All

Valentin Imperial Maya Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Riviera Maya Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 1,426 Reviews
Value
 
4.6
Service
 
4.7
Beaches & Pools
 
4.7
Dining Options
 
4.5
Room Comfort
 
4.6
4.7 out of 5
"Property was too large and everything was far away. Needed to wait to catch a ride to nearly everything in the resort. Not enough vehicles to move fast enlugh." – Edgar
1,546 out of 1,649 (94%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Dinner at the Lobster Pot Sunday foam party Beach panorama The sunset Bar Gorgeous Beach One of the many beautiful pools Jacuzzi in The Emerald The water is so warm! Pallie Girl gorgeous beach! room The Beach Just before sunrise View from our room that I have made my wall on my computer so I see it EVERYDAY! Lot's of FUN Beautiful large beach with crystal clear water Our room This was the view from our spot on the beach... breakfast in the mexican restaurant Proposal that Valentin Imperial help me wit they are wonderful main pool and swimup bar (there were two swimup bars) The view from our room... pics don't do it justice. Fish at the beach shoreline. Huge Lobsters!!!! Walkway to the beach Early morning view of part of pool area with swim up bar. View from our balcony Anniversary Surprise View from our room The pools are magnificent So romantic Our room for my birthday!! View of the beach from breakfast Vast Pools with Bars GORGEOUS beach...where does the water start and sand end? beach path to wonderful beach Relaxing in the pool!!! Our room View from our room Great Beach!! breath taking views Beach The huge, gorgeous pool evening entertainment Silver suite The Caribbean Sea so Beauitful !! This is relaxation! Paradise! Large beach main pool Gorgeous beach day! View from our balcony...perfect! Shower/Jacuzzi area Our first view of the beach!!! pic of resort At the French Restaurant called L'Alsace on my girlfriend birthday Romantic dinner on the beach Emerald Suite Our view Heaven! Hotel Lobby pool area beach cabanas Beautiful beach enjoying our last night ONE OF VALENTINES COURTYARDS Lazy River @ Valentin Imperial Maya The grounds at night View from our room! Wet bar the water is really that blue Tulem Extreme - Do It!! view while floating outisde swim up suite halloween at the resort What a view!!! Taken from our balcony Lazy River, 3 islands On the beach before dinner Partial view of Main Pool Our 1st Anniversary - perfect night on the Valentin's beach View under a hut by the pool Love the pool!! Main entrance to beach Just 'Beachy' The Plaza at night for the Beach view beyond the main activity area Beautiful large pool area walk way to paridise Loved the main pool area! Main pool view Swim up rooms were beautiful! The special Honeymoon dessert and Tulum ruins. Great beaches The pool behind building 6 Early morning walk on the beach central plaza in the evening View from our rooms 2nd balcony All I can say is View from the patio of our emerald suite! beach bar swings Lobby room Lovely pool Post-Indonesian Restaurant Bliss Just chillin' out at our balcony... fantastic view!! Completely unedited Beautiful View along the beach! View from our room! beautiful grounds Hot Tub! View from the beach chair - there were plenty of chairs every day for us! View from the balcony I love towel art! first view of the beach Evening on the Beach Pristine beach Friendly staff were everywhere! from beach cabana Fountains! sunrise from our balcony View from our room relaxing on the beach Best breafast/lunch spot Great Package Deal View from our palapa view from our room View from our swim-up room Best Vacation Ever: Mexico main lobby champagne upon arrival The front Plaza on a Friday night. Amazing pool! THE STEAK HOUSE N STAFF main pool great beach view outside our room Duck L'Orange from the French restaurant. pool after rainstorm hotel grounds 2015 One of the paths out to the beach. at Valentin Imperial Wonderful walkable beach Sunrise over the Ocean Beautiful sunset from our balcony how beautiful Main pool in AM Valentin' Imperial Maya's beach view from our room Paradise!!! Lazy river pool Well maintained and lush grounds of the hotel View from our room

All Valentin Imperial Maya Customer Reviews

1-10 of 1,426 reviews. Sort by
March 15, 2013
2nd time as good as the first

Just returned from our 2nd stay at the Valentin (3/3-3/11). Had investigated other options for an adult all-inclusive prior to booking at the Valentin, but came to the conclusion that for the price & the experience we had last year at this resort, we decided to return. Once again, it did not disappoint. Last year we had a Deluxe Jr. Suite (bldg 5 - great location for proximity to pool & beach). This year we were in a Silver Jr. Suite with the 2 person jacuzzi in Bldg 2 on the 3rd floor on the pool side of the building. We really enjoyed the jacuzzi tub & the location of the room was great, as we had the sun on the balcony all day. Something we did a few times last year that we ended up doing every morning this year, was to have room service deliver breakfast every morning to eat out on the balcony. It made for a very unrushed morning & enabled us to get to the beach early. We just called in our order the night before & it was there promptly at 8:00 am. We are beach people, so we didn't spend any time at the pool other than at around 4:00 pm, we would make our way to the far end of the pool for the "crazy games" with the entertainment staff, which by that time, with people drinking all day, proved to be quite entertaining! The only comment I have is that the whole beach palapa-reserving thing seems to have gotten kind of crazy. People were going down there starting as early as 5:30 in the morning to reserve a palapa! I know this because my husband is an early riser, so he would go down there at that time anyway to ensure we got the location we wanted & it was evident that people had already been there! Just thought I would make a note of that if you are particular about your location on the beach. The other thing that was different this year was that the hotel set up a huge section of palapa BEDS (approximately 40) for the "privilege" guests in the most prime area of the beach and, AT BEST, every day, maybe 10-15 were occupied. This was disappointing, as if you enjoy hearing the music coming from the beach bar & appreciate a better proximity to the beach bar, this set-up is not great, as the other area for the "regular" guests is a bit far away. Especially since these beds were not being utilized for the 97% occupancy that the hotal had for the week. Maybe I'm being a bit petty about this, but I don't think it was good planning on the hotel's part. But restaurants were very good again, with the Indonesian becoming our favorite. A hidden gem is the Don Miguel bar with premium liquor & a sushi bar. We often went there for cocktails & sushi appetizers while waiting for a table for dinner (which was never more than a 40 min. wait). Different entertainment in the Plaza every night made for nice variety & you really don't even need to leave the resort. And staff & service once again, were excellent. A couple of the staff members even remembered us from last year! This is a beautiful, elegant, nicely appointed resort with gorgeous, mature landscaping and numerous water features with fountains scattered throughout. Our booking process & service with Cheap Caribbean was flawless. I will continue to use Cheap Caribbean for this type of a vacation. Many thanks!


85 of 86 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: Portland, CT
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 12, 2011
Great Resort, Good Food, POOR Managment

Ok, I never write reviews but I thought I needed to after this vacation. RESORT: Excellent - very nice layout, always clean, nice pools, overall a very nice resort POOLS: The main pool we called the "party pool" and went there when that was the atmosphere we wanted while there were other quiet pools to relax at if you wanted a quiet relaxing atmosphere with less people. BEACH: Excellent - nice long beach with very quiet areas and other areas with more people. Swimming is only permitted in one small area just fyi due to rocky short but this was not a big deal. BARS: We didn't drink much (my wife is pregnant) but there were more than enough near the beach, quiet pools, party pool and other places. Plus there was a sports bar for any games that were on and a nicer bar too. The Cafe was closed most of the time but we did order cappucino in the restaurants and for breakfast and it was ok/good. ROOMS: We had the Silver room which was on the outside of the property and next to a sewage treatment facility. Needless to say the first morning it was quite an interesting smell in our room with the windows closed. Being that my wife was pregnant, the smell was even worse to her. So, after wasting almost a FULL day due to management we were moved to the Emerald Rooms on the other side of the property, no smell and EXCELLENT rooms. If you are debated pay the extra for the EMERALD ROOMS - they aren't that much more and you get a great place, near the beach (but far from restaurants), that is still very private. The beds, bathrooms etc were good. DINING: Very good 7 restaurants. Overall food was better than we thought - the italian was probably the worst and we like italian (maybe thats why). The restaurants in general though were very very good and a good mix of some upscale (french) and nice casual (mexican). The breakfasts were very good and lunch was good - able to order fish, burgers, chicken at the grill which was great. MANAGEMENT: AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL. First, we asked about an upgrade because we had an upgrade credit and was told they didn't have any but ask later in the week, only to be told later that the credit needed to be used at check-in. Then, when our room smelled the first morning, we inquired about moving - even to a lower pay category room. There were many outright lies: none available (then they find one), manager in an all day meeting (then he, Edgar, walks by), sorry that room is not available (then an hour later we were moved to it), and of course the please come back in an hour (which I did twice) and was asked to do 2 more times before putting my foot down and saying no - they obviously hoped we would forget and not come back. Ultimately, they moved us to a nice room but we paid a bit more (not nearly what they originally stated) BUT we wasted almost a whole day doing it and we were only moved once my wife started crying because of the big ordeal. CRAB: Ok, bit of a funny story but again shows how bad management was. We returned to our room to find a crab in our bathroom - about the size of my fist. He ran behind the toilet so I called the front desk who sent someone to get the crab but he didn't speak any english. So, he had to call the front desk to translate. They couldn't find the crab and just told us to keep the door closed. After an hour, we finally agreed just to go to sleep. Then in the middle of the night when my wife needed to use the restroom (pregnant), she woke me up, I checked for the crab, didn't see him. Then we heard scratching and he was half the way up the door. A quick scream by my wife woke us both up, then I put the crab outside. No big deal, its the jungle (sort of) but not great management. ENTERTAINMENT: There were a few shows there - the Micheal Jackson show and the Vegas show - both were ok and worthwhile. The band that played at night was very good. Overall, we were more there to relax, spend time together, eat dinner without young kids, etc. OLYMPUS TRANSFERS: AWFUL - so, no problems on pickup although I didn't want to hear their sales stuff about trips. Then was told to go see them that afternoon, which was just then trying to sell more. Then was told to go the next day for my flight information which was again them trying to sell more. Then when we were checking out our bags were taken to the lobby and the person told the driver we just had to check out. however, the driver just left and olympus tried to say that we would just have to take a taxi when we paid them and it was their fault. After calling the police they agreed to send another driver while I was on the phone. We barely made it in time for our flight. The olympus rep was ridiculous and not helpful. More importantly, it wasn't a savings as a taxi would have been about $30-$40 for both of us anyway. SUMMARY: Great resort, very good food, good pool and beach setup with a bit of everything. We would go back if the management was better - if you have no problems then it would be a great place, but if you have any issue (and we don't usually - we are very easy to please) then don't expect management to be helpful or accomodating in any way and expect them to waste your valuable vacation time.


283 of 307 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Atlanta
Age: 25-34

January 29, 2013
Wonderful, fun resort!

Our group stayed 4 nights at the VIM from Jan 20 to Jan 24, 2013. We all stayed in Golden swim-ups and had the Privlidge Package. We would all recommend this resort and would return in a heartbeat. Our trip started with a huge 8.5 hour airline delay that was handled very poorly by United (never again) Airlines. When the completion of this nightmare was in sight, we realized that we wouldn't be able to arrive at the VIM until 10:30 pm (instead of 2:00 pm). The extremely bad customer service from United opened a door for the VIM team to go way above and beyond with fantastic customer service. Since we had purchased the Privlidge Package, we had email access to a wonderful VIM concierge named Angelica. I was keeping her posted on our flight delima through the day. When it was clear that we weren't going to arrive until 10:30 pm, I knew that all of the restaurants closed at 10:30. I asked Angelica if there was anything that could be done, other than room service. We really didn't want room service after losing our first half day in 2 different airports. When we arrived at 10:35 pm, the smiling faces at the front door greeted us and immediately took us to the Privlidge Club. There, we were given a choice to check in or go eat first. We were starving, so they rushed us to the Mexican restaurant (10:45 pm). Since it closed at 10:30, there was nobody there. We were escorted by more smiling faces to a beautiful large table set for our group of six. The service by the staff in this restaurant was fantastic. The food was fantastic. The drinks were fantastic. I own a restaurant. I know how hard it is to get staff to do a good job when a group comes in at closing time, let alone 15 minutes after closing! I can't say enough good things about Angelica and the entire staff at the Mexican restaurant. Rooms (10/10) The Golden swim-up suites are large and beautiful. The bed was just like my bed at home. The bathroom was huge. There are 2 televisions. Our room was super clean and our housekeeping staff was top notch. We had plenty of towels, wash cloths, toilet paper and towel animals. These rooms were some of the best we have enjoyed anywhere. Food (9/10) We ate dinner at the Mexican, French, Italian and Japanese restaurants. There were 2 additional family members that joined us (increasing our group to 8) but they weren't in the Privlidge Club. So, we struggled a little with prime time dinner reservations. But, we made it work and the resort did what they could and everybody was happy. I would recommend all of the restaurants we chose. The service at the Italian was a little slow (2 hours total) but we had plenty of wine and the food was very good. At the French restaurant, it was fun when they brought our entres with 8 servers, each with one silver dome covered plate. They circled the table, placed the food and all revealed at the same time. Nice flair. Also, very good food! At the Japanese restaurant, we got a Habachi table for all 8 and they are set up in private rooms. We had great waiters and a super chef. We were cheering and clapping and having a big time. This was the most fun dinner, just because it's set up to be a meal. a show and a party. The stir-fry was wonderful and the servings were very large. In fact, all of the food servings at all of the restaurants were large. We have been to many other nice all inclusive resorts and most of the others serve very small portions. The overall food quality was very good and right on par with the best all inclusives (Excellence & Secrets) we have visited. The 2 large breakfast buffets and the 2 lunch buffets were very good. If you can't find something you like on these, you are just impossible to please. Did I like everything they had? No. Did I find many things that I really did like? Yes. The waiters, especially Jesus, at the restaurant nearest the beach were very fun. They always gave us good service and kept us laughing. Drinks (9/10) The booze at the VIM is top shelf, but you have to ask for top shelf by brand. Vodka & tonic is not the same as Grey Goose & tonic. Just like any bar in the world. Ask for what you want. If you want stronger, just ask. We had a new bottle of Crown, Havana Club, Don Julio and a bottle of Grey Goose in our room. Yes, the Privlidge club does have its privlidge. There was also a bottle of champaigne in our room. The house wines at the VIM are good, not great. Wish they would have had a house Pino Noir. But, we have been to other all inclusives with terrible house wine. The premium wine list is way over priced, just like every other resort in Mexico. Beach (10/10) This is one beautiful stretch of beach. The sand was soft and the seaweed was minimal. We had reserved beach beds near the beach bar and it was fantastic. Pools (9/10) The only reason I didn't rate the pools a 10 was because there wasn't a heated pool or a hot tub. While we were there, the pool water was COLD. The ocean was warmer than the pools and it was pretty cool. But, all of the pools were amazing. This resort went with 2 giant pools and 1 small pool instead of 7 or 8 different small pools. The result is stunning. The pictures I took of the pool area look just like the brochures and post cards. All of the pools were very clean and the water level was good. If the pools were heated, they would be an 11. Drink Service Beach & Pool (4/10) The drink service on the beach was very slow. This is an area that simply needs more staff to improve. Since we were near the beach bar, it wasn't a big problem. But, if I was way down on the end, I would have been unhappy. Drink service by the main pool wasn't much better. The ideal drink service for me is for someone coming by to check on me every 20-25 minutes. Sometimes it would be more than an hour. The resort was not very full when we were there, so this was not because they were too busy. Bars (7/10) ... Beach Bar (10/10) We spent most of our bar time at the beach bar. It rained a little while we were there, so the beach bar got a little crowded at times. But, it was the most fun bar. The beach bar bartenders were tons of fun and mixed very good drinks. They had some silly shot drinks that were always a big hit. The 4 swing chairs on the front of the beach bar were great. The sports bar was fun, but that's just because we had a rowdy game of Jinga one night. We never really made a connection with that bartender like we did at the beach bar. The plaza bar area was great, but that was because of the band. The drink service here was very slow and not efficient at all. Servers were all very nice, but I think they need a little training to do their jobs easier. Noticed one waitress going back and forth across the plaza time after time after time instead of just going table to table. Entertainment (shows 5/10) (Imperial Band 10/10) The Imperial Band is incredible! I have played in local bands for over 40 years and these guys are the best resort house band I've ever seen anywhere. All are top notch at their instrument and they can play anything. If you like live music, you will love this band. The two shows we tried to watch were the Las Vegas show and the Michael Jackson show. The Vegas show was sad. The dancers were trying hard, but they just weren't very good. Last year we saw a MJ show and it was great. This year the guy playing Michael wasn't nearly as good. If it was the same guy, then he's tired and burned out. Either way, nothing like the one we saw last year. I would have preferred to have the Imperial Band playing on the big stage with a big dance floor over the two shows we didn't watch all the way through. Just a thought. Resort Grounds (10/10) The one thing that was very noticable to me about the VIM was the grounds and gardens. This is the nicest resort we have seen in regard to the incredible use of the green space. I never saw a blade of grass out of place. This is a very large property. The walking from building 8 is more than I would usually enjoy. But the grounds are so beautiful that the longer walks were not bad at all. The grounds crew if the best I've seen in Mexico. Our group was 2 couples in their 20's and 1 couple in their 50's. There is something for everyone at this resort. I hope this helps you make a decision on the VIM. We had a great time and I know we will be back in the future. I joined their loyalty club for that reason.


42 of 44 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: Fort Smith, AR
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 11, 2012
Amazing Resort, Amazing Honeymoon

My wife and I recently stayed at Valentin Imperial Maya for our honeymoon. Summing up the whole experience in one word...WOW!!! This resort truly lives up to the expectations of service, cleanliness, hospitality and relaxation when you think of the term all-inclusive. We stayed for 7 days and 6 nights and had our flight in from Dallas. Which is a great airport to fly from when going to Cancun International. Upon arrival we located Olympus Tours, the transportation service we booked with our package. This company was very respectful and professional and as an added bonus they wore bright orange shirts. This may seem insignificant but help tremendously in bustling airport. Once at the resort we were stunned at the landscaping and decor. Staying in a junior deluxe suite felt like staying in a 5 star hotel here in the states. The room was very well laid out for two people and the bathroom was very spacious. The Balcony was also very large. Plenty of closet space for him and her as well as a in room safe. As an aside I know the staff is professional and cannot open the safe as when I opened it the previous occupant had left their cell phone. The resort is very large and you do not feel like you are on top of anyone. There is plenty of privacy. FOOD AND DRINK All of the restaurants were delicious. The only complaint I had with the food is at the steak house. Honestly, they just can't cook a steak. That honestly is the only negative I had with the food. The Seafood is AMAZING. The Indonesian restaurant is AMAZING. The Lunch place La Mer is AMAZING. The best breakfast buffet was at Le Marche which also had a great lunch. Room service is also wonderful. Please be sure to ask for the updated menu. All the bartenders were extremely friendly and made great drinks. Try the dirty monkeys and the ticket to flys. They were great. The Concierge and Front Desk were extremely pleasant and helpful. There was one day when they were working on the water, and our hot water made it to roughly luke warm. I called the front desk, within 2 hours it was corrected. If you are a younger couple and like to stay out to early in the morning for dancing or clubbing you may want to do an excursion bar hopping experience. The night life started to wind down around midnight as there are not that many younger early 20's clubbers at the resort. But the shows that start around 8-9 are excellent and cover a wide array. We will definitively go back. Oh and if you are looking for an excursion go to Xel Ha for the whole day. IT IS ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL. Jungle, snorkling, all you can eat and drink, caves. This place had it all. Very Cool.


21 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Richmond, VA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 4, 2015
Family Vacation

My family and I traveled to Cancun for the second time this year. We took our time exploring reviews before we made the decision to book Valentin Imperial through Cheap Caribbean. We had a wonderful vacation and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. I'll break down the review in categories - this review will be VERY detailed and lengthy so if you're like me and enjoy reviews like that, keep reading :) RIDE FROM AIRPORT: Since we booked through Cheap Caribbean, we had transportation with Amstar. After exiting customs, we headed outside to search for Amstar. We were concerned that since our flight was delayed, they may not get the memo. But they did and were there. The gentleman that helped escort us to our van was very friendly. We waited about 10 minutes before we were introduced to our driver and were headed to the resort. The drive took about 30 minutes. CHECK IN PROCESS: Upon arrival, we were immediately given cold towels to wipe our face and hands with. With the Cancun heat, they came in very handy! We were escorted to the reception area and were immediately impressed with how good it smelled. It was air conditioned and spacious. We were seated and offered champagne. About 10 minutes later, we were called up to a desk where we were given information about our rooms, the resort, and the restaurants. We were then taken in a golf cart, along with our luggage, to our rooms. Very quick and painless. RESORT AMBIANCE: They keep up with the landscaping amazingly well. There is a great photo opportunity around every corner! It's seriously amazing how good this place looks. There are iguana's and what looked like ant eaters roaming the place, and I think it adds to the ambiance in a positive way. The resort is HUGE so there will be a lot of walking involved. If you would rather not walk, you can dial 0 on any of the phones around and ask for a golf cart to pick you up and take you to your destination. ROOMS: Spacious, clean, and luxurious. The beds are comfortable, the mini bar is stocked, and the view we had was amazing. We booked golden junior suites, and all the rooms face the pool(s). We were in building 8, but I would recommend building 6 if you don't want to do a whole lot of walking and would rather be closer to the main pool and beach because it was a bit of a walk for us. Or you can just call the golf cart like I mentioned above! POOLS: We spent most of our time in the pools in front of the golden suites. They were much more calm, and we enjoyed the lazy river. There are tons of floaters available, which was nice. One thing that was a little irritating (but not the fault of the hotel) was the fact that the pool beds were "taken" by like 11am every day. I say "taken" because the pools were virtually empty, but the chairs had towels/belongings on them. The hotel may have taken some action had we complained, so if this is something you experience, dial 0 and let them know. We did go to the main pool twice and if you like a lively atmosphere, you'll enjoy this more. It's HUGE and has 2 swim up bars. There are a lot of chairs that are reserved, and the same situation happens here where people are reserving chairs for themselves. There is really good music playing in the background which contributes to the fun environment. BEACH: This is where we were thoroughly disappointed. Mountains of seaweed everywhere! We talked to Jonathan at the concierge and he told us the resort has tried to clean it up multiple times a day, but it just keeps appearing. He said it had something to do with global warming, and that it's an issue Cancun in general is facing. It's really disappointing because most people (including us) enjoy Cancun as a location due to the beach, but at least the resort is trying to take care of it. There are beach chairs available, but you have to pay $42 a day. We booked it for a day and it was worth it to us. Karla was our server and she was VERY attentive to us. I want to say further down the strip there are some available for free, but we didn't want to walk all that way only to realize they were "taken". FOOD: Lots of restaurants with different cuisines, and none require reservation except Hibachi at Ginger. As far as the reservation for Hibachi goes, we never managed. You have to make you reservation the same day. We got there at 9:30 one morning, and there were no spots. I heard people were in line from 8:30am so if you really want it, get there early! We enjoyed Le Marche for breakfast and lunch. There is definitely something for everyone. Service is outstanding, and if you're dressed well, you'll be able to sit in the air conditioned room. The restaurants for dinner have a lot of variety, but if you're a picky person, you might not enjoy some of them. If you have food restrictions or don't eat sea food, your options may be very limited. The food available for room service was pretty good. It took some time to come (min 45 minutes), and they sometimes brought more than what we asked. For example, we asked for tortilla chips one day and they brought guacamole and queso with it, which we thought was sweet. To order, you just have to dial 0. This is open 24 hours, which is convenient. SERVICE: Amazing is an understatement. Never have we seen people so happy to be serving others. They all had a smile on their face and were extremely friendly and accommodating, regardless of whether they got a tip from you. We tried to tip everyone we could, just because we left like it was the least we could do given for the fact that they were meeting our every request with such a big smile on their face. Some names that stuck with me are: Uriel (bellman), Jonathan (concierge from the beach), Karla (server at the beach), Arturo (Server at Le Marche), Fabiola (Server by entertainment area). Honestly, they were all amazing. They made the trip amazing for us. ENTERTAINMENT: There was something going on everyday. They send a newsletter every day, so look out for that if you want to know what is going on. We loved the magic show and the Micheal Jackson tribute. Also, the live music outside by the restaurants was great. CHECK OUT PROCESS: On our second day there, we met up with the Amstar rep and told him what time we'd like to be dropped off to the airport. He gave us the details of when and were to go upon checkout. At 12 p.m. of our check out day, we were picked up by the golf cart and escorted to the reception area. After check out, we went outside to wait for our ride. This took about 20 minutes, but it wasn't a big deal. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend this resort to others. The only part that was just "okay" was the food, but since we all have different palettes, someone else might thoroughly enjoy it. There is definitely something for everyone, though. We cannot thank the staff enough! We are still mind blown by how incredible the service at this resort is. Definitely the highlight of our trip! Thank you Valentin Imperial staff!


19 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Houston, TX
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 31, 2010 Featured Review
Best All-Inclusive Ever

This hotel was recommended by the Cheap Caribbean agent. This ended up being the most relaxing trip I've taken. The quality of the meals, service and hotel grounds was excellent. I can't wait unitl I return.


118 of 132 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: Maryland
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 31, 2010 Featured Review
Best anniversary yet

We visited the Valentin for our tenth anniversary last May. We were looking for romance and relaxation and that is just what we found. The property is gorgeous and lush. We stayed on the back of the property and loved having the smaller pool practically to ourselves. The staff, especially the entertainment staff, were amazing! We woke up early each morning to play beach volleyball or water polo, both were a blast. The food was excellent, drinks always well made. The swim up pool bar was alot of fun during the day. Our room was nice, had everything we needed. We honestly could not find a thing to complain about. We recently advised friends to visit the Valentin and they are loving it as much as we did. We are making plans to go back next year!


55 of 60 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Winchester Virginia
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 18, 2012
Great value at a gorgeous resort

I booked the Valentin Imperial Maya based on reviews from other guests and the very reasonable price and it was everything I wanted and more. Being budget conscious, I admit that price was important and hoped for a modest room and some quiet time on a pretty beach. Instead, I was wowed by a beautiful resort and an amazing room with great service and a lot of different meal options.The lobby, the grounds, the beach, the pool were beautiful and the service was excellent. Complaints I read from other reviews: - having to walk a lot. When does exercise ever hurt anyone? - things taken from the rooms. Rule of thumb is don't take family heirlooms or large sums of cash on vacation. The safe in our room worked great. It was large enough for two ipads, iphones, passports, camera, etc. - Air conditioning not being cool enough. Not to be unkind, but we are in Mexico where it is very hot and many of the guests are larger people. Our room was always a comfortable temperature. -Check out takes a while: the resorts check in time is 3 pm so there might be a wait but you are free to go get a drink or eat lunch in the meanwhile. -Food is bad: I never found the food to be terrible although I did have a very dry club sandwich. There was so much to choose from that you don't have to eat what you don't like. 24 hour room service, 7 different restaurants. Gimme a break. Considering the rates here you should not expect Bobby Flay or Julia Child to be preparing your meals.The breakfast variety at Le Marche is staggering. -Not enough places to sit on the beach: Don't plan to go at peak season. Book when school is in session and there are not only better rates but plenty of quiet and beach spots. Bonuses we didn't expect: -Our basic room was awesome. - Hotel figured out it was my birthday. I didn't mention it to anyone and they decorated my room and left me a slice of birthday cake. It really touched me. -The wildlife and birds at this resort were wonderful! As an avid birder, the Social Flycatchers, Orange Orioles and Yucatan Jays was an extra treat! - Great service! Snorkeling excursions offered at the Dive Shop. - Terrific photography service here for an amazing price. -Felt very secure at the resort. So many people warned us about Mexico being a dangerous place but the U.S. also has sketchy locations as well. The security measures at the front and tour buses having to check in to gain access to the resort was very comforting. We hadn't even made it home yet and are making plans to return to the Valentin Imperial Maya.


16 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Dallas, Texas
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 9, 2015
If you have not been yet... READ THIS REVIEW

I'm going to be completely honest here. If you have not been to the VIM or are contemplating going, make plans and GO. This place is FANTASTIC! I'm going to jump around a bit so bear with me... First thing....we decided to use the private transportation service and, for a few dollars more, I recommend it. We left the airport in Cancun and arrived at the VIM about 30 minutes later. Upon arrival, my party of 4 was greeted by Jesus who had cold facecloths and champagne brought to us. He welcomed us by saying "welcome home", which really made everyone smile, considering we had never been there. He made sure we had all of our luggage and brought us into the check-in area. We arrived a good 2 hours early. The staff told us that our rooms were not ready, which we completely understood. We told them we'd wait or just walk around and take some pictures. They asked if we had eaten lunch (we hadn't). They brought us to the walkway, directed us to the buffet and said "go enjoy yourselves!" The buffet was VERY good. I've read other reviews saying that "the buffet was OK" and wonder...where do these people eat? Ceviche, chicken, tuna, pastas....all delicious. The guacamole and pico was a staple at lunch after the first day. We went back and while checking in, we were asked if we wanted to upgrade to the Emerald Suite on the beach. We did, which made my wife very happy. There was a little longer wait than expected for the room, but I didn't mind. The drinks kept coming and the servers were right on top of my every need. If you do stay in the Emerald Suites, there is a bit of a walk to the front of the resort. Gerardo (or Jerry, as we came to know him) was normally the guy who picked us up in the cart if we were too full from food or drink to walk to the front. He always had a smile on his face and went out of his way to make our experience enjoyable. The room was beautiful. Jacuzzi and walk in shower, vanity with 2 basins, king size bed and a view of the beach...couldn't ask for anything better. The grounds were IMMACULATE! Workers were constantly cutting grass, pulling weeds, planting flowers... I swear (I'm not kidding), I saw a worker trimming a section of garden with hand shears. The pool was incredible. Truly a sight to behold. The swim up bar was an excellent touch and Humberto made sure your glass was full and you were satisfied. The food at the restaurants was excellent. We went to Ginger (Japanese), Il Olivo (Italian), L'Alsace (French) and Restaurant Tierra (Steak) for dinner. Our favorite was the French at first but the Italian was fabulous! For guys, you will need to bring a pair of dress slacks or jeans and a nice shirt or you will be turned away at the fine dining restaurants. The ladies need to dress up as well. Don't complain though...it's all part of the experience. For breakfast and lunch (and because it was close AND because Melina and Gilberto were SO accommodating) we went to Restaurant Mar and Tierra 4 days in a row. I can't say enough about Gilberto and Melina. It was like they had ESP or something. After the first day, we almost didn't even have to ask for anything. Overall, the combination of price, location, beauty, comfort, and...most of all...the STAFF made this trip unforgettable. A majority of the staff remembered our names, which shocked me, considering the sheer number of people they must meet on a yearly basis. At the end of our stay, It was not "if we come back", it was "next year, when we come back..." It was that good. Do yourself a favor....go. You'll kick yourself if you don't.

Jacuzzi in The Emerald Lobby
31 of 34 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Orleans, La.
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 17, 2012
Bug Infested and Poorest Management

So I went there to celebrate an anniversay. The place is huge, and we requested a room close to beach/pools and they told us nothing was available, without even checking. No big deal. Then they took us to a room. We opened it with a card, to find a couple lying in bed. They obviously freaked out. They said they were just given this room. We had to walk all the way back to the main reception to tell them what happened. They still would not give us a room close by, and didnt apologize for what happened. Manager was Deocella. we asked to speak to a manager and she said they were not available. Whole check in process was 2 1/12 hours until we got our room. By then it was evening and too late to enjoy the beach/pool. When I booked the hotel on the website, they said they would provide champagne and chocolate strawberris on the day of your anniversay. I put in the info, but on the printed sheets every morning with couples names our name wasn't on it. I called to tell them it was our anniversary, and said they should have seen this, but they told us someone missed it. They didnt say when they would send anything. So we go to the beach/pool the entire day and come back around 5-6. We find a bottle of champage in the room in a bucket of water (the ice all melted), and OPEN cake on a plate, with HUNDREDS OF ANTS FORMING A LINE FROM THE DOOR TO THE PLATE AND BACK OUT. Ridiculous! Who brings champagne in the afternoon and not at night, and knowings its a tropcial area leaves the cake without a cover!?!? So we call them freaking out, my wife is screaming, ants are in the closet on her clothes, all over the table, plate and room and floor. They act very calm and didnt even care when I asked someone please hurry up. 15 minutes later, still nobody comes. I call again, very upset at this point, asking someone to please come clean/mop and kill the ants. So 10 mintues after that, a guy comes iwth a bottle of champagne and ANOTHER CAKE?!!? like they dont understand english. I sent him back, took a towel and cleaned out all the ants MYSELF because i didnt want them to get in our bags or anywhere else. NOBODY FROM HOUSE CLEANING CAME AT ALL!!! I asked for a manager that night, and again was told nobody was there to talk to me. They said someone would cal in the morning. Nobody did. I went back in the afternoon and found the main manager Ricardo, who made us wait 40 mintues to talk to him. Then he comes, knowing everything that happened, and says, "I understand you're upset, but I cant understand why." After telling him the whole story, he says, maybe they didnt understand you were upset about the ants, and thought you wanted another cake. This guy was so sarcastic and obnoxious, never apologized, and kept saying how everyone here is happy and like we're trying to cause problems. When we said we would complain to the main owners, he said he didnt care and actually told us he is very close to him so it wouldnt matter! He never apologized once, or offered to do anything to make our stay better. I have gone to Mexico several times and always had wonderful customer service, I coulndt' believe this place after all the good reviews it got. All I can say good is that the food/restaurants are amazing, but otherwise, I would NEVER RECOMMEND IT. p.s. I am adding pictures and a video of the ants so you can see how disugsting this place is yourself.

Bug Infested and Poorest Management Bug Infested and Poorest Management
93 of 110 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image
Top 100 Contributor
From: New York NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year