All

Verandah Resort and Spa Reviews

Caribbean | Antigua Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 27 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.4
Room Comfort
 
4.1
4.1 out of 5
"It was different from the faciitlites I usually stay at the cottages were awesome. Instead of a hotell room it seemed spaciious." – Sage
26 out of 31 (84%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
tub silicone View from balcony - room 181 bathroom floors Beach view

All Verandah Resort and Spa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 27 reviews. Sort by
October 9, 2012
Overall, disappointing

Even though this resort is only 5 years old, it already seems tired. The rooms are large but the furniture is dark and there are cheap cabinets in the rooms. The curtains are brown and the bedspread is dark green - not a great color combo for the Caribbean. The bathrooms too are very large, but the accessories looked cheap and the shower leaked. Our biggest problem with the hotel was the food. The buffet was cafeteria-quality food. The breakfast buffet is quite good, but lunch and dinner are disappointing. The restaurants are better, but they are open on alternate days, and while we were there the Beach Grill was closed for a week, so that cut down the choice even further. We went to the upscale restaurant (where you have to pay an additional fee) twice, but we weren't impressed there either. At least at the upscale restaurant, you have air conditioning. None of the other restaurants have air conditioning. Overall, we thought the best food was at the Buccaneer. Internet is also very spotty. Even though the hotel says it's available in all common areas, you can only really get internet if you are sitting right outside Guest Services, which is near the pool. But the moment you move away, even to the nearby pool, it disappears. The resort has two beaches, one small and one very small. The very small beach is lovely and quiet, but the seaweed has taken root up into the sand quite close to the shore, so the water is simply not as inviting. You can go in to your waist and then you're on seaweed. The week we were there, there was construction at the Beach Grill, which is right above the larger beach. Not wishing to hear the sound of a drill and hammering all day long, we stayed away. The pool is very nice and large. There are often lots of children in it. There is an adult pool but it is truly miniscule, so we avoided it. The best thing about the hotel, hands down, was the spa. We had a variety of treatments and they were all excellent, and the staff was friendly and professional. Also the landscaping is lush and lovely, The hotel has no ITM and the closest is in the capital, St, John, which is a $52 cab ride, round trip. Most of the staff were extremely nice.


22 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Milan, Italy
Age: 45-54
Travel: 7+ trips/year

December 7, 2015
Not a 4 star

Very disappointed in this property. Did the Deal of Fortune where we were guaranteed a 4 palms property. This is no way a 4 palms. For all inclusive you should not have to pay for bottled water. Do not know why they have a frig in the room when it is not stocked with water or soda like other all inclusive resorts. They must have been short of help the first few days we were there because no one came around at the main bar to take drink orders. In fact none of the bars waited on us, we had to wait on our self. The pool bar had no one around. The juice machines were not kept full. Made our own popcorn. We ate at the Bucaneer three nights but each night they ran out of at least one of the items we ordered. The resort was not full by any means so they should not have run out of food. The food we did have at the Bucaneer was very good. The buffet is very limited on what they have. Not a lot of selections. Breakfast was good if you went & ordered your eggs the way you wanted them. The rooms are very nice but not very clean, especially the bathroom. They do not scrub the floor & the corners are dusty & dirty. The night time dress code was for all dining, even the buffet. The last day we were there they were out doing the lawn at 7:00 am. Good thing we were early risers. Good hamburgers at the beach grill down by the mini golf. Monique is a fun bartender. Go see the stingrays.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Wisconsin
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 4, 2012
Great vacation

It is a beautiful, quiet and friendly place. It was exactly what we needed trying to escape from New York after a few very hard months. Nice beaches with white sand, quiet bay with teal water, good food and peaceful nights - ah, heaven! Stuff is friendly and helpful, room is big, cottages are well kept, actually, everything is well maintained. I hope to be back.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: new york
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 12, 2015
Nice place

Pretty nice place. It's not a 5 star but I would recommend it. My only complaint is there is garbage and debris behind buildings and outskirts of areas. I feel this was totally unnecessary. Room pretty clean but they need to mop the floors a little better. Some of the waiters were great and some weren't. Beach was good with a lot of activities. Lots and lots of food. One other thing I didn't like was there was only a shuttle in morning from 9 to 12 and only to town and only if there was 4 people. It cost $14 per person which I think was way too high. For what the resort cost I think the shuttle should have been much cheaper and more options. All and all I liked the place. But I do think the place was a little pricey. The prices in store were ridiculous.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: NJ
Age: 55-64

July 21, 2013
Loved It!

From the time I stepped out of the taxi, I was treated great! Arrived to a cold towel and cold island drink as I stepped out of the taxi. Check-in was a breeze! A nice shuttle ride to my waterfront view suite was nice. The room was very clean and the view was amazing! The resort itself is huge, but shuttles are available at your convenience. Be prepared to gain weight with all of the food! Please make dinner reservations at Buccaneers and the Beach Grill - The a la carte menu was great! The buffet was nice as well, but I still recommend dinner at the other restaurants. The bartenders were awesome-ask for Sandra and Margret at the main bar-the greatest! There was superb entertainment every night at the main bar. The beach was nice and clean-the staff there were also great! I only have one complaint-the birds at the buffet restaurant. Birds get into the restaurant and go into attack mode searching for food flying all throughout! I took a taxi into St. John's - please don't believe the pictures from brochures and minimize your time there to an hour 1/2-that's all the time you'll need... When in need of a taxi, ask for Luke-he was more of a tour guide than a taxi driver. You are "required" to ask him questions about Antigua. One of the highlights of the Verandah is its very close proximity to Devil's Bridge, less than a 10 min walk from the resort. I took a stroll there every evening to watch the sun set-amazing! Oh, almost forgot, you must go to Shirley Heights on Sunday Evening-great views, awesome food, fantastic drinks and a dynamic steel and live band. I loved the resort and island and I will definitely return...

Beach view View from balcony - room 181
8 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Houston
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 20, 2012
Verandah Resort - Above Average

First, the resort. It's beautiful. The layout of the resort is a bit awkward. The lobby and gift shop is at one end of the resort. The main pool and restaurants are at the other end. If you have a billy-goat, bring it because the walks between the two ends of the resort are hilly. The cottages are nice, but the walls are paper-thin. Our neighbors had a screaming match at one point. Thank goodness it wasn't at night. A vast majority of the guests were families with young children and infants. We got the impression (after we got there) that Verandah is a family resort. Our room was a water front room with a great view of the bay and the beach. The restaurants. The buffet meals were great. The Beach Bar was nice, but often crowded, but the food was great tasting. All the bars were great, and the drink choices were good. The Beach and pools. The main beach was crowded, and had local vendors. Chairs in the shade are scarce, so get there early. The main pool area is nice, but could use more covered areas. The pool towels were of thin fabric and once they got wet, they took a while to dry. No towells for the lounge chairs like some of the nicer resorts. There was an adult pool, but it was mainly in the shade and very small.


10 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Ellicott City, MD
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 31, 2012
Beautiful but needs some improvements.

First, let me say that this resort is absolutely in a beautiful setting. On the other hand, it is in serious need of some upgrades. The rooms could stand to be painted in tropical colors instead of hospital white. It is time for new mattresses too. Ours was lumpy. They should also use a little fabric softener on the sheets and towels. The food is mediocre at best. The pools all close at 6 p.m. . Which is an issue because the verandas is virtually isolated and there is nothing else to do there except swim or drink. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. If you are looking for a fast paced Sandals type resort, the verandas is not for you. If you are looking for a beautiful piece of paradise where you can relax and enjoy peace and quiet, this would be a good choice. Other than looking a little bit tired and run down, the verandas is great. Forget eating at the Beach Club because we ate there 3. times and waited over an hour each time for a simple sandwich. We would return to the verandas, because it is value priced and you get what you pay for. My suggestion would also be to spend the extra money and get the waterfront view rooms. The views are spectacular!

Beautiful but needs some improvements.
4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Cleveland Ohio
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 8, 2016
Great vacation!

Overall I had an amazing stay and definitely want to return to Antigua!!! I traveled as a female solo traveler and met some great people. With that said, let me get to my review. Bungalows are nice and roomy, patios lacked lounge chairs to really relax. Also housekeeping ran out of towels, wash cloths and bath towels a few times during my stay. I'm not a pool person so can't review that but the beach was okay, small and shallow but calm. Great for floating.The resort itself isn't over crowded so there is plenty of space and it's not hard to find a chair. The beach staff was very helpful and friendly, definitely take sailing lessons and enjoy the water sports. The food was also okay/good. It was hit or miss. Nicole's, the fine dining restaurant that you pay additional for wasn't worth it to me. I'm from NY so I'm surrounded by great good. You do get tons of food, 5 courses and I chose filet mignon. My scallops were overcooked. No Caribbean food at all, what a shame but taco night?? Really? So that was disappointing. Also security refused to let my taxi onto the resort upon arrival. The shuttle was full so as a solo guest I agreed to sit in the front. The security saw the color of my skin and made ignorant assumptions and literally refused to open the gate. After the driver argued back and forth she finally let us in. Not a great first impression. Discrimination is wack, especially coming from your own. Putting that aside, I really had a great vacation, the only thing holding me back from amazing is the beach, I'm a beach bum. I literally had to get on my knees to let the water come to my neck. Plus the bungalows are single story so you're not getting that breathtaking view. Nightly entertainment....... It's worth the $$ and great for families.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 6, 2011
Best Resort Experience

This was the first time my husband and I used an all-inclusive for our vacation and we were truly excited! The Verandah is an absolutely BEAUTIFUL resort from the minute you get to registration and meet Myriam (what a gem!) to the minute you force yourself to get on the last golf cart to head home. The place is built on a reserve and is so eco-friendly, it's amazing. The beauty of the crystal clear water just splashes in front of you as you head up the path to your cottage. The rooms are actually a suite with a large bathroom, very comfortable bed, sitting area, TV and nice balcony overlooking the greenery to the water. So Peaceful! A short walk up the road is the main pool and bar - Vera is the best head bartender along with Jaymoy. The food at all the restaurants was very good - the BEST lobster we have ever had in our lives! You do have to remember to make reservations early in the day for the Buccaneer and Nicole's. Beaches and pools were great, especially the adult pool, which was very private. The entertainment was pretty good too. Make sure you take the walk up to Devil's Bridge with Travis, he is very knowledgeable and fun. Took one little side trip to Long Beach next to the resort and had a really good time snorkeling there, since the reef is alot closer to the beach and you can see more than at the resort. Only negative we had, was that I got sick and was unable to enjoy the resort for @ 30 hours, but everyone was calling and asking if there was anything that they could do for us. They made sure I had food and Gingerale and kept fresh linens and towels coming. By the time I was up and going again, all the staff was inquiring about how I felt. Everyone there seems to truly love their jobs! What a treat. We will be back!!!!


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Warminster, PA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 22, 2014
amazing people, beautiful beaches, bland food

The title sums it up but we would still recommend it 100%. Make sure you get the all inclusive deal as the food is quite $$$$$. The lack of flavor and limited options are quite disappointing. Otherwise, it would be a 5 star resort. Also, keep in mind that it is a resort elegant dress code for dinner. So guys have to wear shirts with collars on them. Beaches were beautiful and the people that work there are really friendly and super cool. Tips: 1.Try to get a room close to the restaurants..you will be closer to the beach. 2. Bring enough sunscreen. Caribbean sun is quite strong. 3. Bring water bottles to fill up to drink otherwise you will be constantly heading to the bar for water. 4. Buy snacks. Food is bland and limited options. Also limited times for food other than the beach bar and grill for fast food stuff. 5. Go to the rasta bar instead..kenny is a great cook and really cool person. 6. Sign up at guest services for dinner daily unless it is buffet day. Daily menus of each restaurant are near the tea station. 7. Eat out if you can. 8. Please note that the rooms do not have free wifi access. Go to the pools for internet access but it is very weak. We saw this as a good thing. You are on vacation be in the moment and not focused on a screen. We hope this helped!


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: north jersey
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year