All

Sonesta Ocean Point Resort Reviews

Caribbean | St. Maarten/St. Martin Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 32 Reviews
Value
 
3.9
Service
 
3.9
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
3.4
Room Comfort
 
4.5
4.1 out of 5
"Overall very good hotel. Beware of airplane noise and VERY limited room service menu." – step22
28 out of 36 (78%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Our view from our balcony - 6th floor View from dining at Azul Sunset seen from sunset lounge at SOP View of Azul from roof bar

All Sonesta Ocean Point Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 32 reviews. Sort by
May 3, 2015
Ready to Go Back!!

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Sonesta Ocean Point for our first vaca to St. Maarten and we were by far impressed! We were greeted with a cool wash cloth with a peppermint scent to cool us off - bc yes, it's on average 84 degrees there ALL day and night - LOVED IT!! Once we were taken to SOP resort, we were greeted with a welcoming drink...then our luggage was taken to our room. We stayed in the junior deluxe suite and again, we were highly impressed. We were looking for a vaca where we could literally just relax all day if we chose to - SOP provided just that! In addition we went to the Maho beach right beside the resort where you are able to see the planes flying into the airport literally right over your head - or - if you choose, you can stand against the fence or on the beach and get ready to be sandblasted by the jets/planes as they start their engines to take off! It's truly an original experience. After long days in the crystal clear blue waters or walking the beach or being sandblasted by the planes or even enjoying some time at the swim up bar at the Sister Maho Beach resort next door - we would end our evening in our room with 24 hour room service! Always delivered quickly and if there was ever anything we needed - like a bottle of champagne OR a bucket of ice for coronas or whatever it was - SOP employees ensured we were satisfied. We stayed on the 6th floor and had an amazingly perfect view of the beach, planes coming in and the resort itself. All food and drinks were inclusive too which was so nice. We went across the street to Cheri's café - A MUST SEE!! Absolutely hilarious show they put on nightly - loved it! We went two nights in a row...our vaca was short lived - 4 nights, 5 days - but it was priceless and full of memories I'll cherish forever!! Def the place to stay if you want a nice relaxing vaca with that special someone! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!! :) Best of luck in your vaca search!

Our view from our balcony - 6th floor Sunset seen from sunset lounge at SOP
17 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Virginia
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 15, 2015
Absolutely perfect

I very rarely take the time to write reviews, good or bad, for anything. But this place was so over the top ridiculous I felt I had to share and show appreciation for their efforts. I will say that I heard a few bad experiences/moments from other guests but even they realized that sometimes stuff just happens. We got lucky and had an absolutely flawless experience. Staff: Called the "friendly island" for a reason. The people around town were very friendly and the resort staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. Bartenders LUIS and RITCHIE were awesome to name a few. The staff seem to go out of their way to make your trip great (even before I started tipping). couldn't have been more pleased with how we were treated. It's hard work serving people all day and most of them did it with a smile on their face. Cleanliness: Very very clean. They keep the rooms very clean and service them twice a day. Bathroom was awesome including rain shower. We loved the bathroom. Hotel/pools/views: This place is gorgeous. We went to some of the sister hotels and others around the island and they don't even come CLOSE. place is designed beautifully and the views are absolutely ridiculous. Every room has ocean view. The pools are sick. Including a zero entry pool with private beach. (See pic below). The cabanas are sweet too. Also located right next to "airport beach" so you can watch the planes land and takeoff just feet from the ocean. Pretty d*mn sweet. Rooftop sunset bar is insane. See pic. Food: About what you'd expect from an all inclusive....Some good, some Ehh. But there's lots of options and something for everyone. If you expect to like every single thing u get there, you're delusional and annoying. Just appreciate the views and the ambiance and don't complain if every meal isn't a 5 star experience. The buffet is decent and they have a few other more upscale restaurants with INSANE views over the ocean. Oh and 24hr room service is clutch! Booze: I'm pretty picky in this area. I love my booze. The selection was pretty good and some bars had more options than others. Probably should be more consistent. Only thing I woulda liked was a bigger selection of beer but..... Overall: Perfect perfect vacay and we will be back next year, and the next......

Absolutely perfect Absolutely perfect
11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Phila, Pa
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 22, 2015
Great resort, but not truly adults-only

To be clear, Ocean Point is advertised as an "Adults Only" resort, but that's not really accurate--it's true only adults may stay in the guest rooms, and use 2 of the pools, but since Ocean Point shares all of its restaurants and most of its facilities with the Sonesta Maho Beach resort next door, there are children in all of the restaurants, at the beach, and in the largest pool, the only one with a swim-up bar. Particularly egregious is that the first thing you encounter when you step out of the Ocean Point to use the beach is a playground. Without sounding like a brat, if you're intent on staying at an adults-only resort, this is not for you. With that said, Ocean Point is a beautiful resort, better maintained than similar resorts we've visited. The staff is very friendly and attentive, and they make you feel the way an upscale resort should make guests feel. Be aware that Ocean Point abuts Maho Beach and its famous airport, with the balconies of all guest rooms overlooking the Bay. This can be a good thing or a bad thing, depending on your perspective--Maho Beach is a worldwide novelty, with planes as large as a 747 passing a few dozen feet over the heads of beach-goers, and from almost all outdoor spots at Ocean Point you can watch the planes arrive and depart, and watch the people on the beach gather to take photos and feel the power of the jets. On the other hand, it also means the sound of arriving and departing planes is pretty much constant everywhere at the resort, including in the guest rooms. Some of the larger jets are so loud you would swear they were in the room with you, and while they are densest during the mid-afternoon (every 3-5 minutes or so), planes come and go throughout the day and night. We knew what we were getting, so this didn't really bother us--but if you want a quiet, peaceful pool where you can fall asleep to the sounds of the surf lapping the beach, this is not the right resort. Food is about what you would expect from an all-inclusive; most of it is fine, some is pretty good. We liked the Azul restaurant quite a bit, although service at the higher-end restaurants was notably slow and, again, the presence of rambunctious children in what's supposed to be a romantic restaurant does alter the ambiance. We liked the location a lot, with the Casino and Maho Village right outside. The French restaurant across the street, Moulin Fou, looks garish but was MUCH better than we expected, I would highly recommend it. We were also able to walk to Mullet Bay Beach (about 8-10 minutes) and Cupecoy (20-30 minutes) both of which are beautiful. Mullet Bay was our favorite, and definitely worth the walk--Maho Beach is novel, but Mullet Bay is much better for relaxing and spending a day at the beach. Also, this hotel is basically AT the airport, which is nice--we got in our cab, and barely even had time to converse with the driver before he was dropping us off at the resort. That was a nice perk. Overall, I would definitely recommend this resort, with the caveats about children in public spaces and the noise of the planes. If you're good with both of those things, this is a really beautiful and novel resort.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 18, 2016
40th bday vacay

I booked this trip with a good friend of mine in order to celebrate my 40th birthday. When we arrived around 2:30, we were told that our room was not going to be ready until 3 pm. They gave us a hotel bracelet & told us that we could go to one of the restaurants to get something to eat & drink. At 3 pm, we head back to the front desk ready to check in only to be told that now our room won't be ready until 5 pm. Alright, so we decide to take a cab to Philpsburg to do some local sightseeing & souvenir shopping. We come back at 5:30 pm. Guess what?? Our room still isn't ready & wont be until 7 pm. They give us a temporary room to freshen up in & we go to dinner. After dinner, the room is not ready until almost 8:30 pm. Turns out that their less expensive sister resort had some airline pilots staying with them but were sent over instead to the Ocean Point & were upgraded for free into our room. They did not vacate the room on time because they weren't due to fly until a late flight so the hotel let them stay there in our room. I came here for my special milestone bday. I paid extra for a swim out room & they were allowing some pilots that booked at the cheaper resort stay in the upgraded room that I was paying for way past check out time simply because they were pilots. When I complained to the front staff about it, they told me that I would have a little something extra in my room to make up for it. The something extra was a cheap fruit plate with like 8 pieces of fruit slices to make up for keeping me out of my the room that I was paying for for 6 hrs. A fruit plate is something simple that is easily ordered by room service. They made absolutely no attempt to compensate me for the time lost out of my room that I paid for. I disliked that very much!! Other than that, the rest of the resort is nice. However, the ocean is not adult only. I saw many kids on this property at the restaurants. If it's adults only, then those traveling with kids & staying at the sister resorts should not be allowed access to the restaurants or the property. I don't know if I would go back simply because of the complete disregard for my time just because there were pilots there.


23 of 26 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 25, 2016
Disappointed

Location was great, room was beautiful, beach was small but nice, food and service was awful. Most staff seem bothered to wait on you, even after tipping, service was so slow took forever to eat at the Azul. Was never asked how our food was, so they don't seem to care what customers think.


10 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New Haven, CT
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 12, 2015
Most enjoyable vaca ever

This was by far the best vacation we have ever experienced. The staff was very professional in every way, the service impeccable, the dining 5 star and all the extras they included where fantastic. The facility is only 7 months old but they really have their act together. We celebrated a 50th birthday and they supplied a very special seating area over the water, special lighting, champagne, wine and a fantastic meal. They even made a unique birthday cake I had requested and they entire affair was at no charge. We will definitely be going back for a longer stay. The entire experience was super and a great value.


11 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: North Palm Beach, Florida
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 10, 2015
Amazing Stay

This was by far the best trip my boyfriend and i have been on . The resort was AMAZING. We had the pleasure of staying in a swim out suite which made us not even want to leave the room. Service was exceptional as the workers go ABOVE AND BEYOND to live up to the "limitless all inclusive". There are not many dining choices on the resort aside from the 2 restaurants that you have to make reservations for and 1 lunch place where you do not(curry chicken here is AMAZING). I have nothing bad to say about this resort. It is modern, great service, great amenities and great people on 1 great island. Another plus is that your key to your room is inside of your wrist band so you do not have to worry about ever forgetting or losing it. I recommend booking a stay here as soon a possible. I plan to be back very soon.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 26, 2016
Awesome vacation

This trip was absolutely incredible. We went to celebrate my sister's 30th birthday and this trip was everything we hoped for and then some. The service at the hotel was great. The staff was very friendly, helpful and always there when you needed them. The restaurants had delicious food, the drinks were great and so was the hotel. Very clean, great rooms, great pools and great views. We read several reviews online prior to booking this trip/hotel, and a lot of people said the airport being so close was a negative. We thought the exact opposite! Seeing planes land and take off so close was really cool to see. Overall, I was extremely pleased with this entire trip and experience. I have and will continue to recommend this to all my friends and family in the future.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Itasca, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 8, 2016
Middle age Honeymooners

The resort was beautiful, clean and friendly. We arrived very tired and they checked us in and got us in our room. We found a gorgeous view of the ocean with champagne, chocolate dipped strawberry, and sliced apples waiting for us in the room. After a little nap we had a wonderful snake and drinks on rooftop bar. The next day we hit the ground running and could not have had a better time. Two thumbs up..

Middle age Honeymooners
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Dallas
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

February 6, 2017
Amazing Stay at Ocean Point!!!

We just returned from Sonesta Ocean Point (Adult only) in St. Maarten. 1/22-1/27/17 My boyfriend and I stayed in the Jr. swim out suites. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom rain fall shower was fabulous. Having our own pool was a wonderful experience. Housekeeping kept our room spotless. The employees were beyond accommodating and very friendly. We enjoyed their company as I believe they enjoyed ours. The food at the different restaurants and room service was great, but the food at the Azul was amazing. We had a massage from the Spa twice which was luxury out on the point hearing the waves. We have never felt so relaxed, spoiled and taken care of the way Ocean Point took care of us. I take care of elderly people for a living and to have had a vacation were people took care of me was priceless!! We will be returning to you, Ocean Point, as far as I'm concerned there's no reason to try another resort on St. Maarten. As I read other reviews now that I have stayed there, it saddens me that the little things can’t be over looked by others. Unfortunately people’s outlook on life are different. Yes there were just a few things that might not have been perfect during our stay but I will not bring them up nor mention them as our visit in a whole was perfect. BRAVO Sonesta Ocean Point and staff! Thank you!!!! The Big Guy and Jo

Amazing Stay at Ocean Point!!! Amazing Stay at Ocean Point!!!
5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Leominster
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year