All

The Pyramid at Grand Oasis Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Cancun Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 177 Reviews
Value
 
3.7
Service
 
3.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.2
Dining Options
 
3.7
Room Comfort
 
3.4
3.6 out of 5
"Hotel and staff were nice, friendly. Restaurants are good with many choices, wish they open earlier for breakfast (earliest; 6:30am). Great music" – Cutet
127 out of 197 (64%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Construction Outside room #2 Our hot dog pizza at the Oasis in cancun Hotel from the beach beautiful rough waves with smooth sand freash air lovely weather makes you feel Free from the world one pool shot ocean is magnificent These guys were so fun! Pool Balcony view Disgusting tub View From the Room Early Lunch view from Ibiza Ocean View Room our view view from balcony Shells I got out of the Caribbean Sea Roofing What a view for lunch! view from our room Ocean view room Sunrise view from upper terrace of The Pyramid #1101 Sunrise in Cancun Ocean front room Beautiful magical place to just stay and never come back This bed was so soft our ocean front room

All The Pyramid at Grand Oasis Customer Reviews

1-10 of 177 reviews. Sort by
August 26, 2016
A Week in Cancun

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Pyramid last week and everything was great. The Upgrade to VIP and the Pyramid is really worth it with the additional restaurants and bars that we have access to. The liquor is the real stuff and not the watered down stuff you get at the other bars. The cabanas and beach chairs are so comfortable in the exclusive areas. We were able to try a lot of the restaurants while we were staying and they were all great. A recommendation that we would have is to have an earlier dinner. After 730 the wait is around 40 minutes.The shuttle was great-people were helpful. The time share sharks will always be there but if you say no thanks they stop bothering you. Overall we would come back to the Pyramid!


16 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: San Jose, CA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 17, 2016
Scam: Read the fine print

This resort tries to get over on every little thing so be prepared and aware. Upon checking in I asked since my group of 3 had purchase the top package do we still have to wait in the regular "check in" line. I was told we did, then after waiting in line for like 40mins we finally get to the front to only be told didn't have to wait here an that we have to go somewhere else to check in. So now we go there and check in is a breez. After receiving or key ring it upstairs to our room. To realize there has been some mistake I had to order a suite with a double bed but only got a single bed with three occupants. So they expected three grown men to sleep in one bed for a whole week after nearly spreading 3900$ on this vaction. So now we go downstairs to explain the situation. And they tried to make it seem like it was my fault for not specifically requesting a double bed under "special requests" even though I did select a double bed room. Then they tried to explain its the resort doing bc they don't guaranteed beds it's a first come first serve type of thing unless you specifically ask for it. But my thing is 1. I know for sure I clicked on double bed 2. Why would I get a one bed room for three guys lol. Keep in mind we're staying supposedly at the top hotel for the resort which is the pyramid of grand oasis. So now Grand oasis is telling me it's cheapCaribbean's fault not theres. Then cheap Caribbean on the phone Saying its on grand oasis smh. It came down to they wanted us to wait a night and then maybe the next day if there was a room available they might move it but it wasn't for sure. Our check in time was for 3:30 which meant there was another group coming in at 6 so why couldn't they accommodate us first then worry abt the next group since they messed up. We also never got our free smart car that we were supposed to get if you stay for more than 4 days. They tried to give us some excuse about that. Cleaning service didn't come to make the bed till nearly the evening time. AC didn't work too well in our room so it wasn't cold. The shower has only a half a door so water runs on the ground outside of it. which your gonna need A towel for so you don't slip (which happen a couple times) Good luck on trying to get clean towels also. I heard and seen too many complaints abt this resort so I def won't be returning. PS the beach and pools are really really clean and nice. I will give them that, the grounds are well kept too. Also the workers do try their best to provide the best service they can so please tip if you can


25 of 27 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: New jersey
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 30, 2015
I love Cancun, Grand Oasis soso

I didn't want to come home after 8 nights/9 days in Cancun at the Grand Oasis Resort. The resort was really nice. Check in wasn't so great - stood waiting for over 45 mins to be helped while workers seemed to mill around and talk to each other but never approached us. Eventually we had to get pushy in order to get our room. Took less than 5 mins. Unfortunately, the 1st room we ended up in was not the king size ocean view we asked for. We did get moved, but had to fight very hard for this. Hotel said they didn't have any rooms available and ours was a request based on availability. Since we'd booked 8 months in advance, and I was very pushy, they miraculously found us a room. On the furthest end of the party side of the hotel, so no internet available in the room, but it was beach view and it was king size. Several other guests were checked into that room, and we had to stay put for the first day to ensure it wasn't taken away from us. Turns out we were checked into 3 different rooms. Don't know that the hotel ever figured out which room we were actually in. Resort is huge! Pool is even bigger. So many restaurants to choose from, but unfortunately, none to write home about. Though the 'steak' house had a very interesting concept. No steak, but you helped yourself to a buffet, and then servers brought freshly barbequed meat on a skewer to your table and you could choose to take some or not. After the 8th round of different meats, you're stuffed and had a wonderful experience. Would love to see how that concept works in the US. Entertainment was lacking. This is a "party" hotel, so lots of very loud music and pool side activities. Night entertainment, especially the highlight, somewhat boring. Bands around the resort at night OK, but nothing great. Interestingly, for a party resort, all pool side entertainment stopped at 5p. Closed up, went home I guess. Beach was wonderful, though on the rough side of the island. Lots of waves and as long as you don't mind getting tumbled and your swimsuit full of sand, you'll love it. There were supposed to be free water sports that came with this package. No one ever told us anything about this option, how to access it or anything else. Asked around, and found out on Mon, Wed, Fri, on the bay side, you got these freebies, but never found out where to go for these. We were on excursions on those days so didn't matter. Just interesting that upon check in, all we were given was our key, a porter to take our bags to our room, and that was it. Were also supposed to be able to visit the other Oasis resorts on the island, but no one ever gave us any information about that - how to do it, or where to go. Could have asked, but....the folks in tan outfits all over the grounds - we called them 'flies', they're selling timeshares. Excuse me - lifestyle options. They rope you in by saying as you go by, and you think they're part of the hotel staff "did you get your free gift yet". And that's all it takes. The next thing you know, after they've spent a lot of time getting to know you, telling you about the hotel, 'wining and dining' you without actually 'wining and dining' you, you feel obligated to listen to their sales pitch to try to get you to buy into their program. And the flies are so nice, you don't want them to miss out on their points or bonus or whatever for brining you in to listen to the pitch, so you're stuck! Therefore, the nickname of "flies" We could have asked them, but never just a Q&A with them - so we didn't waste our time. And figured if we got over to the other Oasis resorts, we'd get caught up in yet another timeshare sales pitch, so didn't bother. So basically, all the 'freebies' you hear about in the promotional material - don't be surprised if you don't see any of them. In our promotional material, we were supposed to get a free smart car for the duration of our stay. The hotel staff pretty much laughed at us when we mentioned it. Didn't want a car really, but when you expect something, whether you'll make use of it or not, you want it, right!? You don't need a car on the island. You walk out to the main road - raise your arm at one of the busses that passes by about every 30 seconds, get on - pay $10.50 in pesos per person - and they give change, but only take pesos, no US money. Tell the driver where you're going and for the most part, you'll get there. If you don't, get off, catch a bus going the opposite way to get back to where you intended to get off. When you want to go back to the resort, the #1 hotel bus generally will get you there. We used the bus a lot. It was a great and convenient way to get around. If you want to lock your valuables up in a safe, you will have to rent the lock and key at the reception desk. Said it cost US $7/day. We paid by credit card, with $640 in pesos charged to our card, which turned out to be less than $40, so wasn't $7/day. Don't use the hotel for your currency exchange. They really do short change you. Go into town and you'll get $0.50 or more on your dollar. Remember though, take your passport. New law in Mexico that no currency exchange without a passport. And can only exchange up to $1.5K per month. We found that when bartering for goods or excursions, we got the best price we could find, or at least the price we were OK with in US dollars, and then paid in pesos. Got an even better deal that way, so never actually paid what we bargained for - paid quite a bit less. Don't get your excursions at the hotel - they're way too pricy. Though they will caution you against using the travel agencies in town - don't listen to them. You get quality excursions in town - go to one of the store front agencies, and sometimes even better. Smaller groups, more personal service, and a much bigger bang for your bucks. Everyone cautioned against using the street vendors for excursions. We didn't use these, so can't say whether you should be cautious or not. And don't take the first rate you're offered. We'd already bought our excursion package, but found that once we were no longer in the market, we learned how to negotiate better and could have picked up the same package at almost 50% or more less than what we actually paid. If you want to go to the Isle of Mujeres, and you're not interested in snorkeling - go down to the bay and pay $19 round trip on the ferry. We paid $99 each for an excursion, got one snorkel in 30' water with the package. Would do it again, because it was a small catamaran with about 12 people. The staff were fantastic. Got to hold a shark, all the drinks you wanted, a nice buffet on a private part of the island, the snorkel and gear. But if we'd tried, we could probably have gotten the snorkel package for 1/2 what we paid, including the ferry trip to Mujeres. If you're going to Mujeres and you're into massages, take some extra cash with you. They have dozens of ramadas on the beach, with massage therapists offering 30 mins for $15. Don't know if that's negotiable or not, but it's a fantastic deal at the price asked. If you take the trip to Chichen Itza, and you stop at the little Mayan village along the way, that makes and sells silver or silver/gold name pendants in mayan glyphs, take extra money - roughly $100 for mixed metal. It's so worth it. We didn't have money with us, and would have paid for the excursion again just to go back and get a pendant, if we'd had the time. You can't find these anywhere online. I've tried. If you think, I don't want a mayan pendant with my name on it - which is what I thought, think of it a different way. Maybe get one for you and one for your spouse/significant other, and you wear your spouses name around your neck instead of your own name - maybe in lieu of, or to compliment the ring on your finger. I didn't think of that until a guide on a later excursion to Coba said that's what he and his wife do, instead of a ring. Fell in love with that idea, but out of time to go back and get a pendant. So make sure to take money. They do accept credit cards too. As an American, I wanted to tip all the great people who took care of us, but being on the beach or in a swimsuit all day, often/usually didn't have money with me. It would be great if the hotels had a "tipping" plan that allowed guests to voluntarily give a recommended tip amount for the entire stay that would be divided amongst the staff. Something similar to what they do on a cruise ship. Would also have been great if the hotel had photographers roaming around taking pictures you could buy - at a good cost, so you could buy lots of them. We didn't carry a camera with us, because our camera is expensive and not water proof, and didn't want to leave it lying around while we were in the water. So we missed out on a lot of great photo ops. Wish the hotel(s) would adopt a photo program for purchase. Don't know if other hotels do, but Grand Oasis did not. Overall, we totally enjoyed ourselves. We'd like to go back to Cancun, but not sure we'd stay at the Grand Oasis. Might try some of the other hotels since we weren't blown away with our experience at this hotel. Though, to be honest, it was really great. We've just travelled a lot, stayed in some fantastic places, and had hoped and expected a little more. While it may not have been the perfect match for us, it may be for you.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Arizona
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 9, 2016
Awful

We booked three rooms with each room having two double beds. We were a group of 6 gentlemen. When we arrived we were given rooms with one double bed. Terrible. We asked why and no clear answer. We asked to change rooms and were denied, due to no availability. I immediately called Cheap Carribean, as usual they were very kind and tried to help, the person said she would be in contact with the Resort and see what could be done, in the meantime she said to go to the Concierge and keep asking for the change. First of all, we were unable to get anyone on the phone, we had to go down to the lobby each time to make our request. Not helpful at all, never able to reach anyone, and no one did anything about trying to make our stay enjoyable. We were there for six days, and nothing, never getting anyone's attention. I guess Cheap Carribean couldn't do anything on there end. My mom and dad used Cheap Carribean a few weeks before we went and they only raved about it, but I guess there is just so much they could have done for us, when the Resort was not willing to help. All I can say and I speak for my entire group of 6 The Pyramid at Grand Oasis is TERRIBLE, TERRIBLE SERVICE. We will never go there again, and Cheap Carribean should discontinue using them on their site, because it makes them look bad. VERY DISSAPOINTED AND UNHAPPY. AWFUL PLACE TO STAY AT. Thank goodness that Mexico beach is beautiful, everything else about the Grand Oasis was TERRIBLE. They should close down, since clearly they are not in the business of being a good resort. I could go on and on about how much we hated the place.


13 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 10, 2015
Favorite All Inclusive to date

I thought this was a great resort! I went with a friend (we're both in our late 20's). Conveniently located to the Cancun airport, we were in our room within 45 minutes of getting off the plane. A bellboy took our luggage and ushered us to the Sian Khan Club for check in where we were given drinks--everyone was very friendly and professional! We stayed in the Pyramid portion of the resort. The room itself was very well kept, comfortable, well air conditioned and well stocked with a great view from the balcony. My only complaint is that every evening during the shows it gets *very loud*, so you will have trouble sleeping during that time if you want to. Otherwise, it was great. I LOVED that you didn't need reservations--my friend and I found lots of great food options, but kept returning to specific restaurants because they were so good! Overall I was a little disappointed in the drink choices--most resorts offer a drink menu, but this one didn't. Standards like margaritas, pina coladas, etc. were available and were good. The pools were impeccable, as was the beach. Really the entire resort was exceptionally well kept, with someone seemingly cleaning or updating something at all times. The entertainment was so fun! Though there were families staying with small children, I in no way felt like this was a resort aimed solely at families. There was a pool near a DJ stand with games, classes, etc, or there were more relaxed/quieter pools. The nightly shows were great as well, especially the burlesque shows!! Finally, this is a Lifestyle Resort, and their timeshare people were out in full force. I appreciated, however, that they backed off very quickly if you told them you weren't interested. I had some negative experiences with these employees at a different Lifestyle Resort in the Dominican Republic, but this was much more tolerable. Overall a great stay, and I'd love to return!


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Wisconsin
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 2, 2015
Think Twice

We had 2 parties in our trip. Upon arrival we were taken to a room to the left for their "vip" guests after waiting for over 30 minutes we final went and interrupted an employee who had no idea why we were there. After about an hour to hour and half after arrival we were given our room keys. First thing noticed was the party of 3 was put in a small room, two beds pushed together to make one king size bed, sitting for two and towels for two. The other party consisted of two people and were in a huge room, towels for four and sitting for 3. We were told we had adjoining rooms but because two beds had been pushed into the small room the adjoining door was blocked by night stand. We asked about the mix up no one seemed to speak enough English to understand except for the Manager Robin who was never in when we asked. The 2nd, 3rd and 4th night we had no wash clothes and had to request several times each evening. How do you remove towels from a room every day and NOT put towels back in? The other room lost electricity daily and some days more than once. The toilet in one room would not flush the 2nd night and the maintenance man actually pointed at the female guest and then to the trash can stating "don't flush-throw in trash can". Not only was that rude but the guest has not used a female hygiene product in over 15 years. Not once were any issues addressed or any employee act like they gave a care. Oh yes and that huge pool they have closes at 7:00 PM. If you do not want to get fallen down drunk you really have nothing to do after pool closes. Resort really does not have much to offer and if you have issues they do not care.


16 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: OK
Age: 45-54

November 24, 2015
Room key to someone else's room.

The staff was extremely nice but the resort itself was so disorganized and was absolutely the worst experience I've ever had with trying to check in to my room. First off, we arrive during checkin time and the bell boys direct us to this private room where there is about 20 people just standing around looking at each other confused. About 15 minutes go by and the bell boy comes back in and says we are in the wrong room so he takes us across the hall to another room where people are standing around looking confused. Finally someone begins to talk to us and gives us our wrist bands but says our room is not ready yet and to come back in a few hours. So we go eat at this Mexican restaurant with extremely stale chips and go back to the checkin desk to get our room key. We go up to "our" room, put in the key, open the door and there are already two people in the room in their pajamas. So we go back down and tell the supervisor and he just turns around and walks to the staffing room I assume because he disappears for about 10 minutes. He finally comes back and tells us he doesn't have a room available for us but can let us stay in a cheaper room until one becomes available at 9 PM. Another guy then comes and tells us he got us a junior suite and gives us the key and scoots us away. So we walk with our bags again to a different building that is still having construction work done on it and get to our room that doesn't have any of the amenities cheap Caribbean promised. No daily mini bar. No bottle of wine. No safe. No beach towels. Not even a working telephone to call the front desk and tell them nothing is in the room that we paid for. Oh and the construction banging on the walls was the cherry on top. That and the one elevator not working and we were on the 6th floor. Needless to say, I will not be booking here again nor with cheap Caribbean.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Oklahoma City
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 9, 2016
THE PYRAMID AT GRAND OASIS

Great hotel, lots of entertainment. lots of bars, restaurants, and night clubs. maybe the best for young people and middle age adults. I would recommend this hotel if you want to have lots fo fun and many food venues to eat. Friendly staff and great all inclusive packages at a great price.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Colorado Springs, CO
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 26, 2017
Super great vacation

I read a lot of reviews before I left and was terrified we would have some problems but that was not the case. I loved this place. The food was abundant but shop around, a lot of the food is bland. I think a lot of that has to do with their culture and not the quality of the food. It is not spicy like you would expect but some restaurants have more americanized food that was really good. I preferred Careyes, they have steak, chicken and very yum. The pool was super large and there was always a great place to sit. Best seats are for the early risers though so go early if you have a preference. The beach was in front of our hotel so we only had to walk a few feet. They have these wonderful beds that you can lay in but again these are first come, first served so go early. We had to grab a bed by 6am. There are several buildings so do your homework before you book. We signed up for the pyramid so we had the black bracelets. Well worth the difference. We had full access to the hotel, shows and restaurants. I enjoyed the shows very much. They were professionally done and very entertaining. I especially liked the Blanco show. They change each night so check the schedule. The room was nice and clean and they cleaning staff was super wonderful. Some of the staff do not speak a lot of English so be patient, it is their country. There is beer everywhere as well as mixed drinks. Some of the bars do not open til 10 or later so pace your day. I really enjoyed my stay. I have no negatives to report. I noticed some had warm/hot water. My best advice is to learn your shower, ours was very hot so you had to learn how to adjust your faucets. The air in my room worked great, it was nice and cool after a long day in the sun. We did have to tell them to fill the fridge a few times. They told my husband there was a form you could fill out and put on the door. Over all I loved this trip. Just remember to say Please and thank you like your mother taught you and you should have great service and a wonderful time.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: kentucky
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 20, 2016
extremely disappointed

To start I've been to Mexico almost every summer for about 12 years now and have tried many different hotels just to keep things interesting. This was by far the worst experience we've had. Yes there a many places to eat but there are probably only 3 in an air conditioned building. The only dress code to eat was that you have clothes on nothing specific about the type so we were dressed for dinner sitting next to not so pleasant people (I'll leave that to your imagination). The food that we did eat was ok I would rate it 3 out of 5. Onto the room, we were in the upgraded rooms and I would hate to see what a normal room looked like if ours was considered upgraded. We had 3 people in a room and only 1 bed it took us until 9pm to get another bed moved into our room. The room was air conditioned thank goodness but the mini fridge wasn't cold. First hotel I've stayed at that doesn't provide room service which was a big disappointment!! The beach was awesome but to sit anywhere near the hotel bar you have to pay for a chair or bed - unless you want to throw your towel on the sand but you will still have to go to the bar yourself. You basically have to pay for a waitress to bring drinks by, first hotel I've had to do this at. The pool was nasty hot felt like we were swimming in warm urine, needless to say we stayed in the ocean. The locals hung out under the bushes that were on the ocean side and we saw them take a few girls back to "smoke" from what I could tell. The only good thing i can talk about is an ice cream machine they had that worked 3 of the 5 days we stayed. Had I not been to Mexico before... this hotel would make me not want to come back. The customer service was poor and from the moment we walked in the door we saw people complaining to management (take that somewhere out of sight), the nightly entertainment is in the pyramid and it's loud which is where you sleep it's over by 9pm but if you had little ones that were sleeping they would be disturbed. We didn't get a bargain on this hotel either so as much as I would like to say you get what you pay for I can't..it should've been much better. We will never stay here again and would never recommend it to anyone. We will probably be looking to go somewhere other than Mexico regardless but had this been a good trip we would be coming back. All inclusive should be ALL. It seems like the resorts are trying to find additional ways to make money and we end up paying for things that should be part of the package. Tip.. Bring your own tanning lotion and sunblock even if you have to divide it into 3.4 oz bottles, we only took carry ons and had to purchase them at the hotel. We ended up paying 50 usd for tanning lotion and sunblock!!!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Fort Worth, TX
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year