All

Verdanza Hotel Reviews

Caribbean | Puerto Rico Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 55 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.2
Dining Options
 
3.9
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4.2 out of 5
"I was here in November it was a great hotel . The location was great too." – chasef81
56 out of 66 (85%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Nice view Beach contest

All Verdanza Hotel Customer Reviews

1-10 of 55 reviews. Sort by
April 14, 2011
Awesome!!!

This was our 2nd/ 3rd trip through cheapcaribbeans.com we checked into the hotel around 3 am it was easy, the weather was humid and the air smelled good. we were on the pool side which was convienent for getting into and out of the pool , the grounds were clean and the staff was great, the nightly bar specials were good too we know this because we decided to go to another hotel and was shocked at the bill 2 drinks nearly $40 , i like the 2 for 1 deal here :) , we didn't take advatage of the hotel resturants often because we found a resturant just down the street called " Mi Casa" the food is amazing and the prices are just as. we ate there every night because it was so econmical and delicious, if you go you must try the cancan porkchop OMG!!! the service is not fast but the food is great, you are just a short walk to the beach to the right tourist to the left native country men go left , the music, the fun ,the atomosphere great but not much on the food side , most hotels have a walk up food and drink area on the beach, if you decide to take a shuttle DON'T, it cost around $100 a couple and only and i say only $ 13 u.s from the airport by taxi , they speeak english and its less than 8 minutes drive from airport to hotel overall an awesome vacation. It did rain while on our excursions but we forgot to get our $ 100 credit so don't forget to do that , Have a safe trip


27 of 27 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Las Vegas
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 21, 2014
Great stay, would stay there again

The hotel is so close to the airport that you really don't need to pre-pay the transportation, because the cab ride should be no more than $15 each way. This is definitely an older building, but they are upgrading gradually to more modern look. I saw that some people complained about the bathrooms being small; IMO who cares, as long as they're clean, which they were. If you want to spend a lot of time in the bathroom, that's one thing, but the beach is literally 3 minutes walk from the hotel, so you can save lots of money staying here by not paying the resort fees and resort taxes involved with the other hotels right on the beach. If you must have a chair and an umbrella while at the beach, you can rent the chairs $4/person for the whole day. I didn't rent an umbrella as there are palm trees for shade if that's what you like. Had a leak in the first room we were in, which was poolside, and I called front desk to fix that, I didn't ask for a room change but they offered it anyway, so we took it. We were in the tower on the 5th floor with an ocean view. The staff was WONDERFUL!!! From the doormen, to the housekeeping, they were ALL GREAT! Dined at the 80/20 bistro as well as the asian fusion place, both were good. Lots of options for meals, breakfast was at MiCasita, which is in a shopping center two minutes from the hotel, there is a 24 hour market, with a cafe. We stayed 7 nights, and really enjoyed the stay at the Verdanza. I highly recommend this hotel; I've been to the officially rated 5 star hotels/resorts, and the experience here was better and didn't pay the 5 star official rate. Again, the staff is really accommodating so ask nicely whatever it is you may need and they make it work. The hotel was clean! I will be staying here again.


27 of 27 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 23, 2015
Time of my life

At this hotel everything was at walking distant, the beach , casinos, night time bars, breakfast lunch dinner, souvenir shops There is dollar rental car service available in the hotel Hotel has a computer to for private use and the one in the lobby for boarding pass print out, there is a gym available and beautiful roof top access view


17 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: North New Jersey
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 22, 2011
Thanks but no thanks

I settled. Where do I start? At check-in, I was charged an additional $25 a night plus tax because my son was a 3rd occupant. What did I get for that...nothing...not even an extra set of towels. I stayed three nights and every day I had to go downstairs to get an extra set of towels. I noticed my phone wasn't working on th first day I got there...and on the last day I left...still it wasn't working.. I guess me telling them wasn't enough since they never came to repair or replace it. Each morning I was greeted by bugs in the bathroom. The dining choices were ok for me but not for my two sons, they're not catering to the youth. I ate at the lobby restaurant and noticed on each table they advertised your 2nd drink or dessert was free if you pay your bill using a Visa card. After having my table cleared, then waiting 45 mins for my bill and paying with my Visa the waiter never mentioned the drink or dessert...but ofcourse I did. Surprisingly the waiter/bartender got upset although he stated, I'll go ahead and give it to you....I guess that's why it was the weakest Mojito I've ever had. Once back home we realized we had gotten several bites from ....bed bugs...don't settle.


50 of 55 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Georgia
Age: 35-44
Travel: 7+ trips/year

February 16, 2012
Great vacation

Had a blast in PR. Vendazza hotel was very nice and the hospitality was great. Very close to the beach and many resturants, everything in walking distance. Water shut off twice while staying at the hotel but the staff did everything to get the situation resolved as soon as possible and were willing to accommadate us in the meantime. Would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone.


27 of 30 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Bridgeport, CT
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 11, 2011
Nice hotel, Better Location

We stayed at the Verdanza hotel for 2reasons, one, it's location right off Isla Velde Ave, in Carolina easy acess to resturants, the beach and the airport. Also right on the corner, a relative of mines lives there, it was easy to go and see her. Second, my sister recommended it to me after she stayed last year with her family. I have to agree with her, location can't be beat, the staff was very friendly, we never eat in any of the resturants they have because we were always out. Anyway I hightly recommend this Hotel for anybody who wants easy acess to all the fun thing to do in San Juan.


19 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Howell, NJ
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 19, 2012

This place is awesome! Everyone was extremely helpful, pleasant, gracious & accommodating. The hotel is conveniently located only one short block to a beautiful beach and within walking distance of good restaurants, shopping & casinos. Verdanza is very clean, well appointed and offers a sports bar, bistro & an Asian restaurant as well as a wine bar. The grounds and courtyards are immaculately groomed and beautiful. We were graciously greeted at the door by "Albert" when we arrived. We never opened a door the entire stay....there was always a doorman on duty. Verdanza is located just a short drive from many points of interests & truly knows how to welcome and treat their guests. We will definitely stay at Verdanza on return trips.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 27, 2012
great escape

We booked last minute for a quick getaway. Price and location were a factor. On both of these criterias we scored big with this vacation package. Exactly 1 block from beautiful Isla Verde beach you could not beat this hotel's location and when not at the beach the hotel's pool and children area are also inviting. To top it off the hotel can honestly boast that they have the nicest, friendliest, accomodating staff in all of Puerto Rico. Now, for the bad news the rooms are in desperate need of upgrading. Tiny, moldy and dated, the parent company absolutely needs to invest in this otherwise gem of a hotel. The hotel did move us to another room without mold on the walls, but everything else was the same - tiny and dated. We did not mind so much because we were out all day, but honestly I can imagine how spectacular this hotel could be with a few dollars worth of improvement in the rooms. Had great drinks, food and, service at the hotel's happy hour bar 820 loved all the service staff and received attentive service from manager as well. Ate almost every day down the street at Mi Casita- great value, great Puerto Rican food and friendly faces. Would we go back- Absolutely


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Fort Lauderdale
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 22, 2011
The Verdaza

The hotel was close to the airport so it was easy to get a taxi. The service and staff were excellent. They have a check-out late option if you ask. Food was pricey, but good. The rooms where clean. The night life around the area was good.


12 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Htfd, Ct
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 22, 2013

The Verdanza is a very pleasant and low key hotel. The plantings and decor are attractive and nothing is overdone or showy. The front desk staff and wait staff were all very attentive and helpful. The location is a 5 minute walk to the beach. The pool is protected from the breeze by the well designed hotel buildings that surround it. It appeals to a mixture of families and couples. We enjoyed our stay very much. Thank you!


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: CT
Age: 45-54