All

Sun Palace Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Cancun Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 54 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.7
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.6
4.5 out of 5
"Great resort, good food, good service, very relaxing." – CancunFun
61 out of 67 (91%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
this was my favorite part. just chilling on the beach with yummy drink View from on of the 3 pools

All Sun Palace Customer Reviews

1-10 of 54 reviews. Sort by
October 3, 2011
AMAZING!!!

Absolutely perfect vacation! My boyfriend and I spent 6 nights at Sun Palace, first time in Cancun, first time doing the "all-inclusive" thing. We went in with low expectations, because we have always been told (and unfortunately, sometimes experienced) 'nothing is as good as it seems'. Boy oh boy were we surprised!!!! Everything was perfect. From the moment we walked through the door, greeted with cool towels, a flower for me, and drinks, to the moment we (very sadly) had to leave, we were treated like royalty and had the time of our lives. Excellent food and drinks with plenty to choose from each and every day. It certainly never got old, there was always something new to try. Stunning view from the room, with amazing amenities (particularly the jacuzzi for 2 and the liquor dispenser and fully-stocked fridge!), even the nighttime entertainment was surprisingly good, considering what we were paying. A couple nights we even helped release baby sea turtles into the ocean as part of the Palace Resort's conservation efforts. Additionally, we lucked out one night and saw a mother sea turtle laying eggs on the beach, and got to go down and experience a truly unique and astounding part of nature. We used our resort credits and upgraded the room to concierge level (highly recommend! You get a dinner on the beach, 25 minute massages each, champagne and fruit in the room, a nicer room in general, better beach lounge chairs, etc etc etc), took a tour to Chichen Itza (very hot but absolutely worth it), received a 80 minute massage for him and a 50 minute facial for me, and even upgraded our wine one night at dinner. Truly, there are not enough good things I can say about this place. We cannot wait to go back, we have already been looking through the calendar trying to see when we can budget it in again! Worth every penny. Exemplary service, big shoutouts to Norberto, Carlos, Karina, and David. They made our trip that much more amazing. Go go go go! You won't regret it :-)


40 of 41 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: Los Angeles, CA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 28, 2014
Great trip if you avoid the pressure to spend

Overall, we had a great time on our 4 day stay - the weather wasn't the best, but the staff was friendly, the drinks were free-flowing, and the food was wonderful (we purchased special dinners - there were very few restaurants provided at the Sun Palace, but several more at the other resorts, which were also included within our visit if we chose to spend the $40 taxi fee to visit them). We went on a day trip to Chichen Itza and LOVED it - and several other couples we spoke with also loved their tours - so that was a great day spent outside of the resort. The Italian restaurant at the Sun Palace was fantastic - we ate there twice, and loved everything they had on the menu. We had room service breakfast each morning, and loved sitting out on the balcony drinking coffee and watching the morning - it was very relaxing and the staff was super friendly. While there weren't a lot of night-time activities, they did a great job of having something planned at the Lobby Bar - fun games that got the crowd involved and lasted until around 10, but nothing planned happened after that for anyone who is a night owl. The only real negative was how pressured we were to spend our resort credit and to go visit the Moon Palace and sit through one of the speeches about their new upgrades. As soon as we checked in, we were given champagne and rushed to sit with a vacation planner and plan out our entire stay - without first being able to go to our room and change, or go and and see the beach. After a 7 hour day of travel, I didn't have much energy or interest in planning; I just wanted a few minutes to relax. Given our short stay, we were really hoping to spend most of it basking in the sun with a drink in hand, but were told that wasn't enough - we NEEDED to plan/do something each day. We politely declined, and then had to firmly decline the trip to Moon Palace, as well as other tours and dinners that were not included within our Resort Credit (but that we could get 1 free ticket - still having to pay cash for the other - if we only joined them at the Moon Palace for their talk). We signed up for a few dinners - the Chefs dinner was fantastic as was the Wine Tasting event - both of those I would highly recommend, along with our day trip to Chichen Itza (although he kept pushing for a different tour not covered by resort credit - again 1 free ticket for going to the Moon Palace) and left with the idea that we would spend the rest of the resort credit through cigars or upgraded wine lists. Each morning, we received a call between 8 and 9 saying good morning and please stop by the planning desk to finish spending our resort credit. This was annoying, but easy to ignore. There seemed to be more restaurants at the Moon Palace, but none that you could attend without paying high taxi fees to visit - they offered free day transport, but that would return before the restaurants opened. If we'd had more time we probably would have visited, but it was pretty annoying having to say no to so many different planners (they even pushed it on us at Chichen Itza - not through the tour, but from a vendor at the ruin while we were getting a drink and waiting for our bus to return). We would definitely consider returning to this resort, there were several other tours we would love to go on. A longer stay would make planning easier, since they only offered tours/dinners on certain nights - we were lucky that the dinners and tors we really wanted fell on days that we were there.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Virginia Beach, VA
Age: 25-34

April 12, 2011
Want a top notch resort w/out kids? Go here!

Olympus Tours provided us with a stress free pick up. Just a heads up- walk right by the people in the khaki pants/skirts and out the front doors, they are timeshare folks. We arrived at the hotel waaaaay before check-in and were greeted with a cool, moist towel and a welcome drink. The front desk was very accommodating, and after a very quick check-in my gf and I were on the patio at the Alamo restaurant with a beverage in our hands staring at the beautiful Caribbean Ocean. We ate some lunch as our room was being prepared for us. We used part of our resort credits for the Concierge upgrade, leaving us with plenty of credits to do some excursions and take home some tequila. Our room was on the 5th floor, and was very inviting. The complaints about the smoked glass separating the shower and toilet that I've read, didn't bother us one bit. The in-room safe was definitely put to use. The bed was very comfortable, and provided a restful nights sleep. The jetted spa was a nice feature and used often during our stay, with plenty of room for 2 people. The view was where it was at. We enjoyed a few room service breakfasts staring at the view. There is plenty of space for everyone in the 4 pools they have. I wish we would have found the "party" pool earlier, but the quiet pools were not a disappointment. The beach had some huge chunks of coral near the shore line, but many swimmers didn't have a problem swimming over them. The thick cushioned concierge level lounge chairs were nice for those extra long sessions of laying in the sun. The servers, come by enough to make sure your drink doesn't get low, but aren't annoying about it either. This brings me to- I know this is an ALL-INCLUSIVE, but please tip generously to everyone. Seriously, they don't earn much in wages, so take care of them and they will take care of you (even if you don't tip, they say-"My Pleasure" and do what you ask w/ a smile). Restaurants. Not bad, nothing to write home about, but we always left satisfied. Besides, if you don't like what you ordered, get something else. Plenty of options to choose from. Or order room service and enjoy it in your room. Excursions. We did the Chichen-Itza trip, and the zip-line adding on the Shotover boat. Chcihen-Itza was AMAZING. Amazingly hot and humid too. Bring- comfortable shoes, sun block, a hat, and lots and lots of water, and remember to order a box lunch from front desk/room-service before you go. The zip-line was a blast, and after the first leg, those that started off afraid of heights were just fine. The shotover boat we added on was so much fun, if you like rollercoasters, you will probably like this. Every excursion we went on included others (including kids) from the sister Palace Resorts. Young or old, couples will have a nice time getting away at this resort. We would recommend this resort to everyone. Cheapcaribbean made the booking process easy, and we will continue to use this site for other trips.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Richmond, VA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 3, 2012

We enjoyed our first trip to Cancun. Rooms were great and the staff service was way beyond compare. They tried extra hard to see that we had everything we wanted and needed. They even brought up Birthday cake and champagne on my birthday. We ate twice at the Itallian resturant. It was excellent. The young man named Roberto was wonderful. He made our dining experience exceptional. He even helped to pick the right meal and wine. He also had the wine that is my over-alll favorite. I had not drunk any since I was in Italy. We loved the whole trip and will come again.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Tennessee
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 31, 2010
most fun i ever had

This was the best vacation ever.It is hard to impress me as i have lived in las vegas nevada for 30 yearswith all the beautifull hotels.we had no worries on our vacation because of cheapcaribbean.They meet you at the airport and make sure you get to the hotel.Once at the all inclusive you want for nothing.The hotel staff treat you like a king and the room and view was to die for.So many reasturants the food choices was endless.The beach and the pools were so clean.There was so many things you could do i wanted to stay forever.But as all good things must end it was time to go home.cheapcaribbean cordinates your pick up and transportation back to the airport.All i had to do was enjoy myself.when I go back again I will use cheapcaribbean for sure and the hurricain guarntee was nice even though not needed.It gave me peace of mind.

most fun i ever had most fun i ever had
7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Las vegas nevada
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 21, 2015
Exceeded Expectations

My wife and I just returned from a 5 night trip to Cancun at Sun Palace. We honestly did not have the highest expectations about Cancun based on what people we know have told us... However, Cancun and especially Sun Palace exceeded our expectations at every turn. The hotel was beautiful, the service was unbelievable and the employees were genuine. Martin and Orlando went above and beyond to make our stay amazing. I definitely would recommend Sun Palace to anyone wanting to go to Cancun and my wife and I will be sure to come again in the future.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Bethel, CT
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 16, 2014
Good Couples Option

Overall, this was a very good option for couples 30 plus. The adults’ only resort offered a laid back chic atmosphere. The resort is smaller than other Cancun resorts. However, I found the intimacy to be comfortable. It never felt overcrowded. Some of the complaints I read on here and Trip Advisor has little validity. Some people will find the bad in anything and you can find that everywhere. But for the price point you will not be disappointed. The rooms can feel a little worn but they are clean with everything you need and more. Great hair and lotion products (Chi). Make sure you get a tour of the room to fully understand how to work everything including the Jacuzzi. Definitely spring for an Ocean view high floor, you will not be disappointed. The balconies for some rooms are little tight but the view can’t be beat. The food is decent for all-inclusive. Room service did well also. There were enough meal options, delicious fruit and veggies. We do not eat beef or pork and could always find something. As for the cocktails if you like to drink, tip the waiters and ask for more liquor when needed. We liked that they had top shelf choices like Grey Goose and Don Julio. Another bonus was the resort credits. You do have to pay a 16% tax on them but you still come out cheaper than what you would spend at other resorts without them. We used ours for a romantic dinner on the beach. It was beautiful and the 3 course meal was good. I used some credits towards a 50 min full body massage. The massage was awesome and I only paid maybe $25 out of pocket. We also used some credits to upgrade our wine selection during dinner. We did not use all of ours but they gave us a voucher that we could use them if we return to a Palace Resort within a year. That’s the other great thing, you get to visit the other Palace Resorts and use you all-inclusive package or credits there. We went to Beach Palace to check out the Sky Bar, that we heard great things about. It did not disappoint. Check it out if you go. The service at Sun Palace is good but it’s better when you tip a couple of dollars. Last but not least: the beach is beautiful. As we arrived and walked through the lobby you could see the beauty. It looked just like the pictures. You have a view of if from most restaurants and bars. They have nice comfortable lounges and umbrellas to use while on the beach. And the pool is a ton of fun during the day then very relaxed in the evening. We walked up and down the beach a couple times without issues just taking it all in. We had a lovely relaxing vacation at Sun Palace.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Detroit, MI
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 30, 2017
Honeymoon

Best Honeymoon We could of picked!!! Had such a great time. We will be there for our 1 year anniversary!!!


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 23, 2010
Sun Palace

Sun Palace is an excellent location if you are searching for a laid back beach experience that is within easy reach of activities in Cancun. The Italian themed restaurant offers a romantic setting. The asian restaurant is a pleasant surprise. I love sushi, and they do it justice. Once you sit down, they offer you a sushi sample appetizer that begs you to order more. The only spot to pick on has to do with the staff knowledge of amenities. For example, I wanted use of a beach umbrella and chairs and was told they were only available to concierge level room guests. While this led to making a room upgrade, it was unnecessary. I later found out that while there is a special area of chaise lounges and umbrellas for concierge level rooms only, you can get a different set just for the asking. When I questioned multiple staff members, I eventually found out that a large portion of the well trained and knowledgeable staff were transferred to Palace's newest resort. I am sure that once the newer staff overcomes the learning curve, they all will provide the excellent level of service that Palace is known for.


6 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Atlanta, GA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 18, 2011
A Very Relaxing Vacation

This trip was planned for a relaxing 40th birthday and it didn't let us down. We loved that it was an adult only resort. The Spa was wonderful, all our meals were great, and the service was very hospitable. We enjoyed everything that Sun Palace offered us.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Salem, OR
Age: 35-44