All

Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman Reviews

Caribbean | Cayman Islands Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 23 Reviews
Value
 
4.9
Service
 
4.7
Beaches & Pools
 
4.5
Dining Options
 
4.6
Room Comfort
 
4.7
4.9 out of 5
"Stayed here for a Birthday and Anniversary Getaway. Suite was clean, and fresh smelling each time we enter the room. Service was great, staff was very friendly and helpful." – married32yrs
26 out of 27 (96%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Beach near Sunshine Suites and Resort Sunshine Suites 7 Mile Beach Crystal Blue Waters

All Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman Customer Reviews

1-10 of 23 reviews. Sort by
July 30, 2010
Sunshine Suites, Cayman

The resort is very comfortable and beautifully kept. Our room was very neat and more than adequate. The staff is very courteous and helpful. We believe it's an excellent value. The restaurant is excellent and has great food at reasonable prices compared to what is available on Cayman. We had lunch and dinner there several times during our stay. Try the fish tacos!


29 of 29 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Massachusetts
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 28, 2015
Simply the best resort!

For our first time in Grand Cayman, this was the best place to stay. It is located halfway between 7 mile beach and you are only a few miles south to George Town or north towards West Bay. The resort, is clean, friendly staff, our rooms were 110% clean and very comfortable. Plus, the TV has almost all the popular U.S. channels including HBO and free WiFi. The resort will provide you with free beach chairs to take with you at the beach and complimentary beach towels. Once you are back from the beach, drop them off at the front desk and pick up fresh new towels again. It is very convenient, as you don't have to dry your own towels. To access the beach, you just have to cross the 2 lane road, go through the public beach access alley and you are in paradise :-). See both pictures I took at the beach, it is worth the trip! On the plus side, this hotel offered complimentary grab and go breakfast, which consisted of, boiled eggs, assortment of mini pastries, bananas, coffee, cereals and milk. Considering how expensive is to eat out on the island, this does help and makes a big difference on your budget, if you don't want to spend a lot on eating out. The Sunshine Grill and Bar restaurant located in the property, does have some of the best tacos that you will have and the burger is amazing as well. Just be advised, that all the prices are listed in CI and the current exchange rate is $1 U.S. to .80 CI. So, if something cost 10CI in U.S. you will pay $12. Last, the good thing about this resort, is that it is located just half a block from the Governors Shopping center, there, you will find the big store Cost U Less, restaurants, convince store and a liquor store as well. Hope this helps and wish you a good vacation if you decide to stay here.

7 Mile Beach Simply the best resort!
26 of 26 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Arlington, VA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 9, 2012
Great Value and WONDERFUL Staff

The staff at Sunshine Suites Resorts are outstanding people with a genuinly kind nature. A quick example would be how my oldest son, whom is a 23 year old high functioning individual with special needs, was welcomed each day at the pool bar and restaurant. The entire restuarant/bar staff was kind and protective of him and we are so grateful to them for giving him such wonderful memories of being accepted and appreciated as an individual. The hotel and house keeping staff are equally impressive people. Each and every interaction with them was one where they were friendly and accomadating. Without exception, whomever you approached always made you feel as though anything you might ask of them was not only doable, but their pleasure. We are thrilled to have been guests of the Sunshine Suites Resort. Thank you Cheap Carribean and staff member BBaca for booking us at Sunshine Suites Resort!


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Medford, NJ
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 20, 2012
Great Hotel!

Location, Staff, Grounds and Rooms are great. The only negative is that when I'm on an island vacation I want to enjoy the outdoors & fresh air as much as possible. The rooms have no balconies & patios so you have to request a ground floor room so you can put your chair in the grass for outside relaxation when your not at the beach or pool otherwise your in a closed in room, if you open the shutters you have no privacy. Also, accessing the beach you have to bypass the Westin's garbage dumpster area and the stench was overwhelming, kind of takes the whole being in paradise buzz away (this is no reflection on Sunshine Suites but the Westin should clean up!)


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: NJ
Age: 45-54

July 3, 2011
Awesome Restaurant

Sunshine Suites is a beautiful resort with a great place to eat, the Sunshine Grill. The hotel provides towels for beach or pool and beach chairs. Everyone is very accomodating and friendly. The beach is just a short walk away as is a liquor store. The rooms are perfect, with all the essentials for cooking on your own. I did think the free "breakfast buffet" was alittle deceptive. For free you get cereal and toast. For $5 more you get the hot buffet. I would recommend this resort to anyone visiting the Caymans. It was well worth the price. The Sunshine Grill had great food at good prices, we ate there several times and were never disappointed, and the staff is great too.


13 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 29, 2013
great location & value

Our first impression of Sunshine Suites was how nicely landscaped it was, including hammocks and chairs for you to enjoy it from. The office staff were very friendly and helpful, even providing us with bottled water upon check-in. There are two buildings of rooms, three floors each, all easy to get to. I read some reviews that said it felt like a motel due to the room doors being outside, but we didn't get that impression at all... we liked having direct access to the outdoors, rather than being stuffed inside some giant hotel. Our room was a 2 double bed, which we found to be spacious enough for the three of us (2 adults, 1 nine-year old). The beds were comfortable, the room was clean, the kitchenette with fridge was perfect, and there was more than enough closet and dresser space. The free breakfast was better than I expected - toast, muffins, cereal, oatmeal, fresh fruit, yogurt, two or three hot options, juice, coffee. The restaurant is very small, but there are several tables outside around the pool to sit at as well. There was never a morning we couldn't find a table. The restaurant is very open, so you are able to enjoy the breeze, and the two giant ceiling fans keep you cool in case the breeze doesn't. We didn't eat any other meals at the restaurant (we're vegetarian and they didn't have much to offer us), but it is the top restaurant on the island and it was packed every night - reservations are needed. The pool was clean, with plenty of lounge chairs around it. Beach access is across the street, which was not a problem to get to at all. I timed us - 4 minutes with snorkeling gear, 3 chairs, and one 9 year old in tow. We walked up and down Seven Mile Beach and felt that the beach area right across the street was the best spot. Snorkeling from this spot wasn't bad either, we even saw a sting ray one day. If we ever go back to Grand Cayman (and I really hope we do!), we will without a doubt be staying at Sunshine Suites again.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Central Pennsylvania
Age: 35-44

April 1, 2013
Best Trip Ever

Accommodations are in a great location (grocerie store and wine shop in 10 minute walking distance, beach across the street) and the hotel gave me a room on the floor I requested. Housekeeping service was good. On the last day I asked to check out late since my flight did not leave until 4 pm but the concierge said NO because rooms were needed. However the whole time I was there my room was not cleaned before 2 pm in the afternoon but concierge told my they had to be ready by 2. I would have checked out around 1:30 so stayed on the beach a while longer. The room had a broken clock that took me three attempts with the front desk to get a new one that worked and then no one bothered to set the time and the alarm went off at 2 am. The food at the Sunshine Grill is really good and reasonable priced. Try the specials and if you get a really good waiter they will call you when your take out is ready so you can stay in the room and relax and not eat in the crowded loud bar, unless you like that sort of thing. Drinks are really good too. Other guests friendly and relaxed. Pool area is great with a cabana to hide from the sun during the really dangerous hours. The beach is amazing and the hotel gives you towels and chairs so no need to stress packing that stuff. The best part is the friendly cat that is the loved Paco. He'll snooze with you under the cabana (: Overall I loved the beach, slept well, felt safe and relaxed so indeed this was the Best Trip Ever! and yes I would good back (:

Best Trip Ever Best Trip Ever
3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Lenox, MA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 2, 2011
Great Value

We stayed at the Sunshine Suites while attending a wedding. Wonderful value, front desk was excellent, not directly on the beach, but easy walking distance and chairs are provided from the resort. We had a wonderful time and the restraunt had great drinks and food. Also, breakfast was a wonderful surprise! We were expecting bagels and bananas, and it was eggs, waffles, fresh fruit, potatoes, etc. Would definitely recommend renting a car to go exploring, and would definetly recommend this hotel.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Huntsville, AL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 9, 2013
THE BEST!!!!!!!!!!!

This hotel was incredible. Staff was SUPER friendly and made our stay wonderful. The rooms were so clean. It was a great value. The Sunshine Grill was probably some of the best food on the island. This is a great way to see the island without breaking the bank. I felt very safe at this hotel. Everything you will need is within walking distance.......a grocery store, a liquor store, Captain Marvin's tours. I hope I can return to this hotel again.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Illinois
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 4, 2013
Amazing Place

My boyfriend and I stayed here in the deluxe suite for 6 nights and we absolutely loved it. The room was spacious and VERY clean -- which is a must for me! It had a couch, coffee table, two TVs, kitchen, fridge, tub...we were blown away. It was like staying in a beautiful small apartment. The people at the front desk were always friendly and helpful, and would even book excursions for you. They give you towels for the beach/pool and you can take beach chairs as well. Yes, you have to cross the street to get to the beach but it's literally a two minute walk, if that. We had no problem with that. The great rooms, service, and the pool are enough to make up for the fact that Sunshine Suites is not directly on the beach. Captain Marvin's, the excursions place, is a one minute walk away which is very convenient (the Sting Ray City tour was incredible!). There are also a few good restaurants in the shopping center next to Captain Marvin's. The Sunshine Grille was good but we had one bad experience with the service there, which led us to venture out and find some great restaurants for the remainder of our trip! I highly recommend this place to anyone. You won't regret staying here, trust me!


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Baltimore, MD
Age: 25-34