All

Sunscape Curacao Resort, Spa & Casino Reviews

Caribbean | Curacao Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 168 Reviews
Value
 
3.8
Service
 
3.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.2
Dining Options
 
3.3
Room Comfort
 
3.7
3.7 out of 5
"This vacation was wonderful, the only thing missing was nightlife." – Kadie
121 out of 179 (68%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View from the room Our happy place - right on the resort Sunset moonrise magic! Beach Zumba Beautiful protected beach Ocean front view The amazing from our room Relaxing on the private beach (enjoying endless piña coladas!) huge bug in my sons room Private dinner for two! Happy Honeymoon to us!!! the adult swim-up bar Resort Beach Beach at Sunscape! The Lagoon The room (3107) view from the grill View from the pool The color of the water is amazing... View from our room 8311 Sun Club bldg. View from our room! view from our room Beach area One of the pools alongside the private beach Paradise

All Sunscape Curacao Resort, Spa & Casino Customer Reviews

1-10 of 168 reviews. Sort by
January 30, 2017
Pleasant stay

Ok people, I've done MANY all inclusives, so I can definitely compare. I'll share my experience as a couple in our 30's. Firstly, I had emailed the resort looking for upgrade pricing as I had booked through cheapcaribbean and didn't take the option then. Chantilly responded to me quickly and answered all of my questions (I had many) Now when I arrived I wasn't placed in a Sunclub upgraded room that we had discussed and was upset about it as I was celebrating my bday. Instead of causing a scene I spoke to the Sunclub staff and they worked tirelessly for 2 days to make a spectacular birthday room for me. I was upgraded to a fantastic room, sent a bottle of wine and balloons along with a delicious strawberry cheesecake. Chantilly personally apologized for the mix up in person and later with a hand written note. So I thank you again Chantilly , Milagros (Miracle) and Xavier the manager for your hospitality. Now on to the resort itself. People play the towel game. Lay a towel down at 7:30am and you see no one in a chair for hours if at all. If you just keep looking you will find a place to sit and relax. The water is calm, I saw many little fish by the rocky areas. (Bring water shoes!!!) You can also rent snorkel stuff for one hour each day from the dive shop. The specialty restaurants were very good. The Japanese one was very good and will cater to allergies (learned that when we went and one woman couldn't eat the sauce and another man couldn't have zucchini) The steakhouse was our favorite! We ate there twice. Now let me say yes it's slower, BUT ITS BECAUSE THEY HAVE ONE AMAZING CHEF ON DUTY COOKING FOR EVERYONE. Again, island time people , have a drink and talk to your family or something to stay entertained til food arrives. As others mentioned the buffet is small. I never did eat breakfast there so no comment. Lunch was good, they had a small variety of food but I found it to be edible each day I tried it. They also grill chicken, burgers by the pool around 12:30. The only suggestion I'd have is to install a soda machine so that guests can serve themselves drinks and let the staff continue clearing tables, grabbing silverware, alcoholic drinks for others. There are pigeons on the property along with small lizards and pretty yellow finches. They don't bother anyone. My room 2405 had a fantastic view, fridge, microwave , safe, robes and a sink to do dishes if I brought food back. I didn't encounter ANY rude staff members everyone was so friendly and very nice. If anything the guests were the rude ones a at times being impatient, but that its the world we live in. In closing, be open minded. You will have issues finding US PLUGS and will have to unplug a tv or look behind something to get your flat iron working or phone chargers plugged in. This isn't the U.S. Things are different. There are blowdryers in the bathrooms. Things run on island time, when someone smiles and says hello, SAY HELLO BACK. Make new friends, meet new people. The staff here work very hard they know many languages and are very proficient in speaking to everyone. I had a wonderful time here and was sad to leave. I'd definitely come back. Thank you again to my three superstars Chantilly/Milagros and Xavier for my special week. It truly made a difference. Ps! Take a cab $15 each way into town. Go to Rif Fort See the floating bridge ( so cool at night) Go to the tiny aquarium (you can walk there from Sunscape) Island shops close at 6pm daily except on Thursdays when they're open later. I'd also recommend Klein Island with Bounty Tours. Try El Guacho a steakhouse on the island. Very good food. I felt very safe on this island and had no issues feeling uneasy. I also found that American money was used everywhere. I even found an ATM that dispensed it. Stayed January 2017, traveled as a couple


44 of 45 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Bensalem
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 16, 2015
Amazing Value

2015 was my second visit to this resort .The improvement from last year was truly amazing...The management has created a destination experience that I can recommend to anyone. Service at the five restaurants is excellent. The variety and quality of offerings is impressive and superior to most other Caribbean resorts that I have visited over the last 30 plus years. The beach area and common areas are well maintained and the walkways are cleaned daily.. The Tower rooms are very comfortable with large balconies that overlook both the island and the Caribbean. There is a dive shop on site with an excellent variety of venues. The resort offers a twice daily free shuttle to town and there is a bus stop just across the street for those of us who wish to venture out on our own without the use of expensive taxis. Rental car representatives are available in the lobby daily and tours can be arranged through the concierge at the resort. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit.


21 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: West Michigan
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 24, 2016
PLEASE......avoid all the negative reviews!!!

Resort was absolutely beautiful, well kept & all the employees were helpful and friendly!!! My stay was absolutely perfect. I travel 3-4 times a year & I always like to stay at different resorts. I must say that I was completely SHOCKED on some of the reviews I've read on here & some people will never be happy or satisfied...... Nexus transportation was good, 30min ride from the airport, not bad. Get your camera ready because you'll be getting on a very high, beautiful bridge with a breathtaking view of Willemstad town right on the bay, just a huge WOW for the human eyes!!! Beach was beautiful, clean and just a few steps away!!! You do need to go early like 7/8am to get under a palm tree or good spot with a umbrella, they fill fast & quite early!!! Food was phenomenal all around, ate at all the restaurants.....NO COMPLAINTS, all was delish!!! My check-in was about 20mins with Sunclub, refreshments & cute little snacks were provided along with champagne. Got to my room....I said "Oh NO it's 1st floor, don't like 1st floor!" The man who brought my luggage heard me, picked up the phone, called front desk & literally got to my room on the 2nd floor in 10mins. Staff was friendly, helpful, respectful & all smiles!!! Great bartenders!!! Great drinks!!! And I'm Polish....we know great drinks!!! Loved the beach party....AWESOME TIME!!! Carnival, fabulous!!! I've put my own 2 feet on this resort & thought about all the reviews I've read.....Shame on some of you is all I have to say with disbelief today & wouldn't hesitate for 1/2 of a second to return!!! Great island, great resort, great service, great people, great vacation!!! This review is from a very happy gal who is greatful to have had a awesome experience in Curacao XOXO


18 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Chicago
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 14, 2015
The truth and nothing but the truth.

Food - The fine dining restaurants were excellent...very good food, good service. We found the 6:30 sitting usually does not have a wait. If you want the later sittings, they will give you a beeper so you can go enjoy the evening instead of sitting there waiting. The breakfast and lunch buffets were adequate...how fancy can you get for breakfast & lunch? They had a good selection, some things are the same day to day, but really for breakfast and lunch you can find something that will satisfy your hunger. Pool - There is plenty of pool areas...one thing I wish they would enforce is, no kids at the swim up bar pool...there is a sign as adults only, but they don't enforce it. I understand they don't want to enforce it & risk upsetting a customer...but really...kids do not belong near the pool bar...it's not a good example to set for kids...but it is the parents that should be enforcing it and not necessarily the establishment. We've run into this at numerous other resorts, so it does not surprise me one bit. Parents - Keep your kids away from the pool bar!!! Beach - There were three areas which were nice...two areas were clean of rocks and very sandy, one was a little rocky but that is probably the area for snorkeling and not necessarily walking in the water. Lounge Chairs - They say there is no saving of lounge chairs & cabanas..but as we have experienced at other resorts, people always save their lounge chairs & cabanas. Unfortunately they do not pick up the towels that have been saving the chairs for five hours without a body on them. I think they should. An hour without a body, pick up the towel and give someone else a whirl at it. But again, it comes down to the people saving the chairs...if they would follow the rules, everyone would have seating. I almost picked up a towel and plopped myself down, but I'm on vacation and I didn't want to get into it with some selfish you know what. My recommendation...if you can't beat them so you might as well join them...set your clock for 6 am, get your lounge chair, and do as the Romans do. Maybe the resort should take that statement off the daily schedule sheet since it isn't enforced...or better yet...enforce it. A rule is a rule. Entertainment - They entertainment staff was great. They tried to get everyone involved. It's more fun when you loosen up, play some games and get to know them. Chocolate, Prince T, Mr. Armani, Lovey Dovey, Dr. Z, Leo the Lion - they were great! Bingo, beach & pool volleyball, dancing, trivia, horseshoes, darts, bocce ball,, shuffleboard, water aerobics, etc...they got us to do things we've never done before or thought we would never do.Lots of fun. They are awesome. Tiffany was great...she helped us get great tables for dinners and always checked up to see we were happy with the service & quality. There is always room for improvement, but all in all this a very nice place for the money. It's not going to be perfect, it's not a five or six star resort...but definitely well worth the money.


20 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Wisconsin, USA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 10, 2014
An Affordable Piece of Paradise

The best thing I can say about the Sunscape Curacao is that we are already planning our return trip. The resort is nestled on a picturesque beach and offers almost everything that a visitor could want The resort is all-inclusive and offers a buffet and numerous specialty restaurants. We appreciated the fact that you did not have to make advance reservations to utilize them. There is a first come, first served policy and if the restaurant is full, they offer you a beeper to notify you when a space becomes available. They offer Japanese, Italian, Steak and Seafood specialties and all are excellent. The buffet is nothing special, but it is certainly adequate. The rooms are well-appointed and clean and offer a mini bar that is stocked daily. The staff is friendly and accommodating, if you remember that they are operating on island time which is a bit slower than one might tend to expect. A real plus for us was the fact that Ocean Encounters has a dive center right on the premises. The operation is very professional and offers a variety of dive packages to fit the needs and desires of divers of all skill levels. We will return soon!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: St. Charles, MO
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 30, 2014
LQQKING FOR PARADISE? LQQK NO FURTHER!

I visited Sunscape Curacao from 10/17/2014 thru 10/25/2014 – this was a yearly “sisters” vacation as my sister and I both share a Birthday in the month of October and celebrate our dual Birthdays on vacation. First let me say, if you are looking for accommodations, service and dining equal to the Hilton, do not stay here you will not be happy. However if you are looking for a reasonably priced all inclusive Resort with good clean accommodations, good service (remember you are on “island time”), amazing dining and awesome views – this is the place for you! First let me say, as a type “A” personality from NY, I arrived with an attitude, however after a bite to eat, a drink and a dip in the pool I knew I made a great choice. I was very nervous given the mixed/ poor reviews – but you have to evaluate what type of vacation you are willing to pay for. First, know that there is NO IN ROOM Wi-Fi or cellular service. Wi-Fi is available for a stipend and only accessible from the common/lobby area – same for cellular service. This Resort is in need of a “facelift” – however I was not there for the room. I stayed in Room #8113 – furthest away from the lobby. My room was well air conditioned, clean and comfortable with a huge shower, great water pressure and hot water - and a breathtaking ocean views. I had a ground level room with a balcony. I never saw the helicopter bugs reported in some of the reviews, and had no problems with obtaining pool towels, room towels or blankets (our room was cold!) which was a common complaint in most of if not all of the reviews. Let me add that although this is an all-inclusive and tips are technically “included” – tipping for good service ($2.00 – goes as far as $20 in the US) will come back to you 10-fold. I wanted for nothing – I just had to ask. If you are not a tipper, well shame on you – these people worked tirelessly to please – but for some it’s just not enough for some – I know this because I heard most people did nothing but complain daily in the common areas. I choose to upgrade my room because I did not want to be near screaming kids – that’s just my choice, I had an adults only pool – with an onsite (not swim up) bartender/cocktail service (Kenneth) daily from 10:00 am – 5:00 pm daily. The swim up bar was closed but in the kid friendly area anyway. The Food was nothing short of amazing. The buffet was for breakfast, and most lunches. Anyone with dietary restrictions will be able to find something for breakfast & lunch. The dining options in the evening were excellent. I am an early eater – so I NEVER experienced the issues reported in the reviews with getting a table or poor service. The Hibachi. Seafood & Italian Restaurants were nothing short of amazing. The drinks were upgraded to premium liquor just simply by asking. There is nightly onsite entertainment (loved Carnival!) which is something to see. This is a Resort that has security – which is good to know – there is no “wristband” system - as is in place with almost all other all-inclusive resorts I’ve visited – so you are randomly “spot checked” when coming back from town or excursions. As for the Beach…breathtaking but you MUST wear swim shoes. The beach is covered in coral and is uncomfortable to walk on daily. Needless to say Sunscreen is a MUST. I Loved this place and would change NOTHING about my trip.


16 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Long Island, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 16, 2015
Not what I expected

Annual Mother/Daughter Trip Pros: Loved the beautiful weather, nice temps, cool breeze! Entertainment Group tried to have fun Volleyball, Sumo wrestling and line dancing.....they tried hard and they were very sweet. Excursions were GREAT and enjoyed the Island Cons: The hotel is outdated, 3rd floor when it rained, ceiling leaked. Restaurants: Only 4 restaurants to choose from with long wait times to be seated (mainly at supper time), menus were the same....no variety. During the day, ALL were closed except for the Buffet. Afternoon snacks consisted of hamburger or hotdogs ( all meat was just sitting out ) ...By day 3 or 4, we were hamburger or hot dogged OUT!!! I WONT be doing the Deal of Fortune again, because Cheap Caribbean chose this property for me. Only connections are thru Miami....get ready for customs and long lines. Several people that I met that traveled to Curacao had flight delays and cancellations due to missing their flights.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: East Texas
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 3, 2017
Great stay, just a couple things to work on

This was a very nice resort. We had an amazing ocean front room with an amazing view where all windows slid open to let In The ocean air, I've never seen that anywhere! The number of restaurants to choose from is great but the "no reservations" is actually a drawback. You found yourself standing in line, putting yourself on a time schedule (not what I want to do on vacation), I'd rather just book a reservation at each place and know when I was going to eat. There were a TON of kids and big families celebrating New Years, so chairs were hard to find and we don't typically go adults only but kids were running around everywhere and jumping in the pool by the swimup bar - I wish they could have had an adults section or pool. Not much of a beach, but it was all we needed, I liked how everything was close to get to. Entertainment was excellent, great flow from dinner music to dancing or shows. Loved their "my pleasure" attitude and received great service. Only other negative was when we arrived we were offered to attend a vacation club presentation for money to spend so we did, but instead of 90 minutes it was more like 2.5 hours. That made us want to get to the beach so we didn't book excursions that first day and when we tried later nothing was available or open due to the holiday. I wish they would have had us book excursions and dining upon checkin. One last thing - the spa was amazing - something we don't usually do but since no excursions are available glad we did.

View from the pool Ocean front view
10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Evansville, IN
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 2, 2015
Great Value, beautiful

My wife and I stayed here for 7 days in May, 2015. The grounds of the resort are absolutely beautiful. The beaches, the best I've seen. The room my wife and I stayed in was gorgeous, and we only had 37 steps to the water's edge from our back porch (yes, we counted!). My honest opinion though is that we would not have had the same experience in any other room/ building. We originally were put in a room in the 2,000 building (the largest building on the resort, to the southeast of the property) but refused to stay there due to the horrendous stench, the complete lack of view (unless staring at a brackish washout and refuse collection area is your idea of a view), and the fact that my wife and I wanted to sleep together in a king bed and not 2 queens. We immediately went to the front desk where they were very polite and kind, and after refusing 2 other rooms in the same building (and tipping them $40), they gave us a room in the 3,000 building, right in the middle of the action, with a beautiful view, a king bed, and no stench =) Don't settle for a lesser room, ours absolutely made the vacation. The amenities were wonderful, and the kind and friendly attitude of every staff member was amazing. The food was tasty at each of the 5 restaurants included in the package. The buffet was so-so. They have something going on every night, good for kids, adults, anyone. (karaoke, movies, cultural dancing, and plenty of drinks. If they don't have it, ask for it, and you'll likely get it!!) Ohh, and you'll learn quickly which bars usually remain well stocked - there are a couple that "run out" of rum on a regular basis. People are thirsty =) As far as excursions, we tried the ATV tour, the 4x4/ snorkeling tour, the ½-day fishing boat (no luck this time), the dolphin encounter. Everything was well worth the money, and we found exceptional value booking everything from the excursions liaison in the lobby. We even took a cab into downtown Willemstad, which is really something to see. (Try the fries with peanut butter sauce!! sounds weird, but you'll love it!) All-in-all, this was an excellent vacation experience.

View from the room The room (3107)
13 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: San Diego, CA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 30, 2015
DUMP! DO NOT GO!!!!!!

The Palm Trees and Caribbean Sea are the ONLY nice things at this resort. We have traveled extensively and NEVER stayed at such a terrible resort ANYWHERE in the world! EVERY guest we conversed with had the same opinion as us. EVERY DAY we heard unhappy guests arguing with management and expressing their DISGUST with the resort! ROOMS - MINI BAR - Joke - 2 bottles of water, two beers, one Diet Coke every day - that's it! FIRST ROOM - air conditioning didn't work; lounge chair cushion was filthy; sheer room curtains were BLACK; sticky sunscreen footprints all over floor; toenail on the floor; view from balcony was a trash dump with piles of tires and old lumber next to resort; toiletries smelled like pesticide; only toilet paper was an almost empty roll. SECOND ROOM - gorgeous view and close to pool; BLACK curtains again; half of the glass shower door was replaced with a (dirty) shower curtain; sink clogged with every use; air conditioning blew in wet air so the walls dripped with water; sliding door to terrace almost impossible to open; room smelled like MOLD almost intolerable; telephone did not work and we were told every day it would be replaced but it wasn't. FOOD- D I S G U S T I N G Seafood restaurant served canned clams and fake crabmeat. Italian food was inedible -we left and ate at the buffet. Many dishes in buffet empty never replenished. Stale bagels and bread. Fruit and cheeses were warm. No food was ever served hot or even warm. Steak house served something resembling beef but tasted like cardboard. Japanese food was edible but lacked any real flavor. SERVICE - Slow, slow, slow. Forty five minute wait for meals. Many requests for water and coffee when we sat for breakfast. Rude and arrogant servers and and managers. Exceptions: AnnMarie, Rocia, Kevin, Vaniella. Good luck getting more than one tissue thin paper napkin! BARS/LIQUOR - NO TOP SHELF LIQUOR. Prepare for a headache if you drink anything but beer or wine. The liquors are BOTTOM BOTTOM BOTTOM Shelf. No beach service. Only FOUR bars and one or two bartenders serve waitresses from restaurants and guests at the same time. Plastic glasses are OLD SCRATCHED and dirty looking. INTERNET Internet (works S L O W and intermittent) is ONLY available in the lobby - so... The lobby is PACKED all day and night. It looks like a bus station. SOME rooms Internet can be purchased at $10 per day! "SUNCLUB" Ridiculous! "Private" pool and beach not monitored and guests from other parts of resort come in freely. "Upgraded" mini-bar - nope same as rest of resort! "Lounge" with "fine liquors" "hors d'oeuvres" "continental breakfast" does not exist. There is an office in the lobby with a few old wicker benches and two ladies working. There is cold water, orange juice (Tang), and cheap champagne. There are three plates of the same frozen dessert cakes found in the buffet. Again, no napkins or forks to eat the cake. ENTERTAINMENT- worse than the worst cheesy resort entertainment ever seen.


13 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Worcester, MA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year