All

the Ritz Carlton San Juan Reviews

Caribbean | Puerto Rico Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 57 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.6
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.6
4.6 out of 5
"This was a total surprise - to be able to get a deal like this at a nice hotel. It was really easy and so affordable. The staff was nice. It is not the best Ritz Carlton, but a really good one." – dora
75 out of 78 (96%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
newlywed enjoying the beach View from our ocean room Poolside PR The beach from the pool restaurant

All the Ritz Carlton San Juan Customer Reviews

1-10 of 57 reviews. Sort by
May 2, 2012
Excellent Resort with great location

The Rooms and the overall resort was very upscale. It has very good dinning options and also there are many other dinning options available just at the walking distance from the resort. It has has a public bus stop right outside. We went there for our 5th wedding anniversary and we loved it.


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Long Island, Ny
Age: 25-34

June 20, 2011
This was a trip that I will never ever forget!!!!

The Ritz Carlton was exactly what I was looking for. Their customer service and staff was amazing and outstanding. Their mannerism was superb. At the last minute me and my fiancé decided to get married and the Ritz Carlton welcomed us with arms. It was also his birthday. Andrea, who is just wonderful, made sure everything was in place. I had no worries. I am looking forward to going back next year...My only complaint was how expensive the food was, but hey, for great service I am willing to pay it again....

newlywed enjoying the beach
10 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 25, 2012
Great quick getaway

The Ritz-Carlton in San Juan, PR is a top notch facility. The resort is absolutely beautiful! marble floors, great sized rooms, plush beds, large bathrooms, nice restaurants, casino... 2 times a day housekeeping, beautiful grounds and great friendly staff who do their best to pamper you...from the front desk to the evening house staff that stops by to give you chocolates and see if you need anything before turning in for the night. Great pool, only down side is there is only one....which was taken over by kids while I was there. But hey, we were all young once. The hotel is really right on the beach. Outside of the hotel are other dining options. The hotel is relatively close to the airport and taxis from the airport are very reasonable. It's a quick trip by taxi to get to Old San Juan - which has free trolleys to take you around the area for touring and shopping. Great place to relax and unwind.... I would recommend and go again.


10 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Maryland
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 2, 2011
Elegant luxury

Other than expensive food options, this place is fantastic. Very clean and by far the friendliest and most attentive staff I have ever seen. I plan on going back, just not during hurricane season.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York suburb
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 9, 2010
Great Deal at The Ritz

Last summer, my boyfriend and I jumped on a deal for The Ritz in Puerto Rico. We enjoyed near-perfect weather (and didn't mind a few afternoon sprinkles since Cheap Carib offers the SPF100 promotion! so great!). We spent each day lounging by the pool and on the beach. As we baked in the sunshine, staff members would bring around complimentary perfumed, chilled washcloths and frozen lemonade treats. We also took an amazing excursion to the El Yunque national rainforest that we were able to book in the hotel lobby. My only complaint is that the hotel itself did not offer any cheap/fast meal options, but I guess that's what you can expect when you're staying at The Ritz!

Poolside PR
8 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Brooklyn, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 7, 2013
Worth every penny!

When I saw Ritz Carlton as one of the hotels in a vacation package, I never hesitated for a moment. I read some reviews about the other hotels and they were mixed so it was not difficult at all to go for Ritz. In all of my travels, I stayed mostly with the Hilton family of hotels so this is my first with Ritz. From the time I stepped out of the cab, I felt like a royalty. Every staff member we encountered (from the bell boy, front desk, cleaners, beach guys, concierge, etc) were very warm and friendly. The location of the hotel is excellent because it's only around 10 minutes from the airport ($14) and 25 minutes to Old San Juan ($20). There are also excellent restaurants nearby if you don't feel like spending over $100 for a couple's meal at one of the restaurants inside Ritz. There's the Las Canarias Bakery which is good for a quick breakfast; Made In Puerto Rico which has a Live Music playing on weekends; and Metropol which is a mixture of Cuban-Puerto Rican food. If you're in need of snacks and extra bottled water (Ritz provides you with free bottled water and coffee/tea in your room), Walgreens is next to Made in Puerto Rico. If you don't mind walking, there are other excellent restaurants nearby. The only thing i did not like much was the pool because it was small for a big and luxurious hotel. most hotels that size would have two separate pools. It was too crowded you barely could walk by to go to the beach without walking in front of people or touching shoulders with others. I rated the dining options 4 based on the price. The quality was excellent, presentation was fabulous, taste was okay. Anyhow, overall, I never expected Ritz to provide so much "extras". There's even a bag of bottled water with lotion, hand sanitizer, and sunscreen ready for you whenever you went on excursions. There's wifi connection and its free. I am a Diamond member with Hilton Hotel and I don't get that many perks. I can't wait to go back!


7 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Miami, FL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 30, 2014
World class service

This property overall sets the standard for other Puerto Rico luxury hotels to try and match. The number and attentiveness of the staff are second to none, and the hotel and grounds are gorgeous. Not a speck of trash anywhere on the grounds, marble and carpet throughout, beautiful beach with instant service for lounges, umbrellas or food/drink, beautiful pool and outdoor bar with service to match, huge well equipped fitness center, shops including Tiffany and the like, onsite casino, concierge staff large enough to handle your needs without having to wait. The hotel restaurants are excellent but offerings are pricey. However within a few blocks radius are numerous wonderful restaurants ranging from cheap to moderate, Cuban/Caribbean/Spanish/Italian/seafood, a dine-in bakery/deli and so on, much more fun to leave the hotel and explore every night for dinner! There are specially marked "tourist zone" police patrol cars throughout the area so walking at night is pleasant and safe. There's a Walgreen's 2 blocks from the hotel which serves as a mini-supermarket, liquor store, pharmacy and whatever else you need. Although there may be larger beach properties, resorts with golf courses, larger casinos or other unique points at other hotels, overall it is the attitude and depth of the staff here that makes the Ritz-Carlton such a success. Not cheap, but worth every dollar in my opinion.


6 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Manhattan & Pennsylvania
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 7, 2010
Ritz - less

Nice hotel and grounds but lacking the Ritz signature service and refinement. Location is convenient to airport but far from Old San Juan.


5 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 55-64
Travel: 7+ trips/year

May 4, 2011
great but garden restaurant was not great enough

great service. elegant hotel. but too many kids. If you want to be around grown ups, I recommend la concha or other hotel. But great deal for the price.

great but garden restaurant was not great enough
4 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: new york NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 10, 2013
Got $25 for a salad? Go for it

The good news first - The place was very close to the airport. Good local food options within walking distance. The staff was AMAZING!!! The front desk staff was meh but everyone else 1000% polite and very catering. They were awesome. The rooms were nice. Our bathroom had a few cracks and what I thought might be the beginning of mold. But still the room was nice overall. The turndown service was a nice touch as well. P.S. Our kids had a great time. It was very family friendly. The bad news - holy moly that place was expensive!! The dining options were insane. A basic chicken Caesar salad - $24. A side of turkey sausage $8, a regular pina colada was $16! I couldn't believe these prices. Dare I say worse than Manhattan? Perhaps I'm little cheap and refuse to splurge $9 on a bowl of regular oatmeal. But thank goodness for the local eats available. Sheesh. If you're into spa and are fine w/ paying $155 for a regular 50min massage, then this is the place for you. Also, there was construction going on near the pool area. All we heard was the jack hammer going all day. They had a few pool toys for the kids, they were all beat up and looked like someone literally bit chunks out of them. So tacky. Oh and finally, they have cabanas, but you have to pay for them. There are so many other islands where you don't have to pay for them, but only reserve them. But of course no one reserved them because they were near the loud jack hammer. Sigh. If this Ritz ever sees me again, I will take a picnic basket and a goodie bag. :)


4 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Baltimore, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year