All

Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino Reviews

Caribbean | Aruba Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 51 Reviews
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.7
Beaches & Pools
 
4.2
Dining Options
 
2.7
Room Comfort
 
3.6
3.7 out of 5
"Very nice resort, not right at the beautiful Eagle beach but in very short walking distance (5 minutes). Rooms with kitchen perfectly equipped. Extremely satisfied, no complaints." – vitace
60 out of 71 (85%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Baby Beach come on in the waters fine Sunset on Eagle Beach adventure awaits you! Dining by sunset

All Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino Customer Reviews

1-10 of 51 reviews. Sort by
July 28, 2011
Missing Aruba

We picked Aruba as a vacation destination for no particular reason. Neither of us had ever been to the island, nor did we know anyone who had. What an awesome surprise! The weather is perfect with a Northern breeze that keeps the bugs, temperature and humidity at bay. While the temperatures in the states soared, the high in Aruba remained in the 80's. The staff was very helpful and friendly- it seemed most if not all spoke, at least, 3 languages; English, Spanish and Dutch. The vendors on the beach, in the shopping areas and at the flea markets were very polite and not intrusive. The Tropicana is far from being the most impressive resort in Aruba and it is a good distance from the market, shopping areas and major hotels. Yet, what it lacks in appeal it certainly makes up for in character and value. Our room was spacious, comfortable and the kitchenette was fully stocked with everything we needed to cook breakfast and lunch everyday. There are several gas grills on the property which can be reserved by resort guests and are large enough to cook a family feast. There is much ongoing construction in the area and we were fortunate that our room did not have a view of any of these areas. Instead, our balcony faced the pools where we sat and enjoyed the sun, breeze and wildlife. From our front door we could see the ocean and the Tropicana's sister property, La Cabana. The public transportation was inexpensive and did not require a vast knowledge of the area. We rented a car for several days to tour the island. With the island being only 77 square miles, navigation was simple and we easily found The California Lighthouse and Baby Beach.

Missing Aruba Missing Aruba
28 of 28 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Virginia
Age: 45-54

April 11, 2011

Was very dissapointed in the resort completely. room service was poor all they did was make bed and give clean towels. The bedroom had towels on the floor under the window and our outside sitting area was leaking from the roof. We have been there many times and enjoyed it a lot that was why we went back but it will be the last time for us. We are sorry about this but you wanted our opinion, hope it shows up on your review site.


19 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Chicopee MA
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 26, 2017
Center of Strip

Like location between high rise & low rise hotels. Resort is quiet. Good access to a beautiful beach area within walking distance. People are super nice, every single one of them. Pizza Bob's can add up $$ if you aren't paying attention, drinks expensive if it isn't happy hour. Pools are nice but cold in February! Rooms were clean but couch & chair very uncomfortable.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Pittsburgh PA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 7+ trips/year

May 8, 2011
The worst Aruba vacation for 15 years

Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino should have been closed as it was a year ago due to a bankruptcy. To describe it as a run down hotel is not strong enough! This is a part of former LaCabana property which is now a separate resort if one can call it "resort". When we arrived the room was not ready, it was still not ready by 4 o'clock - official check-in time. The receptionist was rude and inattentive to our needs. When our room was finally ready we found it in a terrible condition. The stove was broken, so was the light and the furniture. The pans in the kitchen were not usable. The air conditioning did not function properly - we couldn't sleep at night. The administration told us - the same problem is for any room. I uploaded an image od a stove in our room. You should not sell any packages for this rotten place. We didn't get ANY value for the money we spent.


46 of 65 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Skokie, IL
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 30, 2010
Fantastic for the money

This is a very pleasant resort. It is well maintained and the rooms are large and comfortable. Saying that it is a short walk to Eagle beach might not be entirely correct but the beach is worth it and the Restaurants are great. Staff was very helpful and responsive when needed.

Fantastic for the money
4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Rochester, NY
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 24, 2013
Trop Aruba

The hotel was great for the price(of Aruba). Everything on the island is expensive, except the free aloe plants you'll see scattered on the island which you'll need after your first day there(don't buy the Aruba aloe bottled and sold everywhere, rip-off, just find an aloe plant break off a stem or two and spread the salve on) unless you stay out of the sun or are already bronzed. The Trop was in average condition but looks like improvements are in the works as a new flat screen was installed mid stay for us and a new cabana bar was getting ready to open any day. The walk to Eagle beach(very nice beach) was short(just across the street), the pools( there are 2) were nice with a waterfall and a nice slide for kids, 2 hot tubs and kiddie pool,poolside bar and iguanas everywhere(kinda cool). The room has a full kitchen and a grocery store nearby but the prices will shock you there also. Distances from the Hi-rise hotel area where there's a lot of nightlife (the Trop is in the low-rise hotel area) is walk-able but a little far, lot of taxi's(about $9.00 or $12.00 after 11pm) and buses though. The distance to the downtown area(lot of nightlife there also) wasn't really walk-able. We ended up renting a car(about$40.00/day for a little tiny box) for 2 days which should be plenty to get a feel for the whole island. Overall the Trop was a good deal for the price as there are nicer rooms available but these were clean and we just used them for sleep anyway.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Cleveland, Ohio
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 2, 2013
Lenny C

Our experience at Tropicana was very good. It was as advertised, no surprises. Aruba is a very beautiful island, and we are looking forward to returning again. The suite was large enough to cover all our needs. It was clean. The security was excellent. The service was very good. Raymond a Tropicana employee, was very very very helpful to us from the time that we arrived until our departure. The Resort was located at midpoint between downtown and uptown. Eagle Beach is a very very beautiful beach, and very close to Tropicana, maybe a five minute walk, seems shorter because you are passing through the LaCabana. The Super Foods grocery store was very handy and a plus for it was right in front of our room's front door., just across the highway street, which is crossable. No complaints. We had a very very nice comfortable, fun and enjoyable vacation, that was well needed.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chicago,IL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 8, 2016
Sub par

This was a $109 room that would be worth about $35- in the US. It used to be part of the La Cabanna property and hasn't been updated since we stayed there about 25 years ago. Save ypur money and stay elsewhere, especially if you don't want to hang around the un-air conditioned lobby to get wi-fi


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 26, 2011

Room was ok, but a lot ants, told the front desk about this problem, but no response. Price ok but service should be much better, spa not working properly , one spa water was cold and another one very hot. I am not recommend this hotel to somebody else.


10 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 15, 2010
We love Aruba

We first stayed at LaCabana 17 years ago on our honeymoon. It is now the Aruban and we continue to go back every year since. We love the accomodations - one bedroom suite - perfect size for us. We get off the plane, rent a car, go food shopping and head to the Aruban. The pools are perfect and the beach is so peaceful - not crowded = no one sitting right on top of you - extremely relaxing. We can't wait to go back - the weather is beautiful = the water is so inviting. We like to explore the island and always make time for Baby Beach - where the snorkeling is pefect and the fish are so beautiful - and the restaurants are magnificent - Great Place - great beaches, relaxing, fun, good food - who could ask for anything more???


7 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Old Bridge, NJ
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year