All

Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Ixtapa/Zihuatanejo Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 24 Reviews
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.4
Beaches & Pools
 
3.9
Dining Options
 
3.2
Room Comfort
 
3.9
3.8 out of 5
15 out of 25 (60%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Our view every morning Baby sea turtle 2 minutes old.

All Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 24 reviews. Sort by
May 1, 2012
A disappointment

For the past 15 years or so, I have been lucky enough to visit different areas of Mexico- about once a year. My stay at the sunscape dorado resort was a let down. The all-inclusive reaturant choices were extreamly limited, and were rarely open when they said they would be. Fortunately, I am able to venture out and get a micro-bus to the local areas and get some great food! The staff didn't seem interested in giving me advice or help. --Cesar, Simon and Erik at the beach bar were fun and did give us some good information. On a more vacation friendly note... the guided snorkel trip to Ixtapa island was great! Lots of fish swimming all around you! And the highlight was the Picante sunset cruise! Really wonderful!! Capt. Tony along with his crew saved the day! Fun Fun Fun!!


30 of 34 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Salem, Or
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 19, 2013
Go there, you'll love it

What can I say, our family (myself, my husband and our two daughters ages 9 and 11) enjoyed 9 days/8 nights at this wonderful resort. From the moment we arrived, we were treated with many small touches that made our vacation go from great to fabulous. While checking in we were pampered with fruity punch to quench our thirst and warm scented towels to wipe the sweat from our brow and to soothe us. It was prior to check-in, but thankfully our room was ready. As we approached our family ocean front suite my soon-to-be 10 year old took off running for the doors as there were birthday balloons and a banner strung across the door. She was thrilled and so was I that they remembered it was her birthday. We have stayed in many ocean front suites, but this was by far the most expansive one. With the unique floor plan, you get 2 full balconies to enjoy the breathtaking views. The mini bar is stocked daily with something for the whole family to enjoy. The resort facilities are immaculate. The grounds are very well taken care of as are the common areas to sit and lounge in. Housekeeping did a fantastic job too. Sometimes when they’d come in for turndown service, they would take our soiled towels and replace them with new ones. It just seemed to keep our room even tidier. The Wi-Fi didn’t work in our room, but it worked perfectly in all areas of the lobby. One day we had trouble opening our safe, but a phone call to the front desk and a short wait later, someone was there to fix it right away. The beach area is where we spent most of our time. The waves are a bit rough, but still fun to play in. We rented a boogie board from a small shop across from the resort for a few days versus renting it from a vendor on the beach. One daughter parasailed and we all rode a banana boat. All of these activities and more are within a short walking distance on either side of the resort. We were always able to find seating under a shade structure. Beware though; the dried sand is extremely hot to walk on even for just a short distance. The pool areas were nice as well, but we spent minimal time there. My daughters enjoyed the waterslides and they participated in a few poolside activities with the entertainment staff. We dined at every restaurant except Gohan (sushi) and Da Mario (Italian adult only). All were very good and the wait staff if amazing. Sometimes the waiters knew what we wanted without having to ask. We were always well taken care of. We also tipped after each meal which we feel is only fair. Despite being an all-inclusive, we feel a little extra goes a long way. I should also mention they every restaurant is outdoors except DaMario. There were also a few theme nights where the outdoor garden was transformed into a huge dining area and the entertainment crew performed on stage. Our daughters enjoyed a full body massage from the spa. They felt like royalty and enjoyed every moment from the robe and slippers to the chocolate scented oil to the lemon water afterwards. I of course was in the adjoining rooms with them since they are minors (this was required). On the day of my daughter’s birthday, she was surprised with more balloons and cake in our room. What better way can you think of to spend your 10th birthday? Thank you Rene for making this happen! We took one adventure offsite to Ixtapa Island. This was just a short distance away and we all had a great time there. The snorkeling was good as a guide took us out. We saw lots a pretty fish. Our girls also enjoyed a massage here on the beach while my husband and I enjoyed a little alone time. The island is beautiful and the waves are calmer. There are a few restaurant choices and a lot of watercraft choices as well. A great day trip! As per our norm, one evening we did a photo shoot. We were thrilled with the quality of the service as the photographer captured our personalities. I’ll cherish these photos forever. I almost forgot to mention this, but they do have an Explorers Kids Club. Our daughters only participated in the rock climbing and the releasing of baby sea turtles into the ocean. It was terribly busy and overcrowded that evening on the beach, but it was an unforgettable experience seeing those tiny turtles making the crawl out into the ocean. Overall, I would certainly come back to the quaint town of Ixtapa and would lodge at the very same resort. It was a good value for our money and feel we were very well taken care of. We never had a bad experience as everyone we encountered was super friendly and willing to make our stay enjoyable and memorable. Thank you Suncape Dorado Pacifico for making our getaway a lasting memory!


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Liberty, MO
Age: 35-44

March 26, 2013
Ixtapa/Zihautenjo

We overall we really enjoyed our trip. Some advise: We went with the cheapest room option. Next time would upgrade to the full ocean view or better yet their junior suite. You need tip money even though it states gratuity included. Bring a lot of 20 pesos! The Italian restaurant was very good. The other restaurants were good just not as good. Bring Off Bug Spray when walking to Marina or going downtown Zihaut. The sunset cruise was amazing. We happened to catch a mom and baby Humpback whale. It was fantastic! The locals are wonderful. It's a beautiful, fun, and safe place to visit. We'll be back next year!


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Portland, Or
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 11, 2012
Mixed Bag

The food and service were quite good at this resort. The guests who returned many times were in evidence. Many people we met had returned to this resort multiple times. That is a good recommendation. However, they endured the week-end crush because they felt the resort would not exist without the week-end guests and the ensuing melee. We appreciated the variety of good food and excellent choices at the restaurants. The breakfasts did not have the variety we had encountered at other all-inclusives, but the food we had for lunch and dinner were much better. We have never been to an all-inclusive that ran out of vodka, rum and champagne on multiple occasions. There were several times during our stay that we would order a drink only to find our choice was not available. We were never sure why the availability was limited, but this only happened on the week-ends when the number of guests increased exponentially. This also resulted in many unattended uncontrolled children. Of course, kids will be kids, but often there was no attempt to tame the splashing and yelling. Even worse was the balloon fight the hotel staff organized. That got way out of control and consumed the entire pool. There was no escaping the rabid combatants. The ocean was a bit rough by the resort, but quite pleasant farther down the beach. The first night we went to the Gohan restaurant was enjoyable. The second time we went the servers could not speak English and our orders were completely confused. We will not go back to the resort because other resorts we have found are enjoyable for our entire star.


11 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Southern California
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 22, 2016
Amazing staff/Views, HORRIBLEEEE FOOD!

My partner and I visited sunscape 7/14-19. Let me start with the positives: 1. Our rooms view was Stunning! 2. The staff - 90% of them were SO kind, amazing and accommodating. IN SPECIFIC : LOT - the waiter was so professional, kind and just so amazing he made our trip worth it. Julian the baggage/helper? He was so fun and great! 3. They have pretty great liquor choices and they all were delicious. 4. If you join the sunscape club which is like $100 you get great amenities like premium liquor in a little private lobby with appetizers all day, reserved cabanas, room service (ALTHOUGH EVERY SINGLE ITEM WAS DISGUSTING) - It was worth it. 5. Across the street there are amazing restaurants (Casa Morelos/La Marinche were our favs) it was easy to shop, eat and travel around. 6. Very kid friendly which wasn't a positive for us, but well and great for families. 7. The shows and entertainment was awesome! The negatives: 1. The food at every single restaurant besides the Italian was inedible, HORRIBLE - in fact we ate off the resort the entire time. 2. No bathtub in the room 3. The time of year we were there was the locals "Break" so it was all locals and they didn't take well to gay couples. We felt starred at, even heard comments. It made our entire trip unenjoyable. So my advice is go during their peak time to enjoy an array of different people. 4. Although the beach is beautiful and swimmable the currents there make it too hard to swim. 5. The rooms ac works, but not great 6. You can't wear cotton shirts/clothes in the pool, they will make you leave and buy new "Lycra/swim shirts" 7. Expect the language barrier no one spoke well English 8. The pool sucked. It was old and dirty although cleaned daily it was gross. To reiterate THE FOOD IS HORRIBLE - DO NOT PLAN ON EATING ON THE RESORT HERE.

Amazing staff/Views, HORRIBLEEEE FOOD!
8 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Los Angeles, Ca
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 14, 2017
great place to go!!!!!

I was very pleased with this resort, found it on cheap caribbean, and was a little skeptical, but was pleasantly suprised. The beach was awesome, and the pool was awesome also. Had many chairs available not only by the pool but also by the beach. The staff was great!! Very friendly and accommodating. Had various options for food, loved the breakfast . Would recommend this place!!!!


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: minnesota
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 28, 2015
Very disappointing!

We were very excited to for our girls week trip, our first time to Ixtapa. The first day we arrived everything was new and seemed to meet our expectations. However as the days went on our expectations deteriorated. The description says "family-friendly" they should change that to "family-oriented". The place was overrun with children. Literally running everywhere, knocking into you, cutting in front of you at the buffet, it was mayhem. The worst part was the children were allowed in the swim up bar. There's only one so the space is coveted. It was constantly filled with kids and their floaties sitting AT the bar drinking sugary drinks out of martini glasses (plastic of course). Meanwhile us adults can't even get near the bar. It was ridiculous! They should not allow children (and I'm talking 3-12 year olds) to sit at the swim up bar. On top of that not all the restaurants are open every night. Some were only open twice in the week we were there. Everything opens and closes at different times so it was hit or miss on what was open for lunch or dinner on any given day. We wound up ordering Domino's twice because the restaurants were closed and forget the buffet, the food was terrible. Breakfast was ok but you had to be there before 7:30am or you could wait in line for an hour to get in. And you can't get bottled water anywhere in the resort, only in your room. (unless you want to pay for it in the gift shop). So you have to call the front desk and ask them to bring some up. Sometimes they show up, sometimes they don't, they really should provide water considering how hot and humid it is there! I have to say though the staff and service was wonderful, it just wasn't the resort for us.


6 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Seattle, WA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 26, 2014
Great service, Internationa tourists AVOID

Would not recommend to my friends because the resort has chosen to cater too the young Mexican Family tourist. Thursday, Friday & Saturday 10 buses of tourists were brought to the resort and it turned into a ZOO with hundreds of children. I tried to get to the swim up bar and I counted 26 children between me and the bar, the parents sit at the bar and the children play in the area, so you can't get to the bar. In the evenings the children were allowed by parents to run freely in the restaurants, the only specialty restaurant with any control is the Italian. The staff was probably the friendliest and best I have ever seen disappointed Sunscape has decided on this course of business. Loved Ixtapa, you only need to check other resorts because we were told this is the trend of several of the Ixtapa resorts especially the Barceló. We are not anti children or Mexicasn we were just over whelmed with the sheer numbers in the pools, restaurants & beach facilities.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Houston, tx
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 12, 2015
Erase this vacation from Vacation Memories

Resort room was the most uncomfortable experience in our vacation history. Sleeping was almost imposible. A full brick was the box spring. Wicker baskets for drawers? ARe you kidding me. Can not wait to get home and not tell anyone. Family or friends. We were told that we were given the best room in the house. We disagree with statement.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Illinois
Age: 45-54

April 6, 2016
OK vacation

Very pretty destination and fairly nice area. Kids liked the two small water slides, pools, and running in the ocean waves the most. Rooms were only average in this older hotel. Entertainment was lacking, did not get crowd involved as much as I have seen at other places and the entertainment was short. Service was not as good as what we saw when we went to other destinations. Lacked on dining choices, maximum number of 3 of the 4 resturants open at a time and one did not allow kids under age of 14. So we ate very similar food everyday. It was nice to see that part of Mexico but we probably would not go back.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Minnesota
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year