All

Sunscape Puerto Plata Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Puerto Plata Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 145 Reviews
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
3.9
Dining Options
 
3.4
Room Comfort
 
3.9
3.9 out of 5
"Great service thru Cheap Caribbean..... Resort was above average... service was terrific.... nice options for food, and quality was good... great vaca....., Thanks" – Boonedog
121 out of 165 (73%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
beach walk view At the bar. Great time!! first morning exploring the place. One of the dinner of the second night Sun Club Room Relaxing in Puerto Plata! One of the pools. One of the restaurant Hotel room view!!! swim up bar pool view from Castaways

All Sunscape Puerto Plata Customer Reviews

1-10 of 145 reviews. Sort by
April 25, 2016
2 stars, not 4

I hope the pros and cons we list will be helpful. We went for 8 nights ending on the 19th. No matter where we go in the Dominican, the people are unfailingly wonderful and honest. We inadvertently left a valuables case at the beach dinner restaurant with my watch, money, etc. Staff turned it into security and was returned to us completely intact once we described our loss. However, as nice as the people are, this can in no way be considered a 4 star resort. For as many restaurants they show, only 2 are open a night with the exception of the buffet and pizza shop. The food was generally edible as long as you don't eat the meat. On more than one occasion, we had meat that couldn't be eaten. The resort was probably at 15-20% capacity so the food didn't turn often enough to keep it fresh and appealing looking. On one day, they had 2 whole roasted ducks, and being we love duck, went for it. The server needed a cleaver and hacked at it. Mummified was a nice way to put it and it was sad to see several other people leaving it for disposal. Gohan was good, but was only open 2 of 8 nights. Stick with the seafood which was very flavorful. One thing that was nice from a family point of view was at the buffet a small kids station offering kid friendly food at their height. The resort is very big on hotdogs, hamburgers and the like for lunch. A seafood ceviche would have been very nice. They really push the Sun Club and for the upcharge you get: private dining area, their jacuzzi pools, premium liquor and it would seem, free room service. If you are not in it, you don't have access to any of it. With a standard room, if you want room service there is a food charge (not service charge). Capacity is 535 rooms. The pools are small and won't accommodate anywhere near that volume of people when they really get up and running. There were only 5 umbrellas and 6 pool floats between the 2 pools and there is no waitstaff should that matter to you. There is no shade available beyond the umbrellas so bring heavy sunblock. At the beach, trees provide decent shade but the lounges are old and some well sprung. The towels provided some comfort there. There is a towel ticket you redeem for a towel which you get back upon returning. Keep track of it for when you check out, there is a $20 fee for not having it. One older gentleman, being nice, turned in 3 towels even though he had only claimed two, so some poor family couldn't get their ticket back. Saturday they open up the resort to daytrippers, locals who pay for the day/weekend. The pool was a scene right out of Caddyshack, and the lunch buffet was like a locust swarm. They couldn't replenish the food fast enough. I don't blame the resort, but it's something you should know. All beaches in the Dominican are public, hence the vendors. I didn't find them to be as persistent or rude. The resort salespeople were far more pushy trying to lure you into their resort timeshare presentation. A shake of the head or no thank you was sufficient. However, we were parked by the security guard who was in constant attendance which probably helped. The water was calm while we were there and clear enough that I could see my feet, so some of the reviewers descriptions may be time of year/weather related. Did the snorkeling excursion from the beach and would recommend you see Martinez, the Amstar rep on site. He was very helpful and totally honest. We could have gone to Paradise Island, but when he told us it was a 2 hour bus ride to the catamaran, never mind. We had a great time with the catamaran that ran from the beach. Fun crew, surprisingly great food with variety and well supervised snorkeling. Clarifications on advertising: WiFi is available for free only in the lobby, which is open air. Could be hot in the summer. Bathroom amenities were limited to shampoo and shower gel. Might be different in the Sun Club. We couldn't find the Bluefin restaurant and it is not on the resort brochure. Our room did not have a guest directory nor a cover template on the phone so we never could figure out how to pick up the message left there. The dancers are off on Sunday, so the had some guy screaming into the PA system that night, which was turned all the way up. This made it difficult to sleep let alone put children down. It was totally unnecessary, as we were never disturbed any other night by the entertainment or disco dancing. When we checked in they told us that the mini bar would only be serviced if we called to request it. But maid service replenished the water and soda daily. Didn't drink the 2 beers in the fridge so it didn't bother us, but it is another ding in my opinion at the service level. Our room was nice, the bed and pillows comfortable. The shower and bathroom are small but functional. A bath tub was preferable, but they took them all out in the renovation. Preferring a tub with a jacuzzi, had we known, we wouldn't have booked into this resort. As said in other reviews, we got just about what we paid for. As a seasoned traveler, this resort was over hyped and not really represented properly. We had a great time in spite of the disappointing expectations. This really is a great low budget resort, particularly if you are into burgers and cheap booze.


12 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: St Louis
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 6, 2016
Overall good experience

The overall experience at Sunscape was good. There is a lot of updates/construction going on at the resort at the moment so I believe in time this will be an excellent resort and will deserve a 4 star. But for now, I would give it a 3.5 star. First the positives: Peurto Plata is a beautiful place. The scenery at the beach and the location of the resort itself is beautiful. You will not be disappointed with that. The people there were all extremely nice and helpful. Everybody makes you feel very welcomed and all of them seem genuinely happy to be there taking care of your needs. The food choices were very good and the bars also had very good options with international and domestic spirits. I have to give a shout out to all the bar tenders, waiters and waitresses there, they are such great people and they took care of us very well with always a smile on their faces. The resort had a beach side restaurant which was very nice with a beautiful view. The pool side restaurant which served snacks was also very nice. In general, wherever you go there was some sort of food at any time of the day to be honest, and no you will not find any complaints about the choices of food the resort has to offer. The pools were all very nice and kept clean. We had a small pool right by our room which was very convenient for us. And the beach was also super nice with a beautiful view. The beach was kept clean, although they do have a few vendors trying to sell stuff, they didn't bother us at all. They came and asked us if we wanted something and once we say no, they went away without any hesitation. We did have a couple of issues with the safe box in our room and also with the shower head. However, those were fixed within ten minutes of calling them and letting them know. Whenever we requested for any room service, they were delivered within a very reasonable time. The resort also had nightly entertainments, which varied each day. They also had day activities at the beach as well, for those who are interested in some competition. They also had kids activities every night (they also has a kids club but my son was too young to go but I have heard from other guests that it's pretty good) and the entertainment crew did an excellent job in trying to entertain the guests (old and young) there. Our son (22Months) enjoyed all the kids activities a lot and he had an awesome time :) Now the negatives: There is some room for improvements with the resort itself. There were a lot of construction going on there so I assume, in time they will fix this as I believe Sunscape took over this resort not so long ago. The food was OK, although I have to say there were a lot of choices. I think they should do better with the quality of food that they put out there. The rooms can use an upgrade, it is painted brand new but looked old. At the end of the day, when you are out on a vacation, you want to see happy faces and I would say we saw happy faces all around from the people there to the employees there. We did make some friends there to boot and we sure are planning to go back to Sunscape a few years from now, hopefully!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Newark, DE
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 7, 2016
Return trip

I stayed at this resort twice when it was owned by a different company. Since it was purchased and became Sunscape, it is greatly improved. Variety of restaurants- no resevervations required! Late night food options! Lots of activities, multiple pools, so you can find your spot- for peace and quiet or for fun and partying. Something for everyone. Activities and snacks and bar at the beach. Staff remember you and are friendly. Room remodels are nice, much improved. They decorated the door for my boyfriend's birthday and offered to make a cake as well- our plans changed so I didn't request one, but on the spot at the Italian restaurant, they whipped up a small one (fed 3 of us!) and sang to him after dinner. On our return visit recently, they decorated our door again. Much attention to detail! I tip quite often- esp with good service. A few bucks goes a long way and employees work hard and appreciate it. We always do Sunclub upgrade, but that's my preference. We enjoy the beach club at night- to bachata and dance. There's a kids club, spa, and new pool tables and I think foosball. Crowds and clientele depend on the season. (Low season, spring break, holidays, etc) 4th of July they had fireworks and decorated with American flags. They did similar this weekend for Labor Day. and I've seen them acknowledge French and Canadian holidays as well. If you have preferences, ask when you make reservations or upon check-in. Go. Have fun. Enjoy your vacation.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Dallas, TX
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 17, 2016
Greatest Family Vacation we have ever had!

We had a fantastic time at the Sunscape Resort in Puerto Plata. This was our first time doing an all inclusive resort and we loved it! There were so many things to do, even with Hurricane Matthew threatening (we got some rain showers and a little rough sea water causing the beach to be closed for two days, but considering that were able to "dodge" the actual hurricane, this was a tiny inconvenience, but no interruption to our fun): snorkeling, sailing, kayaking, free first scuba dive in the pool (my wife had never tried it before.. was ok with the pool, but still won't "dive with the fishes..." lol). We have 8 and 5 year old kids and they had an absolute blast. The care provided by the staff at the "Explorers Club" was fantastic too. Thank you to Evelin, Maria, and "Butterfly" for treating our kids like they were your own. We felt so confident in the kids safety and that they would have fun and be treated well. We enjoyed being able to drop them off at 7pm every night to watch the kids movie with these ladies so that the wife and I could get some alone time to eat at the nice restaurants on the resort. It was a great "re-kindling" time for the two of us.... if know what I mean! The whole trip was so good for our family and getting back together with each other. The food was of good quality.... there was plenty of it, nice variety, fresh, well cooked and the staff were decently attentive most of the time. We have no complaints with any of the service or food, but hey, if guests are expecting "Michelin Star" quality food, well resorts are not really the right venue for that right? We went in with reasonable expectations for all inclusive, and we were NOT disappointed. The alcohol was fun, but it is all local brands. If you like some flavored rums, mojitos, pina coladas, bahama mamas, Presidente Beer, and "well drinks" you couldn't have more fun. Champaign tastes on a Budweiser budget are unrealistic, so once again.... I enjoyed myself thoroughly with a lot of mojitos and I didn't miss the Dom Perignon. We fully intend to return again next year, and I would highly recommend this experience to everyone who loves to have a good time with lots of swimming, drinking, and food. Very kid friendly, safe, and great service. If you can't tell already... we loved it!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Franklin, New Jersey
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 6, 2016
What was I thinking

As spring break was approaching, my friends and I were looking for a reasonable priced getaway. We found the cheap carribean deal of fortune which sounded like an amazing opportunity! We looked at all the four star resorts in the area that were possibilities for our destination. Most looked amazing, however we were scheduled to stay at the SunScape resort. We were still excited to get away and for the price couldn't resist. Upon our arrival the resort looked amazing! We were directed right to our room which was nice and clean. We then walked around the resort which was remarkably small. The main pool was nice however very dirty (hair, dirt, leaves). The dining options were limited at best, and the service was extremely slow. The food was average at best, and made us all very sick. The beach was very small as well, and extremely windy. Along with the wind, the beach was public which allowed vendors to hasle you while you are trying to relax. Towards the end of our stay the resort became very busy, which dragged down the overall performance of the staff. Once the resort was full, the staff could not keep up with the demand. We waited over an hour in the buffet just to receive silver wear and napkins. Overall, this was not a four star resort in our opinion and we were terribly disappointed. Be warned on the deal of fortune!


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Boston
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 23, 2016
Sunscape Puerto Plata DR

I would rate this resort overall a 4 out of 5 stars. It's a great value and destination for a family. We traveler there with our 5 year old daughter: Rooms - Large, modern, comfortable, great beds Service - Fantastic across the board Kids Explorer Club - Wonderful, great activities and staff our daughter asked to go back daily, and they are open late enough that we managed to have dinner by ourselves once Food - Above expectations, though not great when you come from NYC. Restaurant options were plenty, the grilled chicken and pork were easy to find for lunch, snack, dinner, and was the best. We really enjoyed the beach restaurant for dinner, the ambiance and the seafood Spaghetti was pretty good Pool - large, fun, great swim-up bar. Only complaints that it did not open until 9AM and there was loud music on the entire day which kind of ruined the mood a bit. Beach - beautiful, wonderful shallow water, usually calm in the mornings, perfect for morning dips. Mangrove trees offered great shade throughout the day SPA - My wife loved it Free self parking was a plus. Close to POP airport The most annoying thing was each evening there was a show between 930-11PM that was VERY loud, making it difficult for our daughter to go to sleep and for us to relax in the room. Try and get a room in building `1 which is the furthers from the stage. Another annoying thing was hotel sales people trying to get you to go to a 90 minute seminar about the chains other resorts in exchange for discount coupons. There are plenty of things to see and do outside the resort. I would not recommend renting a car unless you're used to driving in a major city under a lot of pressure as the traffic is insane, mostly by a 4:1 ratio of motorcycles to cars, that appear everywhere, including in the inside shoulder where you want to go at times when a car is coming towards you in your lane, passing other cars going the other directions, including slower trucks/buses doing the passing in uphill and in turns where there are double lines. It's the second time I've driven there and I told my wife it's like being in a crazy video game We will/would def consider going back


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Brooklyn, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 15, 2016
Nice Resort. Need some updates.

Had a good time. It was the first time we went to Puerto Plata. We stayed in the Sub Club Adult only section. The resort was very nice. It is a older resort that has been renovated. It is pretty nice. Even though there are over 500 rooms, there were no crowds anywhere. There were no lines at the restaurants or the buffets and most importantly for me, you don't have to have someone in your party wake up and run to the beach to claim chairs as you often have to do in other resorts. But we didn't need to do that as there is plenty of chairs. Also, it does gets more crowded on Friday and Saturday, as locals are there as well. ROOM: -The rooms are nice and spacious. The only thing I would change in the room is that it should have a king size bed. VIP Services: - Jorge Luis in the VIP desk was very nice and helpful. Entertainment: - Rafael and his team does a nice job with entertainment. Shows in the evening are very nice. Only thing I would change is have a different variety of shows instead of just dancing shows. The magic show was nice. FOOD: - The food was good, but I think if they have more different variety that would be nice. We stayed for 6 nights and it felt they had the same thing everyday. The restaurants didn't have much options. We tried all of them. But my favorite was the Windows Buffet. For lunch, we went to the the restaurant right above the main pool area. Nelson was really nice there. Made the burgers and fries fresh every-time. BEACH: - Having been to Punta Cana in the past and comparing it to that beach it is not that nice. There was way too much sea weed for my liking. POOL:- We spent more time in the pool. The pool is nice and big. But the pool needs to be cleaned throughout the day. There is debris from the roof of the restaurant above the main pool. I did have access to the Sunclub and main pools. The Sunclub pools were more quiet but they were smaller, while the main pool had more people and also had a swim-up bar. The only complaint I have is that the pools close at 6pm. That's way too early. In my opinion 6pm is too early to kick people out. SPA:- The spa was very good as well. We got the Swedish massage. Alicia and Moniska was very good. Overall, I loved my stay here, I would definitely recommend this resort. The only thing I would change is having king size bed, having more variety of food. Just a tip, stay in SUNCLUB if you can. You get access to premium drink if you like to do that.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New jersey
Age: 25-34

July 15, 2016
Lipstick on a pig

This is my third attempt to write a review on this trip. However the site said I was using profanity (which I was not) This was not a good trip at all, the hotel lobby was nice, but that is really where the renovations stopped. I was told this trip would include premium spirits, when we got to the hotel we were informed this was not true and only if we were part of the "sun club" which we could be for an additional charge. Food was sub par and we were reduced to stale fruit loops (until they ran out) and stale bread- bright note, if you heat the bread on the table candle it is at least chewy. The "fine dining" restaurants had long waits resulting in patrons walking out in frustration and when the food did come out it was really quite awful. I had surf and turf from the steak house, two overcooked 1 oz pieces of beef, some awful concoction of canned shrimp and an overly salty piece of chicken. You can put sprigs of rosemary in it, but it still doesn't make it palatable. I had envisioned drinks by a pool, HA there are no servers at the pool or accessible- and when you did get a drink, be ready for low end booze and all of the mixers come in one gallon containers. I would expect a 4 palm tree resort to have fresh orange juice not "orange drink". Our room key did not work we had to get it replaced 12 times, 4 in one day each time being told it was our fault. We did not have it by our phones, did not get it wet. Side note, ATM is off site, meaning you get to go through the very shady mall .. it was a very scary walk. There was a very large group of teenagers that arrived day three, spring breakers, they were loud, rude and very drunk with no supervision and in fact we watched one throw up on himself in the small pool, then jump into the big pool to wash off. Our first pool day, groundskeepers dumped bleach into the pool where we were sitting which irritated our eyes to the point we could not see. Cheap Caribbean should definitely rethink their partnership with Sunscape as I had heard great things about cheap caribbean, but sunscape was NOT good.


7 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Londonderry NH
Age: 25-34
Travel: 7+ trips/year

March 14, 2016
99softail

To start , I purchased this vaca with the Deal Of Fortune and ended up at the Sunscspe Resort , after reading the reviews I thought it was going to be great , well the 4 star went to a 3 star ! The employees were great and very friendly but just because you put on a knew coat of paint doesn't make it a 4 star resort , the food was good and I think there was 8 restaurants but didn't make it to 2 because I didn't long pants (are you kidding me ) the first day I was there I had a tank top on for breakfast and they wouldn't let me in , this place just opened at the end of February and we got there March 1st , they have way to many rules that you don't see at a 5 star resort , the resort is not safety conscience at all , there are a lot of 3 step stairways with no railings at all , I saw a older gentleman fall down the stairway in Windows restaurant , and nobody there knew what to do , there should be some type of a trained medical person 24 -7 , on March 3 we had a torrential rain storm and my wife was taking a knap and I came back and her flipflops were floating across the floor , you cant stop mother nature but they had no way to remove the water quickly , mops and a broom ! A lot of the outside bars and resturants either had no bathrooms or the ones that did , had no soap to wash your hands no paper towels or the plumbing and toilets were plugged up ! Maybe someday when it is finished it might be nice but at the present I wasn't very pleased at all ! The beach was cleaned every day but the location of the resort was not perfect ,it was in a large cove and it collected every thing if the wind was blowing in the right direction , I really think it was way over rated at a 4 star and I am sorry but wont ever return to Sunscape in Puerto Plata , Cheap Caribbean has to many other better places to go !


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Cape Cod , Ma.
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 14, 2016
1st out of Country Experience

This was my wife's and I 10th Anniversary celebration. We didn't go on a honeymoon, so we planned a trip to the islands years ago and we made it. The staff are very welcoming, fun, clean, helpful, and...pretty! The upkeep of the landscape, pools, beaches, and restaurants were great. The rooms weren't the greatest, but that didn't take away from the comfort, besides everything else outweighed my personal opinion about the room. You wont really need to be in your room that much anyway. There was plenty to do, and Plenty to drink! I would definitely recommend Sunscape to anyone planning a trip to the DR or any of the islands for that matter. We most definitely had a good time. The whole package was inexpensive, I am definitely going to keep those memories close.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Indiana
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year