All

VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Puerto Plata Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 98 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.5
Room Comfort
 
3.7
3.9 out of 5
"Staff was friendly, except for one guy who was handing out snorkel gear. He was rude. Wifi was pretty much non existent. Besides those small details it was great. Good food, good weather, good people." – pfuller0251
88 out of 112 (79%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View from our room. Your unsealed water supply Beach Poolside With CheapCaribbean rep Water aerobics Teleferico in the distance Rust / Mold in fridge beach view Lobby Amber museum

All VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 98 reviews. Sort by
April 21, 2015
Just OK -- and too expensive for just OK.

Though the staff was super kind and tried hard, things happen at weird times, the food at the buffet was some of the worst I've ever experienced. Only one of the three "a la carte" restaurants had food I'd even consider edible. After eating at the "Italian" on Wednesday night, I promptly went back to my room, "reverse ate", and was bed-bound for all of Thursday. Thankfully, the weather and the pool were nice, and the night shows somewhat entertaining. Drinks were all bottom shelf -- I'd never been on an all inclusive that actually dared ask for more money for anything (on resort) aside from maybe jet ski rentals -- Never mind for a drink that isn't gasoline. Then there were the room-roaches. 4" long cockroaches that had my girlfriend screaming, as she'd never seen one before... I apologized to her that this was her first all inclusive experience, as both Punta Cana & Jamaica in 2013 cost less & much less, and both were worlds above.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Connecticut
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 31, 2015
Gran Ventana 2015-March

My wife and I vacation a couple of times per year, usually for 2 week stays. This review is meant to be objective, accurate, while basing our opinions on past all inclusive stays elsewhere. Overall: Good to very good. We like the Dominican culture, the staff was fun and friendly, especially the entertainment staff. Bar tenders were mostly friendly and happy to be of service. Front desk staff not so much! Value: Fair, about the same price I pay elsewhere. Service: Maids are outstanding, happy friendly, thorough. Bar Staff, happy, friendly. Front desk staff, sour, not fun, not helpful. Entertainment staff, fun, friendly, outstanding in a grassroots kind of way. Beach & Pools: Perfect, we love the water and have high expectations, as this is what our main focus is. Dining Options: Food was tasty, good, plentiful. The downside is you eat at the buffet everyday and must make a reservation for the other three restaurants. While the table service was excellent in the three specialtiy restaurants it became clear that all were serving from the same kitchen as the buffet. What I mean to say is basically it was dressed up plate from the buffet. So other than table service the food was the same. I should tell you that we are foodies, love good foods and have certain expectation. Not fair to compare buffet food. BOOZE: Bad, really poor quality, not enjoyable, 1 beer choice that grows very old. As compared to other all inclusive resorts bad. Room Comfort: Room was always clean, beautiful view from our 2nd floor balcony, bed was OK. Hope you find this helpful.

Poolside Beach
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Eugene, Oregon
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 29, 2015
disappointed :(

I booked this trip thinking I was getting a great deal for a great hotel..payed more than I would have in other hotels ( about 100 or 200 more a person) expecting to have a more than average experience. The grounds were clean, and very lovely. The beach was amazing...the vendors weren't that bothersome, and went away with a simple "no thank you."The rooms were clean and fumigated for bugs while we stayed there. The pool is smaller but still fun and lively...the smaller quiet pool was relaxing and fun as well. The food was absolutely horrible. For someone that cooks and knows how food should be prepared, stored and served this place was a nightmare. The dishes in the a la carte restaurants were HEATED IN THE MICROWAVE( one can tell by the "hot spots" and steaming food and plate). The buffet was the same bland, practically inedible dry, over sweetened food every day. The storage of food was unsafe as well (cold cuts /cheese left out sweating in the heat), as well as rotten milk by the coffee station. And lastly on the last day I saw a mouse..run over a mans foot and behind the grill. That's what put me over the edge with this establishment. We enjoyed our room, and the beach for a quick trip and the price but would never return to this resort and possibly any other resort though this third party website because of the lack care this establishment put Into the quality and safety of their food.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Long Island, NY
Age: 19-24
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 14, 2015
Great first experience!!!

Me and my friends had the time of our lives on this trip! Although it was our spring break, there was nothing too wild about the resort. The people were so nice, and the service was excellent! Our CheapCaribbean rep was beyond helpful and we were able to do most of the things we wanted. However, if you're going to be needing wifi do not rest on the "free" wifi they offer. It's horrible, they do have the option to pay for it which we didn't because out stay wasn't that long but this was okay when used. The food was great! They often had many choices but the restaurants that have to be reserved were hyped up if you asked me. The pools stayed crowded, but the beach was always spacious. There are a lot of vendors but if you just say no they mostly leave you alone. This was such a great trip and me and my friends are already booking our next trip through CheapCaribbean!

With CheapCaribbean rep Amber museum
0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Washington, D.C.
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 8, 2014
Nice beach.

Very nice beach area, the resort needs upkeep. Staff is very friendly that's common in Dominican Republic. Rooms need to be remade led, might have some moister build up on the walls. Food was ok. Nothing spectacular.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Appleton WI
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 19, 2014
Great vacation

We just returned from spending 4 nights and 5 days at the VH Gran Ventana in Puerto Plata. The hotel is beautiful, clean and friendly. We will return because once you find a place that gives you what you are looking for with no surprises, you shouldn't mess with that success. We were told of this hotel from a neighbor who has gone here for years with their family and had no hesitation recommending this location to us. The food was good. We enjoyed the restaurants that needed reservations for dinner and the ocean grill for lunch. The BFast buffet wasn't the best but the fruit is good. We will return here. The pools are beautiful and the beaches are fantastic.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Long Island, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 7, 2014
One and done

The property was nice. Only one main pool. Beds were VERY hard; I've never experienced anything like it. They provide a sheet and a very thick comforter for a hot climate. No room service. Dining options were limited, but buffet was pretty good. Buffet dining area was covered, but hot! Sweating in your plate. I got lots of bug bites. Was hard to keep the flies off your food. Drinks were typical for all-inclusive open bar. Entertainment was very boring. Some of the evening shows were sexually graphic without any warning to parents with children in the audience. No nightlife activities or late night dining options. Room fridge had water, beer and soda. I spent $70 for monkey adventure and ziplining excursion; highlight of the trip. Also, Christ Redeemer statue was a cool trip up the mountain. Done it once, would not return.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Maryland
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 16, 2014
You get what you pay for

The hotel was just okay. They only had one pool. There were too many little ones to enjoy yourself. Plus adults would get up early, put towels on chairs, and not come back for hours, even though they tell you not to. You had to walk to a separate resort to the adult only pool, which was just okay. The entertainment was lousy! The beach was real nice and the food was pretty good.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Maryland
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 4, 2014
Budget/Value Based Vacation

My girlfriend and I stayed at the VH gran ventanna for 4 nights (Monday-Friday). This was our first time using cheapcarribean to travel to Puerto Plata, in the last 2 years we have been to all inclusives in Punta Cana, Costa Rica and Riviera Maya. This is actually the first and only review I've ever written, I felt the need to clearly convey a few things that I wish I had known before making the trip. To start, this is a budget vacation. Price is what you pay, value is what you get, you'll see what I mean as you read more. The Good - hotel is small enough to get around quickly and the pool is large enough to accommodate everyone - the beach is absolutely gorgeous and very large - the water is crystal clear and contains a large reef which makes for great snorkeling (complimentary rental) - end of August / Sept is "off" season, you basically have the resort to yourself - Hotel employees genuinely cared and were for the most part good at their jobs The Bad - ROOMS. There are no elevators at this resort, if you are staying on the 3rd floor, you are climbing (one) spiral staircase. - the mini fridge (pictured) is from the early 90's and was covered in rust / mold. - bottled water is not carried at the resort, instead, each day the maid fills what looks like an unlabeled old Clorox bottle (unsealed) with water for you to drink... Picture attached. - TOILET. The toilets take anywhere between 2-4 flushes to actually get the job done, front desk noted this was to be expected. - BEDS. the beds are rock hard, I usually don't have a problem, however these beds felt as though we were sleeping on a large slab of plywood. - FOOD. the lobby and main Buffett are completely open to the outside, no air-conditioning at all. - the selection at the Buffett is decent. The food is edible, but seriously pales in comparison to every other all inclusive Buffett we've ever been to - it seemed the chefs would just recook whatever item had been left over from the prior meal and re-serve it in a different form - Being located outside, flies were all over the food and certain areas of the Buffett and seating area had a distinct smell of pure garbage. - BAR / DRINKS. Drinks were not even worth ordering, one out of 5 bar tenders actually knew what they were doing, liquor is as low quality as it comes - the bars DO NOT even use real fruit or blenders... (just sugary premade mix). We basically switched to just beer after the first day. - No mimosas as the resort does not have champagne. AIRPORT TRANSFER - these guys were clueless and rude (amstar). Upon getting ready to leave he resort they took our luggage, checked off out names and proceeded to literally drive off without us actually being on board.. They realized they left us 20 minutes later and luckily for us returned.. Overall, Puerto Plata seriously pales in comparison to any of the other destinations or resorts we've experienced, do yourself the favor, spend the extra $100 per person to book a resort that is truly going to take care of you, I know ill be much more conscious of this going forward.

Rust / Mold in fridge Your unsealed water supply
4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 19, 2014
Great quiet resort.

Great bang for buck quiet resort off the beaten path of usual DR resorts. Definitely NOT a party seekers resort. Good food at 2/3 restaurants. Great service. They will make the drinks as strong as you want. There is NO IRON in the rooms which is pretty weird and you have to pay and extra fee if you want to use the safe in the room.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: NY
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year