All

Sunscape Puerto Plata Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Puerto Plata Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 170 Reviews
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
3.9
Dining Options
 
3.4
Room Comfort
 
3.9
3.9 out of 5
"everything is new, comfortable and works perfectly .Staff was super friendly Service and food was terrific! You won't be disappointed....." – armageddon
144 out of 196 (73%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
swim up bar pool Hotel room view!!! Very Large Beach One of the dinner of the second night first morning exploring the place. beach walk view Look at that clear water! At the bar. Great time!! Relaxing in Puerto Plata! Look at that clear water! One of the pools. Sun Club Room One of the restaurant view from Castaways Drinks Delivered to your Beach chair

All Sunscape Puerto Plata Customer Reviews

1-10 of 170 reviews. Sort by
June 19, 2017
Sunscape Vacation Review

We just returned last night from our 5 day vacation at the Sunscape Peurto Plata. We were very pleased overall with our experience there. I have a family of 5 so we went with two rooms....both Junior Club Suites and we are very glad we did. Very spacious and well worth the extra few hundred dollars. The rooms are very nice and the cleaning service was great. The food was above average but if you want Coke and Sprite it simply does not taste the same as in the US....just an off taste. The staff are not skimpy on the alcohol with the mixed drinks so enjoy!!! There are some speciality restaurants bit we enjoyed Windows the best as there is a wide range of choices there. The pasta bar is excellent as is the chicken cordon bleu. The burgers served aren't the best but the chicken is outstanding. There is a pizza place that is decent as well. The main pool is great....lots of fun....great entertainment and it is always fun to meet people from other countries. Everyone was friendly and was there to have a good time. All of the staff on the resort were really really great people......friendly, helpful, and extremely appreciative of any sort of tip. We made sure we were very good to them. They work hard and I am sure are underpaid. We took the catamaran excursion which took you to 2 different spot for snorkeling. Buy the excursion on the site, not from vendors on the beach. They are $20 cheaper per person on the beach but it is NOT the same excursion. They feed you lunch on the boat plus all the alcohol you want. It goes from 8:30am-2;30pm....$80 per person....well worth it. There are excursions to go into town but I felt they were overpriced. We just got a taxi and got a quote for $40 and our driver took us all over and showed us the sites and the culture. Took us downtown and got out of the car and walked with us all over. It was cool seeing the culture of the people and what it is really like there.....not just from a resort perspective. So $40 for 3 hours plus I have him a $20 tip. Instead of paying $65-$80 per person for a family of 5, it was just $60 total and had our own personal tour guide. I have heard the beaches at Punta Cana are the best, but the beach at Peurto Plata certainly was no slouch, plus you are much closer to a town. The only thing annoying about the beach was some of the locals coming on and constantly trying to sell you stuff....but all you have to do is say no thanks and they are pretty good about it. The entertainment was very good.....There are some extremely talented entertainers/dancers there.....fun to watch. Some of the men and women i saw could work at big time places. I would recommend this resort to others for sure. We had a great time. Thanks to all of the staff.....They were outstanding and also really fun to talk with.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Iowa
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 14, 2016
99softail

To start , I purchased this vaca with the Deal Of Fortune and ended up at the Sunscspe Resort , after reading the reviews I thought it was going to be great , well the 4 star went to a 3 star ! The employees were great and very friendly but just because you put on a knew coat of paint doesn't make it a 4 star resort , the food was good and I think there was 8 restaurants but didn't make it to 2 because I didn't long pants (are you kidding me ) the first day I was there I had a tank top on for breakfast and they wouldn't let me in , this place just opened at the end of February and we got there March 1st , they have way to many rules that you don't see at a 5 star resort , the resort is not safety conscience at all , there are a lot of 3 step stairways with no railings at all , I saw a older gentleman fall down the stairway in Windows restaurant , and nobody there knew what to do , there should be some type of a trained medical person 24 -7 , on March 3 we had a torrential rain storm and my wife was taking a knap and I came back and her flipflops were floating across the floor , you cant stop mother nature but they had no way to remove the water quickly , mops and a broom ! A lot of the outside bars and resturants either had no bathrooms or the ones that did , had no soap to wash your hands no paper towels or the plumbing and toilets were plugged up ! Maybe someday when it is finished it might be nice but at the present I wasn't very pleased at all ! The beach was cleaned every day but the location of the resort was not perfect ,it was in a large cove and it collected every thing if the wind was blowing in the right direction , I really think it was way over rated at a 4 star and I am sorry but wont ever return to Sunscape in Puerto Plata , Cheap Caribbean has to many other better places to go !


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Cape Cod , Ma.
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

September 7, 2016
Return trip

I stayed at this resort twice when it was owned by a different company. Since it was purchased and became Sunscape, it is greatly improved. Variety of restaurants- no resevervations required! Late night food options! Lots of activities, multiple pools, so you can find your spot- for peace and quiet or for fun and partying. Something for everyone. Activities and snacks and bar at the beach. Staff remember you and are friendly. Room remodels are nice, much improved. They decorated the door for my boyfriend's birthday and offered to make a cake as well- our plans changed so I didn't request one, but on the spot at the Italian restaurant, they whipped up a small one (fed 3 of us!) and sang to him after dinner. On our return visit recently, they decorated our door again. Much attention to detail! I tip quite often- esp with good service. A few bucks goes a long way and employees work hard and appreciate it. We always do Sunclub upgrade, but that's my preference. We enjoy the beach club at night- to bachata and dance. There's a kids club, spa, and new pool tables and I think foosball. Crowds and clientele depend on the season. (Low season, spring break, holidays, etc) 4th of July they had fireworks and decorated with American flags. They did similar this weekend for Labor Day. and I've seen them acknowledge French and Canadian holidays as well. If you have preferences, ask when you make reservations or upon check-in. Go. Have fun. Enjoy your vacation.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Dallas, TX
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 2, 2016
old hotel just changed name

This is the old hotel they just changed the name as their reviews were terrible. The bathroom had on extremely hot water to shower. The toilet was backed up for two days. If we asked for towel it would come after hour two hours. Night time dining options are not good as their buffet and other restaurant close by 12 . Wifi does not work in the rooms. I will not recommend.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: new york
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 6, 2016
What was I thinking

As spring break was approaching, my friends and I were looking for a reasonable priced getaway. We found the cheap carribean deal of fortune which sounded like an amazing opportunity! We looked at all the four star resorts in the area that were possibilities for our destination. Most looked amazing, however we were scheduled to stay at the SunScape resort. We were still excited to get away and for the price couldn't resist. Upon our arrival the resort looked amazing! We were directed right to our room which was nice and clean. We then walked around the resort which was remarkably small. The main pool was nice however very dirty (hair, dirt, leaves). The dining options were limited at best, and the service was extremely slow. The food was average at best, and made us all very sick. The beach was very small as well, and extremely windy. Along with the wind, the beach was public which allowed vendors to hasle you while you are trying to relax. Towards the end of our stay the resort became very busy, which dragged down the overall performance of the staff. Once the resort was full, the staff could not keep up with the demand. We waited over an hour in the buffet just to receive silver wear and napkins. Overall, this was not a four star resort in our opinion and we were terribly disappointed. Be warned on the deal of fortune!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Boston
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 11, 2017
Most Relaxing DR Vacation 2017

Upon arrival the Sunscape staff greeted and escorted us to the Sun Club Private Check-in, which I booked additional in advance. That was the best thing I did because the services and the staff was exceptional. The Sun Club adults only section had its own Pool/Jacuzzi, Bar,Daily light breakfast and afternoon hot and cold hors d’oeuvres, exquisite desserts and fine liquors served in the lounge, very quiet and a few steps to everything else. The room we had was very large. ( But the water in the rooms should be a little hotter) The staff was always there to help and assist with any needs you may have. We got their early before check-in so we had time eat lunch and explore a little. The resort is very beautiful and big. The pools were nice and big. There were always chairs available (But they need more Umbrella's) the sun was very hot. The variety of restaurant's ad the food was excellent. There was something different to eat every night. The beach was a very short from the rooms but it was a public beach, which means there was a lot of vendors trying to sell you stuff. The entertainment staff was good because they keep you entertained during the day and also with the shows at night. Overall, this was our first time in Puerta Plata and after staying at Sunscape, it wont be our last. The staff would always say " welcome home, when are you coming back.

Drinks Delivered to your Beach chair Very Large Beach
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Bronx New York
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 23, 2016
Sunscape Puerto Plata DR

I would rate this resort overall a 4 out of 5 stars. It's a great value and destination for a family. We traveler there with our 5 year old daughter: Rooms - Large, modern, comfortable, great beds Service - Fantastic across the board Kids Explorer Club - Wonderful, great activities and staff our daughter asked to go back daily, and they are open late enough that we managed to have dinner by ourselves once Food - Above expectations, though not great when you come from NYC. Restaurant options were plenty, the grilled chicken and pork were easy to find for lunch, snack, dinner, and was the best. We really enjoyed the beach restaurant for dinner, the ambiance and the seafood Spaghetti was pretty good Pool - large, fun, great swim-up bar. Only complaints that it did not open until 9AM and there was loud music on the entire day which kind of ruined the mood a bit. Beach - beautiful, wonderful shallow water, usually calm in the mornings, perfect for morning dips. Mangrove trees offered great shade throughout the day SPA - My wife loved it Free self parking was a plus. Close to POP airport The most annoying thing was each evening there was a show between 930-11PM that was VERY loud, making it difficult for our daughter to go to sleep and for us to relax in the room. Try and get a room in building `1 which is the furthers from the stage. Another annoying thing was hotel sales people trying to get you to go to a 90 minute seminar about the chains other resorts in exchange for discount coupons. There are plenty of things to see and do outside the resort. I would not recommend renting a car unless you're used to driving in a major city under a lot of pressure as the traffic is insane, mostly by a 4:1 ratio of motorcycles to cars, that appear everywhere, including in the inside shoulder where you want to go at times when a car is coming towards you in your lane, passing other cars going the other directions, including slower trucks/buses doing the passing in uphill and in turns where there are double lines. It's the second time I've driven there and I told my wife it's like being in a crazy video game We will/would def consider going back


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Brooklyn, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 15, 2016
Nice Resort. Need some updates.

Had a good time. It was the first time we went to Puerto Plata. We stayed in the Sub Club Adult only section. The resort was very nice. It is a older resort that has been renovated. It is pretty nice. Even though there are over 500 rooms, there were no crowds anywhere. There were no lines at the restaurants or the buffets and most importantly for me, you don't have to have someone in your party wake up and run to the beach to claim chairs as you often have to do in other resorts. But we didn't need to do that as there is plenty of chairs. Also, it does gets more crowded on Friday and Saturday, as locals are there as well. ROOM: -The rooms are nice and spacious. The only thing I would change in the room is that it should have a king size bed. VIP Services: - Jorge Luis in the VIP desk was very nice and helpful. Entertainment: - Rafael and his team does a nice job with entertainment. Shows in the evening are very nice. Only thing I would change is have a different variety of shows instead of just dancing shows. The magic show was nice. FOOD: - The food was good, but I think if they have more different variety that would be nice. We stayed for 6 nights and it felt they had the same thing everyday. The restaurants didn't have much options. We tried all of them. But my favorite was the Windows Buffet. For lunch, we went to the the restaurant right above the main pool area. Nelson was really nice there. Made the burgers and fries fresh every-time. BEACH: - Having been to Punta Cana in the past and comparing it to that beach it is not that nice. There was way too much sea weed for my liking. POOL:- We spent more time in the pool. The pool is nice and big. But the pool needs to be cleaned throughout the day. There is debris from the roof of the restaurant above the main pool. I did have access to the Sunclub and main pools. The Sunclub pools were more quiet but they were smaller, while the main pool had more people and also had a swim-up bar. The only complaint I have is that the pools close at 6pm. That's way too early. In my opinion 6pm is too early to kick people out. SPA:- The spa was very good as well. We got the Swedish massage. Alicia and Moniska was very good. Overall, I loved my stay here, I would definitely recommend this resort. The only thing I would change is having king size bed, having more variety of food. Just a tip, stay in SUNCLUB if you can. You get access to premium drink if you like to do that.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New jersey
Age: 25-34

July 25, 2017
fun vacation

overall everything was good. The area was clean and beautiful also the room service was perfect. The pools were clean and the beach area was clean. The food in the restaurants was good and you don't have to wait or make a reservation. The entertainment was very good the dancers were very good and they always surprised us with their talent every night there was something new. We highly recommend this resort to others..


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Waterbury,CT
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 25, 2016
2 stars, not 4

I hope the pros and cons we list will be helpful. We went for 8 nights ending on the 19th. No matter where we go in the Dominican, the people are unfailingly wonderful and honest. We inadvertently left a valuables case at the beach dinner restaurant with my watch, money, etc. Staff turned it into security and was returned to us completely intact once we described our loss. However, as nice as the people are, this can in no way be considered a 4 star resort. For as many restaurants they show, only 2 are open a night with the exception of the buffet and pizza shop. The food was generally edible as long as you don't eat the meat. On more than one occasion, we had meat that couldn't be eaten. The resort was probably at 15-20% capacity so the food didn't turn often enough to keep it fresh and appealing looking. On one day, they had 2 whole roasted ducks, and being we love duck, went for it. The server needed a cleaver and hacked at it. Mummified was a nice way to put it and it was sad to see several other people leaving it for disposal. Gohan was good, but was only open 2 of 8 nights. Stick with the seafood which was very flavorful. One thing that was nice from a family point of view was at the buffet a small kids station offering kid friendly food at their height. The resort is very big on hotdogs, hamburgers and the like for lunch. A seafood ceviche would have been very nice. They really push the Sun Club and for the upcharge you get: private dining area, their jacuzzi pools, premium liquor and it would seem, free room service. If you are not in it, you don't have access to any of it. With a standard room, if you want room service there is a food charge (not service charge). Capacity is 535 rooms. The pools are small and won't accommodate anywhere near that volume of people when they really get up and running. There were only 5 umbrellas and 6 pool floats between the 2 pools and there is no waitstaff should that matter to you. There is no shade available beyond the umbrellas so bring heavy sunblock. At the beach, trees provide decent shade but the lounges are old and some well sprung. The towels provided some comfort there. There is a towel ticket you redeem for a towel which you get back upon returning. Keep track of it for when you check out, there is a $20 fee for not having it. One older gentleman, being nice, turned in 3 towels even though he had only claimed two, so some poor family couldn't get their ticket back. Saturday they open up the resort to daytrippers, locals who pay for the day/weekend. The pool was a scene right out of Caddyshack, and the lunch buffet was like a locust swarm. They couldn't replenish the food fast enough. I don't blame the resort, but it's something you should know. All beaches in the Dominican are public, hence the vendors. I didn't find them to be as persistent or rude. The resort salespeople were far more pushy trying to lure you into their resort timeshare presentation. A shake of the head or no thank you was sufficient. However, we were parked by the security guard who was in constant attendance which probably helped. The water was calm while we were there and clear enough that I could see my feet, so some of the reviewers descriptions may be time of year/weather related. Did the snorkeling excursion from the beach and would recommend you see Martinez, the Amstar rep on site. He was very helpful and totally honest. We could have gone to Paradise Island, but when he told us it was a 2 hour bus ride to the catamaran, never mind. We had a great time with the catamaran that ran from the beach. Fun crew, surprisingly great food with variety and well supervised snorkeling. Clarifications on advertising: WiFi is available for free only in the lobby, which is open air. Could be hot in the summer. Bathroom amenities were limited to shampoo and shower gel. Might be different in the Sun Club. We couldn't find the Bluefin restaurant and it is not on the resort brochure. Our room did not have a guest directory nor a cover template on the phone so we never could figure out how to pick up the message left there. The dancers are off on Sunday, so the had some guy screaming into the PA system that night, which was turned all the way up. This made it difficult to sleep let alone put children down. It was totally unnecessary, as we were never disturbed any other night by the entertainment or disco dancing. When we checked in they told us that the mini bar would only be serviced if we called to request it. But maid service replenished the water and soda daily. Didn't drink the 2 beers in the fridge so it didn't bother us, but it is another ding in my opinion at the service level. Our room was nice, the bed and pillows comfortable. The shower and bathroom are small but functional. A bath tub was preferable, but they took them all out in the renovation. Preferring a tub with a jacuzzi, had we known, we wouldn't have booked into this resort. As said in other reviews, we got just about what we paid for. As a seasoned traveler, this resort was over hyped and not really represented properly. We had a great time in spite of the disappointing expectations. This really is a great low budget resort, particularly if you are into burgers and cheap booze.


12 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: St Louis
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

+ Vacation Packages
+ All-Inclusive Deals
+ Hotels
+ Destinations