All

Tamarind Hotel Reviews

Caribbean | Barbados Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 8 Reviews
Value
 
4.1
Service
 
4.7
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
3.1
Room Comfort
 
4.4
4.7 out of 5
"We had the best time at tamarind cove. The locations is excellent and you can snorkel or swim with turtles right off the beach." – Daniel
9 out of 9 (100%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Part of the Romance Getaway Package at the Tamarind adult only spa pool

All Tamarind Hotel Customer Reviews

1-8 of 8 reviews. Sort by
August 7, 2010
Best location in barbados

We had the best time at tamarind cove. The locations is excellent and you can snorkel or swim with turtles right off the beach.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Dallas , texas
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 13, 2012
should have stayed for 2 weeks

My husband and I stayed for 1 week, the room was large and spacious. We had a garden/pool view, definitely would do again! The staff could not have been more courteous and helpful, responding to every request (stocking the room with only caffeinated coffee, extra creamer and splenda.) The breakfast buffet was included, and was delicious every day. Some of the items on the buffet might seem odd to Americans (baked beans), but most of the tourists are British, so some of the food is very English, and some is very "Bajan." The rest of the meals were a la carte, but the food was fantastic, but expensive. This is not limited to The Tamarind Cove, ALL food in Barbados is expensive. The pools were nice, there is a pool near the spa that is adult only if you want to get away from children. The water sports are included. The only drawback on the beach were the lack of umbrellas. If you didn't get a lounger with umbrella early enough, you didn't get an umbrella. There were plenty of lounge chairs. The wait service on the beach was a little slow. They did serve small treats a couple times through the day ( slices of melon mid morning, or a popsicle (lolly) in the afternoon, a cold minty washcloth in the afternoons) which was very refreshing. They always had fresh cold water jugs at the bars while they were open. The only reason I gave 3 stars for dining options, is that the restaraunts are open for certain meals. It's one for breakfast, and the others for lunch and dinner (with the same menu, just different area to eat in.) The food was wonderful, we never had anything that wasn't delicious. The flying fish is a must. All in all, we would definitely stay here again.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Allentown, PA
Age: 45-54

January 6, 2013
excellent service

The resort is lovely; they have pool near the spa that is adult only if you want to get away from children. It is very British, and most of the guests are Brits. The beach was beautiful, they include certain water sports for free. There is bar service to the beach, and complimentary cool towels, and fruit or "lolly" (popsicles) during midmorning and midafternoon. My husband and I went in August, and even in the off season they did run out of loungers and umbrellas if you didn't get to the beach early. The staff gave outstanding service, they know your name by the second day. The only downsides to the island, is that all food is very expensive, and they really are tourist based so you get people trying to sell you things all the time. They have to have a license, and wear tags that show it, but they can be a little pushy sometimes. The hotel staff do tell you to let them know if someone bothered you, they would handle it if so. (We did not have to do that.) Security is fantastic on the island, the police are noticeable everywhere, on the beach, gas stations, etc. We never rented a vehicle, for every activity we wanted to do, they ask if you need a ride, then send a cab for you. (It's included in the price of the activity ie. the submarine in Bridgetown, etc.) Absolutely would go back again (in the on season when it's not as hot, and probably at one of their sister resorts that is all inclusive. Our food was always delicious at the hotel, but expensive. We did have people we met from some of the all inclusives say that their food was only mediocre, and that they had eaten at our hotel and they agreed it was fantastic.

adult only spa pool
7 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Allentown, PA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 30, 2016
Honeymoon Getaway

We stayed at the Tamarind for 10 days and truly enjoyed our trip. The staff was courteous, informative, and very helpful. Everyone was very friendly and congratulated us on our marriage and did everything they could to make our stay pleasant and memorable. The breakfasts were good and room service was too. We purchased the Romance Getaway Package through the hotel and we are very, very happy that we did! The little extras, like champagne and wine, along with chocolate covered strawberries, and LOVE U spelled out in rose petals on the bed in our room when we arrived, were a wonderful touch! There were even two welcome letters from the management and staff of the hotel congratulating us, too. The massages were very relaxing. Our dinner on the beach was extremely memorable and we were the envy of the whole hotel that night. : ) Our server was wonderful and fun, and the extra bottle of champagne went to good use on our last evening in Barbados. Our flight wasn't scheduled to leave until very late in the day (7:20 pm) and the hotel held our luggage for us and provided a temporary room for us to use until our ride picked us up. There were only two things that could have been a little better. The first was we were staying near the family pool and the stairs that go up to the second level. During the day it wasn't a big deal, but there were a few times that there were children screaming and run up and down the stairs (which are wooded and make a lot of noise) quite late at night. Not really the hotel's fault there, though. The second was we would have liked a few more and less expensive dining choices near the hotel. The food was good, though I don’t know that we’d rave about it for the cost. Our first dinner at the hotel’s Sugar Cane Room was over $120 USD ($240 BDS) for two people. When we were told by a tour guide late in our trip that we were staying on the more expensive side of the island, we were not surprised. The hotel does offer an orientation, so-to-speak, to provide additional information about the island, but we weren't able to attend the day of as we had a tour already booked that morning. But the staff was happy to give us any information we required. The day before we left, one of our tour guides gave us some pointers about finding great places to eat for a lower price. The smaller road side areas are a good bet or travel up to Holetown or to Oistins for some great choices, too. Wish we'd talked to that guide sooner! :) Over all, a very great experience!

Part of the Romance Getaway Package at the Tamarind
2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Seattle, WA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 24, 2011
Tamarind Cove

We decided to spend our Honeymoon at the Tamarind Hotel after reading reviews regarding the calmness of ocean waves on the west coast. We were quite disappointed as the water was not clam at all. We were also disappointed in the beach which was littered with broken coral and difficult on the feet. The saving grace for our honeymoon was the excellent and super friendly staff !


3 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 7, 2010

my wife,daughter&grandson had an excellent holiday for a full week this past december at tamarind cove. this was the fourth visit for my wife and i. we hope to return again vvery shortly. the resort is our favourite place to vacation.


2 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: london ontario canada
Age: Over 65
Travel: 7+ trips/year

August 24, 2016
Great Convenient Hotel

The Tamarind is everything you want from a vacation hotel. The property is very pretty and the staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. The spa does get booked very quickly so if you are interested in any spa treatments it's a good idea to call as soon as you get there. It is in a very convenient location and you can walk to other restaurants and also to other beaches. We only had a breakfast plan so that is why I gave a two for the dining options because I didn't get to experience all of their options. If you have the meal plans you can expand your dining experience by using the water taxi to go to the sister properties to eat. I would gladly recommend the tamarind to any one traveling to Barbados.


1 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 11, 2015
Great Trip!

My husband and I were absolutely thrilled with CheapCarribean's service before and during our stay. We appreciated their great attention to detail and every part of our trip was flawless! Nothing was over-represented. Our resort was great! Our flights were seamless and I especially appreciated the pretrip tips sheet they sent us. We would absolutely use CheapCaribbean again!


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Park CFity, UT
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year