All

Time Out at the Gap Reviews

Caribbean | Barbados Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 37 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.6
3.9 out of 5
"beach was wonderful. friendly service clean hotel. just minutes from party district" – atlantagirl
37 out of 43 (86%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Dover Beach The Gap Hotel view That's a happy hubby! Dover Beach-our Favorite Colorful Barbados On the island tour a view from our balcony after the rain Monkey Business

All Time Out at the Gap Customer Reviews

1-10 of 37 reviews. Sort by
June 23, 2012
A Hidden Gem!

We just got back from our 4 night get away to Barbados and can not tell you how much we liked this hotel. It's a great location, ultra clean (just recently renovated), helpful/friendly staff, quiet & really a steal for the price! Our balcony provided a great view of the island and the lovely pool area, Dover Beach was right across the street and your only a quick walk to all the bars and places to eat. Don't let the other reviews below scare you, for the islands this is a perfect place to stay. Is it a real resort? no. But compared to other islands we have visited it was perfect for the amount of time you are actually in your hotel. This hotel puts you within walking distance for all the fun in The Gap and we never felt at risk to walk back late at night. My husband and i will be returning next year to celebrate our birthdays again :)

a view from our balcony after the rain
19 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 13, 2013
Excellent Choice

Walking into the Time Out Hotel after a short taxi ride from the airport I wasn't sure what to think, the hotel layout is not like your average hotel! Walking through the front entrance you come to a courtyard which is open to the elements, the reception area is just around the corner giving the place a open feeling! We got our room keys with minimum fuss and the receptionist called for someone to help us up to the second floor with our bags as there is no lift available! We upgraded our room to one with a view of the pool and as we opened the door I have to say my first reaction was one of disappointment, the room was very basic and looked a little tatty, the bathroom was also basic to the point of being austere! To me it looked like some of the youth hostels I stayed at in europe! After looking around the room and gathering our thoughts we both decided the room was more than adequate for our needs and it was clean which is a big concern for most people! I think the initial shocked was helped by the fact we stayed in the Orlando Airport Hyatt the night before flying to Barbados so we were probably subconsciously comparing this room with the one we stayed in the night before! There is a flat screen tv showing mostly american reruns, a small fridge and electric kettle, but no condiments so bring your own coffee or tea and sugar, milk can be bought from a small store attached to the hotel! There is no microwave except for one down by reception which is a shame as it would be very useful to heat up leftovers etc. The main problem we found with the room is there are no electric outlets to use except for the ones behind the fridge and beds, already knowing this I brought a 12 foot, 2 prong extension cord so the wife could use her hairdryer close to the mirror (no hairdryer either)! There is an ironing board in the room but you have to get the iron from reception! The maid service was great and we got clean towels virtually every day, if you didn't just ask and you will receive. The hotel swimming pool is OK and was usually empty for most of the time we were there. There is a sports bar attached to the building but it is not run by the hotel! The flying pig sports bar is run and staffed by some of the nicest people you could meet, Graham, Steve, Anthony, Karim, and Ryan are a super bunch of people and are a great source of local information, they serve food throughout the day and it's a great place to sit and have a beer and watch some sports! The hotel is 30 seconds away from beautiful Dover beach and right on the St Lawrence Gap road which is full of bars and shops! The Gap has suffered along with everybody else during the recession and has seen better days, I wasn't sure what to expect but after a few walks up and down the road checking out the bars and shops it wasn't as bad as I first thought, it could use some TLC but so could most of the island, it's just a pity the money is not there! For most of our travels we used taxis which there is an over abundance of, we got friendly with a local taxi driver and decided to pay him to give us a tour of the island instead of using a tour company, we were not disappointed, this guy knew virtually every plant and tree and every bumpy road on the island, he gave us a great informative tour which would be hard to beat, well worth his fee! Bridgetown the capital is a little overwhelming at first, it almost looks third world in some places with old buildings and people out in the streets selling their wares, but we decided to go for it and walked for miles through little side streets and alleys and never had a problem with anyone, in fact most people were happy to see tourists in their part of town. The prices for eating and drinking out are high compared to the US, but as everyone reminds you it's an island so virtually everything has to be imported, so you might get sticker shock! Look for happy hours at the bars and try the street vendors food, it actually tastes as good as it smells! Overall we really enjoyed Barbados, it's a beautiful island with an abundance of friendly people, we will be back.

The Gap Dover Beach
15 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 20, 2011
Best beaches ever

I have been to the caribbean and mexico 10 times and barbados has the best beaches and water. The local are very friendly. Time out is a decient hotel for the price. No extras but very reasonable, there is only one resturant which is average but you will want to try out the outside restaurants anyways. They are awesome. Del Sol has the best mexican food ever! The hotel is not on the beach but it is a short 1/4 block walk. The beaches are all public property on Barbados so they are free to go on but you will have to rent a chair if you want one. The pool is small but the beach makes up for it. Go on the Jolly Roger if you like to party, also I loved swimming with the turtles! Fun party vacation with amazing beaches!


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Minnesota
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 9, 2011
Time out at the gap was great

The location was ideal. The beach very nice. People were great. I will definitely stay here again. It was not the most modern hotel but it had everyting we needed, was clean. The food at the huts on the beach was great. Locals food and plenty of it. Grace at the corner hut was a gem. She was so accomodating. The whether was beautiful. Sun all but 1/2 a day. The island tour is a must your first time in Barbados. We were lucky enough to get Rooster as our guide. He was the best. The people in Barbados are the nicest I have ever met anywhere.

On the island tour Time out at the gap was great
10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Boston area
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 30, 2010
Time for fun and sun at the Gap!

Our second trip to Barbados was planned only because we loved the first! The town of St. Lawrence Gap on the south side of the island is made for us! A different restaurant every night (Mexican, Italian, local, upscale, street vendors, etc) kept us fed well and it never got boring. A different pub nightly with dancing and singing kept the weight gain to a minimum! And the Oistens Fish Fry on Friday and Saturday was amazing. It's not just fish but lobsters and burgers and every imaginable delicacy on the island with live band music to keep the masses moving in rhythmic synchrony! It's NOT to be missed. The hotel was pretty average, after all, we weren't planning to spend too much time in it, with the sun and sand just across the street. However, our one rainy day was spent in the lobby/lounge area downstairs. It was fabulous because we met many locals that used it as their local watering hole. We chatted with tourists and compared notes with regard to can't miss attractions. We stopped by the rain just long enough to realize that there were monkeys in the palm trees just outside the hotel. Apparently, they await snack time, swooping in at lightening speed to cherry pick anything on a tray that resembled an apple. They were adorable. Our room was very clean and everything maintained well. It's not the Ritz Carlton but it's relaxing enough. If I were to be in it for a long time period, I'd be longing for a few more luxury appointments, but it was a week that was meant to be spent touring the island, dancing with locals, drinking like tourists, swimming like the majestic laggerhead turtles that surf the turquois waters and sunning like lizards on the white sand. It was perfect. Cheap Caribbean made everything so simple.. Our ride was waiting for us when we got there, check in was simple as the hotel had everything up front, we were treated like royalty and checkout was a 3 minute deal. The promotion that we purchased provided for some spending money on a prepaid Visa card when we got there and it was everything it was supposed to be. If you're not booking with CC, you're paying too much!

That's a happy hubby! Dover Beach-our Favorite
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Atlanta, Georgia
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 19, 2016
Perfect Time Out!

My son and I had a great time in Barbados, and Time Out was a lovely location! Dover Beach is so close, and we actually preferred this beach to the Sandy Lane beaches Rihanna frequents! My one comment is that we went to Barbados to see and experience Barbados. The continental breakfast included with our room was a bit of a disappointment- imported US Gala apples, pears, fluffy white croissants with apricot jam and Weetabix cereal. I was hoping for local fruit (perhaps there is not enough grown on the island to sustain this?), plantains, coconut bread, guava jelly, Bajan bakes... not the typical English fare provided. One could get a Bajan breakfast as a special order but for me it was too much food. My suggestion is that the English food be the special order and the Bajan food be the standard. I want to know I am in a foreign country when I travel! And have found that many hotels fall folly to the wims of the tourists who do not to experience something new. Let them eat their bran flakes back in their home town!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Hudson Valley, NY
Age: 45-54

October 2, 2012
I loved this place and I am going back!

This is the PERFECT LOCATION! The service was outstanding, management and staff helpful and courteous. I was in heaven, I am planning to return in the next 2 months! This place was across the street from the beach, comfort walking distance to the resturants, bar and clubs. Also the breakfast was great and again the service outstanding.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Willow Grove, PA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 13, 2011
Great birthday getaway!

I booked this trip with my best friend in February. We got a great deal, and even though it rained a good portion of the time, I still had a blast. The Gap is a perfect place for fun and entertainment, and self sufficient enough where you don't really have to venture out if you don't want to. It is a safe, small community and people there (locals AND tourists) are very friendly. I loved it and can't wait to go back.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Boston
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 11, 2015
Had a ball at time out.

When you arrive there, they are always ready to get you into your room and comfortable quickly and although they give you a free continental breakfast, for a few extra bucks you can order a bajan breakfast which is worth whatever the cost might be. The pool and Bar areas are great and the beach is just right across the street, Happy hour at the bar is from 5PM until 7 and everything is 40 to 50 percent off and the Staff in housekeeping are great, but sometimes the guy behind the bar is too busy handling his own private business to pay attention to the customers with prompt service but that was the only negative thing that happen. Try it you'll like it at Time Out.

Had a ball at time out.
3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia,Pennsylvania
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 29, 2016
Bar-GOOD-os

Time-out was clean and air conditioner worked well. The water pressure was not great, but all in all a great stay. To those who claim that the noise is an issue at night must be from a rural town someone in middle America, because the noise is not an issue AT ALL.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year