All

Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 86 Reviews
Value
 
3.3
Service
 
3.4
Beaches & Pools
 
3.9
Dining Options
 
2.8
Room Comfort
 
2.5
3.2 out of 5
"Beach was awesome soft sand and swimable! Room was ok nothing to fancy and when it rained it did leak a bit. Food was really yummy!" – Markadri
52 out of 91 (57%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
resort Does not do justice. Beautiful No coffee cups The dessert section at lunch pool

All Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 86 reviews. Sort by
December 14, 2015
Paradise in December

We wanted a getaway to celebrate my husband's birthday and we found it. The beaches and pools were beautiful. If you have time and like to scuba and snorkel, take a trip to Catalina Island. It was about 1 1/2 hours from the resort but well worth it. The food was ok... there were two restaurants onsite but you had to make reservations and pay if you wanted to eat there. Not many of the staff were fluent in English... not even the front desk employees! Pack a washcloth as none are provided but hairdryers and shampoo are. The outlets are the same as in the US so there's no need to pack special adaptors. My only complaint was the room. It was clean but the mattress was hard, the pillows were flat, so I woke up each morning stiff and hurting. The hot water took 5-10 minutes to warm up in the shower and cut off after only five minutes.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: VA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 14, 2015
good for price

Just got back last week, the only problem we had was with our room. The fridge didn't get cold enough to keep anything at a decent temp, the air conditioner was programmed and never got very cold- room was always sticky and hot and the beds were hard. Loved the beach, service was good. Don't expect to be on the internet- poor connection but didn't go on vacation to be online. Over all it was a good place for the money we spent.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 35-44

March 31, 2015
Great Spring Break Resort

Rooms not so great - beds really not good. Views and beach are spectacular. Restaurants are good. Buffet not so great. Lots of friendly staff and tons of activities and service is great. For the price this is a great value. I recommend the VIP package - it is worth the little upgrade. We feel this is one of the most beautiful beaches we have ever seen - with sand all the way out - no rocks. Great swimming and body surfing. Snorkeling - not so good.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Minneapolis, MN
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 23, 2015
Family vacay 2015

Ok so let me start by saying that this place is beautiful! Palm trees, warm breezes, beautiful people. My family and I had a really good time. I have to say that the people who work here are ALL wonderful, warm and friendly people. But unfortunately the fellow visitors were not. A lot of the other visitors were rude and nasty and killed my tranquility! Also the food situation! So my family and I arrived at about 4 at the resort, check in was a little hectic but we managed. Then the came the trolley's!! We had to board a trolley to get to our room. Which would of been fine if there wasn't a gang of "locals" who were also visitors jumping the line to just get on to the trolleys! So after the trolley and after going in circles, we found our room. Nice room but just one television for 5 people in a family suite of two double rooms!! Not to mention the AC barely worked enough the entire time!! We got settled and went out for food! Unfortunately there was none!! The buffet was closed until dinner time, the snack bar was closed, which was suppose to be open 24 hours! So we basically starved until the buffet opened at 630 for dinner! When we purchased this vacation we were told we could have dinner at the restaurants as well! But what they don't tell you is that u have to make your reservations for those restaurants days in advanced for your entire trip! Oh and you can only do it at the resort! Frm 9-12!! We tired countless times to make reservations but we were told over and over, "srry they are all full"!! So instead of enjoying these nice restaurants that we payed for we had to eat at the buffet the entire time except for our last night where we ate at the Pilon! And that was only after I called guess services and complained!! So I have to say again despite all this we did have a good time but I do feel that it could if been better!! Oh one more thing, if your looking to jump in the ocean for a swim, beware of the tons, and tons of seaweed that make it impossible! And the smell!! I hope to visit DR again but it will not be at this resort!!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: New york
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 31, 2010
summer 2010 punta cana

The hotel was great. The service and food was the best. The room where a great size but lack quality furniture. The resort is five star but the room are big clean but need renovation. Need better night entertainment.

resort pool
4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Riverview,lorida F
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 19, 2011
experience in Punta Cana

We did enjoy our vacation but it was 2 problems that it took a long time to resolve(one never was fixed) The air condition in our room was so noisy that in order to be able to sleep we had to turn off the AC. and it was two water leaks that it really bother you at night, The toilet and the faucet leaking water and making a sound that it really make it very uncomfortable at night to sleep. I was thinking of the thousands of gallons of water wasted.They came 2 nights before we left and "fixed"?the AC. but still was making noise.It was not that loud anymore but still nosy but the water leak never was fixed. Another surprise was the laundry just for a couple of shirts and underwear when we were checking out they hit us with a $58 bill for laundry that was more expensive that what we paid for the clothes in the USA. And last we keep calling the front desk from 3.30 a.m. to 4.15 am and no one answered we have to walk all the way to the front because it was no transportation to pick up everything that we carried back to the United States. When we arrived to the front desk all tired and sweating still no one was in the front desk finally when he did showed up he gave a poor excuse that he was in the bathroom (2 hours?)So we did enjoy our vacation but I don't think that if we go back ( we will) we will try not to use the same hotel


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Washington D.C. area (Virginia)
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 5, 2011
Great times!

My husband and I just returned from a great week with friends at the Tropical Princess Resort. We had an amazing time, and enjoyed every moment at the resort. The resort is beautiful, the beach is amazing, and the service was outstanding. The food at the buffet was great, there were lots of choices. We also ate at the Brazillian and Dominican places and both were fabulous. Drinks were over the top, and the service at all of the bars was great. Shout out to Obama and Winston at the lobby bar, they took great care of us and kept the mama jauna flowing. We enjoyed the beach all day, and hung out at the lobby relaxing in comfortable couches at night. There was plenty of bottled water, and no one got sick at all. THis is a great place and a great value. I would go back to this resort and this beautiful country tomorrow. Outstanding!


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Charlotte, NC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 31, 2010
Family Resort

We really enjoyed Tropical Princess, Everybody was very nice and helpful. It's clean and our family room had 2 bedrooms and 2 baths, we were 2 adults and 3 children. Our children had a really good time. We tried parasailing with the kids and we went to swim with sharks and sting-rays. We also did scuba diving lessons with Nadia and she is soo nice and patient!

Family Resort
3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Los Angeles
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 4, 2016
Great trip

This is wonderful location ( for the price). It's not a deluxe resort, but it is beautiful and the customer service is outstanding. I've been to a few places in the Caribbean, and I would definitely go back to Punta Cana! ( Direct flight from Phily makes it so easy) Airport was beautiful. Shared transport thru Cheap Caribbean ( to the hotel ) was great. The resort has a few issues: rooms are dated, beds are hard, pillows were awful. Food was typical for a resort.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Hershey, Pa
Age: 55-64
Travel: 7+ trips/year

October 15, 2016
Resort was horrible!

Came to this resort for a girls weekend trip at the end of September it was a gift for my cousin's 25th Birthday .. when we arrived the resort informed us that they were over booked & that we had to go to the sister resort which was next door "punta cana princess" & they said it was an "upgrade" .. the room was horrible not clean it even condom wrapper by the Jacuzzi me & my cousins were disgusted! There were barley any food options ... this resort seemed like a swingers resort & we wish we would of known from cheap Caribbean... we were a bunch of young twenty something single girls who just came to relax & have some cocktails in the sun..we were getting nasty stares from everyone like we did't belong... one night we got harassed in one of the restaurants by a couple he was calling us all types of names & telling us to suck his d*** what man speaks to that to females.. it was appalling not one employee from this resort even reached out to us to see if we were okay that was the last straw for us we didn't feel safe that we actually left the resort & Spent money at other hotels We also were very disappointed cause we tried to reach out to the cheap Caribbean rep at the resort & he acted like he didn't understand us .. Never again!


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: New York,NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year