All

Sunscape Curacao Resort, Spa & Casino Reviews

Caribbean | Curacao Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 227 Reviews
Value
 
3.9
Service
 
3.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.3
Dining Options
 
3.4
Room Comfort
 
3.7
3.8 out of 5
"2nd time on sunscape,always was great,service,room,people,activities ...nothing went wrong :-) thank you for another great trip :-)" – cabka
172 out of 244 (70%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View from the pool view from our room View from our room! The room (3107) view from the grill The color of the water is amazing... the adult swim-up bar Beach at Sunscape! Private dinner for two! Happy Honeymoon to us!!! The amazing from our room Beach area View from room balcony Beach Zumba huge bug in my sons room View from the room Relaxing on the private beach (enjoying endless piña coladas!) Resort beach view from 8311 View from our room 8311 Sun Club bldg. Panoramic of beach Paradise The Lagoon Sunset moonrise magic! Beautiful protected beach Resort Beach Ocean front view One of the pools alongside the private beach Our happy place - right on the resort

All Sunscape Curacao Resort, Spa & Casino Customer Reviews

1-10 of 227 reviews. Sort by
January 30, 2017
Pleasant stay

Ok people, I've done MANY all inclusives, so I can definitely compare. I'll share my experience as a couple in our 30's. Firstly, I had emailed the resort looking for upgrade pricing as I had booked through cheapcaribbean and didn't take the option then. Chantilly responded to me quickly and answered all of my questions (I had many) Now when I arrived I wasn't placed in a Sunclub upgraded room that we had discussed and was upset about it as I was celebrating my bday. Instead of causing a scene I spoke to the Sunclub staff and they worked tirelessly for 2 days to make a spectacular birthday room for me. I was upgraded to a fantastic room, sent a bottle of wine and balloons along with a delicious strawberry cheesecake. Chantilly personally apologized for the mix up in person and later with a hand written note. So I thank you again Chantilly , Milagros (Miracle) and Xavier the manager for your hospitality. Now on to the resort itself. People play the towel game. Lay a towel down at 7:30am and you see no one in a chair for hours if at all. If you just keep looking you will find a place to sit and relax. The water is calm, I saw many little fish by the rocky areas. (Bring water shoes!!!) You can also rent snorkel stuff for one hour each day from the dive shop. The specialty restaurants were very good. The Japanese one was very good and will cater to allergies (learned that when we went and one woman couldn't eat the sauce and another man couldn't have zucchini) The steakhouse was our favorite! We ate there twice. Now let me say yes it's slower, BUT ITS BECAUSE THEY HAVE ONE AMAZING CHEF ON DUTY COOKING FOR EVERYONE. Again, island time people , have a drink and talk to your family or something to stay entertained til food arrives. As others mentioned the buffet is small. I never did eat breakfast there so no comment. Lunch was good, they had a small variety of food but I found it to be edible each day I tried it. They also grill chicken, burgers by the pool around 12:30. The only suggestion I'd have is to install a soda machine so that guests can serve themselves drinks and let the staff continue clearing tables, grabbing silverware, alcoholic drinks for others. There are pigeons on the property along with small lizards and pretty yellow finches. They don't bother anyone. My room 2405 had a fantastic view, fridge, microwave , safe, robes and a sink to do dishes if I brought food back. I didn't encounter ANY rude staff members everyone was so friendly and very nice. If anything the guests were the rude ones a at times being impatient, but that its the world we live in. In closing, be open minded. You will have issues finding US PLUGS and will have to unplug a tv or look behind something to get your flat iron working or phone chargers plugged in. This isn't the U.S. Things are different. There are blowdryers in the bathrooms. Things run on island time, when someone smiles and says hello, SAY HELLO BACK. Make new friends, meet new people. The staff here work very hard they know many languages and are very proficient in speaking to everyone. I had a wonderful time here and was sad to leave. I'd definitely come back. Thank you again to my three superstars Chantilly/Milagros and Xavier for my special week. It truly made a difference. Ps! Take a cab $15 each way into town. Go to Rif Fort See the floating bridge ( so cool at night) Go to the tiny aquarium (you can walk there from Sunscape) Island shops close at 6pm daily except on Thursdays when they're open later. I'd also recommend Klein Island with Bounty Tours. Try El Guacho a steakhouse on the island. Very good food. I felt very safe on this island and had no issues feeling uneasy. I also found that American money was used everywhere. I even found an ATM that dispensed it. Stayed January 2017, traveled as a couple


44 of 46 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Bensalem
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 16, 2015
Amazing Value

2015 was my second visit to this resort .The improvement from last year was truly amazing...The management has created a destination experience that I can recommend to anyone. Service at the five restaurants is excellent. The variety and quality of offerings is impressive and superior to most other Caribbean resorts that I have visited over the last 30 plus years. The beach area and common areas are well maintained and the walkways are cleaned daily.. The Tower rooms are very comfortable with large balconies that overlook both the island and the Caribbean. There is a dive shop on site with an excellent variety of venues. The resort offers a twice daily free shuttle to town and there is a bus stop just across the street for those of us who wish to venture out on our own without the use of expensive taxis. Rental car representatives are available in the lobby daily and tours can be arranged through the concierge at the resort. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit.


22 of 22 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: West Michigan
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 10, 2014
An Affordable Piece of Paradise

The best thing I can say about the Sunscape Curacao is that we are already planning our return trip. The resort is nestled on a picturesque beach and offers almost everything that a visitor could want The resort is all-inclusive and offers a buffet and numerous specialty restaurants. We appreciated the fact that you did not have to make advance reservations to utilize them. There is a first come, first served policy and if the restaurant is full, they offer you a beeper to notify you when a space becomes available. They offer Japanese, Italian, Steak and Seafood specialties and all are excellent. The buffet is nothing special, but it is certainly adequate. The rooms are well-appointed and clean and offer a mini bar that is stocked daily. The staff is friendly and accommodating, if you remember that they are operating on island time which is a bit slower than one might tend to expect. A real plus for us was the fact that Ocean Encounters has a dive center right on the premises. The operation is very professional and offers a variety of dive packages to fit the needs and desires of divers of all skill levels. We will return soon!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: St. Charles, MO
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 24, 2016
PLEASE......avoid all the negative reviews!!!

Resort was absolutely beautiful, well kept & all the employees were helpful and friendly!!! My stay was absolutely perfect. I travel 3-4 times a year & I always like to stay at different resorts. I must say that I was completely SHOCKED on some of the reviews I've read on here & some people will never be happy or satisfied...... Nexus transportation was good, 30min ride from the airport, not bad. Get your camera ready because you'll be getting on a very high, beautiful bridge with a breathtaking view of Willemstad town right on the bay, just a huge WOW for the human eyes!!! Beach was beautiful, clean and just a few steps away!!! You do need to go early like 7/8am to get under a palm tree or good spot with a umbrella, they fill fast & quite early!!! Food was phenomenal all around, ate at all the restaurants.....NO COMPLAINTS, all was delish!!! My check-in was about 20mins with Sunclub, refreshments & cute little snacks were provided along with champagne. Got to my room....I said "Oh NO it's 1st floor, don't like 1st floor!" The man who brought my luggage heard me, picked up the phone, called front desk & literally got to my room on the 2nd floor in 10mins. Staff was friendly, helpful, respectful & all smiles!!! Great bartenders!!! Great drinks!!! And I'm Polish....we know great drinks!!! Loved the beach party....AWESOME TIME!!! Carnival, fabulous!!! I've put my own 2 feet on this resort & thought about all the reviews I've read.....Shame on some of you is all I have to say with disbelief today & wouldn't hesitate for 1/2 of a second to return!!! Great island, great resort, great service, great people, great vacation!!! This review is from a very happy gal who is greatful to have had a awesome experience in Curacao XOXO


18 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chicago
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 30, 2015
DUMP! DO NOT GO!!!!!!

The Palm Trees and Caribbean Sea are the ONLY nice things at this resort. We have traveled extensively and NEVER stayed at such a terrible resort ANYWHERE in the world! EVERY guest we conversed with had the same opinion as us. EVERY DAY we heard unhappy guests arguing with management and expressing their DISGUST with the resort! ROOMS - MINI BAR - Joke - 2 bottles of water, two beers, one Diet Coke every day - that's it! FIRST ROOM - air conditioning didn't work; lounge chair cushion was filthy; sheer room curtains were BLACK; sticky sunscreen footprints all over floor; toenail on the floor; view from balcony was a trash dump with piles of tires and old lumber next to resort; toiletries smelled like pesticide; only toilet paper was an almost empty roll. SECOND ROOM - gorgeous view and close to pool; BLACK curtains again; half of the glass shower door was replaced with a (dirty) shower curtain; sink clogged with every use; air conditioning blew in wet air so the walls dripped with water; sliding door to terrace almost impossible to open; room smelled like MOLD almost intolerable; telephone did not work and we were told every day it would be replaced but it wasn't. FOOD- D I S G U S T I N G Seafood restaurant served canned clams and fake crabmeat. Italian food was inedible -we left and ate at the buffet. Many dishes in buffet empty never replenished. Stale bagels and bread. Fruit and cheeses were warm. No food was ever served hot or even warm. Steak house served something resembling beef but tasted like cardboard. Japanese food was edible but lacked any real flavor. SERVICE - Slow, slow, slow. Forty five minute wait for meals. Many requests for water and coffee when we sat for breakfast. Rude and arrogant servers and and managers. Exceptions: AnnMarie, Rocia, Kevin, Vaniella. Good luck getting more than one tissue thin paper napkin! BARS/LIQUOR - NO TOP SHELF LIQUOR. Prepare for a headache if you drink anything but beer or wine. The liquors are BOTTOM BOTTOM BOTTOM Shelf. No beach service. Only FOUR bars and one or two bartenders serve waitresses from restaurants and guests at the same time. Plastic glasses are OLD SCRATCHED and dirty looking. INTERNET Internet (works S L O W and intermittent) is ONLY available in the lobby - so... The lobby is PACKED all day and night. It looks like a bus station. SOME rooms Internet can be purchased at $10 per day! "SUNCLUB" Ridiculous! "Private" pool and beach not monitored and guests from other parts of resort come in freely. "Upgraded" mini-bar - nope same as rest of resort! "Lounge" with "fine liquors" "hors d'oeuvres" "continental breakfast" does not exist. There is an office in the lobby with a few old wicker benches and two ladies working. There is cold water, orange juice (Tang), and cheap champagne. There are three plates of the same frozen dessert cakes found in the buffet. Again, no napkins or forks to eat the cake. ENTERTAINMENT- worse than the worst cheesy resort entertainment ever seen.


13 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Worcester, MA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 14, 2015
The truth and nothing but the truth.

Food - The fine dining restaurants were excellent...very good food, good service. We found the 6:30 sitting usually does not have a wait. If you want the later sittings, they will give you a beeper so you can go enjoy the evening instead of sitting there waiting. The breakfast and lunch buffets were adequate...how fancy can you get for breakfast & lunch? They had a good selection, some things are the same day to day, but really for breakfast and lunch you can find something that will satisfy your hunger. Pool - There is plenty of pool areas...one thing I wish they would enforce is, no kids at the swim up bar pool...there is a sign as adults only, but they don't enforce it. I understand they don't want to enforce it & risk upsetting a customer...but really...kids do not belong near the pool bar...it's not a good example to set for kids...but it is the parents that should be enforcing it and not necessarily the establishment. We've run into this at numerous other resorts, so it does not surprise me one bit. Parents - Keep your kids away from the pool bar!!! Beach - There were three areas which were nice...two areas were clean of rocks and very sandy, one was a little rocky but that is probably the area for snorkeling and not necessarily walking in the water. Lounge Chairs - They say there is no saving of lounge chairs & cabanas..but as we have experienced at other resorts, people always save their lounge chairs & cabanas. Unfortunately they do not pick up the towels that have been saving the chairs for five hours without a body on them. I think they should. An hour without a body, pick up the towel and give someone else a whirl at it. But again, it comes down to the people saving the chairs...if they would follow the rules, everyone would have seating. I almost picked up a towel and plopped myself down, but I'm on vacation and I didn't want to get into it with some selfish you know what. My recommendation...if you can't beat them so you might as well join them...set your clock for 6 am, get your lounge chair, and do as the Romans do. Maybe the resort should take that statement off the daily schedule sheet since it isn't enforced...or better yet...enforce it. A rule is a rule. Entertainment - They entertainment staff was great. They tried to get everyone involved. It's more fun when you loosen up, play some games and get to know them. Chocolate, Prince T, Mr. Armani, Lovey Dovey, Dr. Z, Leo the Lion - they were great! Bingo, beach & pool volleyball, dancing, trivia, horseshoes, darts, bocce ball,, shuffleboard, water aerobics, etc...they got us to do things we've never done before or thought we would never do.Lots of fun. They are awesome. Tiffany was great...she helped us get great tables for dinners and always checked up to see we were happy with the service & quality. There is always room for improvement, but all in all this a very nice place for the money. It's not going to be perfect, it's not a five or six star resort...but definitely well worth the money.


20 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Wisconsin, USA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 29, 2015
Bad day on vacation is better than good day atwork

Never wrote a review before, but since our experience from this vacation did not match expectations (or reviews posted on this site), I decided to share my thoughts so others get at least one honest review. Positives: the beaches on Curacao are amazing. Snorkeling was great. All you have to do is snorkel 5 feet from shore to find big variety of sea life, including large turtles. We also enjoyed interacting with locals, as all of them are very friendly to tourists and will gladly help if you get lost. We rented a car for a week and crossed the island all around and had great time talking to locals. This friendliness was reflected in hotel service, as every single employee was extremely nice and smiley. Negatives: Dining was horrible. There are 4 restaurants for dinner option. Most of the time there was a line outside with wait time of about 1 hour. Out of 4 only 1 (Marios) had great food but for some reason ones seated we had to wait for over an hour before food would be served. We saw people leaving in the middle of dinner for that reason. There is only one option for breakfast (World restaurant), food was horrible. Freshly made omelets was the only eatable food there, so we had eggs for breakfast every day. Lunch was same way, with addition of burger place on the beach, which for us meant burgers every day. One great place to get a snack was coffee shop in main lobby, coffee there was truly great. Beach: beach itself it great but needs more shade/umbrellas. If you are not on the beach by 7am reserving spot under umbrella, you will not find shade for the rest of the day which was bad option for us on the beach with a 2 year old. Few times they ran out of towels in the morning, not a good feeling to be using same towels for 2 days in a row. Pools were great. Room and boarding: there is 2 kinds of room: old buildings and new building. When we arrived we were placed in the older building. The minute I walked into the room it was very tiny and dark and I got depressed in a second. We asked for another room right away and were put into taller-never building. The door to the balcony was broken and did not lock. The wind was blowing through that door all night and made it hard to sleep. We asked for it to be fixed and it was not fixed. Air conditioner was broken for 2 days. We stayed in the hotel for 9 night and only had room cleaned 2 times. We tipped 5$ every time they cleaned and called front desk to get room cleaned, but nothing helped. Overall, this is just a place to stay. We realized this on day one and spent most of our vacation in rental car jumping from one beach to another which was great experience. Curacao itself is very expensive. For the price we paid we could have gotten much better hotel and service somewhere in Mexico, but I think same kind of service will cost much more in Curacao. We are doing back to Curacao at some point but not to this hotel.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 3, 2017
Escape from Sunscape

The only good thing about this resort is the beautiful beach and pools. The employees are very nice. Now, for the voluminous negatives.Parts the facility need painting. The restaurants, advertised as no reservations are a joke. They close out and if you are lucky to get in there is about a two hour wait to get your food. We even had a waitress crying that she was so sorry. One night there was almost a revolution from the patrons, with kids falling asleep waiting for their food. There is need for a whole new management team to correct the food service problem. The manager is useless. The room upgrade is problematic as it advertises free room service, but the phones don't work to even order it. The room safe broke down. The lights on the patio don't work There is no beach or pool service and they seldom clean up the glasses that are around. Don't go to this resort.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Westchester, NY
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 9, 2017
Will never stay again!

We stayed for 8 days, and just arrived back home today. We paid a whole lot extra for the sun club benefits. When we checked in the first room that we were given it had mold in it growing on all the lamp shades in the 8000 building, so I went back down to the sun club check in and was treated awful. I waited over 30 minutes for the lady that checked us in originally to give us a different room. When we went to the second room in the 3000 building we received a room that had two giant trees growing in from of the balcony so why the balcony looked toward the ocean you could not see a thing. Seeing as how the "sun club" upgrade was to include an ocean view we went back to the office yet again. The third room that we were given was in the 2000 building. Specifically, 2306. We were given this room after the lady that checked us in originally in the sun club check in room called my wife stupid among other things speaking to another employee in Spanish assuming since we are from the U.S. that we had no clue what she was saying. I confronted the employee about it, and she left, and another employee came out to speak to us. I asked to speak to a manager, and one never showed up. The third room we were given had an ocean view if you leaned out over the balcony you could see it. What was awful about this room was there was new construction going on right next to it so we were woke up bright and early every morning at 7am to loud banging, sawing, cutting, etc. The entertainment that was provided at the resort was OK, and the entertainment staff was friendly for the most part. The food was OK, however, no matter where you went to eat throughout the resort you had to wait forever to eat. Any time we ate at the buffet we found ourselves getting our own refills with the water pitchers that were sitting around for the wait staff to use. Every wait staff at dinner had no clue as to the ingredients of the food. When you are traveling with people that have severe food allergies this is not only very concerning, but also very dangerous. The times that are advertised on the company’s website do not match the actual operating times of the restaurants. The menus are also incorrect. Several times we would try to order things to be told "oh we don’t have that". When we asked why we were told "oh they need to update the menu's" The casino that is on site does not appear to be affiliated with the resort as it is open to the public, and a lot of locals go there. The staff inside the casino was very rude. Several times we left the resort to go do things throughout the day. The first time that we did we arrived back late. Myself and my wife wanted to order room service and go to bed since room service was to be complimentary with the sun club upgrade. We call the front desk and was transferred to room service. Ask what’s on the room service menu, and was told that we needed to get a room service menu from housekeeping, and we were promptly hung up on. Called back to the front desk and was transferred to housekeeping. Housekeeping said we needed to get a menu from room service, and again was promptly hung up on. Called back to the front desk. Explained what was going on, and to no surprise was hung up on yet again. We leave the room and go to the front desk and are told that someone will bring up a room service menu to our room. Wait an hour and a half and you guessed it, no room service menu. Call back down to the front desk at 10:45 pm and I was told that it was too late to order room service. The next morning, we leave to go out again. I go down to the sun club lounge where you go to check in and spoke to a very nice Indian lady. She took down our room number, and told me oh no problem you will have a room service menu in your room once you arrive back tonight. Guess what! get back that night, and no room service menu in our room. We come back down to the front lobby, and asked to speak with a manager yet again. This time the manager came down to speak with us and told us that he would deliver a room service menu to our room as soon as he was done speaking with us. Yet again we never got one! With the sun club upgrade you are supposed to have your own private section on the beach to use & a private pool, however, they have no way of checking if you paid for sun club or not, so whoever can use the private beach and pool. The sun club pool is the worst of all the pools at the location. To make matters worse our A/C went out in our room the last night that we were there. We called the front desk to have someone come up and fix it, however, they never showed up. When no one showed up to fix it we called the front desk again to see if they could switch us to another room and never could get anyone to answer. There were a few people we met that were nice that worked at the resort, and a couple OK experiences that we had while we were there. I.E. the beach was nice, and multiple places to get a drink, however, all the negatives made all of that go away. This was the worst vacation myself and my wife have ever been on, and we are not hard to please. We go on vacation to relax and have a good time and Sunscapes just made it beyond stressful. Thank you for allowing us to have an awful vacation!! It is not appreciated, and I can assure you that we will make sure anyone we know stays as far away as possible from any of the sunscapes resorts, AM resorts, or anything affiliated with Apple leisure group!


16 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Atlanta, GA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 26, 2016
First resort

This was our first resort so I don't have any to compare too. The area and resort was great. The staff in the bar and resturant was wonderful but the other staff were put off and could tell they didn't want to be there. The entertainment group was awesome and extremely friendly. The night entertainment was great with live bands and acts. The different band was the only one we didn't enjoy. The food was great at oceana and the Italian restaurant but the bluefish grill and world cafe was less then worth it and selection was very limited for the amount of money spent on the resort. You got your money worth if you love to drink but the best thing is to bring your own large mug or glass as you will be back at the bars more then you are at the beach. Defiantly need to pay extra and get the lobster private beach dinner. More food then I could eat and wonderful tate to it. Snorkeling in the private waters was very nice but make sure you have plenty of dives and your certs right up to current date if you plan to use on site diving shop. If not they try to make you repay for an entire dive class again before taking you out. Large cattle hurtling for their dive boat. Look to off site dive shops for more personal dive like Bas Hats dive shop. The spa is not worth the money so don't waste time in there. The gym is good for those who love to work out with a lot of equipment. Walked through casino very small and basic games. Mambo beach and aquirium is less then 10 minute walk from resort and defiantly worth the walk and shopping.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Tennessee
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year