All

St. James Club Morgan Bay Reviews

Caribbean | St. Lucia Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 100 Reviews
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.8
Dining Options
 
3.4
Room Comfort
 
3.8
3.8 out of 5
"This trip was an excellent value for the price. Would recommend it was a great trip and the food was FANTASTIC!" – scasey
91 out of 121 (75%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Our room was next to the corner room pictured. A room with a view! View from room balcony. Awesome view right from the restaurant patio. We learned how to sail St. James Morgan Bay main pool area The main pool (there are several others) Just after sunset at Almond Morgan Bay

All St. James Club Morgan Bay Customer Reviews

1-10 of 100 reviews. Sort by
June 12, 2013
Exceeded our expectations!!

First of all, I put "honeymoon package if complimentary" in the special requests section when I booked this resort. I knew that some places may give a bottle of champagne and such with those requests. I was shocked to find that we were upgraded to an ocean view suit instead of a garden view room. I'm assuming since the resort was not completely booked, they had a nice room to upgrade. The staff were all amazing, and I have nothing to complain about. Beach was clean, food was great. I read reviews before I booked and some people did not like the food. Only very picky eaters would complain about the food, and there was a place open from 12-6 that had hot dogs and hamburgers for the people that don't enjoy trying new things. We definitely want to visit St. Lucia again in the future, and I will go back here!! When comparing the prices with Sandals, its cheaper and we absolutely LOVED the service and experience we received.


33 of 33 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Roanoke, VA
Age: 25-34

February 26, 2012
New resort owner needs to improve.

When we booked the resort it was Almond Morgan Bay and 3 weeks before arrival it was purchased by the Elite Island Group Resorts. The main issue they have is the staff, especially the front desk/reception area, not customer friendly at all. 2nd, the hotel/room department needs considerable improvement, rooms dirty, missing items, not ready for occupancy,etc. 3rd, the drinks were not premium quality, well and cut rate brands. The resort was over booked probably due to poor management and we were asked to move to another resort for 2 days and we were so glad we did, too bad it wasn't sooner. We went to Sandals Grande and it was terrific.


30 of 31 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Lakeland, FL
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 4, 2012
Worst Vacation Ever!!!

My husband & I have traveled to many different places and this by far has been the worst vacation we have ever been on. I would definatly not recommend this resort to anyone. We were there August 03-10, 2010. Let me start off by saying that we are the type of travelers that do our research before we decide to stay somewhere and feel that we are not picky people. We read reviews and then decide if what the people are complaining about is a big deal for us. We should've listened to the bad reviews this time because it was all true with no exaggerations. When we finally arrived to our resortbwe had to wait and two hours to get our room because "it wasn't ready." I don't understand how considering that check out is at 12 and we got to the resort at 3pm. When we finally got out room it wasn't the room we had paid for. We paid for an ocean view suite in their newer wing and we could not see the ocean at all. We went down stairs to compain & they told us we wouldn't be able to have that room until the following day when other travelers checked out and that we weren't guaranteed a suite in the newer wing. So we decided to keep our room since we were afraid that we may get something worst that was not in the newer wing. Our room had no ironing board, no iron and no blow dryer. We called and let them know that we needed these items and they NEVER brought them. We asked for these items more than once through out our trip and they were never brought to our room. We were also informed that the men could not enter any of the restaurants unless they were wearing pants and a shirt with sleeves. My husband did not pack any pants considering we were in 90 degree weather and on vacation so he was forced to purchase some in their gift shop. The hotel looks nothing like it looks in the pictures. It is old and run down. The pool water is always dirty and the beach water was not that beautilful caribbean blue that we are used to or they show in the pictures. The water was dark brown and the beach is also small and dirty. The food was horrible. It was all the same in all the restaurants. So don't be fooled by the different names the food is all the same everywhere you decide to eat. Your best bet is to eat @ the beach barbeque they have everyday. That was the best food we had on our trip. Very low quality alcohol. You'll basically be drinking rum punch on your whole trip because that's what they have. The staff is rude and act like you're inconveniencing them when you ask for anything. The pool bar has a horrible smell like some of the fruit has gone bad or it hasn't been cleaned. It rained every day that we were there and not just a passing shower. I mean it poured for a couple of hours. It is unsafe to leave your resort especially at night so you'll be stuck at whatever resort you booked besides whatever excursions you book outside of your resort. Be ready to have whatever excursions you booked cancelled because of the weather it is something that happens all the time and you will be rescheduled whenever the time is available. & you can forget about getting your money back once your excursion is booked because that is out of the question. We weren't the only ones that had something to complain about everyone we talked to was unhappy and agreed that this was the worst vacation they had been on. Another couple that was there while we were there complained that the ceiling in their bathroom caved in on them while in the shower and this unfortunately was their honey moon! Another couple with 2 kids had an air conditioner that was not working and was not getting fixed either. Overall I was VERY DISAPPOINTED with the resort and the 4 stars that this resort has. I would rate it a 2 start hotel if that and I will never return.


95 of 105 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 19, 2011
Almond Morgan Bay

My husband and I went for our first all inclusive resort experience to attend a friend's wedding. We thoroughly enjoyed the time we spent at Almond Morgan Bay. The staff was wonderful - very friendly and helpful - from the grounds keepers, housekeeping staff, front desk personnel and wait staff. The entertainment was very enjoyable, the restaurants were clean, inviting and the food was good! The water sport personnel were very helpful and I was able to water ski after never attempting it before and not being high on the coordinated list. My husband and I also were able to enjoy time snorkling and taking a hobie cat out into the ocean. We would go again and recommend it to anyone.


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Erie, PA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 28, 2013
little piece of heaven

This resort was absolutely wonderful! The room was cleaned to perfection every single day! The food was fresh and delicious! The staff was wonderful and friendly and made every single request I had possible. The resort was beautiful and the water sports were great and had a few to chose from at no additional cost. The pool area was clean, the beds were so comfortable, I just cannot express how much I love this resort and how wonderful it was. For all who's considering this resort and is kind of skeptical because of other reviews, trust me, I was skeptical too but I am so glad I went to this resort... Trust and believe me when I say, you will not be disappointed.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 12, 2014
Great Vacation, Great Value

What can I say about St. James Club Morgan Bay? A lot actually.... First, let me tell you about us. We are a couple, 25, & 32 yrs. old. We were traveling to celebrate some personal accomplishments, a birthday and a dating anniversary. We were looking for a good mix of value and luxury. We actually traveled in early September 2013, so this review is delayed, but I still wanted to get it on here so it would help others decide. Before you read on, I must say that we understood that when you gain some value (lower price) you are naturally going to lose some luxury. I find that there are many comments that bash a place for something that should have been 100% expected all along. You will see me explain that in some sections below. Room: The room was very spacious and the TV worked well. We didn’t plan on being in the room or watching TV much, so I can’t say we were super critical of this, but if you care, everything was on the up and up there. Our room was immaculate all the time; our sheets were changed as requested or scheduled depending on the day. Generally, we let them change the sheets every 3rd day, but when we requested that they be changed earlier, they were. Towels were replaced as expected...on the rack, it stays; on the floor it gets replaced. Our air conditioner worked like a charm. It is very hot and humid in St. Lucia, so this would have been a problem. We kept our room nice and chilly and we never had a problem. There were a couple holes in the bathroom where old towel racks or curtain rods may have been hung, but it didn't bother us much, everything worked and was clean. Beaches & Pools: The beach grounds were clean. The beach is not huge, but I can't think of anything there wasn't room for. Could've easily played frisbee, ball, etc. The swimming area is roped off, but nobody bothers you if you cross the rope. It is mostly for your safety so you don't get hit with a kayak, hobie cat, boat, etc. Once the water sports stop people swam wherever they wanted. The pools were nice and clean, never really overcrowded. We spent most of our time in the ocean, but I never saw anything wrong with the pools. One note on the beach water...the water is not crystal clear like many expect in the Caribbean. It is a darker, murkier blue, similar to lake water. The beaches in the north of the island were beautiful and crystal clear! This is not the hotel’s fault obviously. They are located where they are located, but this is one of those things that people slam a resort for, so I thought I'd mention it. Service: The service we got was excellent 90% of the time. People are more than willing to help you, they want your stay to be great and they always have a smile on their face and talk to you in a friendly way. We NEVER felt like they were waiting for a tip, or expected one. We had our own tip policy, sort of said if they actually served our food (at the restaurants) or if we sat at a bar for a while and got multiple drinks then we tipped. If it was a buffet and all they did was get us a glass of water, or we just stopped at the bar for one quick drink and then moved on then we didn't tip. If you tip every single time it can get pricey, but if somebody is going above and beyond for you, a tip is a nice gesture. Again though, no matter what, we never saw a server expecting a tip or asking for a tip. Were there moments that we waited for a drink a tad longer than we wanted? Yes. Was there ever a time where a server seemed to be going through the motions? Yes. These are people, just like you and me. They have bad days, they lose their train of thought, they forget what they are doing, and maybe somebody was just rude to them a minute or two before you interact with them. I think sometimes people get one second of less than stellar service and it just stands out to them because they think they are to be pampered and spoiled all week long. These people are there to serve you, and they do a darn good job of it, for wages we would never accept. I can say the few times we did have a little bad service, it was definitely the exception. Overall it was great service though. Bars: From what I saw, there was 6 total bar areas. There are 2 main bars in the middle of the grounds, a swim up bar, a bar near the smaller pool in the back, a bar near the secluded pool up higher on the grounds, and a spot the was open during the day near the beach to get drinks during the day. We used 4 of the 6. Never used the hilltop bar near the secluded pool or the spot near the beach for drinks. I believe the spot near the beach only had beer and non alcoholic drinks, but I may be wrong. Here is a spot where I must say that you get what you pay for. There is NO top shelf liquor at this resort. I think the highest priced whiskey behind the bar was Canadian Club. The beer is Piton or Heineken. The bartenders would make you anything you could think of, and they would do their best to make stuff they had no idea how to make, but you are getting very cheap rum, vodka, gin, etc. There is no Captain Morgan, Absolut, Tanqueray, etc. As I said at the beginning of this review, you have to sacrifice somewhere to lower the price, and this is an area that gets sacrificed. If you want top shelf liquor, pay the extra $500 - $700 per person and go to a resort that has that. Food: We thought the food was excellent overall. Breakfast was always good and there were plenty of options. Both main spots for breakfast had people making omelettes, made to order eggs and such. The fruit and danishes were fresh and tasty. We rarely ate lunch at the resort because we did a lot of excursions, so they either included lunch, or we missed lunch. We had a wide variety of meals for dinner during our stay (beef roast, lamb, cornish hen, jerk chicken, pasta, salmon, tuna) and we were always satisfied. There were always a wide variety of options whether it be at the buffet or on the menu at the restaurants. We had very little trouble booking the restaurants. The woman was very helpful in picking restaurants and times and even squeezed us in when a place was completely booked because we told her it was our anniversary. Make this one of your first stops after you check in and talk to her so you know which days the restaurants are closed, etc. It is not their fault if you walk up to them the day of and a restaurant is booked. They can only seat so many people. A tiny bit of planning ahead will be more than enough to get you into every restaurant. Le Jardin is the only restaurant that costs you extra money to eat at period, but all of them offer certain high price items that cost more. For example, you can eat at Morgan’s Pier for free and pick from 5-10 options, but if you want lobster, it costs you extra. Again, value vs. luxury…if you want steak, lobster, high dollar seafood every single day for free you’re going to have to pay more and go to a resort that offers that. I personally liked having the option. One day we splurged and went to Le Jardin. I liked that we were able to decide if it was worth the extra $50 to us that day better than paying $500 more each for our whole stay. Extras: There always seemed to be something going on if you wanted to participate. Beach Volleyball, Water Aerobics, Beer Pong, etc. Every half hour to hour a new activity started. The hobie cats and kayaks were always in working order and easy enough to get on. The water skiing was fun, and I was not expecting motorized water sports to be included going in. They only had one shop on the grounds which sold snacks, cigarettes, cigars, etc., and they are a little overpriced, but talking to others, most shops on the actual resorts are marked up. Overall, St. James Morgan Bay was a wonderful resort for the price paid. I would never say that St. James is equal to Sandals or another high dollar resort, but I also would say that they are not a slum resort by any means. I would DEFINITELY stay at St. James Morgan Bay again if I ever returned to St. Lucia.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 22, 2013
Not as expected

We thought it would be much different, the biggest disappointment was in the food, not much variety, hardly any good beef, lamb and not real sea food. There were things that we thought we were going to get, but did not, sorry to say we would not recommend to our friends. If this was run the same as St. James in Antiqua, with the same type of food it would be great. The people were wonderful and pleasant at all times, were always ready to help and way they could. Meg


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Schaghticoke, NY
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 30, 2010
Think Twice

FOOD - Horrible, stale, no flavor, low quality POOLS - Dirty, slimy water, never saw anyone cleaning them or the pool decks BARS - the swim up bar at the main pool stunk so bad from not being cleaned that we gagged when we ordered a drink DRINKS - the bartenders can't even make a simple margarita...not sure what alcohol they used. Very low grade alcohol is all that is available ROOM - our room was the only positive experience at this resort WATER TOYS - none were available - given every excuse from the wind to it looks like it is going to rain STAFF - not friendly at all


19 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Everett, WA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 7+ trips/year

June 25, 2015
Good, Not Great

My family and I recently stayed at St. James's Club Morgan Bay, Saint Lucia, for 6 days and 5 nights. I'll start by saying make sure your family brings lots of bug spray. The mosquitos are pretty tenacious throughout the resort; however, applying quality bug spray minimizes the bites for sure. All the dining is open air with the exception of the French restaurant; however, if I remember correctly, children under 12 are not allowed at this restaurant. This is great but the on-site child care closes a 5pm so if you planned to have an adult only dinner without the kiddos, that will not happen. The food was good though, I don't have anything negative to say about that. Also, the pools close at 6pm. I felt this was a bit early given the atmosphere of the resort. The pools should definitely close later than 6pm. There are no lifeguards so I'm not sure as to why they close so early. The hotel should offer a complimentary bottle of water per room daily, at an absolute minimum. If you want water, you have to go to one of the bars and drink it by the glass or purchase it from the gift shop. Depending on how long your stay is, I would recommend buying water from a local grocery store to avoid the ridiculous mark-ups at the resort. Each night from 9pm to 11pm, there is some sort of musical concert varying from live bands to karaoke. 11pm is a bit late for such loud musical that can be heard quite clearly from approximately 80 percent of the rooms. I have a 3 year old and he typically goes to bed around 8pm. With the loud music, it was challenging getting him to sleep each night. Kayaks, paddle boats, canoes, and sail boats are all included with your stay and not having to pay for them was nice. Take advantage of one of the few things you won't be charged for. Yet, the resort sneaks in a daily fee of about 2-3 dollars. They don't tell you this upon check-in so just be advised when you see it when it's time to check out. If you're interested in touring the sites of St. Lucia, I recommend not booking through the hotel. They tend to charge as much as four times the amount if you did it on your own. For example, my family of 3 toured the volcano, Piton peaks, and waterfall. We paid the cabbie $180 for the ride to all 3 locations and paid the price of admittance when we got to each location. The hotel will charge you $180 per person and you're still responsible for admission. The hotel mark-ups are ridiculous! For those wanting to stay connected to the rest of the world, wi-fi is offered in the lobby and main pool area. It's spotty but gets the job done. If you want wi-fi in your room, you'll have to pay $10 per day for access. The resort's grounds are spacious and you'll be walking a descent distance from your room to eat or catch a cab or go to the spa. Prepare yourself for drastic hills while transiting between destinations. All in all, I've experienced worse. This hotel experience was not the worse but it was far from the best. If you've never been to St. Lucia and like what this hotel's website is advertising, just take into consideration what I've provided. Good, not great.


10 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: TX
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 23, 2013
Pleased

I was very pleased with this resort. The staff was friendly and ver proffeconal. I came to St. Lucia for a friends wedding and found that I had made the better selection of resort. They were staying at the Sandlas and the staff there were rude and we had to get escorted around. Not a good experiance there. The St james club treated every one with respect and the service was great. My only complaint is that the food was not the greatest, but i didnt mind it at all.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: USA
Age: 25-34