All

St. Lucian by Rex Resorts Reviews

Caribbean | St. Lucia Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 8 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.2
Dining Options
 
2.9
Room Comfort
 
3.3
3.6 out of 5
9 out of 12 (75%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Simple and vintage Our view everyday !

All St. Lucian by Rex Resorts Customer Reviews

1-8 of 8 reviews. Sort by
August 14, 2012
BEST PURCHASE, GREAT LOCATION

I would recommend the St.Lucian by Rex Resort to Family,friends and even associates. Great location to all of the happens on the North side of the island , easy access to the city of Castries (20 min), reasonable taxi fare. Staff members were very pleasant. Enjoyed ever meal serve to us. There are couple of things I would have like to have more of, more music playing throughout the hotel whille in the lobby and entertainment. Then again I traveled in the month of August 2-7 and don't know if that had anything to do with iit, other than that I would choose to stay at the St.Lucian by Rex Resort anytime it's the best.


46 of 54 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: HOUSTON, TX
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 10, 2014
First Caribbean trip !

I loved this place . It's perfect if you're on a budget. Although the big pool was closed , the small pool was open but your literally on the beach . My boyfriend and I were on the beach everyday . It's literally 15 feet away from your backdoor patio . The food was simple. You had breakfast, lunch and dinner , as well as , afternoon tea . Most resorts have food all day and all night but we were out all the time and enjoying what st. Lucia is all about. The drinks were great and the employees were super helpful. I enjoyed the food. And so did my boyfriend. We loved the croissants for breakfast. The excursions we went on were the land and sea tour which was amazing and the helicopter ride scenic tour and shuttle to the airport which was perfect to end our trip. St. Lucia has so much to offer than just fancy resorts - this place is beautiful . The restaurant, The Oriental , had great food . Their chef knows his Asian cuisine. I recommend the pork belly :) the few setbacks we had was that there was a leak in our room by the airconditioner- which was fixed about a day later. They took care of it when we were out and the ones fixing our leak were super friendly. We became friends with the security guards at this resorts and friends with our your guide from the land and sea. We would be out on the beach , and they would tell us stories about st. Lucia and their way of life there. It was so much fun being at the beach with all those stars and just discovering something new. The airconditioner in the rooms are quiet , so disregard the person said that they're loud and old - they're quiet and it's not bothersome. Also , the televisions , yes , they're outdated but do you really spend time in a beautiful place in your room watching television ? I think not . In all honesty , the place is vintage . It's simple and quaint. They provide a relaxed environment which is what everyone looks for when vacation . The iinly thing I recommend is that during dining time , they should have someone designated to seat everyone . A few people were gettng annoyed , standing waiting for a table . Mostly all the employees were cleaning tables and waiting tables which I understand but a little extra help during dining hours would probably run a little more smoothly . But trust us , we enjoyed it . We read the reviews and we were weary as well but the CEO did look at all the negative reviews and they are working hard at it . Also , with the large pool closed - it's also because they had a large storm during Christmas which wrecked a lot of stuff. Since they're resort is older than sandals , they took a harder hit so they made the smart move of closing the extension of their resort and the big pool and they are fixing it. Listen , I gotta say this resort gives you the comfort , the relaxation and the heart of what st. Lucia is all about .

Simple and vintage Our view everyday !
9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York , NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 28, 2013
very poor selection

The St Lucian by Rex is a very poor example of how a hotel should be operated. Three quarters of the hotel is not useable. Of the 250 rooms at the site, only 100 can be used. The specialty restaurant is closed. Only the buffet is open. Half of the umbrellas are broken. There is no entertainment. The only good thing is the staff. They are very helpful and accomidating.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Dallas TX
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 16, 2014
Great beach, so-so hotel

Okay, first the positives! IMO the nicest beach on the island, great sunsets, beautiful panoramic views, friendly for a morning swim or watersports, sailing, jet skis, ETC. Plenty of space to lay out and just relax. Beach access was 15 steps from the back door of our room. Excellent dining just a short stroll along the beach, less than 1/4 mile. Shopping, dining, and harbor access all within easy walking distance.The staff was very friendly and helpful. Now the not so good... The hotel is dated, and the rooms and grounds in need of renovation. The pool is more of a wading pool, just 3 feet deep, nice to cool off but not to swim in. The food was all good, but the menu is repetitive, breakfast in particular was usually backed up due to only 1 cooking station. Not a lot of variety at meals. Our room wasn't terrible, but certainly needed some work. That being said, the AC worked, the hot water worked, and linen and towell service was on time daily. It worked great for me, as I spent little time in the room ( Did I mention the beach?), but if a nice room is an important part of your vacation enjoyment, this may not be the place for you. If your room is just where you sleep and shower, this place will certainly get the job done.


8 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: UT
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 3, 2015
St Lucian good job ! good value !

A Really good value. An outstanding beach, great sand, great water for swimming. The staff was very friendly and professional. The room was very good, no problems. The food/buffett was average, but the dinner restaurant was outstanding. What we liked best about the St Lucian was it was very quiet and peaceful. The huge party crowd was not there (probably the timeing that we were there, but I think it is generally a couples place most of the time). It was the perfect romantic anniversary get-away destination. We were only there 2 days so we pretty much relaxed and beached at the hotel, but there were many activities to do if you wanted. I thought the price was very good for all we got !


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Denver CO
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 6, 2016
Please spend a little more to stay somewhere else

I was well aware of this being a three star resort and didn't expect anything more, but this was HORRIBLE. Check in took about an hour and I was Starving from the 1 and a half hour ride from the airport and since this resort is all inclusive I asked could I eat while we wait, I was told i could have a cheese sandwich, tuna, or french fries.......I DIDN'T WANT ANY OF THAT, I wanted real food. I finally went to the room which was ok, and I sat down on the bed and the frame broke. I looked under the bed and the metal frame was disconnected and had plastic wrapped around it. I called the front desk and let them know and they said they would come fix it, but all the did is put it back together. The very next day while laying still on the best, it just collapsed. I then called the front lobby, angry at this time and they came and replaced the frame. The room did not have a phone in it and I could not plug up my cell phone because the plugs were different. I called the front desk and they said they will send a phone and I had to come get adapters for the plugs. The room is very dark and dim. Housekeeping will not change your sheet everyday unless you are there to watch them. Pillowcases are part of the sheet set and it seemed to be a big deal that I asked for them to be changed. After long HOT days and you just come in and drop on the bed, you need fresh linen. You can only eat between 7-9:45 11-2:00 7-10:00 I AM ON VACATION. ALCOHOL IS AVAILABLE ALL DAY, BUT NOT FOOD. PEOPLE WHO DRINK NEED TO EAT. They take USA money but will give you EU change. Please make sure you download an app for conversions. If you take the day trip to Soufire PLEASE BE ADVISED THAT IS A LLLLOOOONNNGGG 2 HOUR RIDE AND ALL TWISTS AND TURNS. The hoarse back riding trip was excellent. To make a local phone call from the resort to order food is almost $2 per minute. There is a woman named Val that works in the dinning area and she is the nicest most helpful person there. The women in the tours department are very helpful also, they were able to get someone to come to the hotel to braid my hair at a very resonable price. This hotel is very old fashioned and needs to update EVERYTHING. When you are on vacation, you do not want to have to wake up at the crack of dawn to catch breakfast the starve until dinner. PLEAS JUST STAY AT ANOTHER RESORT. You will not be happy here.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 29, 2016
Great resort for the $

The St Lucian is definitely an older resort, and you can tell. If they invested a bit of $, it could easily be a four star. A busted light here, a cracked tile there... you get the idea. That said, non of that took away from my experience. Perhaps if i spent more it would, but not so here. Overall, the resort is small, but clean and functional. The staff was very pleasant, especially reception and grounds. The waitresses and bar tenders... different story. They were a bit lacking. Not nasty or dis-courteous, just not friendly or particularly engaging either. Reception was amazing though! Food was good, but there is only one restaurant (open half the week) and the buffet. They also do afternoon tea, which is pretty cool. Also, the buffet seating looking across the beach, over Rodney Bay as the sun sets... Breathtaking The room was decent, and kept clean, but nothing special. It did however have an incredible view as the sun went down.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: sNJ
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 10, 2016

St Lucia was beautiful. The hotel was average the bar closes at midnight got to make sure get 2 breakfast lunch dinner early they run out of food there entertainment ends at930pm. There beach view was amazing


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Racine wis
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year