitely a good resort to relax if you are on a budget!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Washington, DC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 23, 2014
Good Value for the Price

The VH Gran Ventana is the smallest all inclusive that I have ever stayed at but it certainly had everything that I needed. I was extremely impressed that the staff was so engaged with the guests. Rooms were adequate, pool was adequate and food was adequate. I was one of four ladies that travelled together and we all had a massage while there. Massages (and the spa) were definitely a "10". The a/c in our room wasn't as cool as I would have liked but it wasn't bad. The beach was very nice but the vendors were nuisance and didn't like to take "NO" for an answer. That would be my only complaint.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Hancock, MD
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 19, 2014
Great Getaway

My 3 friends and I decided to book this trip as a girls long weekend. We booked everything through Cheap Carribean and had a wonderful experience. The shuttle picked us up at the airport and it was about a 20 minute ride to the hotel. The hotel is in the gated Playa Dorada complex of hotels so we felt very safe. We were welcomed with a nice cool towel and refreshing drink upon arrival (Passion Fruit margarita if you want to order it later while you are there). Check in was quick and easy, the bell hop carried everything to our rooms and even joked with us about the electricity only working certain hours. It works 24 hours but his friendly joking got the vacation off to a great start. The rooms were very nice, they were updated and very clean. The maid staff worked hard to make sure everything was tidy and we even were delivered hot fresh towels one night. We were located overlooking the pool which can be noisy but the entertainment ends about 1030/11 each night so it wasn't an issue for us at all. The beach was beautiful, there were plenty of umbrellas and chairs. The resort owns a large portion of beach property so getting a good spot was never an issue. You could go snorkeling right off the beach which was a nice perk. The beach vendors didn't bother us, we actually had a good time with them and we purchased a few things. If you just say no thank you they will leave you alone, if you give them a glimmer of hope they will try to make a sale. They were all nice and polite though and it was fun to walk onto the beach and say hello to all of them each day lol. We didn't do any excursions since we were only there for 4 days, we just did the beach in the mornings and then headed to the pool in the afternoons. Both areas were great and had plenty of seating. The food was pretty good for the most part. At every meal they had plenty of options from fruit smoothies to grill items to rice and beans. One thing that we didn't like was the limit on seats for the a la carte restaurants. Our flight was delayed the first day and the reservation desk closed when we arrived so we had to wait until the next day and ended up only getting to eat at the Italian restaurant. We all really enjoyed that one but would have liked to try another. We loved the lunch at the beach bar - the staff there was so nice and friendly and knew our drink orders when we sat down. I do agree with other reviewers that the wine was not the best but you could either purchase a bottle or drink something else, they had access to bars everywhere so it was easy to grab a drink (or 2!) and just bring it into the dining area. The entertainment staff was very friendly and there was always something going on in the afternoons and evening. There were entertaining contests at the pool in the afternoon - even if you didn't participate it was fun to watch. At night they had karoke, bingo and a live band. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a great get away. All of the staff was friendly and helpful and make the place what it is. If you are looking for an enjoyable, affordable get away this is the place for you!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Stamford, CT
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 4, 2014
It was "ok"

There are pros and cons with this resort. The service all around was excellent; they will cater to your every need. However, there were some negatives: random cats with eye infections strolling around the resort, as well more bugs and Mosquitos then I could have imagined (I have about 40 bites on my legs!). The good thing was that the beach was beautiful/clean (no bugs there!), and they had a quiet pool if you wanted to avoid the entertainment. All in all it was a good trip, but I wouldn't stay there again in the future.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New jersey
Age: 25-34

May 23, 2014
Awesome resort, beautiful country

It's definitely a trip to remember! everyone one was so nice and friendly and we really don't have a downside on this resort.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Buffalo, NY
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year