All

Temptation Resort and Spa Cancun Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Cancun Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 204 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
4.2
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.7
4.1 out of 5
"It is spring break for adults during the day and romantic at night. Would highly recommend this resort to friends and family." – clobmw
209 out of 249 (84%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
they help u find a star fish Can you say Tequila!!! Coco Bongo Staff putting on a show for the resort. Black outfit party night The view from our room Loved it here Temptations Beach & Ocean View foam party our view from our room our room Falling in love again in Cancun Air vent in room ttemptation View from my room Our View Paty O's sexy pool paty o bar/lounge Lamp in room All the food was so Delicious!! Morning on the Beach :) our view

All Temptation Resort and Spa Cancun Customer Reviews

1-10 of 204 reviews. Sort by
December 28, 2012
Something I will do again

Temptations---Cancun Fabulous!!!! I will start with a BIG SUGGESTION, and that is, once you reach Cancun, get your bags and go through Customs, avoid all of the people that offer to help you. The only people who are going to offer you help or assistance are those that are trying to set you up for a time share presentation. When you leave customs, find the arrow for ground transportation and GET OUT OF THE TERMINAL! When you get to the resort, get checked in and tell your Customer Service Rep that you need to go directly to your room, even if you have to fake feeling bad. If not, they will take you to their “Concierge”, who turns out to be a time-share representative that will start your presentation. These people are good and have a very high close rate for sales, so if you are not in the market, avoid them! Temptations is an Adults Only resort. You will see people that practice the “lifestyle”, but they are not predators! My wife and I are not swingers, and when this was established in conversation, the other party was respectful and courteous and was never overbearing. As for the resort itself. The food was very much above normal for an all-inclusive. It is best to eat at regular mealtimes, unless you want to go to one of the eateries and order from the menu. The Embarcadero Restaurant is the main place to eat, and has a very good variety of foods. The specialty restaurants are very good. But some “Fine Dining” items have an extra charge. Our rooms were great! We did not experience any of the problems mentioned in other reviews, and we got the towel origami on our bed daily. We were well away from “The Paty O Lounge”, so we did not experience the loud music at night. The pools are great. Check the fact sheet for details. The Sexy pool is the place. While all pools are topless optional, the sexy pool is a place for fun and is the center of daytime activity. This is an adult’s only resort, and there is a certain amount of petting, but nothing inappropriate. There were some really interesting suit bottoms worn by some of the women, leaving very little to the imagination, while other women wore a sun block 50 and a full one piece swim suit, and you couldn’t see anything if you tried. No one seemed to care, one way or the other. The beach is somewhat small, but it was never crowded. There was an abundance of lounge chairs, hammocks and other items for your comfort, and there are people cleaning debris from the beach as it washes in. The daytime crowd was always at the sexy pool. The resort staff entertains with an adult, but they were not overbearing, and only those that chose to participate were involved. The booze flows freely you would be well advised to get the large insulated cups for your drinks, or you will spend a lot of your time going to and from the bar, even though it was a swim up bar. The only negative remarks I would make is that the swim up bar closes at six and the sexy pool closes at seven, but if they didn’t, no one would go clubbing. The clubs. There was a fair amount of entertainment offered, with a “theme” for each night, normally held at "The Paty-O’s Lounge". Read up on the themes, and go prepared and be BOLD as they are really fun. Some of the outfits are indescribable. Some were filled with imagination, and others were as skimpy as they could be while still almost covering up something. The music was loud and the dancing was a mixture of movements, grunts, grinds and general enjoyment. This is what many refer to as the “Spring Break” atmosphere, and it is great!!! Not something experienced at most clubs. You will see a lot of ladies opting for the topless optional at Temptations, but we did not feel that we were imposed upon, nor were we involved in any activities that we did not choose to be involved in. All in all, this was the most enjoyable vacation of my life. As a close, if you want a maximum experience, take your significant other to the spa and get the couples massage. That was one of the best hours of my life, and I suggest you try it.


291 of 296 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Jackson, MS
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 3, 2012 Featured Review
Much more than bargained for!!

I believe it's first important to understand the reviewer's demographic and purpose for the trip: mid-twenties, single and overworked white-collar worker. My purpose of the trip was to get away and not submit any freetime to large families with loud kids or judgemental patrons who are not willing to have some fun. With that said, I loved my stay at Temptation this past October. I got much more than what I bargained for and then some. The resort was actually smaller than anticipated, although was large enough to accomodate my needs. The rooms were average, shower large and comfortable and per request, can receive a good resort location (I recommend staying away from the Patio Bar and Sexy Pool due to loud noise from music and dancing). The daylife at the pool was fun as they put on daily activities in the pool to get everyone motivated to have fun (i.e., belly flop contests, drinking competitions, etc). Be prepared for the topless women as the option is utilized by nearly half of the guests. The drinks are simple, beer is limited to Dos Equies but it's part of the package so rememeber that. Show your support with tipping and be respectful and entertaining and the bartenders will remember you and make sure you're never too thirsty. If you're active like myself, the crew will make many efforts to get you to play volleyball and other sports along the beach. I highly recommend that you engage them and participate. Even if you're not the athletic type, this is one of the best ways to meet new people, get comfortable with the staff, and truly enjoy yourself. My friend and I spent many hours playing with other patrons and have created lasting friendships extending to other countries. The food, specialty restaurants at least, was tremendous. The italian, seafood, and asian (actually my favorite) did a superb job with service, choice of meals, preperation and even presentation. Dress code is simple and the ambiance is excellent. I was definitely expecting subpar dining, but this really blew me away that it was all included (unless you order 10oz lobster of course). The buffet on the other hand is a lot of average dishes. Also make sure you get there early for breakfast as everything tends to sit out for a while. I would also recommend that you ask the cooks there to cook you up something special so at least you can have something that meets your demand. Dinner however MUST be had at the specialty restaurants so make sure you make your reservations - even if you need to make a reservation at one restaurant more than once! One thing people don't often comment on is the hotel's security/doorman. If you want to party out on the strip at the various clubs and barely make it back to the room in one piece, the security/doorman will make sure that your rate was fare for travel and that you get back to your room safely. It will make for fun jokes when you wake up as well and they will be sure to poke fun at you so have fun with them back. All in all, the resort was tremendous value for those looking to get away from reality and live each day to your capacity. The facility offers the infrastructure to make sure you eat well, drink well and have fun. It was even accomodating for those traveling ALONE. Yes, ALONE. It's just that fun as long as you're willing to put in some effort to have some fun yourself, meet people, and enjoy the company of the staff and other travelers. Enjoy - I will stay again next year.


52 of 55 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Anaheim, CA
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 11, 2012
Temptations Cancun recommended !

We went as a couple (m/f) to Temptations Cancun. We got one of the premo rooms available, very nice. Service and attentiveness by staff was excellent. Tip generously as soon as you get there and they are yours for the entire stay. Dont forget to make reservations for the restaurants early to get the best dining times, and still make it to the evening activities offered at the hotel. Plan out your evening activities offered at the hotel. They are fun but its easy to forget about them. Mingle with people and make friends, it makes the vacation that much better. Call ahead or check the web site to plan for the themed evening events such as lingerie night, white night, etc. There's something each night. The actual beach in this area is not as nice as the "hotel zone" due mainly due to the seaweed that washes in here, but the staff is good about clearing it each morning. I would recomend NOT buying the transfers thru the travel companies, especially if you can speak spanish (to haggle with taxi drivers). Prepurchased transfers are no cheaper and you end up waiting around upon arrivial for a particular van, and on departure they want you ready 3 hours head of time. Just take a taxi both ways ($20-30 per car, not per person) and enjoy more of your time in Cancun. Taxi drivers will take you the "non scenic route" which only takes about 15-20 mins to and from the airport, and no stopping at 6 hotels before yours, as Tempations will be almost the last stop if taking the pre arranged vans. We also took a trip to Telum and Xel Ha which is an all day event. If you are only staying 4 days (we stayed 5 days) it will shorten your trip greatly as the first and last days arent really full days. I would recommend 5-7 days if you wish to take an excursion. Yes, its topless optional and there will be all body types there. So explore your adventurous side if you haven't already. We will be back soon !


56 of 60 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Dayton, OH
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 28, 2011
Temptations in November

This is a great getaway for an adult looking to have a great time. I was leary about what to expect and how we would enjoy the resort. Let me start by saying it is Spring Break for adults. I don't think the pool is any different than being out of the country where topless women is the norm. The grounds are very nice and they strive to keep everything clean. The food is about what you would expect from an all inclusive. The decor of the restraunts that you make the reservations at are super nice and the food is slightly better than the buffet, on par with what you would get at Friday's or Applebee;s. Now the big question. Are there swingers? Yes, do they bother or harass you, NO. My wife and I met the nicest couples there and they n knew it was not our thing. If you are attentive you will notice that after dinner there are couples that are getting friendly with one another. This does not take away from the resort or the evening if you are open minded. If your uptight and judgemental then this is not the resort for you. If your a fun, adventurous couple then this is right for you. I hope this helps with your decision to go or not. For the price we were pleasently surprised that the resort exceded out expectations. I did have a little issue with the room initially, but they made it right.


16 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 22, 2015
Old people resort

My girlfriend and I are 22&23 and we figured it was going to be a nice resort(which it was) because of the fact that it was Adults only so there wouldn't be any screaming kids running around all over the place. At our stay here I could literally count the people in our age group with one hand. 95% of the people that go here are Old as in 45 and up. They were cool and were all open to have a good time but we just felt so out of place. I DO NOT recommend if you're in your 20's and looking for a party resort. Another thing was the time share agent. He wasted about 3 hours of our time talking to us about a time share in which I told him from the beginning that I wasn't interested. Yet he continued to lower the price and hold me up from enjoying my vacation. I highly recommend skipping this presentation if you're not looking to buy.


16 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 13, 2012
Fantastic Trip!

It's always a bit of a crapshoot to pick a resort based on online reviews and pictures- and the whimsy of decision dice! But with Temptation we got really lucky- it was pretty much everything we could've asked for...bear in mind this was only my second time at a resort/all-inclusive vacation and my boyfriend's first, so we're not the savviest travelers of this sort, and we're also pretty relaxed, as long as our basic demands are met (decent room, place doesn't look wildly different to photos, sun, drinks!) We were there for four days in a regular room (not sure what fancy name it was given in booking- might've been the one level above basic room). - Great room with a comfy king size bed, balcony with a view of the beach, HUGE awesome shower, all very clean and modern. - Grounds were gorgeous, pool, beach, restaurants wonderful and just like in the pictures. - Drinks and meals were delicious- highly recommend the pizzas, dinners at all the restaurants, particularly the "fancy" one (make reservations for it early), were such a treat. As stated, we're not too fussy, but pickier eaters might get bored of the breakfast buffet (only option) after too many days. - Loved, loved the hammocks on the beach! - Nightly (and daytime) entertainment was great fun- we were the there for the bali night which was a lovely outdoor poolside dinner and show, the (fantastic) band that had everyone dancing all night in the big open-air bar area, the DJ night (more dancing), Lingerie Party (wow, some girls really know how to give a lap dance!), karaoke and more...there's awesome staff running things who put in such an effort, huge kudos to them. We had more than enough fun staying onsite at night, what with all that and one of the pools open all night, but there are also trips nightly to clubs nearby that were supposed to be decent. - Service was for the most part, lovely- never had much of a problem with anyone or anything- which makes such a difference to a vacation! We had a few hours between check-out and leaving for our flight and it was fabulous to be able to stow our bags with concierge and spend the last hours in the pool sipping drinks! Oddly enough, check-in guys were a little offhand and unhelpful, and there's some fending off of the "resort tour" operator (just avoid that corridor!) Some things to note: - If this is a concern, be reassured by the reviews that say it's not some lewd swingers resort. We are your pretty average Joe couple, just looking for some sunshine and resorty goodness, and went for this place because it seemed fun- and it is. Of course it all depends on the crowd who are there at the time you go, but we made lots of friends, everyone was a blast to hang out with, it was all very easygoing, and if you were up for it, yeah I'm sure there was saucy fun to be had (singles/couples/whatever), and if you weren't, there were many like you too! - We unwittingly dodged the apparently requisite "tour" upon arrival- which is more of a hard sell of timeshares, we heard. The upside to doing the tour is you get a free big drink container to use at the bars and can probably find things more easily (took us a while to bumble about at the start)...but then you can also shell out 8 bucks for one at the gift store and avoid the sell. - If your room is around the outdoor bar, that is where the nighttime entertainment rages til 2am- and you CAN hear it...it didn't really bother us since we were either there or too tired to care and found it bizarrely nice :) All in all, had a fantastic time- and as testament, my boyfriend is back there right now, enjoying a nice lazy solo vacation- with the bonus of knowing all the tricks this time!


28 of 30 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Oklahoma City OK
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 20, 2012
For the open minded!

We had a great trip. When we first got there it was a little weird for me because I had never been to a topless resort but I was over that very quickly. No one was there to judge and that was very apparent. We did not spend much time at the sexy pool but everyone there seemed to be having a great time. We were more in relax mode. It has a little something for everyone. The hotel was full the weekend that we got there but the resort is very spread out so it did not seem over crowded. We went to Patyo's the first night there and that was a great time! I wish that they had the dj there everynight but there was ALWAYS something going on so we were never bored. That being said there was also always somewhere to relax. Most all of the staff was very friendly maybe one or two people were not that friendly. Drinks were good. Food was good. We ate alot at the Margaritas snack bar. We would def go back again. The crowd is very mixed. I saw alot of groups of single guys and a few groups of single girls. The nightly entertainment was good and the spa was great! If you are feeling saucy you should do the sensual massage! ;)


20 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: FL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 3, 2015
Party

I'm going to keep this rather brief because we were there 10 days & I could write a novel on what's right & wrong about this place. In a nutshell - this place is an absolute blast if you're going to party!! If you go for a great party with a little sand & surf in the background, you won't be disappointed. If you're going for unique food, luxurious rooms, or any of the like found at other all-inclusives - you will be sorely disappointed. The food would be mediocre if you're there for three days. After 10 days, we were just bored to death with it. All of the restaurants served the exact same boring stuff. We're not food snobs...we just had expectations that were not met on this. The food will keep you alive between hangovers...and that's what it seems to be designed for. If you're going to go to this place for more than 3-4 days, the deluxe ocean-view upgrade is a waste. Shell out the extra couple hundred bucks & stay in one of the suites down by the dock. Trust me, you'll be SOOO glad you did. The regular closet-size rooms are designed for sleeping & "uhhh....sleeping," nothing else. The suites I mentioned are more like the size of a regular room & you may actually bother unpacking your suitcase. Seriously. Beware of the timeshare people - they're just EXTREMELY irritating - like as in take-your-phone-off-the-hook irritating. They woke us up with a 7am sales pitch more than once. I would recommend this place for the party (you can have as much or as little party as your heart desires)- you'll have a BLAST!!! If you go for the luxury - you'll leave very disappointed.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Indiana
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 11, 2013
Fun vacation

I went on vacation with my husband for our anniversary 4th of july weekend. If you want to have fun with games and parties then this is the place for you. There was a party every night with a different theme that lasted very late into the night. Late night food was really good. I liked the burgers, don't know if it was because I was hungry or tipsy but I thought it was great and big. There were a few restaurants to choose from, some needed reservations. Drinks were nice at certain bars, the staff were really friendly and the daytime games around the pol were a blast. There are a lot of couples that are swingers but no one was ever pushy or ever made anyone feel uncomfortable. All the guests were real friendly and lively from morning throughout the night. I would definitely return to this resort or recommend to someone. I read past reviews that said not to get a room by the PatyO lounge but we met a couple that had their balcony overlooking the lounge and I went to their room all the time to watch over the balcony before going down. I thought having that balcony over the lounge was great and when you closed the sliding doors the music wasn't as loud. If you want a quiet, peaceful restful vacation then don't get that room...but then again it makes no sense going to this resort. It's all about fun there.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 7, 2013
Amazing Vacation

Temptation was an amazing experiance for adults looking to get away, relax and have a great time. We enjoyed the social atmosphere of the 'sexy pool' and even if you are not into participating in being topless or any of the suggestive games organized by the 'cast & crew' members it is still a great place to hang out and people watch. While on our vacation we enjoyed the day and night time entertainment provided on the resort and booked a trip to Isla Mujeres through one of the companies on the resort property. Food at the 2 dinner options that required reservation was absolutely wonderful. The other resturants were also very good. The only place we were not impressed by was the 'Tex Mex' Themed resturant, the portions were quite small and did not have the type of flavor I would expect from a tex-mex style menu. When my boyfriend and I attended, the people we met were friendly and fun, and around our age group. It was allot of couples or groups of couples ranging from about mid 30s to late 50s. This was perfect for us because we were not looking for the college/spring break crowd. Although the last day we were on the property we noticed that several more younger people were arriving, our thoughts were that this was due to the college/high school terms ending for the summer. Our only complaint about this resort was the staff at the check-in/check-out counter. I found them to be rather rude and exhibiting the attitude of expecting to be tipped for thier service - which as far as I was concerned was lacking in every way. I do not consider us to be poeple that are hard to please, but questions we asked about our room location and check out times were very rudely addressed and they refussed to even attempt to accomodate them. However, the rest of the staff was very friendly and polite and those were the people we interacted with on a more regular basis and whom we chose to tip. We were impressed by the Spa's kindness in letting us use the showers to clean up before our flight, since they would not allow us to get a late check-out at the front desk (check out is at 11a.m.) and we did not have to be to the airport until about 2:20 p.m., we got to enjoy one last day on the beach and were able to shower and clean up in the Spa before heading to the airport. I would definately return to this resort as once checked in, we had an amazing time, at the pool, on the beach and at the many day and night time events they plan for thier guests. You can see the list of events on thier website prior to your trip which will allow you to plan accordingly.


13 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: United States
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year