All

St. James's Club & Villas Reviews

Caribbean | Antigua Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 28 Reviews
Value
 
3.8
Service
 
3.9
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.5
Room Comfort
 
3.7
3.8 out of 5
"Dining options could have had a little more a little more variety,and make it easier for all-inclusive guests to make dinner reservations." – dbone
25 out of 33 (76%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
View from our room, becachfront

All St. James's Club & Villas Customer Reviews

1-10 of 28 reviews. Sort by
July 18, 2011
St. James Club, Antigua, June 2011

This was our first all inclusive other than going on cruises. I must say I think it was a great value. The resort is very clean. They keep the grounds impeccable. Our room was spacious and was right on Coco beach so we just went out our door and we were right on the beach which was very nice. Coco beach is the Atlantic side and I was surprised at how warm the water was even though it is slightly rough. Mamora Beach is on the Carribean side and very calm. I would not go back again at the end of June because it is hurrican season and the weather the first two days was very overcast and rainy. The next three days were gorgeous but the humidity is unbearable. You feel wet all the time and feel like you need to take a shower constantly. They really only have 2 dining restaurants (the other one is not all inclusive) and the other one is more of a hamburger/quick meal place and in off season the restaurants are not always open at the same time. Some nights they are both open and some nights they alternate. We were surprised that the food was as good as it was and we were never hungry. The only thing I didn't like was that the two dining restaurants are open air with fans and no air conditioning so you are still hot and sticky when eating. I loved the 4 o'clock afternoon tea with the little finger sandwhiches and scones. Just lovely and held us over until our dinner. I did not like the fact that you have to make reservations for dining the day before. They post the menus for whatever restaurants will be opened the next night and you decide which one you prefer and have to schedule your reservation. I would much rather not have to decide ahead of time and worry about whether I made the reservation or not. There is a 3rd restaurant (Italian) but you have to pay $35. each for it which I think is a little high since specialty restaurants on cruises are much less). It is very very quiet at night and there isn't a lot to do. There are a few bars open on and off that's about it. There is no casino or shopping stores on sight. except a little mini mart for soda, etc. I think they could use a casino and definitely more entertainment. It costs about $50. to get a ride into St. John's to go to the casino or shopping or sightseeing. I definitely think they should have a courtesy van or jitney bus to take you back and forth to town. A lot of large hotels do this as a courtesy service to their guests. Up at the top of the mountain where the villas are they have a section of small cascading adult pools overlooking the bay. Just beautiful and nice if you want to escape. I like the fact that they have little golf carts that take you back and forth throughout the grounds since the place is very large and spread out and there are a lot of hills. Since I have a bad back and knee this was great. I used them all the time. Overall we had a good time. It was very relaxing which is what we were looking for. I would recommend the St. James Club if you are just looking to relax and lay about and read a book but you need to be aware that if you are the type of people that like a lot to do or party then this is not the place for you. I thought we got our money's worth for what we paid. The food was good and the drinks were good.


16 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Tinton Falls, NJ
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 17, 2011
Over Rated

I have traveled to the caribbean many times and stayed at some very nice resorts. St James Club was the first resort that I can say when I checked out was very disappointed with my vacation experience. The resort is rated a four star but should be rated a three star. They advertise having four restaurants but only three were opened, with the fourth we were told has been closed for two years. Of the three that were opened only two were part of the all inclusive, the third one you had to pay a charge of $35 per person to eat there. The pools were very nice but the two beaches left a lot to be desired. One of the beaches was on the Atlantic Ocean side of the resort and the water was always full of seaweed. The resort had two guys with a tractor and a utility trailer raking and picked up seaweed most of the day. When you tried to walk into the water the bottom was rocky. The other beach was on the bay side, this was a bigger beach but if you walked into the water it was like stepping in muck. This beach also had a seaweed problem and they were raking this beach up during the day. When we checked in we were not informed about one of the restaurants being closed, we had to find out for ourselves. We were also never told where to get beach towels, ect. Our room was plenty big and spacious but we had a problem with a leaky a/c unit. The water would drip from the unit onto the tiled floor. To avoid slipping and falling I had to put a beach towel of the floor to collect the water. I informed maintenance not once but twice and was told the problem was fixed but it never was. I had to keep changing the towel because when it got too wet bugs would begin to live under there because it was damp. We had a refrigerator in our room that was empty. I went to the front desk because at all other ALL INCLUSIVE resorts the refrig was stocked with water and soda, and sometimes beer. I was informed that the refrig was for anything I bought and wanted to put in it. I asked if bottled water was part of the ALL INCLUSIVE and was informed if I wanted water I would have to pay for it. The bars at the pools and the staff person who came to the beach only had a limited amount of choices for alcohol, which is something I never experienced before. The only places you could get a premium(good) drink were at the restaurant bars at night. At the bars if you ordered a bottle of beer and wanted to take the bottle with you they would have to charge you for it.Finally, I have never had to give my name and room number was many times at an all inclusive resort. I asked one of the managers why I couldn't be issued a bracelet to identify me as an all inclusive guest, and was told the resort did not want to offend anyone in having them wear it. An example was one night I went to dinner with my party and we went to the bar to get a drink. We ordered drinks and was asked for our name and room number. We then went to the hostess to be seated and was again asked for our name and room number. The waitress came over and when she took our cocktail order we had to give our name and room number again. The food waitress came to take our order and you guessed it, we had to give our name and room number again. Thats four times in 30 minutes. It is unfortunate that this place cannot get its act together because the men and women who work there could not have been nicer. This is one place I will never go back to. PS They need to hire an activities director because that was also lacking with very little to do.


36 of 41 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Boston, Ma
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 8, 2012
UGH

I think it was a day-care gone wild. Not relaxing at all. The kids seemed to enjoy the place and quickly took over. I was in a beachfront room which was great, but it was dirty and ants everywhere. If you walked around the room barefoot, the soles of you feet became black. The floors were cleaned by a bucket of water that was dirty from cleaning all the other rooms with the same bucket of water. Makes you feel warm and cozy inside. Please DO NOT EAT at the Docksider resturant. The food is terrible and not a lot to choose from the buffet. The beachfront rooms have no insulation against noise. When in the room, all you could hear were your neighbors walking, kids running back and forth in the room, and doors slamming shut. Very annoying. I would suggest that this vacation is for parents and kids. The staff are wonderful


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: boston, ma
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 25, 2016
Wonderful vacation

We opted for the Deal of Fortune, but were really hoping that we would land St James Club & Villas - which we did. Amazing resort. Friendliest, most helpful staff ever. Nothing was too much trouble. Everyone went out of their way to make your vacation the most relaxing experience possible. Two beaches: Coco Beach, slightly choppier water, but a great reef to snorkel a little way out from the beach, and a beautiful breeze blowing all day long to keep you cool; or Mamora Bay, very still water, a little disappointingly murky, but wonderfully warm and lots of watersports to amuse. No breeze on this side of the resort, so you can feel yourself fry! Plenty of pools in the various areas of the resort, all beautifully maintained. Four restaurants provide a large variety of dining options to keep everyone happy, from snack type meals to fine dining (though there was a small additional charge for Piccolo Mondo, but well worth it). The Rainbow Garden provided breakfast and lunch daily, and dinner most nights. A la carte or buffet was offered for breakfast and lunch, and we were very impressed at the way the buffet selections were changed up daily. Dress Code is 'elegant' for Piccolo Mondo (long pants, collared shirts & closed toed shoes for men) and 'summer casual' for the remainder of the restaurants. There was a certain amount of griping about the dress code from some guests, but we thought it was a rather nice touch. We were upgraded from a club room to a premium room, which I think was basically the same room but with a partial view of the ocean. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean, and everything functioned perfectly. Housekeeping here is second to none. Transport is easy - golf carts available to whip you around the property if you're too tired to walk after a long hard day on the beach; taxis on site to take you wherever you like if you wish to explore, and a car rental office on site if you're brave enough to drive and want to explore on your own terms. Daily entertainment on the resort. Kids Club to give parents a break. Dive shop on site. Catamaran tours available from the hotel. There's just not enough time to take advantage of all there is to offer! We had a wonderful stay and can't wait to return.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Brooklyn, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 24, 2011
Beautiful Island VERY BAD HOTEL!!!

This Hotel ONLY LOOK GOOD IN THE PICTURES!!! Our friends and us reserved 3 rooms thinking it will be more less like other ALL INCLUSIVE resorts, and we were VERY WRONG !!! Never book with small hotel chain like this one.THIS WAS A VERY BIG MISTAKE !!! NOT ONLY THAT WAS VERY OLD & STINKY HOTEL but STINKY bathrooms & very neglected rooms,OLD mattresses, refrigerators in the rooms were EMPTY and you have to pay for everything even for the the water!!! Everything is closed after 10 pm, no entertainments, DINNERS - make sure you make the reservation in the morning or you're dumped !!! Waste of YOUR money going there! ! VERY SAD BECAUSE ISLAND IS beautifull !!! Overall very BAD experience NOT worth our money!!! PLEASE LET PEOPLE KNOW ABOUT THIS BEFORE YOU BOOKED THEM. N.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: TEXAS
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 31, 2010
Average

St James was a decent place to stay, but nothing special. We felt lucky to have been upgraded 2 rooms into a suite. If we would have had to stay in the original room, it would have been a tough trip. The original room was very dated and tired, but had a nice view. The sliding door to the balcony didn't open so we were moved. The 2nd room had a leaky roof, so we were once again moved. The 3rd room was awesome. The staff is just OK as well. Nobody was overly friendly, which was so much different than most all of our other trips. We felt happy to have met other vacationers that were in better moods than the staff. Not an over the top great selection of food/drink for "all inclusive" resort.

Average
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Minneapolis, MN
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 24, 2017
Quite and relaxing

I was looking for a nice quite vacation and that is what I got - I thoroughly enjoyed it. If you're looking for a low key vacation, this is the place for you. However, If you're looking for a place with fun outgoing staff, a variety of excursions, high quality nightly entertainment and various dining options, this is not the place for you. Cons: -No swim up bars -When we arrived it was past 4pm, and the room should have been ready at 3pm and still was not ready. After a long day of travelling this is very frustrating. -Not many dining options - One of the restaurants, Piccolo Mundo was an extra cost per person - the food was great, but it should have been included. -Many staff seemed unhappy to be there. I met a handful of staff that actually seemed happy to be working - Anita, Alex, Alfred and a few others. I have been on other vacations and the staff were more friendly and all about the customer experience. -The wait for a burger or hot dog at the Surfside Grill was crazy. We'd be starving, order a burger (keep in mind it wasn't busy) and it'd take 30+ minutes to get our food. -The nightly entertainment was below average. The staff didn't know what times things were starting at, and the posters outside were often incorrect. I missed the magic show because of this. I then asked a fellow beach goer how the show was and they said "it was so bad that it was funny" - the nightly entertainment was disorganized and below average -There's N ocean part, and bay side part to the resort - the bay is more like a lake, and when i went, it was tooooo windy to be on the ocean side - also it is the Atlantic, not the Caribbean -Excursions were limited -We paid $300 extra for on ocean front room, and didn't have a walk out to the beach - disappointed and confused this wasn't made more clear through CheapCaribbean - in addition, all rooms were ocean front, so I don't know why we paid extra...going to contact CheapCaribbean about this -I went on one excursion while I was there and the staff member who signed us up mixed up the time, so our taxi was late, and when we arrived to the excursion we had to wait on a picnic table in the hot sun for over an hour before our tour started - aggravating! Pros: -Though most of the nightly entertainment was disorganized, trivia night, and karaoke was fun, and organized (though everything starts late, very very late) -The live bands and singers were amazing!! -The food was very tasty overall -Drinks were delicious and strong -try the BBC and Club Special! -They had a cocktail party and give away prizes, which was very nice and generous - i won a free snorkeling trip! -The water trampolines in the bay on were fun and relaxing to lay on -Landscaping was absolutely beautiful -The room and bathroom = very large size, which was great - lots of hangers in the closet too! -Bird island was very pretty - part of the excursion -Other beach goers were friendly -Crowd was older which was nice (average 45+) - quite atmosphere -If you're lucky you may see a kitten or two around the resort - super cute!! -Fitness center was big! However the AC was broken. -Two sinks in bathroom was a plus. Overall I would recommend this place - it is a pretty resort and great for relaxing and low key adventures.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: MA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 31, 2012
Wonderful place to be, we enjoyed everything.

The resort is beautiful, the people couldn't be more hospitable and friendly, went out of their way to get you whatever you needed. The food was great, been on many all inclusive vacations, but this was the best. We will return here again soon.


7 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Schaghticoke, NY
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 8, 2013
Couple Vacation

My husband and I recently stayed at St. James Club. The room was a beach front which was wonderful. We had a private covered deck. You walked down two steps and were on the beach and 50 foot from the ocean. The room was average. Food was basic all-inclusive food. The grounds were very well maintained. Several of the staff however, had poor attitudes and thus reflected negatively on the entire vacation.


7 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Pennsylvania
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 7, 2011
Perfect for what I wanted

I, 26 and my boyfriend 28, stayed at St. James Club about a week and a half ago from a Saturday to a Saturday. We had a great time, and were very pleased with the experience. We were looking for a resort/island that had some activities to offer but most of all a place where we could relax in paradise. St. James Club offered just that. Right away we experienced very nice and friendly service. The people at St. James Club are there to help and always with a smile. The resort is very clean as well and safe as well! We even noticed staff cleaning outdoor walking areas. We were very pleased with our room. We had a standard club room with a King size bed, table and chairs, refrigerator, nice size balcony with a table and chairs, flat screen TV, great size bathroom with his and her sinks and a full size shower with tub. Our room was in such a nice location on the resort as well. Right near the main restaurant, two of the 6 pools, one of the adult only ones as well and right near the Mamora Bay Beach. We had gone during the island's "off" season. Therefore, the resort was not at full capacity, which provided for a lot of peace and quiet and plenty of room to spread out on the beach and by the pools. The beaches were equipped with great lounge chairs and umbrellas. There is always somewhere to get something to eat or drink. On the beach there is a bar and grill for your convenience as well as a person who comes around on a golf cart with water and other beverages including their "Rum Punch" that we became found of. There are great activities for you to take advantage of as well. We tried the catamaran & paddle boats, and used the tennis and volley ball courts. Everything was easy and fun to do. There was no hassle when trying to do anything. The restaurants on the resort were great as well. I am not a big fan of fish or white meat, and I always had something great to eat. My boyfriend ate a lot of the seafood and enjoyed it very much. They always had a breakfast and lunch buffet in the main dining room which had great options for everyone. The quality and taste of the food was great. There fancy restaurant Piccolo Mondo is well worth the extra $35 per person if you have all inclusive. The atmosphere and view are stunning and beautiful. Definitely a romantic experience as well. We were offered Champaign and accepted and every time you took a sip, they refilled your glass….at no charge. My boyfriend had the lobster and was in heaven, I had a delicious Italian dish and we both left completely stuffed. St. James club would be great for families or couples; I definitely recommend the place.


9 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: USA, New Jersey
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year