All

Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino Reviews

Caribbean | St. Maarten/St. Martin Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 151 Reviews
Value
 
3.8
Service
 
3.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.3
Room Comfort
 
3.6
3.6 out of 5
"Great place to stay. Friendly staff,beatiful island,food was good, the only thing to point out, are the rooms which are old, specially the bathrooms. But I would definitly go back!" – PatoUnico
128 out of 174 (74%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Maho Beach Pool area View from 649/645 pool side the beach

All Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino Customer Reviews

1-10 of 151 reviews. Sort by
June 2, 2012
Way over priced resort.

There are so many things that went wrong with this vacatio, I hardly know where to start. I will try to list them in the order they happened.. 1st day we arrived about 4:00 and the clerk says they didnt have a room for us, I asked how that could be, we reserved and paid for three months in advance. He just said they were over booked. I was with my wife and my sister so we had reserved a room with two beds, so when he finally found a room he gave us one with only one bed. We imedieately complained and the Guest experience specialist said he would upgrade us to a so called junior suite, so we moved our stuff to that suite and it had about a half ocean view which is what we tried to reserve, then we noticed AC was not working so we called front desk and they sent a guy out to tell us the vents were misdirected, me being an HVAC company owner, knew he was full of it and knew nothing about AC. so we suffered through the first night with no ac, and second night was even worse but knew they were over booked, on second night they sent another guy out and he said it was a chill water system and he would readjust some valves and be back, he never showed up. on third day we noticed lots of people checking out so we asked to be moved. Moved to new room in main hotel and ac worked fine,. 4th day we scheduled all three of us a massage at the spa, arrangeed our whole morning and afternoon around that appointment at 12:00. we got there and my sister was taken to another room to get her massage and my wife and ziz waited for 30 miniutes and finally asked where our massuse was and she said that they were not coming in that one of them overslept (noon?) and that the other one had a fenderbender, so we paid for the one massage and went to our room to wait on my sister, 2 hours later we went back to spa to find out where she was at and she came out of a room complaining that they just left her in the room and never came back,. Now another problem, most working there act like they are doing time and its an imposition to do anything for you, i gues since its an all inclusive there is no incentive to do anything other than what they are paid for, when first arrived we were hungry and no one told us where we could eay finally found the palms grill open till 6:00 pm and dinner would be at 7 so we decided to just have a sandwich at the grill. Our server took our order and about 5 minutes later came back and said grills closed, I said its only 5:30 she said grills closed and turned around and walked away, Same thing when we were leaving we went there at 11 to have a sandwich before we left because the palms grill opened at 11:00 then we were told by server they are open but cook doesnt cook till 12:00 there is no info given iof where you can eat or anything else you have to figure it all for yourself,. Te food is terrible, breakfast was the samething every day, some of the dishes served for dinner mad me wonder where the chef learned to cook.Please read all these reviews, canot believe our situation was that mucjh different than the others. I think that was a wasted $6000. should have stayed at home and played my own pool, and looked at pictures on the internet or something. very disappointing vacation. Was actually only happy one day and that was the afternoon we boarded the flight back home I feel as if they should have refunded the entire hotel part of my trip. I think the Sonesta phillipsberg would be better talked with some of their guest, and they were very happy


106 of 111 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Aledo Texas
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 10, 2012
Don't expect customer service here

I am a very seasoned traveler and was looking forward to my first visit to Saint Maarten. We arrived after 3 p.m. and waited in a slow moving line for check-in only to be told that our room wasn't ready. We went to lunch and came back. There appeared to be no reason for the delay as this was mid-week and not a lot of check-ins or outs. Mostly disorganization from what I could tell. You do not get much information on check-in or any other time. Whenever I was in the lobby, guests would stop me to ask questions assuming I worked there. We got no key to the safe so I kept all valuables with me at all times. We got an all inclusive package which I would not recommend. First, you are never told which restaurants are participating in the package or where they are. You must muddle your way around the resort. The food at the beach bar was normal fare for that. The buffet for breakfast was cold and had pretty much the same thing every day. Don't expect the staff to care if you have a drink or even to smile. I do not believe there was ever any alcohol in any of my drinks; not that I am a big drinker or anything. You had your choice of 2 beers each day as well. Nearly all of the employees went our entire five days without smiling. Perhaps if they worked on a system to get tips, they'd feel better. We left some and it only worked if you continued to be seated in the same area. The first afternoon we had no working light in the bathroom. It was fixed right away but I couldn't understand how the maid did not see it since she was supposedly just there a few minutes before. That evening we had no hot water. The front desk said it was a problem others were having and they were looking into it. We went to the beach after breakfast and came back to shower. Again, no hot water. We had to take a cold shower. I let them know it was still a problem. In the evening we again had no hot water and I asked to speak to the manager. They tried to give me the front desk manager but I told them I wanted to be moved to another room or refunded part of my money. I left a message for the general manager to call me but he NEVER did. Finally around eleven p.m,. maintenance showed up and viola - hot water. But only for one shower. This later was fixed but we went two days without hot water. The pools are ordinary here. The beach is extremely small and dangerous with the currents and wind. It is nice that the airport is within view to see the amazing landings during the afternoon. The Maho area surrounding the hotel has a casino, shopping, restaurants and lots of opportunity for taxis, busses, etc. By the way, two of the three elevators did not work during my five day stay. The funny part is that there was never a sign put on any of the non-working elevators so guests would know. Some common sense things would be easy to do and not be costly. My recommendation is any hotel except this one.


155 of 166 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Findlay, Ohio
Age: 45-54
Travel: 7+ trips/year

April 17, 2011
Sonesta Maho Beach

We just returned (two couples) from 11 days at the Sonesta Maho Beach Resort. We first stayed here about 7 years ago under the all-inclusive plan. This time we chose to only have a room at the Sonesta Maho because there is so much to do on St. Maarten. If you are looking for a quiet, out-of-the-way hotel this is NOT the hotel for you. The Sonesta Maho is best for its' LOCATION. It is only three minutes from the airport and for those of us who like to party at night and NOT drive, it is in the middle of the busiest place on the island. There are restaurants of every type, price, and atmosphere within a five minute walk. It is across the street from the best casino on the island. There are different types of clubs - rooftop, dance, and strip - right nearby. So the best part of the Sonesta Maho Beach Resort is its' location to the nightlife on the island.


63 of 67 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Wisconsin
Age: 45-54
Travel: 7+ trips/year

August 8, 2010
Nice and quiet

Peaceful location,didn't see many young children or spring breakers. The hotel is a good choice for the price, close to the airport and a central location to tour the island beaches and visit each of the Capital cities. Pool is nice, there is not really a beach to use at the hotel (due to erosion from hurricanes in past years) but a very nice beach a short walk away. If they would only move the airport runway to make room for more beachfront (although it's fun to see the planes landing and taking off). Many restaurants on the same street, no need to drive, food was excellent, definitely French influence on the Dutch side. Only ate at the breakfast buffet at the hotel. At local hotels can only tip in cash and many times tips are already added to the bill. Easy to take the small buses around the island, everyone was very helpful. Would make sure the room you choose is facing the pool/ocean not the golfcourse. The gardens around the pool area are very well maintained.


43 of 45 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 21, 2012
needs improvements

We arrived on aug 6 for a wedding. We had blocked 10 rooms for the wedding 4 mos ahead of time. The bride had asked for welcome bags to be delivered upon arrival of the guests. The hotel had all our names and arrival dates. When we arrived and we were the mother, father, brother and sister of the groom. We were told there were no rooms in the main hotel and were sent to the old building where there was major construction. The room was old musty and not very clean. We complained and were told they would move us the next day, They did. My husband was given no information on the parking internet etc. He had to continually ask questions. I complained to the day time manager who did not seem to care. The brides mother was put in a room with the air conditioner not working. They brought her a fan. My son had to beg for 3 days to be upgraded as the groom. Now for the all inclusive. There is no coffee shop open with sandwiches etc. It is the lobby bar and does not have regular coffee and only small pastries. no sandwiches or food. The pizza station is only open at lunch and dinner at the buffet for small times. Most of the time no pizza. The point restaurant is non existant. The palms reopens at dinner for ala carte. So there are only actually 2 restaurants at the hotel not the 4 they claim. Our fridges in the room are supposed to be refilled daily. My son asked for 3 days for water and even went to front desk, The maid service is spotty at best. We only had wash clothes for 2 days. after that none. The lobby is hot and the rooms are ok. The pool and pool bar are worth the price of admission and the bartenders really great. Def the best part of the resort. If you are not a big drinker not worth the price


28 of 29 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: new jersey
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 23, 2012
Better than expected

We were worried after reading other reviews, but everything was better than expected. It does take some time checking in, but that's to be expected anywhere, especially on the islands. They gave us our bracelets so we could eat/drink while we waited, and they held our bags for us. They have a slot area/bar in the lobby, so there was something to do. Felecia took great care of us there and at other bars throughout the week. We had no trouble with maid service or stocking the fridge. Everything was clean. They are still working on the resort, but our room (6th floor, main building) was renovated already. We did need to ask for an alarm clock, though, but it was delivered right away (within half an hour or so? we didn't have a clock, but it wasn't long at all). There is a casino right across the street and a shopping area as well. Mini-mart was available as well, about a two minute walk, and they have GREAT prices on alcohol (liter of Smirnoff was $9 and change USD). Snacks/beverages are also available. The pool and beach areas were clean, and the swim up bar was always packed. You can see the planes coming in from the beach (very closely). Loved the bar at the other end of the beach (less than 5 min walk) - buckets of 6 beers were $15 (less if you bought the coors on special). We also went to Mullet Bay Beach, a short (10 min or less) walk from the hotel. If you want chairs or umbrellas, it's $5 each, but if you're happy with your towel on the sand, you just need to remember to bring it with you. Food was as to be expected. The buffet breakfasts were really good, especially the omelete/egg stations. Lunches were spotty at best, but the burgers at the palms grille are not to be missed! The buffet lunches weren't anything special. Dinners varied. They usually have a pasta station, but not always. On Wednesday they have a beach party that was fun and the food was decent, too. There is hermit crab racing at the party, and that's something everyone can enjoy, even kids. Italian night was pretty good, and our favorite was the Mexican night. Our room was "garden" view, and though there was not a garden, the view from the balcony was fine with us. We could see mountains and check out the rooftop lounge next door at night (which we didn't go to until the last night - a mistake - we would have been there more). Bartenders were entertaining and it was comfortable and relaxed, though relatively loud, as to be expected. The club next to the casino is a tragedy and to be avoided at all costs. The staff is snobby and elitist and the dancefloor was empty. We had a great time and would DEFINITELY go there again. Travel tip: if you have a small cooler, bring it with you to pack for beach trips or other outings. Be relaxed, and remember to expect delays, you are on "Caribbean Time."


21 of 22 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Massachusetts
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 2, 2011
St. Maarten = Lovely Island

I took this trip back in July 2011. Since I just booked a trip to Negril, Jamaica I thought this was a good time to tell you about Sonesta Maho Bay in St Maarten. The Manager, Front desk staff, Bartenders.....all friendly professional...Beautiful people. Thank you for a lovely time. With the exception of 2 rude employees, everyone else were pleasantly wonderful! The hotel was a little older than I was used to and needed some repairs, but certainly not as bad as some the reviews that I had read. The beach was fine, night life pretty good. We rented a car for a few days and it was well worth it. You can drive around the island, visit the French side, Orient Beach ,etc... all at your pace... It was really nice. We ate more ribs & french fries here for some strange reason it was really good. We ate at Rosemary's and listened to them sing Karaoke..... Lots of fun.


20 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Wash DC
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 15, 2013
Hotel is run down

One of the worse hotels I have stayed in over the last 40 years. It is run down and in a stay of disrepair. Staff is not very friendly. Constant noise from airport Some rooms face smelly and noisy water treatment plant. Pub restaurant food was awful AVOID, St. Martin is too nice to stay at this hotel


20 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 55-64
Travel: 7+ trips/year

April 10, 2013
Big Disappointment

When an old college friend and I booked our trip to Sonesta Maho, we were so excited! We thought it'd be a great getaway with good food, great service and fun in the sun. As it turned out, the only thing we got was sun....and even that was only after we figured out that we could use the amenities at the sister resort, Sonesta Great Bay. From the second we got to the resort, the staff was rude, inattentive, slow and generally unhelpful. (On more than one morning, we went through breakfast without being offered coffee or water...and when we asked for coffee we were told it wasn't ready yet, even though we'd been sitting at the table for 20 minutes.) The food options were pretty disappointing and we had to end up going to the same unappealing buffet for three of the four nights we were there because it was only that or the one sit-down restaurant that they had on-site. In addition, they should really specify that this is a pool-only resort. That is, of course, unless you like having the planes fly literally over your head sending people, sand, and belongings into the water if you try to sit on the beach. Long story short, Sonesta Maho is worth nowhere near the cost (even at a discount).


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Washington, DC
Age: 25-34

July 25, 2012
Sonesta Mayo Resort, Great vacation!!!

When reading reviews prior to travel, I realize people have different expectations and inevitably, experiences.... Saying that, we arrived at SXM and after a very short ride to the resort, we went to check in. Being 3 hrs. early for check in, we were told the room wasn't ready and probably wouldn't for a while. We were invited to leave our bags with the bellman and enjoy lunch and the property. We did just that and returned about 2:20 PM and the room was ready. The bellman brought our bags up, noticed the safe didn't have a lock, and returned with one. The room was on the 5th floor overlooking the main pool and was more than adequate. It was very clean and the AC worked fine. The housekeeping staff was courteous and did a great job.The resort is undergoing some renovation, but that didn't interrupt anything and was hardly noticeable.The resort wasn't at capacity, but there were plenty of guests there. The food was fantastic for an all inclusive property. (We had been to two different resorts in the Dominican and one in Mexico as well as on many cruises) and the food was better than most!!! The waitstaff seemed too try hard to please regardless of some of the rude, obnoxious guests I witnessed. Not all, just a few!!!(Some people believe they deserve five star everything, regardless of where they are!) Every night is a different theme night at the buffet dining and the best was the beachside barbecue.Lastly, the food and service at the "formal" restaurant was outstanding. The staff also had some nightly entertainment.The resort has two pools: one with a swim up bar and activities, and one rooftop pool that was quiet and had an eye level view of arriving aircraft to the nearby airport.We mostly opted for the "secluded" one for serenity. The beach on the property is small but pleasant , with a direct view to the landing strip at the airport. The planes were actually an awesome diversion you don't see everyday and the jets virtually stopped arriving shortly after dark, so disturbance isn't really an issue.One of the bartenders suggested a much larger beach only a five minute walk down the road, and it was beautiful. Most of the liquor at the bars were call brands with a choice of four different beers, something I wasn't accustomed to at my previous all inclusive experiences. The small town outside the resort was satisfying with a casino, a couple of nightlife options and some nice restaurants. Safety isn't even a question there; I didn't witness any panhandling, aggressive pedaling of goods or any of the other discomforts I've experienced elsewhere. All in all this was a fantastic vacation, a great value, and a very enjoyable experience!!! We will certainly return again!!!


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Connecticut, USA
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year