All

St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino Reviews

Caribbean | St. Kitts Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 36 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.2
Beaches & Pools
 
4.4
Dining Options
 
3.9
Room Comfort
 
4.5
4.3 out of 5
"The trip was great only thing is the steakhouse's steak is like a dennys steak in quality of meat otherwise the other resturants were great" – Mducketman2
42 out of 46 (91%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Beach Marriott GOlf course view

All St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino Customer Reviews

1-10 of 36 reviews. Sort by
March 8, 2011
Worst Service Ever

My husband and I recently spent a week at the St Kitts Marriott and Royal Beach Casino in Room 215, Main Building. Our check-in date was 2/19/11 and we left on 2/26/11. While the island, the weather and the food were wonderful, the service at the resort left much to be desired. We both feel very strongly about this and had heard similar complaints from the other vacationers visiting that week. During our check-in the room was not ready and, when we did get to the room, neither room swipe key worked. On Day 2, we opened the door to our closet only to discover ants crawling all over the clothing we had placed on top of our suitcase. Not just one ant, but literally an entire colony of ants had inundated our clothing. We picked up everything remotely close to the floor and placed all of our clothing, shoes, etc. up on shelves or in drawers. We immediately informed the concierge of the problem and they assured us the problem would be resolved. Later that day we returned to our room to find ants crawling in the bathtub and on the shelf around the coffee maker. We went back to the concierge to further explain the extent of the problem and again were told the problem would be addressed. Throughout the week we found one or two ants in the bathroom but on our last night there, I picked up a shoe off of a shelf and an entire colony of ants scattered in every direction. We have no idea whether any resort staff visited our room to address the problem. There was no note or any indication anyone had been to our room. No one ever followed up with us and there was no follow up call from the concierge to ask if the problem had been resolved. At every bar on the resort, it took at least 20 minutes for the bartender to even acknowledge that you were standing there waiting for service. The resort advertised Happy Hour in the afternoons out by the pool. This was a serious joke in that 9 times out of 10 there was no bartender at the swim up bar who could service you during Happy Hour. On 2/22, we had dinner at The Royal Grille Steakhouse. It took 1 hr and 20 minutes to get our entrée. My husband was so annoyed he was ready to get up and walk out. On 2/25 we took friends of ours to the La Cucina restaurant at the resort. Our friend ordered soup but was not given a spoon. He asked the waitress for a spoon when the soup was delivered and the waitress never returned. I ended up giving him my spoon so he could eat his soup and then had to wait for a spoon of my own to eat my own soup. The breakfast buffet at Calypso was satisfactory although there was no variability of the menu from day to day with the possible exception of one dish. By the 5th day of our stay we were seriously considering whether to even bother with breakfast as we knew it would be exactly the same as the previous 4 days. On 2/26, our last day at the resort, we went to breakfast and an argument broke out, between what appeared to be the manager and a waitress, in the middle of the dining room. The manager spoke to the waitress and began to walk away. The waitress made a comment to another coworker. The manager over heard and came back and got in the waitresses face saying, “Excuse me?”. The waitress backed down and the manager walked away. A minute or two later she came back at that same waitress with more of the argument. This behavior was completely unprofessional and a discussion that was better had behind closed doors and not in a public dining area. Furthermore, it is this type of interaction that vacationers are trying to avoid and is a reason why people even take vacation. Again on our last day at the resort, we called the number we were directed to call for express check-out and requested a bellman to come to our room for our luggage. We waited a half hour and no one showed up. Give our experience with the service at the resort, we decided we would be better off just lugging our own luggage to the front door rather than waiting for someone who might possibly not even show up. I will say that this booking was through Cheap Caribbean and that our experience with the flights and transfers to and from the resort were perfect. Everything was on time. Staff were prepared to receive us and they were quite pleasant to work with. This was unlike our experience with the staff at the resort. While the resort staff were not rude very few of the staff smiled or were pleasant. Most of the staff members we came in contact with gave us the same rote speech while looking over our heads. Few staff made eye contact with us and, very often, did not acknowledge us but simply filled our requests when asked. Staff did not appear to be enjoying their jobs. In fact, the most pleasant staff were the taxi drivers! The one bright spot was our visit to Blue Restaurant on 2/24. While the staff still lacked a smile and connection with the customer, the service was impeccable. There was no waiting and the courses were served one after the other in an appropriate time frame. We really enjoyed our dinner here. Overall, our visit to the St Kitts Marriott and Royal Beach Casino was a true disappointment. This fact was surprising to us in that we have had positive experiences at other Marriott Hotels and Resorts. We know the Marriott chain is capable of providing a quality service to its customers. We would be hesitant to recommend this resort to our friends given our experience. St Kitts is a beautiful island with not many competing resorts. I would think the Marriott could really thrive here if it provided a quality stay for its customers.


41 of 43 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 16, 2011
Great facility - but needs to step Up

we booked an 8-day/7-night trip. Upon arrival, we were given a room key to our room - but when we got to the room, it was under construction. They staff moved us - and upgraded us (we are Platinum Marriott) to a beautiful suite on top floor - AWESOME room. With ONE EXCEPTION - the A/C fan ran 24/7 but the room was continually warm. We complained 5 separate times, with engineering coming several times to "fix it" but with littel to no change. When talking with manager on our last night there about our plight, he came to the room personally and agreed it was not comfortable. The site manager called us the next morning and comitted to getting it fixed and offered us a free stay in the future to make it right. We gladly accepted. The main thing I would say is this - the food is average, not what I expected of Marriott. No fresh fruit juices at the bars, fish was days old at the seafood Restaurant (Blue) - again, not what you would expect on an island. Breakfast buffet is nice, but you get better deal ordering room service (lower cost) or walking 5-mins to Rituals Cafe. We were underwhelmed by most all of the food we had on-site( acutally the Pizza at Pizza Shack by the pool is pretty good), but highly recommend going off-site: Ottleys Plantation is beautiful and the lobster and fish are divine. Shiggidy-Shack has GREAT food and is only 10 min walk - be sure to catch fire-eater show on Thurs. Reggae Beach is another fun spot with GREAT food - Greg the owner - is a local and makes sure the fish and lobster are fresh, and the rum punch is authentic! Oh, and be sure to do the Zip-Lines in the Rain Forest!! My wife is afraid of heights and she had a B L A S T! The island is still very 'untouched', undeveloped and beautiful - having let go of agriculture as it main employer/income just a few years ago. It is now leaning heavily on tourism - which, unfortunatley, means lots of new development as can already be seen. I only hope they keep some of the undelveloped/untouched land and feel - as that is what makes it so quaint. The locals we met were quite nice and our taxi drivers were all very polite and attentive. The hotel site is beautiful, but it is on the windward side with constant surf - body surfing si great, but if you are looking to loll around in the ocean on a float, you will have to go to leeward side to find that. Beach is huge with tons of chairs, pool is huge, but could use some attention in certain areas that cleaning crew seemed to have forgotton to scrub. But, overall, site is clean and attractive. I am sure we will enjoy our next trip, and we hope to be there in-season as our trip in early August was off-season and a bit 'quite" (and the Tropical Storm that came thru while we were there did make it a bit 'wet') A good value for your money if you are wanting to relax or spend time with your kids/family. If you are looking for younger crowd or party's this isnt for you.


29 of 33 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Miami, FL
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 6, 2010
LOVE THIS PLACE

WE HAVE BEEN TO ST.KITTS MARRIOTT 4 TIMES AND IT IS ONE OF THE TOP PLACES TO GO IN OUR BOOK. THE PLACE IS LOVELY AND THE STAFF IS THERE TO PLEASE THE CUSTOMER. THE BEACH IS WONDERFUL AND PLENTY OF SPACE ,NOT PACK ON TOP OF THE NEXT GROUP. HAVE RECOMMENDED IT TO FRIENDS AND THEY ALL COME BACK SAYING THE SAME THING GREAT VACATION ONLY DRAW BACK IS DURING OFF SEASON THEY USUALLY DO NOT HAVE ALL THE RESTAURANTS OPEN BUT THERE ARE PLENTY OF PLACES TO EAT OUTSIDE OF THE HOTEL.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: MONROEVILLE PA
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 26, 2015
St Kitts for spring break

Just got back from a great 6 days in St. Kitts with my husband, my 21 year old college jr (girl), and 19 year old college sophomore (boy).... we had such a great time.... it was time consuming to get there as we were coming from the midwest but we all thought it was worth it in the end..... we stayed at the Marriott but I really don't think its fair that we rate much about it as we were never at the hotel.... it has lovely restaurants but we much preferred eating local... it has a casino but we arent gamblers (plus you could smoke in there - yuk)... the beach was fine but it had quite a bit of seaweed last week and it is on the Atlantic, thus a lil chilly...the rooms were large and very comfy however - we had a mini fridge so we took a taxi to the grocery and loaded up on beer, water and drinks so that was very convienient.... the hotel was clean and in very good shape and it had a nice pool area....the front desk staff and bellmen were great too...had to pay extra for wifi in the rooms but it was free in the lobby what we loved about the trip was our daily exploration of the beaches....there are quite a few bays on the island on the Carribbean Sea and each bay had several beach bars on it that had beach chairs, umbrellas (neccessary for the intense sun), restaurant, cold drinks, snorkel gear, etc available.... we picked a spot each day and enjoyed the warm, clear, sandy water and clean beaches.... yes, they had their share of cruise folks coming and going on the beach during the day so the mid day crowds were large but we got to each beach by 10:30 and didnt leave till 4:30 or later so we had times of enjoying an uncrowded beach too...the beach names go by the names of the bars and we loved Ship Wreck beach, Carambola, and the Reggae Bar..... super relaxing at each with great folks getting us whatever we needed at each location... and the best part of getting to the beaches were the taxi drivers - they were all delightful and entertained us!! we never ate at the hotel - we wandered down to timothy's beach (an $8 cab ride) and ate at the 3-4 spots down there - excellent fish and bar-be-cue dinners that made us all happy.... the one night we went "out" for dinner at the Fisherman's Wharf in town was a bust - they had no lobster even tho over half of the menu was all about the lobster - not worth the cab fare there!! but the beach shacks (yes they look like shacks) had super good food, super good drinks and were so well priced - just perfect after a day in the hot sun - they had music, bonfires and entertainment and we sat with our toes in the sand during dinner - perfect for this family we had great service with the Ttropical Tour folks that we were set up with thru this website - the transfer was there waiting when we landed (customs takes about 10 minutes there) and we met with their rep pam who gave us great info about the island and what to do while we were there....we did an all day catamaran tour which included drinks, lunch, snorkeling at a reef only accessible by boat, and 2 hours of swimming at nevis (the neighboring island)..... we loved it.... not overcrowded, the staff was wonderful, the snorkeling good and the food and drink were good.... we couldnt have been happier with our trip and i loved working with the agent booking the trip.... the funny part was he didnt tell us we were booked first class for the trip to St Kitts so that was a super happy surprise when we got to the airport - especially as we had to leave at 5:30 in the morning!!!!


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Twin Cities of Minnesota
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 13, 2010

This was the WORST vacation we have ever taken . The staff acted as if we were an inconveince to them . The roof leaked. We could not go on one beach and when we did get to the beach you couldn't relax because people woukd come up to you ever five minutes and try and sell you something . There was a hurricane the week we went and I tried to get a refund for the days we could do nothing but sit in the room or credit towards another trip and I was told no. I would not recommend this to anyone and I have actually discouraged people from going There. Sorry this is not what you wanted to hear but it's True


11 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: marathon new york
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 3, 2011
Wonderful vacation

We were not disappointed by the Marriott St. Kitts. While getting off to a bit of a rocky start with our hot water tank shared between our room and another having to be replaced on the first day things settled in. Just enjoying the sunshine made the room temperature shower bearable. We went with 3 other couples and made great use of the Escape All inclusive package -- the only way to go if you enjoy a few drinks and fine dining. Pay as you go could have easily been in the $1500 to $2000 range for 8 days without the all inclusive. Everything we had was covered by the all-inclusive including our breakfasts, snacks, lunches, cocktails and appetizers and dinner. The fine dining options on the resort were very good with our favorite being Blu. Second choice was the steakhouse and third was the Italian restaurant. We did have the breakfast buffet and found that the made to order omelets, eggs and waffles were great but not so with the pre-made eggs and french toast. Lunch at the pool bar or from the cafe as take away for our golf expedition was also very good. If you are used to fast service you will be disappointed -- as they say "Island Time" is a way of life but became surprisingly addictive after 3-4 days. The staff was always eager to please, although on one day we were surprised to find Mr. JW Marriott himself and his son in the lobby on their way to a ribbon cutting for the new Ritz they are building so that may have had something to do with it. One of the couples has made this trip 3 times and experienced a similar level of service so I tend to think it is the norm. The golf course was average and pricy but expected for resort golf. The back nine is much more enjoyable and many holes are along the ocean. Food and drinks at the golf course are not included in the All-Inclusive and it is just a short golf cart ride away from the front entrance to the hotel. Overall I would highly recommend the Marriott St. Kitts and will likely make a return visit. The one drawback is travel time since there are no direct flights from the Boston area.


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Massachusetts
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 21, 2012
Nice Marriott, annoying beach vendors

We enjoyed our stay at the Marriott in St Kitts. The pool and whirlpool were great and the beach huts with cushioned loungers were awesome. We were approached several times each day by locals selling massages, jewelry, etc even when we were resting but as all beaches are public, there isnt much the Marriott can do. We did see some ants in the bathroom but not enough to be a bother and the rest of the hotel was extremely clean. I was less happy with the deep cleansing facial at the spa but it wasn't horrible. Although the beach is touted as 4 miles, it becomes impossible to walk after a mile or so due to the slope and grasses. The restaurants were expensive but there are several others within walking distance including a coffee house/sandwich shop that was good. Overall, we loved St Kitts and the Marriott and I would definitely recommend it. P.S. the shops in town close at 5 and most are closed all day Sunday


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Atlanta, GA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 8, 2011
Great Vacation Experience

We had a great vacation experience with Cheap Caribbean, Tropical Tours and the St. Kitts Marriott. Our only complaint with the Marriott was the location of our room--1st floor in the main resort building. Everyone--staff, taxi drivers, tour guides, craft vendors--were very friendly and helpful.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Mississippi and Cape Cod
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 26, 2011

Cheap Caribbean was the best price and very helpful when making our vacation reservations. My husband I enjoyed our stay very much at the Marriot in St Kitts. All the accommodations were right there on the property. Everything was very clean and the staff was right there for our needs. It was nice to see management walking around to make sure everything was ok. I would recommend the Marriott and St Kitts it was one of the most relaxing vacation we had in long time. I use Cheap Caribbean when making my vacation knowing that they are the best price and very helpful when making our vacation reservation. I would recommend Cheap Caribbean from a one night stay or a package deal.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Wolcott Ct
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 8, 2011

Love loved our trip to St Kitts we had a wonderful time, the reason I only give 3 palm trees for the room is the room did not come with the ocean view we had to upgrade for about 500 more, but that was fine. The service at this resort was great everyone was so nice and helpful would go back again. Great food great service !!! Thank you cheapcaribbean.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Sanford, NC
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year