All

Sunset at the Palms Resort and Spa Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 66 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.7
Beaches & Pools
 
4.6
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.4
4.6 out of 5
"Great hotel - excellent service - good food - good location - poor wifi. If you wish for a relaxing comfortable hotel, this is it." – TDD744
72 out of 76 (95%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Our favorite spot Room our room! What a view! Booby Cay Island - short boat ride away! Beach The resort staff made us feel like part of the family!!! balcony! Sunset at SUNSET!!! View from our room Hubby having a ball in Jamaica

All Sunset at the Palms Resort and Spa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 66 reviews. Sort by
May 18, 2011
No Problem

Sunset at the Palms was the perfect beach getaway. My only concern before the trip was a review I'd read about bugs in the rooms, but it turned out to not be a problem. Were there mosquitoes? Yes. Bring a can of bug spray. Were there a couple of other crawlies? Yes. It's a tropical paradise. But there was by no means an infestation. I killed ONE bug in the room. And the rooms are gorgeous and private and perfect for a couple looking to get away from it all without staying in a hotel where kids run screaming up and down the halls. Each room is secluded in its own area and you have complete privacy. It felt as though we had our own vacation home at the beach. I must stress how nice the rooms were. I live and work in Las Vegas, home to many luxury resorts, and the rooms and room service at Sunset at the Palms rival any four-star property. The bed was large and comfy, the decor was tropical but elegant, the room was spacious with its own private lanai and the shower was the best part--a large walk-in with two separate shower heads. The resort is also eco-friendly, which I appreciate. All the food we had was quite good, including the buffet-style meals. The food was an important test for me, because I have a wheat allergy/gluten intolerance and often have trouble eating while traveling. But all the waiters were lovely and always checked with the resort chef for me when I had questions. I always had a few options at each meal, and that is really saying something for someone with a gluten intolerance. I didn't just have to live on fruit, like I thought I might (and usually do while traveling). I had grilled fish and red beans and rice and potatoes and eggs and bacon and hash browns and curried mutton, among other things. My traveling companion said the jerk chicken was amazing as well, though I couldn't have that as there is wheat in jerk spices. The only reason I didn't give Dining Options the highest rating is because there is only one restaurant at the resort, plus the buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and also the beach grill which serves lunch. So while there aren't many, many restaurants to choose from, they do have a variety of food available at most times of the day. And I highly recommend the grilled snapper at the beach grill. The drinks flow freely as well, and the service was incredibly friendly! After a night of too many cocktails, we had some mocktails on the beach, and I recommend the Dirty Banana, with or without alcohol! We also took advantage of the spa services, which were heavenly. The beach is a two-minute walk from the room, and walking over there just contributes to the feeling that you live or own a vacation home right by the beach (which is clean and beautiful, btw). There are a lot of vendors, and they will be a bit pushy if you walk up and down and look at their wares, but if you lie on the beach for the most part they don't bother you. They may ask once if you'd like a song or some ganja, but if you say no politely they move along. And everyone is all smiles and so nice that it's no problem at all. One thing I didn't know was that they would ask for clothes. Many of the vendors would ask for my shirt instead of money. So perhaps next time I will bring along that bag of shirts marked for Goodwill. This resort also did a great job providing entertainment. It's a relaxing place, and you can do nothing at all if you like, but they also had some sort of fun thing going on every night, from karaoke to a "meet the staff" dinner to live music. The activities are easy to avoid if you prefer to, as well. One note about transportation. I recommend the private car service. We did the cheapest option, which was a bus that dropped off many tourists at various resorts along the way. We waited at the airport nearly an hour after our flight before the bus even got moving, since we had to wait for many other passengers. Not a huge deal, but Negril is about an hour and a half from Montego Bay, so the trip getting there ended up being somewhat arduous. Luckily, they greet you with cool towels and beverages when you check in to Sunset at the Palms. But if you don't want to wait around at the airport when you arrive in Montego Bay, take the private car! I will definitely go to Sunset at the Palms again. This was my first all-inclusive trip, so I didn't know what to expect. I only booked four nights in case it turned out to be a disaster of an idea, but next time I will book at least seven nights. What a lovely week it was, full of great memories.

No Problem No Problem
85 of 85 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Las Vegas, NV
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 25, 2016
Sunset at the Palms, Best Vacation Ever

This resort is a hidden gem! Truly lush surroundings and tremendous service! BEST vacation/resort we have been on. The moment you arrive, a fresh, cold hand towel and a tropical drink awaits you. This is nothing like the mega-resorts with buffet lines, kids, and loud guests all around. This place is relaxing, luxurious, upscale, and personalized! Adam, the manager, has a one of a kind resort for all to see! FOOD: The food was amazing. Two sit down restaurants can be reserved upon arriving - they are both very good and many courses! The Lotus is a 5 course gourmet meal and the Chef's Table provides the same but they cook in front of about 20 guests with a special menu! There is a beach side grill where hamburgers, fish tacos, and french fries can be found - also very good! The main buffet at the resort -Palm Grove - was our favorite place to eat and it was unlike any traditional mega resort buffet. This buffet provided different food and themes for each night and provided stations where cooks were making fresh grilled shrimp, jerk chicken, kabobs, etc. On Jamaican night there was a Jamaican themed table with local fruits and coconuts to try. The buffet allowed you to eat under a cabana with wait staff or under the stars in the garden with wait staff. We also loved the buffet for breakfast and the expresso/coffee bar was great!! Cornelius and Kirk were just a few of the wonderful employees at these restaurants! Vegan options were available each night and staff was very accommodating. ALCOHOL: Alcohol was available at the beach bar, pool bar, martini/piano bar, and at all restaurants. The beer was all local, but the liquor at the pool bar was very expansive and the frozen drinks were great. A good selection of wines and champagne was available at every meal and bar. Kirk makes a yummy - Jamaican Me Crazy - that will not disappoint in strength! The martini bar provided fancy cocktails with a piano player each night to enjoy before or after dinner. A band began each night at the pool bar about 9pm and they were all great entertainment! ROOM: The room was not directly on the beach - but we actually preferred the lush, tropical surroundings and secluded bungalow style of this room. The room was big and bathroom was very updated. Housekeeping kept our room very clean and decorated with fresh flowers from the property! The sounds at night would lull us to sleep. BEACH: The beach was very pretty and was raked each morning. A crossing guard helps you along the short walk to the beach and upon hitting the sand someone sets you up chairs wherever you would like. We sat under the shade trees each day. There was plenty of room and not overcrowded. Flags were passed out by the bar staff so that you could raise your flag when wanting a drink. There were locals that would pass up and down the beach selling local goods as their stands/booths were walking distance down the beach; but once you said no thank you they moved on. And the hotel security did not let them linger or come up onto the property/beach. The water was amazing and clear. This beach is at the start of 'seven mile beach' and we preferred the secluded look of this resort beach as much as the long stretch on walking-distance seven mile beach. EXCURSIONS: There were small boat vendors along the beach that would take you to snorkel or cruise. I would suggest calling DEVON and CARLTON on the BORN TO FISH boat for a really great experience. They picked us up on their boat, took us snorkeling to a very nice reef and provided gear, and then on to a nearby "island" called Booby Cay nearby that we were able to walk around on and purchase fresh lobster grilled beachside by CHEF ZERO!!! The excursion and lobster was a once in a lifetime experience - do not miss out. Call DEVON at 1-876-388-7044 or 1-867-447-5114. Devon also provides tours to the waterfalls, rum factory, deep sea fishing, night fishing, and much more. You won't want to miss the fun of these two and a great deal by booking through them instead of the resort or more advertised places! Also go to Rick's Cafe to watch or participate in food and cliff diving - it is a short taxi ride or catamaran ride away and can be booked by resort or local tour. 100% would choose this resort again and again!! Do not miss out on this adults only, all inclusive, secluded resort!

balcony! Booby Cay Island - short boat ride away!
14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Alabama
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 6, 2016
Excellent - a lovely resort and beautiful beach!

My husband and I just returned from our vacation and absolutely loved this resort! It is a hidden gem! Lovely, well-kept grounds, a beautiful and private beach with clear Caribbean water. The food was delicious. The service and the staff were excellent - so attentive, yet not "in your face."We also enjoyed the evening piano player by the bar and the bands that they had at night. It is a small resort, which we enjoyed. This is not the place to go if you want lots of activities and hustle and bustle. It is also adults-only, which we appreciated. We met several people who were return customers and I can certainly see why. I honestly cannot say enough GREAT things about this place. Enjoy and GO!


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Washington DC
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 30, 2015
Fantastic place... amazing people!

We read the reviews just like you are doing and this resort stood out for exactly what we were looking for - a little Romance. We were looking for a bit more intimacy (check), away from the hustle and bustle (check). So many people warned us that Jamaica wasn't safe - Not true! We had a blast with no issues! Definitely get the Private round trip car to/from the airport. It was well worth it. Our driver talked to us the whole way to Negril and made us feel at home immediately. We did our homework about excursions, but waited till we got there to decide which to do. We recommend the Half Moon Bay trip for sure! The Room - We loved the idea of our own bungaloo... man it was awesome! At night the Tree Frogs and all the critters came alive. We sat on the deck a few times and soaked it up. The beach is a 2 minute walk across the street to your own little section of sand and water. People walk by here and there asking if you want something not that big of a deal at all - No problem mon! If you're lucky you'll get to listen to Donovan play the guitar and sing some Bob Marley (He's awesome!). Food - The buffet is good with some local fare. We ate at the Lotus one night and that was good. My fiance is a vegetarian and she had many options so that worked well. The food is very good with lots of variety, but to be honest we didn't go for the food we went for the beach and relaxation. What we found we loved more than anything was the people. Denise, Craig, Oneil and Cherise - just a few of the people that took care of us and treated us like family. I booked the "Dinner for two" special in the Gazebo overlooking the pool. Great dinner and a perfect way to get engaged. All in all a wonderful place and a perfect vacation!


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Fort Collins, CO
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 6, 2011
Lush and beautiful!!!

As we rode the bus toward Sunset at the Palms, we passed a number of the large resorts like Riu and Sandals. They were attractive, but Sunset is much more lush and charming! Feels like Tahiti or Hawaii. From the moment we arrived, the service was top notch! The staff remembered our names, immediately! I'd like to specify that the resort is beautiful and lush, but not what I would consider luxurious or even plush. It has a natural, tropical beauty and feel. Very serene. Only around 84 cabanas. The private cabanas were cozy with beautiful bathrooms and awesome shower hardware. Love the little daybed on our deck. The resort is very quiet and romantic. The food is average, like most resort food... Good, but not outstanding... The pool is on the main grounds. The beautiful, private beach is separated by a road. I love the setup because the resort stays very quiet. Overall, we loved our stay at Sunset at the Palms!!


18 of 22 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 25, 2011
like paradise

unable to believe the beauty of this resort until you see it. very peaceful, quiet and clean. i would love to stay here again.


8 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: clinton twp, mi.
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 31, 2011
Best Vacation Ever

This was by far the best vacation we have ever taken. The resort is absolutely gorgeous. This is not your typical "concrete jungle" of wall to wall rooms. Each "house" is completely private and surrounded by beautiful foliage. There are no water slides, no hard rock bands all night, actually very little noise at all. The staff is above and beyond accommodating. We were waited on hand and foot. Kenroy, the fabulous bellman went above and beyond from the moment went stepped out of our shuttle. Lair, the wonderful young man who essetially ran the coffee bar (excellent coffee, capuccino and esspresso, by the way) the kitchen and the beach grill again above and beyond the call of duty. If you visit, check out the beach bar and get a Pina Colada from Omar, the great. The food was outstanding. As an example of the beautiful treatment, I happened to casually to mention to our friends, with whom we travelled) I wanted ice cream. Natalie, our wait staff over heard me and said "I will get you ice cream" She took our plates and marched into the kitchen. A few minutes later she returned and proclaimed, "Tomorrow, you will have ice cream, I have commanded it!" I was flabbergasted, I did not want any special treatment. Sure enough, the next day I had ice cream. Highly recommend the grape nut flavor! Enchanting!!


10 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Rome, N.Y>
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 21, 2011
Amazing

Sunset at the Palms exceeded my expectations. It was the best vacation I've ever been on. The resort is beautiful, the food is great, and the staff is extremely friendly!


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Beverly, MA
Age: 25-34

May 15, 2016
A lovely, relaxed and quiet resort

Sunset at the Palms is a really great resort for those who don't want the mega resort feel and like the idea of the treehouse style rooms. It's also basically a couples resort though they don't officially call it that. I went there alone as a single female in my thirties and there was nary another single person in sight and maybe one group of girlfriends that came together. That being said, it was not too bad being the random single person besides the constant questions of "just you?" and "why are you traveling alone"? But, this was to be expected. Now, here's what i liked/disliked about the resort: Pros: The beach and the pool! The pool is rather small but since the resort is small anyways, it was never crowded and the swim-up bar is very convenient. And yeah, you have to walk across a busy street to get to the beach but it's not far and the only real annoyance was not realizing that I was supposed to be giving the person at the gate my room number when I come and go (they want to make sure you come back at night??). I definitely recommend the catamaran cruise excursion that they sell at the stand down at the beach. It's pretty cheap and you go snorkeling, watch/do cliff diving and cruise around and watch the sunset. And, definitely try the jerk chicken down at the beach food stand. The food! I love tapas so having the buffet style meals was wonderful. Sure, not everything is great but I was always able to find something that was good and filled me up. Also very pleased that they have an espresso bar and it was actually good. For some reason on Monday, they had an a la carte menu where they only put out salad and dessert and then you ordered off of a menu in the dining area. This was not really displayed anywhere so I had to ask and a couple I befriended didn't eat there because they thought that there wasn't any lunch. The chef's showcase you can reserve once and the lotus leaf you can reserve as much as you want, I think. I only did the chef's showcase but the food was amaaaaaazing! You sit outside, which I didn't realize so make sure to put on your bug spray! Also, if they tell you that you can't wear open-toed shoes, DO NOT believe their lies. I basically got the stink eye from the girls working at the front desk because I said I didn't bring any closed-toe nice shoes. Come on mon, it's 85 degrees all day! I even bought cute sandals because it only said "no flip flops". When I went to the dinner, pretty much EVERYONE was wearing freaking sandals or flip flops. The drinks! They can make most normal drinks you'd get back home like moscow mules and such but they have a menu with a bunch of different rum concoctions that you should definitely try. And, remember to drink water too! The room! The treehouse style rooms are super cute and have a deck with a lounge bed that you can chill on. They refill your fridge with water and beer every day and it's air-conditioned! I've seen reviews about the lighting being bad but maybe these people are just blind? There are two lights in the room and two in the bathroom. Sure, the ones in the bathroom aren't that illuminating but I was worried that I would be fumbling around the room trying to find things; not the case. And yes, I sadly got one of the rooms by the road but it wasn't too bad. I was so tired every night that I was out cold. The service (for the most part, minus the stink eye)! The staff are really friendly and are always asking how you're doing mon and they'll probably remember your name. The guys were friendlier than the girls but I'm a female by myself so you chew on that one. Cons: They're 90 minutes from Sangster Airport. Book a round-trip airport transfer if you're not driving. If you stay at SatP, you get a complimentary MoBay Lounge VIP Service (although I thought it was arrival and departure but the email I got said arrival only). Cheapcaribbean will not tell you this if you book through them. I emailed the resort and they sent me my confirmation of the service. Basically, someone will meet you when you get off the plane and fast track you through...whatever you're supposed to do and take you to a little lounge with free drinks and little bites while you wait for your transportation. The live music at night. There's the piano guy at the martini bar that sings oldies but goodies at his own tempo so it might take you a minute like I did to figure out what song he's singing but he's entertaining. The music by the pool had some reggae nights and some contemporary music nights but for the most part my new friends and I found it to be lacking. Nightlife. There's basically no nightlife since it's a quiet, small resort (minus the live bands) so if you're looking for some excitement after dark, you might have to go elsewhere. I read that there are some clubs in Negril but I wasn't looking for too much excitement on my trip. All in all, I had a pretty great time at Sunset at the Palms and would go back (maybe find a bf next time beforehand) and recommend it to my friends that are looking for something more low-key/romantic/quiet/no kids/all-inclusive/awesome.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: San Francisco
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 11, 2016
So Relaxing!!

If your are looking for a party spot Sunset at the Palms is not for you. We found we had the most relaxing vacation ever at this little gem. The room is spacious although a little more seating so you do not have to sit on the bed would be nice. There were a couple of chairs and a bench. They provide all the amenities you have in any hotel/motel. The other patrons were wonderful to get to know. We had several couples that we became friends with during our time there and will be friends with for some time to come. The staff is wonderful, always smiling, and make your day a pleasure. It would be easy to never leave this resort. Be aware that the beach is across the street from the resort. You will have to walk outside the resort and then will be crossed by a crossing guard which is a very good idea with how they drive in Jamaica. The beach has its own bar and a grill. You don't even have to get out of your chair to get your next drink - they provide you with a flag to stick in the sand when you need a new one. We would definitely stay at Sunset at the Palms the next time we visit Jamaica.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Youngsville, NC
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations