All

South Gap Hotel Reviews

Caribbean | Barbados Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 13 Reviews
Value
 
4.5
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
3.6
Dining Options
 
3.8
Room Comfort
 
3.9
4.1 out of 5
"The atmosphere is comfortable and all the folks , you will enconter are hospitable and friendly. If you choose to stay at the hotel only, you will most definitely enjoy!!!" – 2SHADES
17 out of 17 (100%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.

All South Gap Hotel Customer Reviews

1-10 of 13 reviews. Sort by
March 3, 2011
Just Right on Budget (Beach Hotel)

Just returned from six days at South Gap Hotel had a great time! The hotel is in a perfect location if you do not care to rent and car. There are several formal dining options and a few informal (food stalls) right outside the hotel grounds. The bank and ATM are directly across the street. The bus stop to Bridgetown is a short walk down the rod to the left after leaving the hotel's car park. Dover Beach where you can find a large variety of water sports, sun loungers and food stalls are a ten minute walk to the right outside the hotel's driveway. Now the rooms are not 5-star but they have what you need. The refrigerator is cold, there is a kettle, microwave, toaster and electric cooking eye for a quick meal or breakfast in the room. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was clean and the shower had adequate hot water. The rooms are clean but minimal the view from patio (3rd floor) was excellent. The staff is friendly but not worrysome. This is a good location if you want to enjoy some great night life. When I go to the beach I don't sit in the room. Traveling on budget this is the place for you!


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Atlanta, GA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 10, 2011
Great small hotel with amazing service!

We had an absolutely wonderful time and I really would like to thank Rose and Annalee for their fantastic recommendations and hooking us up with amazing tour groups and taxi drivers. They genuinely cared about how much fun we were having and loved to hear the stories when we got back each day. They are both lovely ladies. Rose also was most helpful in getting us a different room after 2 of Hal’s crazy karaoke nights across the street and NO sleep until after 3am. We really appreciated her concern with his bar bothering us and she went above and beyond to make it right. We hope to go back soon! We loved the island and the hotel so much!

Great small hotel with amazing service! Great small hotel with amazing service!
7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Seattle, WA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 7+ trips/year

November 17, 2011
Soooooooo relaxing

We had a great time !!!! perfect location to enjoy the beaches!!!! The staff couldn't have been any nicer!!! Thank you Ladies!!!!


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: adirondacks
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 7, 2010
A Great bargain

A small hotel in a great location with clean rooms. It's located in the night club district with great access to the city.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: up state New York
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 6, 2010
The Gap is where It's At

I am from Barbados. I went back as aChristmas and birthday gift to my self (12-26). I could have stayed with family or a a expensive resort if I choose toO. I got lucky I picked the South Gap the rooms where basic and the pool a nice size. I took the best sunrise and sunset pictures ever. The hotel is located on a strip full of bars and clubs. The rest of the island folks come from all over to this strip. I literally walked out the front door. I met people from all over the world. There is a nice restaraunt bar on the bottom of the hotel. The beach is very close but what I did was go next door to the hotel to the right of the South Gap next to the Harlequin restaraunt and there is the most beautiful private beach. OMG Enjoy I did


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Upstate New York
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 31, 2010
Excellent location

Hotel is not high on amenities, no elevator should you not stay on the first level. Rooms are clean and staff are very accommodating. Location is great. Restaurants, night life, street vendors all right outside the hotel door. Dover beach is within walking distance and the people you will meet on the way are extremely friendly. Wonderful for those that like to be in the thick of things. This is the spot. Locals that live on the other side of the island come to this hotel to spend the weekend "in town".


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: chicago
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 30, 2012
Awesome experience at South Gap Hotel!

This was my second trip to Barbados, staying in St. Lawrence Gap both times. South Gap Hotel was a great experience as the entire place was very nice, the room had a kitchenette that worked very well and the staff was extremely courteous and outgoing. I would highly recommend the South Gap Hotel, and make sure you spend time getting to know Charles at the bar!


2 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Virginia Beach
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 22, 2013
great location

great location. within walking distance of everything. pool was shut down for repairs during our entire stay. gave us access to another off-site pool. hard to sleep at night due to loud music across the street. bring ear plugs. great view of the ocean.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
1.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: USA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 27, 2014
South Gap Fun

My husband and I stayed at the South Gap Hotel for five nights in April 2014 and had a wonderful experience. Clean hotel, great staff, ocean front (no direct beach access), and good food. Also nice location in the Gap and easy walk to the beach. The only issue was the music from the club across the street that played until about 330-400 am every morning.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: CT
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

May 13, 2016
Great Hotel

Most of the reviews I had read previously before arriving at South Gap referred to the noise levels at night. I will say it was noisy, but once I fell asleep I wasn't woken once. From the long walks across beaches to basking in the sun all day, by the time my head hit that pillow I was out like a light. The hotel location is great for dining options and entertainment. A few very nice beaches are a short walk away, there is no beach directly attached to the hotel, but the view is spectacular overlooking the Caribbean ocean. The staff was very friendly and helpful the whole time. I highly recommend staying at South Gap if you are looking for a great deal, and also looking for a night time experience.


1 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Boston
Age: 19-24