All

Tesoro Los Cabos Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Los Cabos Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 18 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
3.8
Beaches & Pools
 
3.9
Dining Options
 
3.5
Room Comfort
 
3.4
3.7 out of 5
14 out of 19 (74%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Marina from pool area at dusk View from our room

All Tesoro Los Cabos Customer Reviews

1-10 of 18 reviews. Sort by
April 4, 2013
Time share sales pitch--the cost of being in Cabo

I thought staying at a hotel in town meant there would be no requirement to attend time share sales seminars. I was wrong. Immediately after check-in, before we even took our bags to the room, we were shuffled off to the concierge to "plan our activities." The concierge was very upset with us because we had booked all our excursions before we arrived. She wanted us to cancel them so she could book them for us. We realized the discounts she offered were in exchange for attending a time share seminar. For the first day and a half we had to repeatedly tell her we would not attend a seminar. I explained that my husband and I lead meetings every day for our jobs and did not want to spend any of our vacation sitting in another meeting and that we had no interest in buying a time share. I finally paid her off to leave us alone, only to be accosted by her manager the next day insisting that we could spare the time for a sales meeting. Lesson learned. Apparently, there is no way to vacation in Cabo and avoid a timeshare sales meeting. You have to attend the meeting and just chalk it up to part of the cost of being in Cabo. The rooms are nice, but as another reviewer mentioned, they are a little small and some rooms can be noisy. Our first night we were in the building with the Sky Pool. We did not hear the loud music from the pool but were awoken several times with noisy guests coming down the hall. The hallways are stone and plaster and the sounds are amplified into the rooms. The second day we asked for a quieter room and moved to the fourth floor of the main building. We had to walk one flight of stairs to our room but the quiet was worth it. Except for the rabid time share concierge and noisy first night, our stay was very comfortable and the staff very friendly and helpful. The free breakfast is very good. It is served at the Lighthouse restaurant next door, serving fresh cooked eggs and pancakes with fruit and juice. There also is a breakfast buffet in the hotel with a very large assortment of fruits, meat, burritos, cook to order omelets, etc. The cost for the buffet is $5.


49 of 50 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 11, 2014
Great Location...Has a few issues

First I have to say this is a wonderful location to be in the middle of everything. If you get your airport transport you don't need a vehicle after that due to everything is with in walking distance to every thing. The good: The pool is fantastic. I am normally not a pool person but this one is fabulous. Great hot tub I don't remember seeing any children. Bar is not a swim up but right beside the pool for easy access and the view of the boats in the marina are great. The breakfast is wonderful served pool side buffet style with table service that is very good. We tipped the guy well because he was great to us and remembered us every morning. The second room we were put in was great! The location was on the same level as the pool with a balcony. I highly recommend this area. Ask for pool side. Many mornings we just went right out the balacony door and right to the pool because we were on the same level. We left the room unlocked and never felt like it was in any danger. The bad: The first room we were put was city view. It was not a bad room, a little older had some cosmetic issues but the airconditioner was shot. We had to go down and tell them we couldn't sleep like this. They took care of it professionally and moved us to a different room. The wifi is a little slow, we paid for 3 days so we could chat online with our kids. Because the service was so slow all we were able to do was email without everything freezing up. No big deal but if you plan on facetiming you might think twice. There are bars up and down the marina that offer wifi if you go in for a drink they will give you a password. It might be worth it to do this. The water pressure is a little weak. The showers are huge but a little older so you can see the flaws in the grout. They really do try to maintain the grounds, we constantly saw people working on everything to keep it clean and updated. The overall: If you are expecting American 5 star standards this place will fall short cosmetically, however everything is really nice and clean and the people are wonderful, for Mexican 5 star standards it was great. I would stay here again and recommend to anyone traveling. We had a great time and slept great.


20 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: crowley, TX
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 17, 2013
Comfortable stay in Cabo!

The room was nice, and the service was good. Our room was always clean, and they have a great pool and dayclub. We traveled here for spring break and it suited our needs as college students very well. Would definitely return there when traveling to cabo. It's also close to everything so you don't need a cab to get around.


13 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Pullman, WA
Age: 19-24
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 30, 2013
Wyndham

The Wyndham was a perfect location for a getaway. While not on the beach, we were fine with that since the location for everything else was amazing and I'm more of a pool person anyway. The staff was great. The free breakfast was much more than expected and the hotel was very clean. Check in was a bit of a mess with only one person working and the phone ringing the whole time. Check in took about 30 minutes from the time he started our reservation and checkout took him about 45 minutes. And that doesn't count the time waiting in line. I hope they fix that. I would certainly stay here again.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Denver
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 14, 2013
Our Cabo Experience.

We just returned from a week in an absolutely wonderful place. When trying to decide where to vacation, we remembered that had spent a day in Cabo two years ago and decided that we wanted more time there. The location for this hotel is perfect for walking to the beach (10-15 minutes) and close to great restaurants, shopping and other water activities at the marina. We awoke every morning except one to beautiful sunshine and warm temperatures. Our hotel package included breakfast and it was much more than you expect from hotel breakfast. It included several wonderful local dishes as well as an omelet station and lots of fresh fruit every day. We dined in a shaded open air patio with a view of the marina and the sunshine. Breakfast would be a bit pricey if not a part of your package, oh and please tip the wait staff, they are wonderful and hard working. Esp. Miguel. He went out of his way to get us cups to take our coffee with us. The pool is beautiful and extremely clean and well maintained. There are 2 hot tubs big enough for groups to converse and enjoy drinks. Some didn't like security at the pool. His name is Adrian and he is super nice, We didn't mind because he made sure that others didn't abuse the facilities as we've experienced at other hotels. The pool/bar service is top notch and we enjoyed getting to know Mimi. She is so friendly and pleasant and always smiling. She remembers your drink preferences from the first visit. You can check out towels for the pool or the beach (something we overheard on our 2nd day). Also, ask about the times for drink specials. We enjoyed lunch in our poolside cabana, what a treat! The front desk staff was always pleasant and helpful. We asked to see our room before accepting and were not given any resistance. (A tip I read from a previous review) Raul is one of the valet staff and he was so pleasant. He escorted us to the first room and we were not pleased with the location. He then took us back to the front to obtain a different room and it was a very good location with a large balcony overlooking the city and hillside architecture. He called for patio furniture to be delivered and it was in place by the time we had completed check in. We had a large balcony window and door and enjoyed watching the evening lights on the patio. We had a few glitches but the maintenance staff was prompt and took care of all the little problems we encountered. The only real annoying thing with this hotel is that they make you wear an arm band with the hotel name on it at all times. It is not only ugly but gives other vendors a way of approaching you because they say "oh, so I see you are staying at the Wyndham". Not cool, this needs to be addressed by this resort. There must be a better way! We choose to walk to a little market behind the hotel to purchase water and snacks. The mini bar prices aren't horrible but we wanted to stock a small foam cooler with ice and water. We also took coffee packets that we could use in the little coffee maker in the room, the first days coffee is complementary with small bottled water but we drink a lot of coffee so having our own supply saved money. The coffee at breakfast is great and plentiful. I won't speak to other activities except to say that you should not be shy in haggling prices even at the hotel concierge. We didn't do any timeshare presentations because it is not our thing. We did hear of people getting some nice perks for their time so you can decide. They are not as annoying as most reviews I read, just smile and say 'No Gracias" and they leave you alone. Same with all vendors throughout the area, I have to admire their persistence because they know that Cabo relies on tourism completely for their economy and to remain a "safe location" in Mexico. Cheap Caribbean is the way to go for a great vacation with all the details in place. We will definitely use this company again. Thanks for a great week!!!!


9 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New Mexico
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 5, 2015
beauitful view

I would rate this resort as average..... Three stars....keeping that in mind you pay for what you get....I book it three weeks out on a short notice.....the hotel is nice....it's under reconstruction..... so when it's done, and updated it'll look great.....the staff were great, a little slow sometimes...but you have to remembert they're on Cabo time....lol...food was average......good breakfast, pool was ok....got too warm in the afternoon..it was the only pool, and look dirty at times....they advertise a pool bar....and they have one....but it wasn't open.....the room we had was small, they called ita deluxe room with a view.....the view was awesome of the marinena, at night so beautiful....the hotel being central located down town, that was a plus....plenty of stores and restaurants within walking distance, best restaurant to eat at, "we found" and we ate there twice is, Pocho's on the marinena.. .so over all, "average hotel"...I was pleased...just watch your billing they seem to try to add extras..


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Fresno, California
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 16, 2014
Wyndham Cabo San Lucas - Leaves Much to be Desired

I was sadly disappointed in the Wyndham Cabo San Lucas Resort and would say don’t let the “Wyndham” name tied to this resort fool you. The only selling point of staying at this resort is the location and location alone. Upon arrival for our stay in the first weekend of April 2014, we were chased down in the lobby before even making it to the front desk by a ‘welcome greeter’ who had a ‘welcome package’ for us. This ‘welcome greeter’ was only interested in selling us packages to tours in and around the city. While we understand tours are a major market in this area and everyone seems to have a better deal than the last person, letting your hotel guests check-in first should be a priority. We were also very disappointed in the atmosphere of the hotel. The lobby was old, dingy, dark, and a bit depressing. The rooms could be characterized as same. After check-in we were given the keys to our room and after walking for a bit along the long halls and climbing the narrow stairs to our room on the 5th floor we were shocked to see that we were given a room with a king sized bed and not a room with two double beds as requested with our reservation, as confirmed with corporate office prior to our arrival and re-confirmed with the clerk, Jose, who checked us in. After finally getting the room situation straightened out we were once again disappointed to see that while we were now given a room with two double beds, we were also given a room that did not include a balcony as the first room provided or a room with a ‘city view.’ Instead we were provided a room with a view of the radiators located on the roof and not of the ‘spectacular city views’ as their website indicates each room has. The bathroom door also was not fitted correctly and would not shut. The rods in the closet were hung so low that our clothes didn’t just lightly sweep the floor but they hung very low on the floor. We did partake in the breakfast buffet option and actually quite enjoy it. The room literature indicated they offered room service but did not include a menu, so I can’t conclude if this was an option and if it was, we may have enjoyed it one night after a long day at the beach. Our miniature refrigerator in the room also did not contain the drinks and/or snacks as the room literature indicated it would have. However it was nice to have the miniature refrigerator in the room to keep bottled water cold. When we inquired at the front desk about the shuttle to the nearby beaches as the Wyndham Cabo San Lucas Resort indicates they offer, we were told they don’t offer shuttle service and instead we are to take a taxi. Also, in this day and age not offering free WiFi to your guests in certain areas such as in the lobby seems to be a tad outdated. Especially when restaurants along the marina and even on the beach are offering free WiFi. In sum, calling this place a resort is comical and it should be considered more of a motel/hotel. I would only recommend this place to someone who is only looking for a bed to lay their head because they much prefer the proximity of the marina including restaurants and bars. For truly the only selling point of the Wyndham Cabo San Lucas Resort is the location and everything else leaves much to be desired.


8 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Houston, TX
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 24, 2014
Location, location, location

If you are looking for a "resort" feel, this is not your hotel. However, if you want to be close to the action, this hotel is great. The rooms are average and the hotel is somewhat dated but not run down. The security is great...no admittance to pool/rooms w/o wrist band. I know some people complained because friends or family couldn't visit but for us it was great. That meant kids (college) were safe during spring break and it also meant that pool was never over crowded. Was noisy at night but that was due to spring break and expected. Restaurants, shops, excursions and bars close by. No taxi rides here. Free breakfast (very good) and pretty much 2x1 drinks almost all day if not hotel then bars just outside. College kids drank a lot and total room tabs for 3 rooms total 6 adults/6days...just over $400. We were shocked and very happy. Rooms coldest we've ever had in Mexico and beds comfortable. However we were only in rooms at night so all we needed was a comfortable/safe/clean place to sleep. Wyndham staff helpful and the location was so convenient.

Marina from pool area at dusk
4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Kansas
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 7, 2014
Extremely friendly staff, Great location!

As first timers in Cabo, my husband and I didn't know what to expect at all. Let me make this brief. We had an amazing time. Wyndham is right at the corner of the marina, near great restaurants, and walking distance to Medano Beach. As we explored the area, I grew to really appreciate the hotel's location as it is in a more peaceful part of the area, compared to the hotels along Medano Beach. Too many people there, in my opinion. The hotel has a great pool (with a bar IN the water), and the staff is SO incredibly friendly. Make sure to purchase a package with breakfast included. The food is great - a mixture of mexican and american dishes - and the breakfast restaurant is located on the 2nd floor terrace overlooking the beautiful marina. That floor also has lots of space to lounge around. Great bargain. We will definitely visit again.


6 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: San Francisco, CA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 13, 2017
Best bang for the buck in cabo

After staying with the miss here for 4 nights all i have to say is WOOOW. having stayed at other resorts in Cabo this is by far the best deal we've ever had. the sevice was excellent and hotel was nicely keeped. the pool is on the small side but the views of the marina and ocean more than make up for it! best part of all your right in downtown so sight seeing and tasting all of mexico's excellent food is a walk away! to top it off cheap Caribbean found us the best deal on line! I would highly recommended to anyone looking for the best deal online.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: orange county
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations