All

Sunscape Puerto Plata Reviews

Caribbean | Dominican Republic - Puerto Plata Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 139 Reviews
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
3.9
Dining Options
 
3.4
Room Comfort
 
3.9
3.9 out of 5
"Great service thru Cheap Caribbean..... Resort was above average... service was terrific.... nice options for food, and quality was good... great vaca....., Thanks" – Boonedog
117 out of 159 (74%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
One of the pools. Relaxing in Puerto Plata! One of the restaurant Sun Club Room first morning exploring the place. beach walk view At the bar. Great time!! One of the dinner of the second night swim up bar pool view from Castaways Hotel room view!!!

All Sunscape Puerto Plata Customer Reviews

1-10 of 139 reviews. Sort by
April 25, 2016
2 stars, not 4

I hope the pros and cons we list will be helpful. We went for 8 nights ending on the 19th. No matter where we go in the Dominican, the people are unfailingly wonderful and honest. We inadvertently left a valuables case at the beach dinner restaurant with my watch, money, etc. Staff turned it into security and was returned to us completely intact once we described our loss. However, as nice as the people are, this can in no way be considered a 4 star resort. For as many restaurants they show, only 2 are open a night with the exception of the buffet and pizza shop. The food was generally edible as long as you don't eat the meat. On more than one occasion, we had meat that couldn't be eaten. The resort was probably at 15-20% capacity so the food didn't turn often enough to keep it fresh and appealing looking. On one day, they had 2 whole roasted ducks, and being we love duck, went for it. The server needed a cleaver and hacked at it. Mummified was a nice way to put it and it was sad to see several other people leaving it for disposal. Gohan was good, but was only open 2 of 8 nights. Stick with the seafood which was very flavorful. One thing that was nice from a family point of view was at the buffet a small kids station offering kid friendly food at their height. The resort is very big on hotdogs, hamburgers and the like for lunch. A seafood ceviche would have been very nice. They really push the Sun Club and for the upcharge you get: private dining area, their jacuzzi pools, premium liquor and it would seem, free room service. If you are not in it, you don't have access to any of it. With a standard room, if you want room service there is a food charge (not service charge). Capacity is 535 rooms. The pools are small and won't accommodate anywhere near that volume of people when they really get up and running. There were only 5 umbrellas and 6 pool floats between the 2 pools and there is no waitstaff should that matter to you. There is no shade available beyond the umbrellas so bring heavy sunblock. At the beach, trees provide decent shade but the lounges are old and some well sprung. The towels provided some comfort there. There is a towel ticket you redeem for a towel which you get back upon returning. Keep track of it for when you check out, there is a $20 fee for not having it. One older gentleman, being nice, turned in 3 towels even though he had only claimed two, so some poor family couldn't get their ticket back. Saturday they open up the resort to daytrippers, locals who pay for the day/weekend. The pool was a scene right out of Caddyshack, and the lunch buffet was like a locust swarm. They couldn't replenish the food fast enough. I don't blame the resort, but it's something you should know. All beaches in the Dominican are public, hence the vendors. I didn't find them to be as persistent or rude. The resort salespeople were far more pushy trying to lure you into their resort timeshare presentation. A shake of the head or no thank you was sufficient. However, we were parked by the security guard who was in constant attendance which probably helped. The water was calm while we were there and clear enough that I could see my feet, so some of the reviewers descriptions may be time of year/weather related. Did the snorkeling excursion from the beach and would recommend you see Martinez, the Amstar rep on site. He was very helpful and totally honest. We could have gone to Paradise Island, but when he told us it was a 2 hour bus ride to the catamaran, never mind. We had a great time with the catamaran that ran from the beach. Fun crew, surprisingly great food with variety and well supervised snorkeling. Clarifications on advertising: WiFi is available for free only in the lobby, which is open air. Could be hot in the summer. Bathroom amenities were limited to shampoo and shower gel. Might be different in the Sun Club. We couldn't find the Bluefin restaurant and it is not on the resort brochure. Our room did not have a guest directory nor a cover template on the phone so we never could figure out how to pick up the message left there. The dancers are off on Sunday, so the had some guy screaming into the PA system that night, which was turned all the way up. This made it difficult to sleep let alone put children down. It was totally unnecessary, as we were never disturbed any other night by the entertainment or disco dancing. When we checked in they told us that the mini bar would only be serviced if we called to request it. But maid service replenished the water and soda daily. Didn't drink the 2 beers in the fridge so it didn't bother us, but it is another ding in my opinion at the service level. Our room was nice, the bed and pillows comfortable. The shower and bathroom are small but functional. A bath tub was preferable, but they took them all out in the renovation. Preferring a tub with a jacuzzi, had we known, we wouldn't have booked into this resort. As said in other reviews, we got just about what we paid for. As a seasoned traveler, this resort was over hyped and not really represented properly. We had a great time in spite of the disappointing expectations. This really is a great low budget resort, particularly if you are into burgers and cheap booze.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: St Louis
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 6, 2016
Overall good experience

The overall experience at Sunscape was good. There is a lot of updates/construction going on at the resort at the moment so I believe in time this will be an excellent resort and will deserve a 4 star. But for now, I would give it a 3.5 star. First the positives: Peurto Plata is a beautiful place. The scenery at the beach and the location of the resort itself is beautiful. You will not be disappointed with that. The people there were all extremely nice and helpful. Everybody makes you feel very welcomed and all of them seem genuinely happy to be there taking care of your needs. The food choices were very good and the bars also had very good options with international and domestic spirits. I have to give a shout out to all the bar tenders, waiters and waitresses there, they are such great people and they took care of us very well with always a smile on their faces. The resort had a beach side restaurant which was very nice with a beautiful view. The pool side restaurant which served snacks was also very nice. In general, wherever you go there was some sort of food at any time of the day to be honest, and no you will not find any complaints about the choices of food the resort has to offer. The pools were all very nice and kept clean. We had a small pool right by our room which was very convenient for us. And the beach was also super nice with a beautiful view. The beach was kept clean, although they do have a few vendors trying to sell stuff, they didn't bother us at all. They came and asked us if we wanted something and once we say no, they went away without any hesitation. We did have a couple of issues with the safe box in our room and also with the shower head. However, those were fixed within ten minutes of calling them and letting them know. Whenever we requested for any room service, they were delivered within a very reasonable time. The resort also had nightly entertainments, which varied each day. They also had day activities at the beach as well, for those who are interested in some competition. They also had kids activities every night (they also has a kids club but my son was too young to go but I have heard from other guests that it's pretty good) and the entertainment crew did an excellent job in trying to entertain the guests (old and young) there. Our son (22Months) enjoyed all the kids activities a lot and he had an awesome time :) Now the negatives: There is some room for improvements with the resort itself. There were a lot of construction going on there so I assume, in time they will fix this as I believe Sunscape took over this resort not so long ago. The food was OK, although I have to say there were a lot of choices. I think they should do better with the quality of food that they put out there. The rooms can use an upgrade, it is painted brand new but looked old. At the end of the day, when you are out on a vacation, you want to see happy faces and I would say we saw happy faces all around from the people there to the employees there. We did make some friends there to boot and we sure are planning to go back to Sunscape a few years from now, hopefully!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Newark, DE
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 17, 2016
Greatest Family Vacation we have ever had!

We had a fantastic time at the Sunscape Resort in Puerto Plata. This was our first time doing an all inclusive resort and we loved it! There were so many things to do, even with Hurricane Matthew threatening (we got some rain showers and a little rough sea water causing the beach to be closed for two days, but considering that were able to "dodge" the actual hurricane, this was a tiny inconvenience, but no interruption to our fun): snorkeling, sailing, kayaking, free first scuba dive in the pool (my wife had never tried it before.. was ok with the pool, but still won't "dive with the fishes..." lol). We have 8 and 5 year old kids and they had an absolute blast. The care provided by the staff at the "Explorers Club" was fantastic too. Thank you to Evelin, Maria, and "Butterfly" for treating our kids like they were your own. We felt so confident in the kids safety and that they would have fun and be treated well. We enjoyed being able to drop them off at 7pm every night to watch the kids movie with these ladies so that the wife and I could get some alone time to eat at the nice restaurants on the resort. It was a great "re-kindling" time for the two of us.... if know what I mean! The whole trip was so good for our family and getting back together with each other. The food was of good quality.... there was plenty of it, nice variety, fresh, well cooked and the staff were decently attentive most of the time. We have no complaints with any of the service or food, but hey, if guests are expecting "Michelin Star" quality food, well resorts are not really the right venue for that right? We went in with reasonable expectations for all inclusive, and we were NOT disappointed. The alcohol was fun, but it is all local brands. If you like some flavored rums, mojitos, pina coladas, bahama mamas, Presidente Beer, and "well drinks" you couldn't have more fun. Champaign tastes on a Budweiser budget are unrealistic, so once again.... I enjoyed myself thoroughly with a lot of mojitos and I didn't miss the Dom Perignon. We fully intend to return again next year, and I would highly recommend this experience to everyone who loves to have a good time with lots of swimming, drinking, and food. Very kid friendly, safe, and great service. If you can't tell already... we loved it!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Franklin, New Jersey
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 6, 2016
What was I thinking

As spring break was approaching, my friends and I were looking for a reasonable priced getaway. We found the cheap carribean deal of fortune which sounded like an amazing opportunity! We looked at all the four star resorts in the area that were possibilities for our destination. Most looked amazing, however we were scheduled to stay at the SunScape resort. We were still excited to get away and for the price couldn't resist. Upon our arrival the resort looked amazing! We were directed right to our room which was nice and clean. We then walked around the resort which was remarkably small. The main pool was nice however very dirty (hair, dirt, leaves). The dining options were limited at best, and the service was extremely slow. The food was average at best, and made us all very sick. The beach was very small as well, and extremely windy. Along with the wind, the beach was public which allowed vendors to hasle you while you are trying to relax. Towards the end of our stay the resort became very busy, which dragged down the overall performance of the staff. Once the resort was full, the staff could not keep up with the demand. We waited over an hour in the buffet just to receive silver wear and napkins. Overall, this was not a four star resort in our opinion and we were terribly disappointed. Be warned on the deal of fortune!


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Boston
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 4, 2016
Could Be Better, Could Be Worse

Pros: Affordable, nice location, beach is nice, staff is nice Cons: Staff isn't trained properly (took us 40 minutes after check in to find someone who knew where our room was, which was a 2 minute walk). Food options are average, all alcohol is no-name except for Brugal Overall, if you want an affordable vacation and don't care about amenities too much, this works. You can easy do better.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 23, 2016
Sunscape Puerto Plata DR

I would rate this resort overall a 4 out of 5 stars. It's a great value and destination for a family. We traveler there with our 5 year old daughter: Rooms - Large, modern, comfortable, great beds Service - Fantastic across the board Kids Explorer Club - Wonderful, great activities and staff our daughter asked to go back daily, and they are open late enough that we managed to have dinner by ourselves once Food - Above expectations, though not great when you come from NYC. Restaurant options were plenty, the grilled chicken and pork were easy to find for lunch, snack, dinner, and was the best. We really enjoyed the beach restaurant for dinner, the ambiance and the seafood Spaghetti was pretty good Pool - large, fun, great swim-up bar. Only complaints that it did not open until 9AM and there was loud music on the entire day which kind of ruined the mood a bit. Beach - beautiful, wonderful shallow water, usually calm in the mornings, perfect for morning dips. Mangrove trees offered great shade throughout the day SPA - My wife loved it Free self parking was a plus. Close to POP airport The most annoying thing was each evening there was a show between 930-11PM that was VERY loud, making it difficult for our daughter to go to sleep and for us to relax in the room. Try and get a room in building `1 which is the furthers from the stage. Another annoying thing was hotel sales people trying to get you to go to a 90 minute seminar about the chains other resorts in exchange for discount coupons. There are plenty of things to see and do outside the resort. I would not recommend renting a car unless you're used to driving in a major city under a lot of pressure as the traffic is insane, mostly by a 4:1 ratio of motorcycles to cars, that appear everywhere, including in the inside shoulder where you want to go at times when a car is coming towards you in your lane, passing other cars going the other directions, including slower trucks/buses doing the passing in uphill and in turns where there are double lines. It's the second time I've driven there and I told my wife it's like being in a crazy video game We will/would def consider going back


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Brooklyn, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 7, 2016
Return trip

I stayed at this resort twice when it was owned by a different company. Since it was purchased and became Sunscape, it is greatly improved. Variety of restaurants- no resevervations required! Late night food options! Lots of activities, multiple pools, so you can find your spot- for peace and quiet or for fun and partying. Something for everyone. Activities and snacks and bar at the beach. Staff remember you and are friendly. Room remodels are nice, much improved. They decorated the door for my boyfriend's birthday and offered to make a cake as well- our plans changed so I didn't request one, but on the spot at the Italian restaurant, they whipped up a small one (fed 3 of us!) and sang to him after dinner. On our return visit recently, they decorated our door again. Much attention to detail! I tip quite often- esp with good service. A few bucks goes a long way and employees work hard and appreciate it. We always do Sunclub upgrade, but that's my preference. We enjoy the beach club at night- to bachata and dance. There's a kids club, spa, and new pool tables and I think foosball. Crowds and clientele depend on the season. (Low season, spring break, holidays, etc) 4th of July they had fireworks and decorated with American flags. They did similar this weekend for Labor Day. and I've seen them acknowledge French and Canadian holidays as well. If you have preferences, ask when you make reservations or upon check-in. Go. Have fun. Enjoy your vacation.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Dallas, TX
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 15, 2016
Nice Resort. Need some updates.

Had a good time. It was the first time we went to Puerto Plata. We stayed in the Sub Club Adult only section. The resort was very nice. It is a older resort that has been renovated. It is pretty nice. Even though there are over 500 rooms, there were no crowds anywhere. There were no lines at the restaurants or the buffets and most importantly for me, you don't have to have someone in your party wake up and run to the beach to claim chairs as you often have to do in other resorts. But we didn't need to do that as there is plenty of chairs. Also, it does gets more crowded on Friday and Saturday, as locals are there as well. ROOM: -The rooms are nice and spacious. The only thing I would change in the room is that it should have a king size bed. VIP Services: - Jorge Luis in the VIP desk was very nice and helpful. Entertainment: - Rafael and his team does a nice job with entertainment. Shows in the evening are very nice. Only thing I would change is have a different variety of shows instead of just dancing shows. The magic show was nice. FOOD: - The food was good, but I think if they have more different variety that would be nice. We stayed for 6 nights and it felt they had the same thing everyday. The restaurants didn't have much options. We tried all of them. But my favorite was the Windows Buffet. For lunch, we went to the the restaurant right above the main pool area. Nelson was really nice there. Made the burgers and fries fresh every-time. BEACH: - Having been to Punta Cana in the past and comparing it to that beach it is not that nice. There was way too much sea weed for my liking. POOL:- We spent more time in the pool. The pool is nice and big. But the pool needs to be cleaned throughout the day. There is debris from the roof of the restaurant above the main pool. I did have access to the Sunclub and main pools. The Sunclub pools were more quiet but they were smaller, while the main pool had more people and also had a swim-up bar. The only complaint I have is that the pools close at 6pm. That's way too early. In my opinion 6pm is too early to kick people out. SPA:- The spa was very good as well. We got the Swedish massage. Alicia and Moniska was very good. Overall, I loved my stay here, I would definitely recommend this resort. The only thing I would change is having king size bed, having more variety of food. Just a tip, stay in SUNCLUB if you can. You get access to premium drink if you like to do that.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New jersey
Age: 25-34

February 11, 2017
Great Vacation with Firends!

I liked this resort very much. Clean. Friendly staff. Very well maintained. Easy to navigate. Pools are clean. Spacious and airy rooms and bathrooms. In-room refrigerator kept stocked with beer, soda and water. PLENTY of restrooms throughout the resort - tended to be wet (expected), but kept clean and supplied. A couple of gift shops and a cigar shop and pharmacy on-site as well as a 24-hour medical facility. Poolside entertainment throughout the day (games, fitness) and there was a show every night (music, dancing, magic, etc.). The main eating place (WINDOWS) was very good! They had a buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Variety was awesome and the food was well-prepared and tasted very good. There are Argentine (GAUCHO), Italian (DA MARIO), Chinese (GOHAN), Caribbean (CASTAWAYS) and Pizza (PIZZA SHOP) restaurants for dinner as well. The Argentine and Caribbean were the best (for me). The pizza was very good. I did not care for the Italian or Chinese. In addition, the service at the Chinese was horrible (attitude, availability, food). TAMARINDO for lunch and snacks (late); BAREFOOT GRILL for lunch - did not go there; COCO CAFE for coffees and desserts all day - did not go there, but those in our group that did said it was really good. TAMARINDO is awesome! Such a great selection for lunch and right above the pool (grilled chicken (to die for), wings, hot dogs, smoked sausage, hamburgers, chicken patties, french fries, salad and fruit bar, nachos and everything that goes with all that. Good service and the BARRACUDA (10am-6pm) bar there! Great swim-up bar (MANATEES, 10am-6pm) with several stools. There are RENDEZVOUS (Lobby, 10am-1am), STARLIGHT (Music Lounge, 11pm-2am) - did not go there, VERANDA (6pm-10pm) and by the stage with Ping Pong, Pool, Foosball) bars as well. The drinks are very good and there is plenty! Service is very good. The SPA was wonderful and pricing is reasonable. Here is a suggestion since you cannot drink the water. Although the room refrigerator is restocked every day with water - it was never enough. I would suggest that every floor of every building be equipped with a bottled water vending machine. instead of currency, you would have to use your room key to operate it. Since it costs nothing to the guests anyway, it would be a great amenity. And, finally, here is a con that I find with all the resorts that I have been to thus far: There are always an Italian and Chinese/Japanese restaurants - WHY??? The food is never good and the service is usually a bit snobby. I would prefer that they have more local-type cuisine and not bother with the others. Room Tip: Bldg. 12 is closest to the beach; Bldgs. 10 & 11 are close to the spa, pool, entertainment, Windows Buffet, Lobby...

Great Vacation with Firends! Great Vacation with Firends!
4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Coastal North Carolina
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 28, 2016
Great place in a few months

We just got back from Sunscape Puerto Plata. This is a new resort, they were closed for 6 months for renovations. Because of that, everything was so clean and spotless which was a great thing. The rooms were really nice and the staff was so kind and always helpful. I think 6 months from now the resort will really be nice. They were still working on things and trying to figure out what works. There were some issues with the other guests such as floods from broken pipes, toilets overflowing and they still had men working on the roofs so one couple literally got smoked out of their room. But the staff was always ready to fix things. The beach in front of the hotel was disappointing because the water was not blue, so we just walked over to the next beach which was blue. The food was ok, the restaurants were good some better than others. I think they need to schedule more activiites. They have a show every night, one night they had an African show which was nice. The other nights they had dancers which was nice for two nights then you kind of got sick of the same kind of show over and over again. Same dancing except different costumes. The gym was not ready so they actually drove us to a gym and picked us up which was really nice. Overall, I think this place is nice but needs a few touch ups which I think they are working on. The whole stretch of beach is nice and we walked up and down the stretch several times which was fun. We had a good time for our first time in the Dominican Republic!


6 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York City
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year