All

the Level at Melia Caribe Tropical Resort Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Punta Cana Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 141 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
4.2
Room Comfort
 
4.4
4.4 out of 5
"Staying at the Level was wonderful. Only way to do the resort! Love the VIP LOUNGE, the butler, the dining options, the spa, etc" – Gshop
136 out of 161 (84%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Chillaxing every day The Level main pool Adults pool Pool Outside Main Building Saona Island excursion happy hour view of the beach Relaxing At the Tropical level Broken smelled like sewage Moldy, stinky and not clean View from the beach buffet. Speedboat ride

All the Level at Melia Caribe Tropical Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 141 reviews. Sort by
March 16, 2015
STOP right now and book this resort!

This is my first review ever but I had to write about how amazing this place is. When we decided to book an all inclusive vacation in the DR i went cross eyed from reading reviews, so let me get right to it. Here is what you need to know about The level. It is absolutely gorgeous, a real piece of heaven. Great friendly staff, very clean, comfortable bedrooms, delicious food and drinks. It was our first all inclusive and had huge reservations about the quality of the food etc. Don't worry they really run a great high end resort. I really only have tips for you if you book this resort, which you totally should. On check in they took our bags and said when we got to our room they would be there, this didn't happen I had to repeatedly call and ask where our bags where it took about 3 hours my advice, do not leave your bags insist they stay with you. The level is the adults only part of the Melia Tropical. It has its own restaurants and bar but you can also use the many options at the Melia Tropical. We did not like the Dominican restaurant and found we would rather stay at The Level restaurants. You also get access to the GABI club for lunch which is right on the beach and the chief was very accommodating special ordered burgers and toasting our buns!! Attention to detail which we loved! The Level has a private pool and beach again for Adults only. The swim up bar is awesome although you don't have to leave your lounge chair as they also have walking waiters to get your drinks for you! You could eat all day if you wanted to, in between lunch and dinner there is a hot food bar steps from the pool. Cocktails are well mad and the local beer was great! Do NOT change your money to peso. They love the dollar but bring a lot of small bills for tipping it was impossible to get change. The staff spoke good English and were very helpful. Cheap Caribbean was great from start to finish I recommend booking the shared transport to and from your resort to the airport and also recommend going to the meeting with your rep as he gives you tips and you can buy day or half day adventures off campus. We did one and it was great fun! There are many to choose from. Ladies pack light all you need is pool wear and a few nice dresses for dinner. I would and will book this trip again. Do it, you won't regret it!!!!

Adults pool
41 of 45 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Nantucket Ma
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 24, 2015
One of the nicer resorts

Very large community so I hope you don't mind waiting to get to other locations. Can wait up to a half hour for a cart to drive you to the next spot! The restaurant choices you have you think are going to be open every night but they aren't, only about 4 a night. No reservations required so you will wait for awhile to be seated. Our room was nice except for the shower door doesn't closer. We found we weren't the only ones. So when you get out your floor is soaked and is a slipping hazard. We told the resort, someone called us but never made an attempt to fix the problem. Be sure to read the fine print on the menus in your room. You can get free stuff they just don't tell you. For example we had the room with a Jacuzzi tub. We can get a free bath salt drawn with swan towels made and for an extra charge candles and rose peddles, so that was a nice romantic perk. If you sit on the beach and try to relax sales people will come around and harass you to buy excursions, massages and braid your hair. The staff is friendly and willing to help and answer questions. Food is very good no matter were you eat, buffet or restaurant. Resort is clean. Overall it's one of the nicer resorts I'd seen while vacationing. We would recommend it to our friends and family.


13 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia, Pa
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 17, 2016
The pictures don't do it justice.

So the review title sums up most of the review. The pictures don't do this resort justice. It's absolutely beautiful. We stayed at the Level area which is an adults only designated area of the resort. The sheer size of the resort is astounding. It's like it's very own functioning fantasy city within Punta Cana. Tucked away so perfectly that it creates a truly isolated (in a good way) retreat from the trials and tribulations of real life. Essentially what I would define vacation as. Escapism wrapped in the tropical scenery of a place that feels beyond comprehension. The staff was always hard at work and it showed. From the meticulously manicured grounds to the omnipresent feeling of knowing that someone was within arms reach if you had a single request for anything. Everyone was super friendly and attentive. The food was pretty delicious. With a lot of really great ala Carte options if you weren't into being on any type of schedule. The beach was absolutely beautiful. The white sand and all were truly stunning and super relaxing. Of all the trips I've been on and particularly the ones I've booked through this website, I would have to say that this one in particular, is one of my favorite places I've ever stayed. You get a lot of bang for your buck and upon arrival, you're surprised, but in the best way. It completely overshadows the images and trumps any pre conceived notions you had before arrival. The core of my review is that it was great. Would I return? In a heartbeat. Do I feel like it was worth my money? Absolutely.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Hudson Valley, New York
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 23, 2015
Amazing First Experience

First, pictures can't even do this resort justice. It's absolutely beautiful. It was my first time to the Dominican & an all inclusive resort and it was unbelievable. The service from this staff is so great, basically everyone speaks Spanish, but majority of the staff speaks pretty well English and understand it, too. I went with my boyfriend and we felt the Level was nicer during the day, but at night we wanted to go to where it was more lively at the other main lobbies. It was pretty quiet around the Level in the evening, but there's always golf carts arriving to take you to the other lobbies. The resort was huge. We were only there 5 days and probably didn't even see half of it. 5 days was definitely not enough. The pools were great, the bars were great, the beach was gorgeous, just some seaweed.. I heard from other travelers that the side of the Dominican Melia is at (Atlantic Ocean side) the water isn't AS beautiful as the other side (Caribbean Sea). It was still beautiful and the water was extremely warm. Didn't have many people trying to sell stuff unless you went down the beach to the shops where the workers were lingering around outside ready to ask you to look at their shop. Even then, the workers in the shops would give you free bracelets, or necklaces, and it was pretty easy to negotiate/bargain with them. The food was pretty good, I don't eat seafood, but there was plenty of other choices than that, but a lot of seafood! One night we went to the Japanese restaurant which was one of the only two restaurants NOT included in the all inclusive resort. It was very good and worth the money, but there was many more restaurants with apparently similar food if you're not trying to spend the extra money. The room was beautiful- large shower, jacuzzi, very clean, nice balcony. I definitely recommend this resort and would go again. Also---- booking through CheapCaribbean was perfect. Had the shared round-trip transfer and never encountered any problems at any point in the trip!!

Amazing First Experience Amazing First Experience
6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 2, 2015
Nice Resort

Spent 7 days at the Level melia caribe for honey moon in august.. The Suite was very nice and spacious. Jacuzzi was awesome inside the room and balcony was great. Our resort guide was vicente A+ service. dont be surprised if you see Kids on the resort. advertising adults only resort is misleading. it is basically 2 sections on the same resort so you WILL see kids around.. with the level upgrade you get an adult only pool and PART of the beach as well as the gabi restaurant.you decide if its worth the extra money. The resort is big, you can take a ride on the many Golf carts that transport you where you need to go. (better learn some spanish) for food, you get 2 big buffets in the morning and lunch. (OK) for dinner you have a choice of 10 restaurants which are excellent. the food was excellent in all the restaurants, the service by the staff was excellent , i did not meet any rude workers the whole time i was there. very friendly. The beach is below average really, it is full of seaweed and nothing spectacular about it but its minor. there is a buffet on the beach too. There is nothing to do at night at the resort other than drink and watch the daily show at 9 30 pm. thats about it. so be prepared to be bored at night time! they need to do more for night time. Tip:while out of the room, Hide all your valuables, Bring cash with you and do not convert to peso. don't use your credit card. bring a lot of $1 bills to tip workers , they love it and will remember you! before purchasing any gifts on the resorts vendors, walk to palma real shopping center outside the resort first to see prices so you dont get over charged dealing with the locals. always check how much a dollar is worth in pesos. i would go again but only for 3 or 4 days. Cheapcaribbean.com made booking the trip very easy they booked the flights and everything was good.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: usa
Age: 25-34

April 9, 2015
All you'd expect in a resort!

Everything you could possibly want and need to have a relaxing enjoyable vacation is at your disposal at the Level. This is a place to relax without being interrupted by kids running around and being loud. The dining options were plentiful and the food was delicious. The beach and pool were immaculate and the waiters and staff were always smiling and greeting you. The only downside, was the "Club Melia" employees who are dressed in all white, even white shoes, constantly coming up to us to entice us to buy a time share. We agreed to do it and for a 90 minute meeting we got a free 50 minute massage. Other employees don't know we had the meeting though and would still ask wherever we went. Just say you already had the meeting and walk away because if you don't, they will keep asking you questions about your trip to entice you in conversation to buy the time share.


9 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 18, 2015
We will be back!

Amazing, utterly amazing. Beautiful grounds, friendly staff, immaculate. Food is really good, drinks are great and plentiful. We had peace when we wanted it in our section and then we were a golf cart away to the noise when we wanted that! Best vacation we have ever had!!

We will be back!
4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Massachusetts
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 21, 2016
FANTASTIC

We just arrived home fromn this FANTASTIC RESORT,dont be swayed by negative reviews ..we are very picky and were very suprised on just everyhting with this resort that we are booking it again and bringing the whole fam jam ..food at the LEVEL was just excellent you can have steak and lobster for lunch every day if you like and all high end booze too starting at 7 am...service was just great with no complaints!!! really if i had any i would tell them ..great beach.great drinks..great great food in the restaurants and buffets ..just go its a very nice and relaxing stress free 1st class hotel!!! Cheers


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Ontario Canada
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 3, 2017

*** Before I do my review of the hotel I want to review CheapCaribbean.com and offer a word of advice. CheapCaribbean.com was very easy to work with and navigate and paying for transfer with their partners (Amstar) was easy to use also. However if you have never been to the Dominican Republic make sure you pre buy your tourist card (we did, saves you a lot of time coming into the country), however you will be required to complete an entrance form for each member of your party as well as a customs form. These documents will be given to you on the flight prior to landing, they will not provide you with any pens in which to complete said forms, nor will the Dominican airport. Make sure you or someone in your party has a pen with them. Completing these forms on the flight will save you a lot of time and you can go straight to the customs line. Many folks (like us) were left trying to find a pen, or a spot to complete said forms in the hall of the airport. *** We absolutely enjoyed our adult’s only vacation! We are parents who wanted to celebrate our 10 year anniversary without kids for a few days of one on one time. The Level Melia allowed for this and meet all our needs and then some. In our reservation on CheapCaribbean.com we stated we would be celebrating in hopes of getting a room with a king bed vs two doubles. We were more than impressed with how our trip went from start to finish. A lot of people reviewing the resort state it is huge and they felt lost. The resort is very large, but never once did I feel lost … Let’s start from the beginning. The Amstar shuttle dropped us off at the Melia Caribe lobby and right away we were made to feel welcomed. We noticed quickly there were two distinct desks in which to announce your arrival. One for the main resorts (Caribe and Tropical) the other for the Level Melia. We briefly spoke with the female representative who quickly crossed our names off her printed list, gave us a leather wrist band to state we were “Level Adult Only” guest, at this point she also labeled our luggage with our resort and room number. Within about two minutes she had a concierge staff escort us to the Level Lobby; from there we were escorted to a waiting golf cart who took us to the Level VIP Lounge. Upon walking into the lounge we were asked to have a seat, we were quickly brought a welcome drink, and a representative asked for our passports and reservation conformation information; at this point we sat back and enjoyed our drink while taking in the view of the foam party that was taking place in the Level pool outside. It was about a 5 minute wait before we were introduced to our butler. Upon meeting he gave us a brief tour of the Level Building, in this building was the Level Bar, Level VIP Lounge (free Wi-Fi and computers to use). He then showed us Cuatro and all it had to offer. Cuatro is the section of the building in which the buffet is held, it also holds the Peruvian, Italian, and Steak and Lobster restaurants; I’ll come back to those. He then escorted us to building 32 which is one of the furthest buildings away from the beach. Along the way he pointed out and the pool and pool bar, the beach area, the beach bar, the gym and the spa. It took less than five minutes to walk back to our building. However if you are older or have health needs I could understand how this could take longer but honestly it’s a pretty walk taking in all the surrounding landscape. We were in room 3203 on the ground floor with a garden view and a cabana bed outside our room. We were greatly surprised upon entering out room, we had been upgraded from a suite to a Jacuzzi suite which was amazing. Our butler explained everything in the room (which honestly isn’t much) and gave us his contact number in case we needed anything. If you want to make reservations at the spa, the Gabi or any of the other non-included restaurants (Japanese and Steak and Lobster) you would go through your butler. Once we got settled our bags were delivered to our room and we were able to get situated in the manor we wished. We also had a very sweet message from staff on celebrating our anniversary along with a towel animal which was nice. It made you feel like they went that extra step to make you feel special. The rooms are modern and clean, there was no odor like mentioned in other reviews. The rooms are older and show a little age but nothing that would keep me from having a good time. The beach was clean and spacious. There is seaweed close to the ocean but not enough to bother you while tanning on the beach. They do try and keep the seaweed cleaned up but be realistic you’re on an island. They do allow vendors to walk up and down the beach, they were not overly bothersome and a strong No Gracias was all it took to send them away. There was always plenty of chairs and cabanas, we never felt like we couldn’t find a spot to sit nor did it ever feel like they ran out of towels. The do state they do not allow people to save seats (often referred to as the towel game) however it is not enforced and people do go out early to claim spots. But again we never noticed that there was a shortage of chairs. They also do not enforce who can be on the level beach, we noticed on multiple days guest from the Caribe were down on the level side of the beach which was much calmer then its counterpart. The pool and pool bar were great! Again you do see the towel game but we never had any issue finding two chairs together. They do allow rafts in the pool which I was not expecting, some were large and obnoxious but we did not let that lessen then fun we had. You can also purchase rafts at the market store on the Caribe side of the resort. The pool bar was always fun, Victor was a great bartender and our drinks never were watered down like previous reviews have stated. We never did the spa as I felt it was way overpriced, however we did take advantage of the gym one morning. They have a few treadmills and a few elliptical machines along with some weight machines and free weights. We found it nicer to just jog the resort every morning before breakfast. Now onto the food!! Cuatro – We did the breakfast and lunch buffets here almost every day. Breakfast was good, they have a two stations where you can have omelets made up or just request fried eggs. They have a nice selection of cheeses, breads, bagels, donuts and cereal. Also a nice selection of fresh fruit, juices, and breakfast meats and sides. Honestly you have to be extremely picky to not find something that you like, and the hot chocolate and coffee were divine. // the lunch buffet was good but nothing to get overly excited about. You could choose from salads, fresh fruit, ice cream, steaks, chicken, fish all grilled or cooked fresh. Peruvian – We heard this was hit or miss by other guest. We ate here our first night and were a little overwhelmed with the menu as it’s in three different languages. We asked our waiter for recommendations and he did not fail us. My husband had bluefish tuna steak and it was amazing, I had some steak and chicken dish and it was just as good as his dish. Italian - We never ate here Steak and Lobster restaurants – We ate here our last three nights and honestly I wish we would have only ever had dinner here. It was never full so we always were able to get right in. We had salmon, filets or T-bones, and lobster. Not once did we have a bad or under cooked meal. Do not waste your money and pay for steak and lobster when you can have it for free here. Gabi – Never made reservations here We did one night go to the main resort to have Tex-Mex and it was just blah. Nothing about it was good or exciting. The main resort at night is incredible busy and loud, stay on the level side and enjoy the intimate setting. Overall we had an amazing trip, made some new friends and came home feeling refreshed. I would book the Level Melia again in a heartbeat.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Minnesota,
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 13, 2015
Divine Escape

I don't even know where to begin! I stayed at "The Level Melia Caribe Tropical Hotel" in Punta Cana and I had the best time!! THE LEVEL is a portion of the property that offers VIP service, such as golf cart transportation to and from your room, restaurants, the beach, etc. It is also said to be an ADULTS ONLY side with private pools, bars and restaurants and reserved beach seating. The rooms are fabulous and comfortable with jacuzzi tubs included. If you choose this resort i HIGHLY recommend THE LEVEL. There is so much to do whether you go single or with family and friends. The property is lush with ponds, tall palm trees, pools and a bar at every corner! The staff is beyond helpful and everyone is really nice. They boast of having 10+ restaurants to give people a good variety of food options. Dominican food, Japanese Cuisine, american restaurant, peruvian, etc. This resort is a TRUE ALL-INCLUSIVE resort! there were no hidden fees or bills that I faced once I arrived. I do advise to PLEASE PLEASE TIP the waiters and staff. They are not paid well at all, but they go out of their way at all hours of the day! a few dollars can go a long way for them. If you are looking to do excursions BEWARE of the beach merchants they will charge you an arm and a leg! Go to the lobby to purchase from LEGIT companies who specialize in whatever it is you want to do! Zip-lining, snorkel, scuba diving/snuba diving, parasailing etc. The prices are very affordable and many of the tour companies offer lunch/snack while away from the resort at no extra charge. Like traveling anywhere beware of your surroundings and do not wander off the property late at night alone. Dominican people love their tourist so they take great care of you!

Divine Escape Divine Escape
12 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: San Diego, CA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year