All

Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman Reviews

Caribbean | Cayman Islands Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 37 Reviews
Value
 
4.8
Service
 
4.7
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
4.5
Room Comfort
 
4.6
4.8 out of 5
"Unfortunately it took a while as they did not see that there were two reservations which I made from cheap Caribbean. This held up time getting our room. However staff at Sunshine were great about it." – Acc79
39 out of 41 (95%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
7 Mile Beach Crystal Blue Waters Beach near Sunshine Suites and Resort Sunshine Suites

All Sunshine Suites Resort Grand Cayman Customer Reviews

1-10 of 37 reviews. Sort by
August 28, 2015
Simply the best resort!

For our first time in Grand Cayman, this was the best place to stay. It is located halfway between 7 mile beach and you are only a few miles south to George Town or north towards West Bay. The resort, is clean, friendly staff, our rooms were 110% clean and very comfortable. Plus, the TV has almost all the popular U.S. channels including HBO and free WiFi. The resort will provide you with free beach chairs to take with you at the beach and complimentary beach towels. Once you are back from the beach, drop them off at the front desk and pick up fresh new towels again. It is very convenient, as you don't have to dry your own towels. To access the beach, you just have to cross the 2 lane road, go through the public beach access alley and you are in paradise :-). See both pictures I took at the beach, it is worth the trip! On the plus side, this hotel offered complimentary grab and go breakfast, which consisted of, boiled eggs, assortment of mini pastries, bananas, coffee, cereals and milk. Considering how expensive is to eat out on the island, this does help and makes a big difference on your budget, if you don't want to spend a lot on eating out. The Sunshine Grill and Bar restaurant located in the property, does have some of the best tacos that you will have and the burger is amazing as well. Just be advised, that all the prices are listed in CI and the current exchange rate is $1 U.S. to .80 CI. So, if something cost 10CI in U.S. you will pay $12. Last, the good thing about this resort, is that it is located just half a block from the Governors Shopping center, there, you will find the big store Cost U Less, restaurants, convince store and a liquor store as well. Hope this helps and wish you a good vacation if you decide to stay here.

7 Mile Beach Simply the best resort!
36 of 36 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Arlington, VA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 30, 2010
Sunshine Suites, Cayman

The resort is very comfortable and beautifully kept. Our room was very neat and more than adequate. The staff is very courteous and helpful. We believe it's an excellent value. The restaurant is excellent and has great food at reasonable prices compared to what is available on Cayman. We had lunch and dinner there several times during our stay. Try the fish tacos!


29 of 29 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Massachusetts
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 9, 2012
Great Value and WONDERFUL Staff

The staff at Sunshine Suites Resorts are outstanding people with a genuinly kind nature. A quick example would be how my oldest son, whom is a 23 year old high functioning individual with special needs, was welcomed each day at the pool bar and restaurant. The entire restuarant/bar staff was kind and protective of him and we are so grateful to them for giving him such wonderful memories of being accepted and appreciated as an individual. The hotel and house keeping staff are equally impressive people. Each and every interaction with them was one where they were friendly and accomadating. Without exception, whomever you approached always made you feel as though anything you might ask of them was not only doable, but their pleasure. We are thrilled to have been guests of the Sunshine Suites Resort. Thank you Cheap Carribean and staff member BBaca for booking us at Sunshine Suites Resort!


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Medford, NJ
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 3, 2011
Awesome Restaurant

Sunshine Suites is a beautiful resort with a great place to eat, the Sunshine Grill. The hotel provides towels for beach or pool and beach chairs. Everyone is very accomodating and friendly. The beach is just a short walk away as is a liquor store. The rooms are perfect, with all the essentials for cooking on your own. I did think the free "breakfast buffet" was alittle deceptive. For free you get cereal and toast. For $5 more you get the hot buffet. I would recommend this resort to anyone visiting the Caymans. It was well worth the price. The Sunshine Grill had great food at good prices, we ate there several times and were never disappointed, and the staff is great too.


13 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 20, 2012
Great Hotel!

Location, Staff, Grounds and Rooms are great. The only negative is that when I'm on an island vacation I want to enjoy the outdoors & fresh air as much as possible. The rooms have no balconies & patios so you have to request a ground floor room so you can put your chair in the grass for outside relaxation when your not at the beach or pool otherwise your in a closed in room, if you open the shutters you have no privacy. Also, accessing the beach you have to bypass the Westin's garbage dumpster area and the stench was overwhelming, kind of takes the whole being in paradise buzz away (this is no reflection on Sunshine Suites but the Westin should clean up!)


13 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: NJ
Age: 45-54

September 8, 2016
Cayman Islands

Our stay at the Sunshine Suites was wonderful. The facilities were impeccable. The grounds were well kept as well as the pool. The rooms were clean and breakfast was one of the better selections I have seen. The onsite restaurant served extremely pleasing food. The staff was polite and obliging with exception for front desk personnel, who were uninterested in assisting us with our concerns and although there were quite a few rooms available they insisted in placing us on the third floor.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Tampa, Florida
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 29, 2013
great location & value

Our first impression of Sunshine Suites was how nicely landscaped it was, including hammocks and chairs for you to enjoy it from. The office staff were very friendly and helpful, even providing us with bottled water upon check-in. There are two buildings of rooms, three floors each, all easy to get to. I read some reviews that said it felt like a motel due to the room doors being outside, but we didn't get that impression at all... we liked having direct access to the outdoors, rather than being stuffed inside some giant hotel. Our room was a 2 double bed, which we found to be spacious enough for the three of us (2 adults, 1 nine-year old). The beds were comfortable, the room was clean, the kitchenette with fridge was perfect, and there was more than enough closet and dresser space. The free breakfast was better than I expected - toast, muffins, cereal, oatmeal, fresh fruit, yogurt, two or three hot options, juice, coffee. The restaurant is very small, but there are several tables outside around the pool to sit at as well. There was never a morning we couldn't find a table. The restaurant is very open, so you are able to enjoy the breeze, and the two giant ceiling fans keep you cool in case the breeze doesn't. We didn't eat any other meals at the restaurant (we're vegetarian and they didn't have much to offer us), but it is the top restaurant on the island and it was packed every night - reservations are needed. The pool was clean, with plenty of lounge chairs around it. Beach access is across the street, which was not a problem to get to at all. I timed us - 4 minutes with snorkeling gear, 3 chairs, and one 9 year old in tow. We walked up and down Seven Mile Beach and felt that the beach area right across the street was the best spot. Snorkeling from this spot wasn't bad either, we even saw a sting ray one day. If we ever go back to Grand Cayman (and I really hope we do!), we will without a doubt be staying at Sunshine Suites again.


7 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Central Pennsylvania
Age: 35-44

April 11, 2017
Awesome Spring Break 2017 Vacation Grand Cayman

Great resort at fraction of a price. Directly across the street from 7 Mile beach. Can use all of the luxury offerings of Westin Resort for free. CheapCaribbean.com is great! everything went smooth and we had a great time! I was a little nervous taking the plunge but will not hesitate to do again. Some reviews blame weather, or other functions not related to Cheap Caribbean. Looking forward to making my next reservation. Thank you guys once again.

Awesome Spring Break 2017 Vacation Grand Cayman
6 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Georgia
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 1, 2013
Best Trip Ever

Accommodations are in a great location (grocerie store and wine shop in 10 minute walking distance, beach across the street) and the hotel gave me a room on the floor I requested. Housekeeping service was good. On the last day I asked to check out late since my flight did not leave until 4 pm but the concierge said NO because rooms were needed. However the whole time I was there my room was not cleaned before 2 pm in the afternoon but concierge told my they had to be ready by 2. I would have checked out around 1:30 so stayed on the beach a while longer. The room had a broken clock that took me three attempts with the front desk to get a new one that worked and then no one bothered to set the time and the alarm went off at 2 am. The food at the Sunshine Grill is really good and reasonable priced. Try the specials and if you get a really good waiter they will call you when your take out is ready so you can stay in the room and relax and not eat in the crowded loud bar, unless you like that sort of thing. Drinks are really good too. Other guests friendly and relaxed. Pool area is great with a cabana to hide from the sun during the really dangerous hours. The beach is amazing and the hotel gives you towels and chairs so no need to stress packing that stuff. The best part is the friendly cat that is the loved Paco. He'll snooze with you under the cabana (: Overall I loved the beach, slept well, felt safe and relaxed so indeed this was the Best Trip Ever! and yes I would good back (:

Best Trip Ever Best Trip Ever
3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Lenox, MA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 17, 2015
Great Service

Stayed here for a Birthday and Anniversary Getaway. Suite was clean, and fresh smelling each time we enter the room. Service was great, staff was very friendly and helpful.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year