All

Sugar Bay Resort and Spa Reviews

Caribbean | USVI St. Thomas Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 630 Reviews
Value
 
3.9
Service
 
3.6
Beaches & Pools
 
3.9
Dining Options
 
3.3
Room Comfort
 
3.8
3.8 out of 5
"We loved the all-inclusive option and all the bonuses we received. We didn't have to worry about a thing." – Calvinist74
538 out of 719 (75%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
romantic getaway view from room Waterfall at one of three pools Sugar Bay Beach View from Room Room Sunset Patio View <3 Howard Green main lobby The resort View from our room Relaxing on the Wyndham beach View from our balcony View from balcony my legs after the bed bugs from our room great views awsome drinks Our Room Room View Sunset view from our partial water view room View from a room paradise View from our BayRoom balcony Fun By The Pool view down the 99 steps to pool From our balcony Can you find my wife snorkling in the cove? Sugar pets Pool at night sun rising over St John View from balcony north my arms after the bed bugs from our balcony looking down at private beach Sunset view from the balcony of my room Ocean View Room View of sapphire bay from balcont View from our balcony Pool aria! sunrise view from our room View from our room! Dawn Green main lobby moon rising over St John On the beach Room view building A View from the lobby entrance View from Sugar Bay SugarBay resort with a full moon View from beach St. Johns Sugar Bay is Paradise! View from room balcony, Wyndham Sugar Bay sunrise from our room Room view Our Sunrise Every Day From Room 150 True Love In Paradise Beach area at Sugar Bay Overlooking pool Room View view of the sun rise from our balcony View from Wyndham's Beach room view View from the room view from our room Beautiful Trunk Bay, St. John, USVI view from our room #244 Sunrise Over St. John's beach at Sugar Bay The beach, so relaxing!! View from our room View of hotel from Coral World, across the bay view of sugarbay from beach area The beach from our room Amazing Sunset!! View from balcony of room. room view View from the resorts beach View of pool and beach. It doesn't get any better than this! View from our room patio Panoramic view from room deck! the view from my balcony The beach at Sugar Bay Sunset from our room, 525 walking to breakfast area Sugar Bay Resort and Spa Heavenly Morning @ Sugar Bay ;) Poolside with a friendly neighbor View from the wedding pavilion area Our Gang @ Sugar Bay

All Sugar Bay Resort and Spa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 630 reviews. Sort by
March 2, 2012
NotYour Usual All Inclusive

I would say the most disappointing thing about our stay at Sugar Bay was the Service. You see, we work hard all year and decided it would be nice to treat ourselves to a vacation for Christmas. We choose the all inclusive option so we could focus on relaxing and enjoying . Upon arrival we were given Blue plastic wrist bands and were told if we were to lose one there would be a $75 charge. What?! These wrist bands you see,where to identify the all inclusive folks who had paid the highest price to stay at the resort & was to included a 15% gratuity. What ended up happening was once a staff member saw the wrist band, you were promptly ignored or at best give half- hearted service. Now, I am from NY and good service=good tips. Apparently they have not gotten this memo at Sugar Bay. Also, I have been to many other all inclusive resorts and have never experienced this. Typically the opposite is true. On our last day there I waited over 20 minutes for the waitress to bring salad dressing for a salad I already had. Really?! Also, I have never been to tropical resort that ran out of daiquiri mix on a daily basis. How do you do that? I would like to mention that some of this would be understandable if it were busy. However, we were told they were at 60% capacity. I would hate to go there when there were even remotely full. The rooms were decent and the food was actually very good (once you could find some one to bring it to you). I will confirm that the pool was cold. We were told the heated was broken and it would take 4 months to fix. Bright note: Beautiful ocean views and a few good servers that got TIPS. Oh, one more thing, internet service is not all inclusive and neither is room service. HUH?!


217 of 225 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 35-44

February 8, 2013
Wonderful vacation in Sugar Bay Resort!

We had a wonderful vacation in Sugar Bay Resort! I read a lot of negative reviews about this resort and was upset before going on vacation. I understand that all people have different opinions, but I really don’t see what they were complaining about! Our check in was fast and pleasant, room was specious, clean and had everything we needed! No cracked tiles, no old walls! Every day the room was cleaned and more than enough towels was submitted! We had a bay view on 6th floor overlooking the chapel! You could spend unlimited time on the balcony! Food in Mangrove restaurant was very tasty and it was convenient that it was in pool aria! The Manor restaurant in the evening had the best A La Carte food. One evening we went for my birthday to “Caribbean Fish Market” Restaurant in St. Thomas, paid a lot of money. I would say that dinner in Manor that was included in our AI was much better! I think that what has to be improved it is breakfast, yogurt, cereal should be added and more variety of fresh fruits! Pool aria is beautiful, beach is a little rocky but still nice! The most important is that it was always a lot of space, nobody was walking over you! Service was very good, we always got what we needed! I think that people who are coming for vacation should enjoy more and appreciate what they see and have and not just look for something to complain!!! We definitely will return and already told all of our friends that we had a very nice vacation!!!

Pool aria! View from our room!
24 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Brooklyn, NY
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 3, 2012
Overall, Great Trip!

My husband and I booked our honeymoon for the Sugar Bay 1/23-1/31. We have both visited St. John several times, but we decided to stay on St. Thomas because we were excited about the all-inclusive option. Like all other visitors, we read the reviews and were a little concerned, but we took it with a grain of salt. We have stayed at Maho Bay and the Westin on St. John, thought they were both amazing in their own respects, and read extremely negative reviews for both, so it's all what YOU make out of your trip! With that being said, the Sugar Bay had highlights, and downfalls. If you plan on staying at a four star resort, you will probably be disappointed. This is a three star resort, which is not a bad thing! Did you come to the Caribbean to sit around in a beautiful hotel room? If so, you are probably traveling to the wrong destination. Upon our arrival we were upgraded to... something. I'm not quite sure what it was actually. We stayed in top floor (one of the 700 digits) and had a view of the top of the lower building, a little of the pool, and a little of the beach. We mostly had the view of the top of two palm trees. No complaints! We were happy to be there. The room was large and the bed was clean, and did not smell musty at all. Our first night we ate in the Ocean Club Lounge (it was late and we did not feel like dressing up), the food was fine after a long day of travel and we had a few Painkillers (SO GOOD!!!!). It was very busy that night and I heard a customer say he was going to throw something at the bartenders head to get her attention. The bartender was doing a great job, I'm sure she probably wanted to throw something at his head as well. Our next day we spent at the resort, relaxing by the pool and beach. The pool is cold, personally I didn't mind. If you have a drink and go swim around you will feel great! I expected the beach to be tiny - it's not!! There were always beach chairs and lounge chairs at the pool. The beach is a little rocky, enter on the left side and suck it up! It is sandy and beautiful waters after that. Snorkeling is decent at the beach. My husband snorkeled there almost ever day. We also visit Coral World, which I wouldn't recommend unless you are going to do the Snuba excursion, swim with the Sea Lions (we did this and it was awesome!!!) and/or go to Coki Beach. Coki Beach had the BEST snorkeling I have seen in a long time. It is a small beach, but very pretty. Even though we had been to St. John several times, we took the ferry over twice, once for Trunk Bay and once for Cinnamon Bay. If you haven't visited St. John, I'm not sure what you're waiting for! It is undeniably beautiful. Sugar Bay is conveniently located close to Red Hook Ferry. 90% of the time the weather was gorgeous - it did rain a few times during our stay. During the showers we took the opportunity to play Bingo at the resort (a lot of fun and you win bottles of Rum), or eat at Turtle Rock and drink a Bushwacker (make sure you order one of these if you like Mudslides). I always thought the food at Turtle Rock/Pimentos was really good, much better than I expected. The Bartenders who work during the day at Turtle Rock are extremely sweet and pleasant. The rest of the food at the resort was OK. Like I mentioned before we did the all-inclusive. I'm not sure why everyone thinks Baci is so much better than the Manor House (not the buffet nights). We ate at both places twice, and cancelled our third reservation to Baci because MH was SO much better. The food is nothing to write home about, but I came for the beaches, not for an excellent meal. I found most of the food to be over-salted. The service was also just OK. Sometimes people were polite and accommodating, other times they just seem put off. One lady in particular was working at the front desk (only once during my stay) and rolled her eyes when I asked for bottles of water. Apparently it's annoying that I want to stay hydrated. She was not wearing a nametag, but it was Saturday or Sunday morning. My biggest complaint was the music played at Turtle Rock and Ocean Club Lounge (which you can hear from Manor House). I'm in my late 20's and actually have all the music that was played on my IPhone, but the LAST thing I want to listen to is Flo Rida and Rihanna when I'm on vacation. At the pool I felt like I was on Spring Break in Cancun. It was insanely loud... I would love reggae style or local music. Also, it makes NO SENSE that MH enforces a strict dress code, but then you sit down to dinner and hear Smack That by Akon - what?? It was just plain weird. I love the dress code - kill the music until 8pm. One last thing... I cannot believe how many people complained about the stairs! I understand if you have a physical disability, but if not.... seriously? We walked up and down the stairs every day, starting from our room all the way down to the beach. So 96 stairs + 7 extra flights, at least four times a day. The hotel shuttle was running every day, all day, carting people back and forth to the pool. I think the stairs are a great way to work off all the extra calories you will be consuming or drinking. They also offer a beautiful view of the property. Overall we had a great stay, I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend (I think it's geared towards a younger crowd), personally we would not stay there again as I prefer St. John over St. Thomas. The All-Inclusive option is a great deal, if you eat 3 times a day and enjoy a couple drinks. We will definitely book through Cheap Caribbean again, everything went smoothly!


83 of 89 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Portland, Maine
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 15, 2013
Pass On This Spot

Our first impression was that the accommodations were very nice. When we got to our room - beautiful view of the beach and bay - great balcony to enjoy this gem. Now the bad - the ceiling fan needed to be cleaned - the dust on the paddles of the fan were thick - having an allergy to dust really makes this unappealing. If the AC was turned up past 72 degrees, there was a musty order in the air - yuck! The grab bar in the shower was broken. The bed needed to be replaced - if you were nearing the edge of the bed there was a chance you would fall off. And it gets worse - The service, when available, was slow. There was one evening when their main restaurant, was filled to capacity and it appeared that only 2 servers were available. We noticed the understaffing and kept our orders simple (ie my wife and I ordered the same wine, soup and entree). The wine took forever to be served and we never got the soup. While we had the All Inclusive Package (AIP) the drinks were watered down. They did have a bar at the pool - but no bartender or liquor at the bar at the pool - so why the bar at the pool? Finally, the food. Seemed like everything was prepackaged. They had the worst Alfredo Sauce. The desserts were made by Sara Lee. Edible - yes. But completely overpriced. It's like I was at a glorified McDonalds. I understand from speaking with the locals, they were better and busier when they were associated with Wyndham. But ever since the split, they have overpromised and underdelivered. So Pass On This Spot.


23 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Chicago
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 10, 2016
Ignore the bad reviews!

Whatever the management changed definitely worked. I read all the bad reviews and was really nervous about coming here after booking the trip last minute but honestly I'm so glad my girlfriend and I still came. The staff was very welcoming and they are all very friendly. Ashma, one of the bartenders was amazing (if you see her around ask her for a rum jaggah) and Danielle who ran pool activities was hilarious. They had plenty for us to do around the pool including bingo with prizes, shots competitions and bumper boats. The whole resort was very clean and beautiful. The views are just as amazing as the pictures on the website. We came during a dead time but there was still plenty to do. The food was good, but not great except for hibachi and breakfast. Those were both great. All inclusive was definitely worth it. They accommodated all of our needs. They even let us take a bottle of champagne to our room and immediately cleaned up our room when we called about a glass that broke and replaced them. You don't need to leave the resort for anything, but there's a desk where someone will provide you with information about excursions and other things to do if you decide. We did the half day sail which picked us up right off the beach at the resort and we got to snorkel at honeymoon beach in St John which was beautiful. I feel bad that this place has bad reviews bc it really exceeded my expectations. Also we met so many friendly people along the way that I will stay in touch with once we leave. We will definitely be back here some day.


17 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 22, 2012

We decided to take a get away vacation when my boyfriend came home from a year long deployment in Iraq. We were able to get a great deal on the whole entire package (flight + hotel + all inclusive). We read the previous reviews about Sugar bay and were a little skeptical...the first night on the island we threw out all of the previous bias thoughts we had from the reviews, we were hooked! We were upgraded to a ocean view room and the set up is absolutely beautiful! We had great service from the minute we walked in the door to the minute we left the resort, we loved the staff. I would definitely go see the guys on the snorkeling day trips, they were a blast. I would also make a trip over to St. John's (it is a 15-20 min ferry & very reasonable) and if you are looking for a fun night life -- duffy's love shack in red hook (5 mins away) was an absolute blast. The food was good and always there when you wanted it. I would definitely return to Sugar Bay, we met a lot of great people as well as staff. We were not ready to come home :) oh...and the stairs that get such bad reviews...not bad at all!! They even run a shuttle constantly if you are unable to walk the stairs!


47 of 51 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 500 Contributor
From: St. Paul, MN
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 23, 2012
VERY AVERAGE

Let me preface my review with this: My wife and I have been to a dozen or so of these types of resorts and are very easy to please. As long as you've got a good attitude and are trying to do your job we will almost always give you the benefit of the doubt. Rooms are decent. Clean. Food was so so, about what you'd expect at an all inclusive place. A lot of things at the resort were run down looking. The staff, though nice, ALWAYS did the bare minimum. Service was very inconsistent throughout the resort. I really got the feeling that no one, including management, cared if we had a nice stay. We had a good time but won't be back. I also would not recommend this place to my friends or family with any confidence.


22 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Charlotte, NC
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 12, 2012
Great girls trip!

My friend and I stayed at Sugar Bay from 11/3 - 11/6. Service, food and weather was great! Views and landscaping were beautiful. We would definitely return. If you go, take the ferry to St. John. So convenient and loved spending the day at Trunk Bay; breathtaking!!!


14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Tewksbury, MA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 2, 2013
Friendly Resort

Just got home from a week at Sugar Bay. What a great trip! The staff were the friendliest of any resort I have gone to. From bartenders to cleaning staff everyone was smiling and kind. The food was very good-even after a week. The bartenders were awesome and poured very generously. Overall it was an incredible place. The only negative thing any in our party came up with was the coffee wasn't very good, considering everything else that was a pretty small issue. The beach was great with good snorkeling. The pools were nice and there was always plenty of chairs, pool or beachside. I would definitely recommend to go on the Catamaran snorkeling trip with Donny and Hollywood. We left right from the beach and spent 4 hours with them, wish we had known and would have scheduled the day trip. They were AWESOME! My husband and I have done several of these trips from Hawaii to Turks Caicos to Cancun. These guys were the best snorkel trip we've ever had. Very laid back and relaxed, lunch was great (so was the bar). If you are there you should check them out-was a great day.


14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Reno, NV
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 26, 2013
So unhappy!

I am so disappointed with my trip to Sugar Bay. First, the reason I selected this hotel was that it was a four star and was all inclusive. Ok, what a joke that is. This resort is a three star at best and their claim for all inclusive is a joke. Here are my reasons why: 1. Staff: Extremely rude throughout the resort. The only exceptions were at check in, at the pool bar and at the gift shop. The remaining staff treated hotel guests as if the guests were lucky to be at the resort and that the staff was not necessarily interested in catering to any guest. 2. The movie channels on our tv were never available during our stay. 3. On two days during our stay I had to call to have bath towels delivered to our room. 4. There was no air conditioning on our last night during our stay. Extremely warm temperatures in June. 5. No toilet seat covers throughout the resort. GROSS! 6. Paint throughout resort was in need of a desperate face lift. 7. Told hotel staff the purpose of the trip was my daughter's highschool graduation. Was told they would do something special however, never received anything special. 8. Food: ok what a joke. Food options were sub-par. Fine dining was a joke. Guess what I ordered off of their very limited fine dining menu? Spaghetti with meat sauce. The other guests order chicken fettucini alfredo. This is fine dining?? 8. All inclusive: Again, a joke. At the fine dining restaurant, if you wanted the meat and cheese platter as an appetizer, it was a $9 up charge for all inclusive guests. If you wanted a steak it was another $18 up charge. WHAT A JOKE! I have been to many hotels across the world and have never had such poor service and amenitites. I have also stayed at many all inclusive locations whether it be a hotel or cruise and have never had such poor selection or quality and have never been required to pay any additional fees for food selections. I will never recommend this hotel to anyone.


19 of 20 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Calfiornia
Age: 35-44
Travel: 7+ trips/year