All

Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino Reviews

Caribbean | St. Maarten/St. Martin Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 221 Reviews
Value
 
3.7
Service
 
3.3
Beaches & Pools
 
3.9
Dining Options
 
3.1
Room Comfort
 
3.5
3.5 out of 5
"beach was a little disappointing. dining reservations confusing. staff very friendly. could not get towels before 5 P>M> price very competitive" – ramco
175 out of 254 (69%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
pool side Moho Pool area Heaven on Earth with my bf the beach View from 649/645 Maho Beach

All Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino Customer Reviews

1-10 of 221 reviews. Sort by
June 2, 2012
Way over priced resort.

There are so many things that went wrong with this vacatio, I hardly know where to start. I will try to list them in the order they happened.. 1st day we arrived about 4:00 and the clerk says they didnt have a room for us, I asked how that could be, we reserved and paid for three months in advance. He just said they were over booked. I was with my wife and my sister so we had reserved a room with two beds, so when he finally found a room he gave us one with only one bed. We imedieately complained and the Guest experience specialist said he would upgrade us to a so called junior suite, so we moved our stuff to that suite and it had about a half ocean view which is what we tried to reserve, then we noticed AC was not working so we called front desk and they sent a guy out to tell us the vents were misdirected, me being an HVAC company owner, knew he was full of it and knew nothing about AC. so we suffered through the first night with no ac, and second night was even worse but knew they were over booked, on second night they sent another guy out and he said it was a chill water system and he would readjust some valves and be back, he never showed up. on third day we noticed lots of people checking out so we asked to be moved. Moved to new room in main hotel and ac worked fine,. 4th day we scheduled all three of us a massage at the spa, arrangeed our whole morning and afternoon around that appointment at 12:00. we got there and my sister was taken to another room to get her massage and my wife and ziz waited for 30 miniutes and finally asked where our massuse was and she said that they were not coming in that one of them overslept (noon?) and that the other one had a fenderbender, so we paid for the one massage and went to our room to wait on my sister, 2 hours later we went back to spa to find out where she was at and she came out of a room complaining that they just left her in the room and never came back,. Now another problem, most working there act like they are doing time and its an imposition to do anything for you, i gues since its an all inclusive there is no incentive to do anything other than what they are paid for, when first arrived we were hungry and no one told us where we could eay finally found the palms grill open till 6:00 pm and dinner would be at 7 so we decided to just have a sandwich at the grill. Our server took our order and about 5 minutes later came back and said grills closed, I said its only 5:30 she said grills closed and turned around and walked away, Same thing when we were leaving we went there at 11 to have a sandwich before we left because the palms grill opened at 11:00 then we were told by server they are open but cook doesnt cook till 12:00 there is no info given iof where you can eat or anything else you have to figure it all for yourself,. Te food is terrible, breakfast was the samething every day, some of the dishes served for dinner mad me wonder where the chef learned to cook.Please read all these reviews, canot believe our situation was that mucjh different than the others. I think that was a wasted $6000. should have stayed at home and played my own pool, and looked at pictures on the internet or something. very disappointing vacation. Was actually only happy one day and that was the afternoon we boarded the flight back home I feel as if they should have refunded the entire hotel part of my trip. I think the Sonesta phillipsberg would be better talked with some of their guest, and they were very happy


108 of 113 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Aledo Texas
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 10, 2012
Don't expect customer service here

I am a very seasoned traveler and was looking forward to my first visit to Saint Maarten. We arrived after 3 p.m. and waited in a slow moving line for check-in only to be told that our room wasn't ready. We went to lunch and came back. There appeared to be no reason for the delay as this was mid-week and not a lot of check-ins or outs. Mostly disorganization from what I could tell. You do not get much information on check-in or any other time. Whenever I was in the lobby, guests would stop me to ask questions assuming I worked there. We got no key to the safe so I kept all valuables with me at all times. We got an all inclusive package which I would not recommend. First, you are never told which restaurants are participating in the package or where they are. You must muddle your way around the resort. The food at the beach bar was normal fare for that. The buffet for breakfast was cold and had pretty much the same thing every day. Don't expect the staff to care if you have a drink or even to smile. I do not believe there was ever any alcohol in any of my drinks; not that I am a big drinker or anything. You had your choice of 2 beers each day as well. Nearly all of the employees went our entire five days without smiling. Perhaps if they worked on a system to get tips, they'd feel better. We left some and it only worked if you continued to be seated in the same area. The first afternoon we had no working light in the bathroom. It was fixed right away but I couldn't understand how the maid did not see it since she was supposedly just there a few minutes before. That evening we had no hot water. The front desk said it was a problem others were having and they were looking into it. We went to the beach after breakfast and came back to shower. Again, no hot water. We had to take a cold shower. I let them know it was still a problem. In the evening we again had no hot water and I asked to speak to the manager. They tried to give me the front desk manager but I told them I wanted to be moved to another room or refunded part of my money. I left a message for the general manager to call me but he NEVER did. Finally around eleven p.m,. maintenance showed up and viola - hot water. But only for one shower. This later was fixed but we went two days without hot water. The pools are ordinary here. The beach is extremely small and dangerous with the currents and wind. It is nice that the airport is within view to see the amazing landings during the afternoon. The Maho area surrounding the hotel has a casino, shopping, restaurants and lots of opportunity for taxis, busses, etc. By the way, two of the three elevators did not work during my five day stay. The funny part is that there was never a sign put on any of the non-working elevators so guests would know. Some common sense things would be easy to do and not be costly. My recommendation is any hotel except this one.


156 of 168 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Findlay, Ohio
Age: 45-54
Travel: 7+ trips/year

April 17, 2011
Sonesta Maho Beach

We just returned (two couples) from 11 days at the Sonesta Maho Beach Resort. We first stayed here about 7 years ago under the all-inclusive plan. This time we chose to only have a room at the Sonesta Maho because there is so much to do on St. Maarten. If you are looking for a quiet, out-of-the-way hotel this is NOT the hotel for you. The Sonesta Maho is best for its' LOCATION. It is only three minutes from the airport and for those of us who like to party at night and NOT drive, it is in the middle of the busiest place on the island. There are restaurants of every type, price, and atmosphere within a five minute walk. It is across the street from the best casino on the island. There are different types of clubs - rooftop, dance, and strip - right nearby. So the best part of the Sonesta Maho Beach Resort is its' location to the nightlife on the island.


69 of 73 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Wisconsin
Age: 45-54
Travel: 7+ trips/year

August 8, 2010
Nice and quiet

Peaceful location,didn't see many young children or spring breakers. The hotel is a good choice for the price, close to the airport and a central location to tour the island beaches and visit each of the Capital cities. Pool is nice, there is not really a beach to use at the hotel (due to erosion from hurricanes in past years) but a very nice beach a short walk away. If they would only move the airport runway to make room for more beachfront (although it's fun to see the planes landing and taking off). Many restaurants on the same street, no need to drive, food was excellent, definitely French influence on the Dutch side. Only ate at the breakfast buffet at the hotel. At local hotels can only tip in cash and many times tips are already added to the bill. Easy to take the small buses around the island, everyone was very helpful. Would make sure the room you choose is facing the pool/ocean not the golfcourse. The gardens around the pool area are very well maintained.


48 of 50 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 21, 2012
needs improvements

We arrived on aug 6 for a wedding. We had blocked 10 rooms for the wedding 4 mos ahead of time. The bride had asked for welcome bags to be delivered upon arrival of the guests. The hotel had all our names and arrival dates. When we arrived and we were the mother, father, brother and sister of the groom. We were told there were no rooms in the main hotel and were sent to the old building where there was major construction. The room was old musty and not very clean. We complained and were told they would move us the next day, They did. My husband was given no information on the parking internet etc. He had to continually ask questions. I complained to the day time manager who did not seem to care. The brides mother was put in a room with the air conditioner not working. They brought her a fan. My son had to beg for 3 days to be upgraded as the groom. Now for the all inclusive. There is no coffee shop open with sandwiches etc. It is the lobby bar and does not have regular coffee and only small pastries. no sandwiches or food. The pizza station is only open at lunch and dinner at the buffet for small times. Most of the time no pizza. The point restaurant is non existant. The palms reopens at dinner for ala carte. So there are only actually 2 restaurants at the hotel not the 4 they claim. Our fridges in the room are supposed to be refilled daily. My son asked for 3 days for water and even went to front desk, The maid service is spotty at best. We only had wash clothes for 2 days. after that none. The lobby is hot and the rooms are ok. The pool and pool bar are worth the price of admission and the bartenders really great. Def the best part of the resort. If you are not a big drinker not worth the price


28 of 29 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: new jersey
Age: 45-54
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 23, 2012
Better than expected

We were worried after reading other reviews, but everything was better than expected. It does take some time checking in, but that's to be expected anywhere, especially on the islands. They gave us our bracelets so we could eat/drink while we waited, and they held our bags for us. They have a slot area/bar in the lobby, so there was something to do. Felecia took great care of us there and at other bars throughout the week. We had no trouble with maid service or stocking the fridge. Everything was clean. They are still working on the resort, but our room (6th floor, main building) was renovated already. We did need to ask for an alarm clock, though, but it was delivered right away (within half an hour or so? we didn't have a clock, but it wasn't long at all). There is a casino right across the street and a shopping area as well. Mini-mart was available as well, about a two minute walk, and they have GREAT prices on alcohol (liter of Smirnoff was $9 and change USD). Snacks/beverages are also available. The pool and beach areas were clean, and the swim up bar was always packed. You can see the planes coming in from the beach (very closely). Loved the bar at the other end of the beach (less than 5 min walk) - buckets of 6 beers were $15 (less if you bought the coors on special). We also went to Mullet Bay Beach, a short (10 min or less) walk from the hotel. If you want chairs or umbrellas, it's $5 each, but if you're happy with your towel on the sand, you just need to remember to bring it with you. Food was as to be expected. The buffet breakfasts were really good, especially the omelete/egg stations. Lunches were spotty at best, but the burgers at the palms grille are not to be missed! The buffet lunches weren't anything special. Dinners varied. They usually have a pasta station, but not always. On Wednesday they have a beach party that was fun and the food was decent, too. There is hermit crab racing at the party, and that's something everyone can enjoy, even kids. Italian night was pretty good, and our favorite was the Mexican night. Our room was "garden" view, and though there was not a garden, the view from the balcony was fine with us. We could see mountains and check out the rooftop lounge next door at night (which we didn't go to until the last night - a mistake - we would have been there more). Bartenders were entertaining and it was comfortable and relaxed, though relatively loud, as to be expected. The club next to the casino is a tragedy and to be avoided at all costs. The staff is snobby and elitist and the dancefloor was empty. We had a great time and would DEFINITELY go there again. Travel tip: if you have a small cooler, bring it with you to pack for beach trips or other outings. Be relaxed, and remember to expect delays, you are on "Caribbean Time."


24 of 25 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Massachusetts
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

January 15, 2013
Hotel is run down

One of the worse hotels I have stayed in over the last 40 years. It is run down and in a stay of disrepair. Staff is not very friendly. Constant noise from airport Some rooms face smelly and noisy water treatment plant. Pub restaurant food was awful AVOID, St. Martin is too nice to stay at this hotel


20 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 1
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
1.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 55-64
Travel: 7+ trips/year

March 10, 2012

Don't miss the Point Restaurant for dinner. The food and service was excellent. The brands of alcohol served at the resort were limited. The resort needs some updating. Our room was good except for the bathroom. The bath tub needed to be replaced.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Atlanta, GA
Age: 55-64

October 21, 2012
very nice stay

My wife and I stayed at the Maho Sonesta beach for 4 days on Sept 26th. Never stayed at an all inclusive resort before but i was quiet surprised at the buffets that were given. Very big choice of food. The food was excellent. We were in beautiful upgraded room in Bldg 3 with a ocean view. The front staff was very friendly and could not do enough for you. The property, especially the pool, was excellent. It had a nice swim up bar. The bar was sort of short on name brand top shelf liquor though. I drink Capt Morgan spice rum and my wife likes southern comfort. Although they had lots of island drinks which made up for the difference. The rooms were nice and very clean. The hotel is going through renovations which did not effect our stayed. Nice small casino in the lounge area with a larger one right across the street. The landscape is beautiful and well maintained. You can sit and watch the planes come in. They also touch the beach area when they land. Keep you eye out for the huge KLM 747 that lands on Friday about 11 am. It is a thing of beauty. All the wait staff do a great job helping you. You will be pleasantly surprised if you stayed at the Maho. We met a lot of people from Canada there. We enjoyed our stay and will definetly stay there again next year. Great jewelery store across the street if you want to check it out. It was called J & N Jewelery ask for Ravi and tell him the helicopter guy sent you. Lot of people from canada buy there.


14 of 15 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: West Haven, Ct.
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 24, 2016
Not what you time

Booked months ago. Got there and they didn't have a room for us nor the other party that we came down with. (which is weird since we booked months go). They put us at a time share resort , which doesn't support the all inclusive, mini bar, or room service. The party we came down with, whos anniversary it was, was put at a different property that was not the one we booked nor the timeshare. So every time we wanted to eat with them we were not allowed privileges at their resort.( which was terrible since the trip was to celebrate their anniversary) I went back to the front desk and had many conversations about how we all needed to be at the same resort. The staff disappears for close to an hour every time, into the mangers office. They would come back and say they can't help us. Every time we walked over to Sonesta Maho and tried to eat, they would ask our room number and i would have to explain what happened and they would have to ask to make sure it was "ok" to serve us. Finally on on the last day, after trying to talk to the manger... again,(who never talked to me) we were there they gave us the right bracelets(which gave us access) so we could at least go and have dinner at the other couples restaurant. Its not like you can just pack up and go home when you get there either. Its not a good feeling to have when you book something a head of time then get told they sold out of rooms, and you crossed a major body of water on a plane.


9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Atlanta
Age: 35-44