All

the Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 27 Reviews
Value
 
4.1
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.4
4.3 out of 5
"Lovely experience, I have never seen customer service like this before absolutely incredible.we will be for sure coming back" – Ddon
27 out of 32 (84%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Reserve Beach The beach was gorgeous! Best times Reserve Beach Dinner

All the Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana Customer Reviews

1-10 of 27 reviews. Sort by
April 16, 2013
"Pardisis" Punta Cana is Paradise!

We had no idea what this all-inclusive trip would offer us. From the moment we arrived we were greeted in a warm manner by the staff. "WELCOME HOME" is what they say upon your arrival. A fresh tropical smoothie was given to us in the lobby as we dropped our luggage and were given some tips to make our stay more pleasant. The resort is clean and eco-friendly. Entertainment (Cirque, Music through the Decades, etc.) was impressive for a resort setting. Golf cart trolleys shuttle you around the resort from beach, to courtyard style buildings that house you. The main lobby houses tropical gardens, gift/supply shop, entertainment building, lobby band and dance floor, casino, swinging benches, couches, and beds to lounge in and open bar to serve you. The general feeling is relaxing and "spa-like." We sat the first night eating in an open air restaurant ("Aqua") surrounded by pools of water and pink flamingos "honking" to one another. One day we arrived back at our room after a day at the beach/pool to find a bottle of champagne on ice and a bubble bath waiting with a nice card from our concierge. (That sealed the deal on our trip and our desire to return there)! We stayed in, THE RESERVE section of the resort where the rooms are more spacious and upscale but still reasonable. For the extra attention you get I would definitely stay in this area. It isn't as close to the beach as I thought it would be but it put us closer to the main lobby and gym building where all the evening entertainment goes on. We stayed in Building 41, the trolley would stop in front of our building but we were close enough to walk to the gym or main lobby. Everywhere you look there is something interesting to observe. We never felt bored or like we new the resort inside and out. We tend to not go back to the same place twice when there are many travel options but we definitely plan to go back to Paradisis. Note: Being a nurse I would suggest bringing Amodium, Aleve and Pepto Bismol just in case. Stay away from the ice and fruits if you have a sensitive stomach. The food is great but like any island country or Mexico you need to be aware of the issues with drinking water in these locations. That aside, this was the best destination vacation we have taken by far!!!


22 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Cape Coral Florida/Boston, MA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 13, 2014
Beautiful resort

I recently went to the Reserve with my girlfriend for a romantic getaway. We selected the resort because we wanted to go the DR and because of the LGBT welcome policy the resort advertises and, of course, because it looked gorgeous. I am in my early 30s and my girlfriend is in her late 20s, so we figured the Reserve would be a great secluded romantic spot. If you're looking for romance, stay at the main Paradisus resort. There were so many children at the Reserve. I really wish we just sprung for the Royal Service instead. So, again, if you're looking for a romantic vacation spring for the Royal Service on the main resort. Our vacation got off to a rocky start .We arrived around 1 p.m. on a Sunday and our room wasn't ready for two hours after our arrival and once we got in the room our air conditioning wasn't working so that knocked off some time. We also had an issue with our balcony door. The 24-hour concierge isn't quite 24 hour, so I brought my complaints to the front desk and they rectified everything fixing our door and making reservations for us at the restaurants on the property, including a comp dinner at the Michelin-starred (and additional cost) Passion. Even with the glitches, the Paradisus resort does indeed have great customer service and every employee that works there is incredibly nice. The property is immaculate and the beachfront is gorgeous. The only downfall is it is quite large, but there is regular shuttle service that brings you around. I would definitely come back to the resort, but AGAIN, I tell you if you're looking for a romantic getaway with your significant other spring for the Royal Service and do not stay at the Reserve. :)

The beach was gorgeous!
10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Brooklyn, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 14, 2014
Nice resort but too much of add-on sales pitch

The Reserve is part of the larger Pardisus Punta Cana with some extras. The resort itself is beautiful, and well maintained. We had a family concierge assigned to us (Estaphania) who was wonderful. She took care of all of our restaurant reservations, always friendly, did several fun things for the kids - Milks and cookies/cupcakes every evening, balloon animals, bubble bath with balloons. She also gave us ideas on how to maximize on our last day and made sure that it happened. The staff in general was also great. Anthony would make sure we had fun at the Reserve Pool, bring toys for the kids, and was always friendly. Pedro and Jose helped made sure we had fun at the bungee bounce and the climbing wall. The food was good at the buffets - good selection and variety, however, we were a little disappointed with the food at the a la carte restaurants. Here's the but/however: They have a group of sales staff, who are trying to pitch the Club Melia - membership club for the chain of hotels they were part of , which is supposed to provide additional perks, etc... Out of the 7 days we were there, they tried to get us to sit down with them on a sales pitch for the first 4 days. We were supposed to get a variety of vouchers towards other purchases/room upgrades for a total of about $1500. We ended up not using a single one of these vouchers, as you have to basically spend about the same amount, if not more to be able to take advantage of any of the vouchers. You've gone and spent several thousand of dollars to take your family to this resort, the last thing we wanted to do was spend even more money on additional things. I really feel divided on whether I would want to recommend this resort - they have a VERY friendly staff, and a great resort with lots of good things, however, the constant sales pitch is a bit much.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Washington, DC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 13, 2015
Not what we expected

We had great expectations based on reviews however the resort did not live up to those expectations. The resort itself is very nice. The service was extremely lacking. We were not able to get dinner reservations easily.Initially we tried to book reservations ourselves, but the operator hung up on us each time we called. Thinking this was an isolated issue we went to the concierge to get assistance. The first day I sat in the lobby while she called the restaurant and they proceeded to hang up on her too. After 15 minutes of this I gave up and said I would try later. This went on all week. It takes 24 hrs for the concierge to get back to you and let you know if they were able to get you in at any of the restaurants. The most frustrating part is if you walked into a restaurant without a reservation they were half empty but they insisted they had no room. I believe it is a ploy to get you to eat at the buffets. The buffets were ok but had the same food each day. They also approached me about a time share and I told them I wouldn't even consider it given the issues we were having even getting a cup of coffee in the restaurant. After that they ignored us the rest of the trip. Unfortunately given the high price we will not be back. This may be the nicest resort in Punta Cana but the service is well below par. From talking to other guests in the resort we were not the only ones having the same issues. Whenever I walked by the concierge desk people were having the same heated discussions about service. Buyer Beware!!!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Charlotte, NC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 24, 2013
concierge is pretty much a joke

if you stay at the Reserve section each building has its own concierge. Which sounds great but ours never followed thru with anything requested. When asked what we would like our mini bar stocked with we said diet coke and white wine..3 days go by and nothing. Finally I kicked and screamed and it came ...for one day. Requested a room service breakfast at 6 am as we had an early excursion...never came...called room service and was told concierge never gave an order


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Oregon
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 8, 2016
Very good time

Very enjoyable time. Food was above average for all-inclusives, particularly reservation restaurants which we had not problem getting dinner times that we wanted. Would have liked to see guacamole on buffets. Service was great. Beach was well manicured and ample beach chairs and even cabanas. Beautiful grounds. Pool was great to hang out at. We stayed at Reserve, which is a ten minute walk to beach, but golf carts every 5 minutes or so to take you to beach if you did not want to walk. Would go back.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Ohio
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 19, 2016
Great Place for Families and Couples

This place rocks! Had two junior suites in the Reserve section of this resort from April 6-11, 2016. Son, his wife, and our two grand children (ages 3 and 1) joined my wife and I at this wonderful resort. Junior suite, beaches, sun, pools, transportation to the beach, restaurants, staff support at the Reserve, and the Kids Zone were excellent. A special thanks to Katie and Jeff from Cheap Caribbean for making sure car seats were in vehicle provided by Amstar for transportation from the airport to the resort. The driver took us to the wrong resort which delayed our arrival. Amstar fell down on the trip back to the airport. Met with Amstar's rep (William) at the Resort the day before leaving to determine pick up time and to make sure the car seats would be there. They arrived a half an hour late without any car seats. We do not recommend using Amstar. Strongly recommend this resort to others that are looking for a family resort that caters to young children. The main resort by the beach is more appropriate for couples.

Reserve Beach Reserve Beach
3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Southwestern Vermont
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 23, 2014
Met all expectations

This resort turned out to be exactly as advertised. Accommodations were spotless, clean and well kept throughout our stay. Staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. They seemed to honestly want to see you have a great time. Although it was prime season The Reserve was never crowded. Do book reservations for dinner for your whole stay upon arrival. They were quite accommodating about changing them midweek. Agua (Italian) is small so it does not handle many dinner reservations but serves the same menu for lunch from 1 to 3. There were never more than 3 tables in use when we went for lunch. Favorites there included lobster lasagna, seafood pizza, risotto, and lamb chops. Vento, a restaurant that is open only to Reserve guests and is at The Reserve, was our second favorite place to eat. There are 2 different buffet restaurants at the beach to choose from. A small suggestion: If you like a lemon twist with any of your favorite drinks bring a couple with you because they don't grow on the island and they give you a lime slice even if you ask for lemon. Also be aware that while they offer a good selection of alcoholic drinks as part of the all-inclusive, there are a few drinks such as Absolute Vodka and some after dinner cordials that they charge a hefty fee for to enjoy. If you want to sail a cat be sure to check both locations on the beach. One requires you to purchase insurance for $30, the other lets you sign a waiver and sail for free. They suggest making reservations ahead of time for your half hour sail. The transportation purchased through Cheap Caribbean worked out fine.


4 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Bethlehem, PA
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 4, 2017
Way better than expected

This trip was our first as a family to an all inclusive resort. Without kids we had been to other resorts. A friend recommended the Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana. Additionally, we read great reviews in Parent Magazine. We did opt for a family concierge (more later). We have stayed at all typed of hotels and resorts (3 to 5 star). My wife and I are both professionals in health care. From the time we arrived we were treated with incredible hospitality. The answer from everyone is, "Yes." The greatest asset of the resort is the staff. Everyone is so nice and welcoming and incredible with kids (ours are ages 4 and 6). As a parent I genuinely felt that the staff loved our children. Every waiter/waitress, bartender, cleaner, beach attendant was wonderful. Our family concierge, Sofia, was wonderful. She helped me recover a lost backpack that I left on our bus to the resort, and in it was my computer--which was returned! Sofia helped us get medications for our daughter that had an illness. She secured reservations at restaurants every night. She was wonderful, and always provided our service with a smile. The facilities are really great for the price. There are so many pools, with beautiful cabanas, and wait service for drinks. The beach and pool experience is incredibly comfortable and relaxing. And there is a KidZone where you can drop off your kids for organized activities that occur throughout the day. The staff are great there as well As for food, the quality was what one would expect for an all inclusive resort. The fish was great and incredibly fresh. There was a lot of variety and there were no crowds. The best thing was that there are so many restaurants and bars that food (variety) and drink were always accessible. We did not experience problems with flies or swarms of mosquitos (very few). The room service was great. We would order whatever we wanted which was great for kids. There is a limited wine and beer selection--which is what we expected. It was not a problem for us. The room was spacious. The only thing was that the room was a little bit old and could probably use a renovation soon. Overall, our trip was wonderful and we would like to return again next year with our family. We have told a bunch of our friends about how great it was. Also, the crowd is more family oriented at the Reserve.


5 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Atlanta
Age: 35-44

May 20, 2015
Perfect vacation

Went there with my fiance in April of 2015 and cannot say enough about how great this place was. The service was amazing. I think there was more staff at the hotel than guests. Everywhere you looked, dozens of employees were working hard to make it a great experience. They were all very friendly and accommodating, and could take care of almost anything we wanted. The hotel was beautiful and in great condition. Groundskeepers kept the place looking pristine. There are dozens little spots around the pools, restaurants and basically everywhere you can hang out, get a drink, have some food, whatever you want. The room was always clean and comfortable. We really could not have been happier with the hotel. The restaurants and the buffets were great. Way better quality of food than any other all inclusive resort I've been to. We ate at Gabi Beach almost every day for breakfast and lunch. It was buffet style but the food was always good, with a huge variety. We ate at Mole, LaPalapa, Fuego, La bana, and The Grill for dinners. All were very different and great in their own way. TIP: MAKE RESERVATIONS! I know, the last thing you want to do on vacation is keep a schedule and make reservations but some of the best places fill up so I would recommend just making them for the week when you get there. Also, ask your server for items that are not on the menu and you will find some hidden gems! The beach was perfect. The reserve has a private beach with nice cabanas to lounge in. We spent a lot of time in those. Again, there were always hotel employees around to get you what you needed. At night everything on the beach is lit up to give it a real lounge-like, club feeling. It was always fun to go grab a drink there after dinner, grab a bed or a chair and hang out with your feet in the sand. The nightlife was pretty good, we met a lot of newlywed couples that we hung out with, but it is a big family resort so it doesn't get crazy. Perfect for a couple like us that wants to have fun, but a little too old for the spring break scene. There is no better place to stay in Punta Cana than the Reserve at Paradisus! 10/10 would recommend, would stay there again!

Perfect vacation Perfect vacation
1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Houston, Texas
Age: 25-34