All

Sunscape Sabor Cozumel Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Cozumel Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 263 Reviews
Value
 
3.9
Service
 
3.9
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.2
Room Comfort
 
3.5
3.7 out of 5
"Staff is very friendly. Food was okay I didn't expect it to be any better. Great beach, great pool. Island is very laid back. The walls in the rooms are very thin, bedding was not very good." – Sonya247
208 out of 291 (71%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Relaxation View from our garden view room The bar Ejoying the night away on the patio 10 steps from my door! Main pool from free wifi lobby area Another great sunset view from our room The holes in our room curtains View from our room balcony! The view from room 2621 Pool Time!! Great view and nice beach El Patio server Kenny Relaxing vacation Sabor sunset Sunrise over the pool. Our Garden View (haha) View from our Jr Suite Nicely plated food

All Sunscape Sabor Cozumel Customer Reviews

1-10 of 263 reviews. Sort by
June 14, 2013
Fair at Best.......Think Twice about this hotel...

We stayed at Sunscape Sabor May 18th – May 25th. We booked this hotel knowing that they would be completing remodeling about 1 month before we got there. We didn’t see any construction going on at the resort. We usually stay at Iberostar when we go to Cozumel, but they were having a DEAL for this resort and we decided to try it. Was it worth it????? Maybe????? We booked an Ocean Front Room and were very happy that we upgraded to ocean front. We had room # 3121. The room was nice and had plenty of room of us and all our dive gear. The bathroom was a little tight with the door placement, but it was a nice bathroom. For some reason, they didn’t give us shampoo & conditioner every day. We didn’t have HOT water the first day we were there. A call to the front desk and we did get it. Some days, you just had to turn on the hot water and wait…….sometimes you got warm water and sometimes you didn’t. Most days we didn't. They also didn’t fill our mini-bar every day, they would leave us bottled water, but not the beer or soda. They only filled it 3 times while we were there. I did call the front desk and they would just bring me water…….We had lots of water . The resort is very beautiful. The beach can’t be beat. Much better than Iberostar. Yes it is rocky, just make sure you bring your water shoes. Snorkeling was very good and we saw lots of wildlife in the swimming area. The beach is the best part of this place. So now to the sulfur smell. Yes we did smell it. Not in our room. There seems to be certain areas where you can smell it. Walking to dinner to Portofino, there was an area where you could smell the sulfur. I wouldn’t have wanted a room in that area. We also smelled the sulfur a couple of times when we were rinsing the sand off our feet by the beach shower. So now to the food and drinks. The bars were very good. You could always get a drink and the bartenders were good. The food was not even fair……..breakfast was good, lots of things to choose from. Lunch was ok. The buffet was open and the seaside grill had good snacks. The guacamole was very good and the cook was very nice. Dinner is another matter……very limited and NOT very good.You only had 2 options for dinner. They DID NOT open everything for dinner, even though they resort was pretty full. And the website says you have the option of 5 restaurants for dinner. We were told the pizza place, De Mario, would be opening while we where there, but it never opened. They would open Portofino or El Patio and then the Market Café or the seaside grill. We had fair dinners at Portofino & El Patio, they were very slow. We thought that when the Market Café was open that it would be a buffet, but it was not. It was just 5 different dinners and they had the exact same things the next night when the seaside grill was open. Meat, potatoes, vegetables and rice. They should have had a buffet as an option. Friday night, they had a Mexican buffet and it was good. I just wish they would have had that another night. The same food every night got a little old.

Fair at Best.......Think Twice about this hotel...
123 of 134 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 50 Contributor
From: Calif
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 30, 2013
READ THIS REVIEW!

I just came back from a stay at this hotel. I read all of the reviews and was concerned with some of them. I would like to be clear...this is an outstanding place with outstanding staff. Everything was absolutely excellent. The rooms are comfortable and clean. If you need something, they bring it immediately. The food is quite good and there is more than enough to choose from. Again, if you want something, they will even get it for you. An example: They had a buffet for Christmas that was quite nice, however, I did not eat the food that they were serving because I am almost vegetarian. I requested fish for me and chicken for my wife, neither of which was on the buffet. They went out of their way to make it and bring it to us. There is plenty to do...we went sailing, canoeing, and slept out by the beach and pool. Both were in excellent shape. There is food and a bar to get food and drink by both. If you are going as a couple, do the "romantic dinner". Ours was in the gazebo and they did an outstanding job. And we came back to a room with candles and rose petals. The only issue is the reliability of Wi-Fi, which is in and out at most times. But seriously, if I did not have to do work there, it would not have been an issue. After all, who does work when you go to Cozumel anyway? Seriously, forget any bad reviews you may read because they are utter nonsense and I just got back. I will go there again and again and you should do so yourself.


28 of 29 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: NJ
Age: 35-44
Travel: 7+ trips/year

October 3, 2013
overall experience

We went the week of Sept 8th, 2013. This was considered off season, the place seemed deserted which we loved. But a great hotel, rooms a bit damp but that’s the humidity. Several restaurants were not opened, bit of a nuisance, always going to the same place for breakfast, lunch and dinner. But the food was great, wait staff excellent!! Great presentations, creative desserts, great omelets. We didn’t like that they served just one beer, mixed drinks were great. Take your mug, they’ll fill ‘em up. Snorkeling was great for first timers. We could just walk off the beach, into the water and see stingrays, fish, etc. Clear water, we were out all day long snorkeling. Cost was about $15 for a taxi to downtown shopping, great bar hangouts there, $15 bucks back. I would definitely go back.


18 of 19 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Little Elm Texas
Age: 55-64

January 22, 2017
Not bad for the price

Overall This was worth the money for what we got. I am still here and we have had a great trip. In regards to the resort, the resort is on a beautiful location right on the beach. There is plenty of room to lay out on the beach or on a lounge chair. The beach in front of the resort is not crowded. The pool is also very nice with tons of sitting room. There are three locations that we found to eat and the food is not bad for being included. At night there is a steak house with a long wait. There is also a Mexican restaurant that is by far the best food on the resort. Breakfast is not bad, it is buffet style but the food is not bad. We haven't had a chance to eat lunch at the resort though so no review for lunch. Every night there is events that were surprisingly good. I told my with they were going to be cheesy but to my surprise, they were good. Be aware of the time share people. They were soon pushy and rude. They tricked us into taking a 90 minute presentation that took about 3 hours of our precious vacation. They did give us hotel coupons that covered three days of a jeep rental. Only issue is that we have to see the time share people every morning while we eat breakfast and we can see them glaring at us because we did not buy a time share. One of the time share people told me if I don't buy there deal that they will take my money in other ways. Im not sure what that meant but stay away from them lol. Also, we used cheap caribbean and got a great deal except regarding the travel from the airport to the resort. We paid $160 US dollars to get four people round trip in a crowed bus. FYI, you can take a cab for $15 dollars with out the crowds. There are cabs everywhere!! The hotel excursions were sooooo expensive. We wanted to take the cave tour and they wanted $460 US dollars for four people with no travel included. We took a cab and ended up paying $120 US for the same excursion on our own. Some of the bad, We booked the garden view room and we ended up on the third floor. There is no elevator so if you are disabled, plan ahead and request a 1st floor room. Also, we booked a room with one bed and were given two small beds. My wife and I slept in separate beds so did the other guests that came with us. We informed the front desk and they just told us to come back tomorrow with no solution. The beds were very uncomfortable and I found it hard to sleep. . More bad, The bar by the beach took a very long time to get drinks and they were very watered down. My suggestion is ask for double shots in your drinks, that worked for us. The internet is also an issue on the island, we needed an additional room key and due to internet, we could not get the key. Conclusion, For what we paid, we got our moneys worth. The resort was very nice, food was fine, drinks were good after we did double shots. My suggestion is to rent a jeep and explore the island. We found unbelievable spots for free that the resorts will charge you hundreds per person for. Also, check out Corona beach, best spot we found. Hope this helps


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: California
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 11, 2014
Great beach & friendly people

My husband and I (mid-50's) stayed for a week at Sunscape Harbor, Cozumel. We like to stay at resorts that are not too big (not over 400 rooms). Normally stay at 4-5 star resorts, but wanted to save some money this time. For the money, it met our needs . . . which is mostly laying on the beach with a cocktail in hand. Would we go back? Yes, for the money savings with the nice beach. Sunsets were beautiful! See comments below. The beach was not overly crowded, clean, white, plush sand that you love to dig your toes in. I snorkeled from the beach only 20 yards out in 4-5 feet of water and saw some very colorful fish, small and large, including a small sting ray. Not a lot, but what i saw was great. Water is calm and has a roped off swimming/snorkeling area. Saw many diving and fishing boats go by and a few jet skies. You can also kayak and sail. Our room was small (garden view) with 2 full size beds, which slept so so. Next time would upgrade to a better room. You can tell they have been renovating and still a ways to go. The drawers on our dresser would not open and shut very well at all. The AC comes from a wall unit secured up above. Could not adjust the temp. No ceiling fan in the room. Temp seemed OK though. Had to ask for a hair dryer for the room after arrival, which was very old. Next time i would bring my own. However, for the time you spend in your room, it meets your needs. Staff was accommodating and helpful for anything we needed or had questions. Food is limited to what we have been use to in the past. Had 3 options to eat . . . 1) snack shop close to beach, pool and bar. Choices were nachos, burgers and fries (good!) and quesadillas for lunch and evening meal, with breakfast in the morning as a buffet or get a made to order omelet. Food was good there but breakfast choice much more limited than the next place. 2) North end of resort had buffet for breakfast (and omelet order), sometimes lunch and evening meals. 3) Mexican restaurant next to pool sometimes sit down with 4-5 choices to order and sometimes buffet. Sit down meal was good. A couple of evening buffets were set up around pool area . . . long longs to get food (20-30 minutes). Seemed not enough staff to keep up or space was limited and could not have 2 lines going instead of one. Went to town by taxi one evening (15-20 min ride for $18) which was great. Had a small stage/theater for daytime entertainment/games and evening shows. Lobby always had a movie at night. Had nightly music beginning at 9:30 which we did not attend. Saw one evening show of Mayan dancers which was good. Each morning received a sheet of paper listing entertainment, food options, expected weather, etc. which was nice. Another nice feature was having no wristband to wear and could get as many beach towels you wanted. Did not have to give them your room # or anything. Lastly, flying into Cozumel airport was great . . . no long lines, staff very friendly and were at our resort in 20 minutes. Did the share ride option to get to and from airport . . . next time take a taxi because it is cheaper (1/2 as much) and very readily available and safe. Felt very safe in town as well as resort vs Cancun area.


16 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Iowa
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 2, 2016
Sunscape Splendor

Although this is not a true 4 star resort it is well worth the value. The food was more than up to par. While there they threw a huge Mexican feast one night and it was outstanding. Every afternoon there was a cookout by the pool. The staff is wonderful. You want an excursion see Salvador as he is a wealth of knowledge. We even took a trip to town one afternoon to experience local culture. Fun trip. One thing I would not do though is pay for the RT transportation from Airport to Hotel as you can get a better deal there, but it is nice they look after you at the resort, you leave, they know, you come back, they know. This all inclusive is worth the price we paid on the "Deal of Fortune" I would and likely will use Cheap Caribbean again. I don't understand all the negative reviews I have read. Sure I have stayed at better resorts and I also paid more than twice the amount for those stays. This is a geat value!

Sunscape Splendor Sunscape Splendor
8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Indiana
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 14, 2016
Absolutely Awesome!!

My husband and I went on our first vacation away from our kids in 21 years! We booked with Cheap Caribbean and were a bit nervous so I called them twice to be sure everything was in place and also asked them a few questions. We had no issues with the flight or our reservation at the resort. When we checked in they asked if we wanted to upgrade. We checked our our room and it was perfect. We were 15 steps from the ocean and 10 steps from the bar! No upgrade needed! We did not have to make any advance reservations for any meals upon arrival. Throughout our stay we ate at all of the options available. There was a huge variety of foods at the buffets, something for everyone! The servers were very patient and accommodating. Our last night, they put out a Mexican Buffet and put on a show with dancers, singers and a Mariachi band, real Mexican culture! The bar served all types of cocktails and Dosxx beer. Our bartender Izzy, was awesome! The beach was a bit rocky but we were able to see some awesome fish and creatures! We had no issues with getting a beach chair and towel each day We picked up the free snorkeling gear and went right out in from of our room. We saw the most beautiful, colorful fish, squid and sting rays. Our room was cleaned each day and re-stocked with towels and washcloths. The mini bar was re-stocked as well (No Charge) There were many opportunities for us to book trips to go to various places as well. Our overall experience was awesome. Our trip was very restful and relaxing with plenty of sunshine!


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Big Lake, Minnesota
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 15, 2016
FANTASTIC TRIP!

My husband and I have been to Mexico before and have stayed at an all inclusive resort but NOT LIKE THIS ONE!!! I have read many reviews on this hotel before booking it, it's so hard to pick a resort by pictures alone. To be honest the reviews were very mixed. One constant review was how wonderful the staff were here at Sunscape and WOW...did the staff there EXCEED our expectations!. Upon arrival to the hotel our first encounter was with Randy...his smiling face greeted us with a warm "Welcome home" where he lead us to check in..took our bags and walked us to our beach front bungalow. Each staff member we encountered greeted us with warm smiles and you can tell they were genuine. The grounds were buzzing with staff working on the cleanliness of the resort. We chose the low season on purpose and it was fantastic!. We didn't have to wait in line to eat or sit at the bars. Plenty of food options here and all restaurants there were awesome. My favorite was that the menu's had gluten free options, which I am so that made my selection that much easier! I can't say enough great things about this resort and the many wonderful staff members we befriended and hopefully will see again!. Here are the ones that stood out: Randy, Mara, Victor, Maru,Luis, Oscar, Jorge, Javier, Adriane,Laura and Bradley!. We had a BLAST!. This resort has snorkeling gear, kayaks and Hobie cat's to use FREE as well!!...just awesome!!


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Washington, DC
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 22, 2013
Wonderful Mini Moon

Let me start with the positive - the resort and the scenery were beautiful. The sunsets were to die for! We snorkled on the first day that we were there. It would have been nice to be able to rent the snorkle gear for 24hrs since they close at 4pm. The swing bar was fun and in a good location. The resort is currently building a swim-up bar but does not have one at this time as advertised. The food was pretty good - I am gluten free so had a few limitations but not many. One of the restaurants for the evening dinner actually had gluten free options listed. I was impressed with that! I think the best meal of the day there is breakfast. I wasn't too impressed with the snacks: nachos, quesadillas, hot dogs and hamburgers. There were two dining options for dinner that alternated being open. El Patio and their Italian restaurants. The rooms were comfortable - we had the junior suite, a good view of the ocean and a king size bed. They did well cleaning the rooms and such. I wish they had more bottled water! They give you 4 upon check-in 2 in the bathroom and 2 in your fridge. Then only two for the remaining days. I was happy to know that they had a separate water filtration system for the water served in glasses when dining. I wouldn't advise drinking the water out of the tap, but I don't think it was dangerous. One note - the airport transportation was fine. We had a semi-difficult time tracking down the correct person to get back to the airport. All worked out fine but there are several people at the resort and airport trying to sell you something! We rented a scooter to go around the island. It was awesome. I would definitely recommend that but make sure you know how to drive one! The other side of the island from the resort has white sandy beaches and there's hardly anyone in sight! The sand is more fine and it's really really beautiful! Get out and about if you can!!


10 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: The Woodlands, Texas
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 19, 2013
Great Time

We had a wonderful time at the Sunscape. Everyone working there was friendly and helpful. The food was good, service good. Everything that was advertised was there for your use. The Elvis show and the Fire Show were really enjoyable. We will go back.


15 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Houston, TX
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations