All

Wyndham Sugar Bay Resort Reviews

Caribbean | USVI St. Thomas Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 33 Reviews
Value
 
3.6
Service
 
3.4
Beaches & Pools
 
3.8
Dining Options
 
2.6
Room Comfort
 
3.9
3.6 out of 5
"If you are used to the all inclusives with all the activities and entertainment this will fall short of that. I expected a bit more for the price however it was a nice stay. Fantastic views" – OCCaribTraveler
29 out of 40 (72%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sunrise over St. Thomas Early morning rainbow View from my Oceanfront room Sunrise view from our room Balcony Off the Balcony 99 STAIRS TO THE POOL View from Sugar Bay beach

All Wyndham Sugar Bay Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 33 reviews. Sort by
January 12, 2012
Bad timing at a nice resort

We arrived at Sugar Bay on New Years Day (the morning after I proposed to my beautiful fiance) to find they had no A/C in the entire resort and a few amenities were not available due to maintenance. The staff at the resort and Cheapcaribbean.com were both very apologetic and made sure that despite the issues we had that we were made happy. The pools and beach were amazing and spotlessly clean. The views are unbelievable and very calming. We were slightly disappointed in the selection and cost of food, but you'll find that at any resort you visit. We decided not to get the all-inclusive plan since neither my fiance or I drink and my fiance is on a Gluten free diet. We however realized all-inclusive is the way to go no matter what. Cabs we're convenient and quickly arrived when requested. Being located near Coki beach and the ferry (very affordable and worth the trip) made it easy to take a couple day trips and not break the bank. The snorkeling on the resort was just as nice as the world famous Coki beach and much less crowded. Kayaking was nice, but you had to stay within the view of the attendant so you can't really tour the coast line like we were hoping. We received a couple's massage at the spa and were blown away by the atmosphere and customer service. Also the gym there was far greater than most resorts so you can actually get in a decent workout if you're into that kind of thing on vacation. All in all we enjoyed our stay despite a few issues,which were made up for by the great staff at the resort and CheapCaribbean.com...


37 of 38 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Boston,MA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 1, 2012
Disappointed return customer

My husband and I had visited Wyndham Sugar Bay two years ago and had a great experience. We did not realize when we decided to return this year that Sugar Bay is no longer a Wyndham resort. We were very disappointed and could tell that the standards of Wyndham no longer applied. Many corners are being cut. Dirty restrooms in lobby, hotel staff not as accommodating, rooms are getting worn and run down looking, etc. We do not plan to return to Sugar Bay after this trip.


32 of 35 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: El Dorado,ar
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 6, 2011
A beach lovers vacation

The Resort was nice, people friendly and the beach was wonderful. It would have been nice to have more options in food but overall the food was good and service fine. We went on the breafast plan which was fine, we spent some time outside the resort so it was nice to have other options for food. The resort is located on a beautfiul spot of the island overlooking St. John. It's worth the extra driving from the airport. St. Thomas and St. John have breathtaking beaches a must see for all beach lovers. Thank you CheapCaribbean everything was wonderful.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Farmingdale, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 21, 2013
Despite bad reviews, we had a great time!

My boyfriend and I came down to St. Thomas and Sugar Bay to stay while in a friend's wedding. We were very scared about staying based on all of the reviews we read, and all of the bad comments we heard from others while we were staying at the resort. I work in hospitality, and I was worried it wouldn't be worth all of the money we had spent on our stay. We arrived and the lobby was really pretty, and there were people that opened the doors for us and gave us a welcome rum punch. Yum! We checked in, and went over to our room. We paid for a Bay view room, and we checked in rather late, so when we walked into the room, all we saw out of our window was the resort view. When we walked out on the patio, and looked to the far right, we could see the bay, barely, over the top of the building in front of us. I was really upset. We had traveled from LA for 15 hours, and that was the last thing I wanted to worry about. Two of our lights didn't have light bulbs, and our tv was old and didn't have cable. I called the front desk, and complained, nicely, and the lady said that I could come down in the morning and attempt to switch rooms. We went down, and talked to an asian lady the next day who reserved a room for us. We switched rooms that day at about 3pm, and this view was WAYY better. We could see the bay from our bed, and the beach, and pool, etc. This is the view that we payed for. Although, there was a wall blocking the ocean a little bit to our right, but none the less, it was a lot better than what we had. We also had a flat screen tv with good cable, magnetic cards to our doors, and all of our lights were working and patio door was better. I was happy. Our housekeeping was great, we didn't have any problems whatsoever with them, but we also did leave a $2 tip everyday for her. She seemed to come early to clean our room, and everything was perfect so that may have helped. We heard some other horror stories from other guests, but ours was fine! The service was a little slow, and they weren't overly nice like people in the states, but we didn't have many complaints. They were talkative, and brought you what you asked, quickly, which is how island service is, right? We received free breakfast during out stay, due to cheap Caribbean :), which was great, as other people were paying $20 per person for the buffet. The buffet had omlettes, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, french toast, pancakes, oatmeal, and toast. Fresh fruit as well. It was plenty for our needs, and we were more than stuffed when we left. We only ate lunch on the resort one time at the turtle bar next to the pool, and the food was good, and service was good. We were on and off the resort quite a bit for the wedding, etc. We ate at Grande Cru in Yacht Haven in town, and it was amazing. Highly recommended. We also went on the Catamaran cruise out of our hotel on Monday with the Daydreamer, and it was great! Highly recommended as well. Overall, we had a great time at Sugar Bay! Despite the beginning room change, everything else went very well, and the resort and amenities are beautiful. We actually liked our resort better than the Marriott, because ours is easier to walk around, and the Marriott is too spread out for our liking. Plus, our beach was way calmer since it was in the bay, and the marriott's had huge waves. Our beach was intimate and small, and the pool was very nice too. Again, the hot tub was not hot, but I just think that the resort just doesn't want to pay for the hot water. You can tell that the resort was once nicer due to it being a wyndham, but it wasn't horrible now. It's just a little more run down than it probably was, etc. But it was still a BEAUTIFUL resort, and BEAUTIFUL water and beach and pool. The rooms are a great size, bathrooms are really big, fridge, desk, nice big patio, etc. We miss our big room right now! We would definitely go back to Sugar Bay. It is a great value for the price.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Los Angeles
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 30, 2012
Awesome Place

We were very skeptacle of this place because of some of the reviews. However, we selected this place because we wanted a tropical place with gorgeous views and was close to all the things we wanted to do (golfing, ziplining, beaches,and St. John. Which can be seen from the restaurant balcony). Fortunately, we could not have been more pleased with everything this place had to offer. This place is absolutely gorgeous!!!! The facility was sparkling clean with friendly people who was always willing to assist us. If we had one negative thing to say, it would be the pool bar and restaurant closed too early, 8pm. The pool and beach area is just as beautiful at nite as the day and there are so many opportunities the resort could do for the adults but doesn't take advantage of it.

Early morning rainbow Sunrise over St. Thomas
9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 4, 2011
Sugar Bay has pros and cons

Pros: Nice friendly staff that went the extra mile like upgrading our room because a king bed was not available and a housekeeper put flowers from an event in our room. Good views, large rooms, and close proximity to Red Hook and the ferry. Rum punch on arrival was a nice touch. Breakfast at the Manor House was pretty good. Cons: Rooms were not spotless and at times it felt like the staff didn't know what was going on. It was the little things they didn't get right like there was no answer when we called for a wake up call, the putt putt was closed, small roaches were in the bathroom. Entertainment was amateurous and seemingly unorganized. Hotel is far from the airport. Food at one restaurant was just bad.


13 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 27, 2011
Great vacation

We were a little skeptical about going here after reading a lot of negative reviews, but we found the hotel to be nice. If you wanted to pick apart every aspect of it you could, but it was comfortable and the people were mostly helpful. The breakfast buffet was excellent and Samuel was an awesome waiter. The other meal options leave a lot to be desired, but luckily we did not do all inclusive. We were able to go to Red Hook which is literally 3 minutes away. We found a couple of really good restaurants there that we would go to again if we go back! Amigo's Mexican Restaurant was phenominal. The food was great, prices were excellent and the wait staff was very courteous. The beach at Wyndham Bay was fine. There was some coral that you had to watch out for on the left hand side, but really it was not an issue. We did some great snorkeling off the beach to the left and saw some amazing fish. We also saw a starfish. The pools were nice and refreshing! We loved watching the iguana feedings and seeing all the animals around the hotel. We want to go back to St. Thomas in the near future! This vacation was just what we needed to help us get over the long, harsh winter in Massachusetts.

Great vacation
6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Western Massachusetts
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 5, 2011
Great except for the shuttle service

Since it's around 100 stairsteps from the pool/beach back up to the main buildings the shuttle should be a great option. Guess I'm impatient but do I really want to stand for 15 mins then have it show up full?


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Southern Maryland
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 28, 2012
Tropical weekend

We loved the Sugar Bay resort with one exception. The food. The buffet was VERY boring and at $40.00 per person we refused to partake. We ended up having late on our first night a BLT at a little station inside the main lobby. We did discover Red Hook's restaurants (nearby cab ride ) were quite good but the cab costs are very high. Would stay at Sugar Bay again for the same deal but would need to rent a car to get around the island.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Miami, Florida
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 24, 2011
5 Star Prices for 2/3 Star Resort

This resort is in great need to do some major updating in not only physical room appearance, but systems and service as well. The squeaky ceiling fan had to be changed out the first night, toilet kept running, bathroom fixture would flicker on and off. The max air conditioning wasn't very cold. The high 5 Star prices in the dining room were not justified, especially considering the very poor service going on at that time. The fact that tips were built in to the bill probably is a reason why poor service and rude behavior on part of the staff happens. The monitoring systems in the housekeeping dept. and restaurants need to be fixed. Staff needs a Customer Service 101 Economics workshop. Bottom line, they all need to know that when you're rude to customers, not only do they not come back, but they tell their friends not to either. And they now write reviews as well. There were many positive moments during our trip. Unfortunately, not at the resort. It would behoove Sugar Bay to do as the nearby Marriott is doing and actually close down for a few months to upgrade. We will be back to the Island, just not Sugar Bay Wyndham.


14 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: dallas
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year