All

Sonesta Kura Hulanda Village & Spa Reviews

Caribbean | Curacao Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 19 Reviews
Value
 
4.6
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
3.9
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.6
4.6 out of 5
"I highly recommend a Curacao vacation using Cheap Caribbean. The island was beautiful, the hotel was world class, and the overall experience was excellent." – jokerman68
19 out of 21 (90%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sunset near our hotel My favorite beach. The smallest, but best for snorkeling. Nobody was there.

All Sonesta Kura Hulanda Village & Spa Customer Reviews

1-10 of 19 reviews. Sort by
April 14, 2012
Everything was great, except for the bed

This was a first trip to the Caribbean for my wife and I and it will be hard to beat it. When we told people we were going to Curacao they all thought we were dumb that we weren't going to the more popular destinations like Aruba, Jamaica, or the Virgin Islands. For what we paid through Cheap Caribbean and the experience we had I wouldn't do it over. The hotel Kura is really quite nice. It was like nothing that I have ever stayed in before. However I really enjoyed it. The rooms were not the nicest, but were sufficient for our needs. Everyday they were cleaned and my wife loved when they left her chocolates on her pillow. The one complain about the rooms is that the mattress was a spring one and it was not very comfortable. After being in the sun all day and snorkeling we were pretty tired so once we fell asleep it was fine. There are two pools at the hotel and both are nice, but the eco-pool is AWESOME. It is so relaxing and while we were there we really were the only people who ever swam in it. We had a $200 food voucher and ate dinner every night at the hotel. Everything we had was great. If you are there and they do the buffet, do it. It is worth every penny. All of my family are in the catering business and the meal we had that night was AMAZING. 7 different kinds of meats, 4 or 5 salads, 5 different sushi rolls, dessert bar. It was great. If you go during May bring some mosquito repellent. They were kind of annoying at night. Another thing we liked about the hotel is that it was in the middle of town. We could walk around town and see a lot of different sites. It has a shuttle to its sister hotel on the beach that is free and the beach is so nice. As far as the hotel I think that is all. The best decision that my wife and I made was to rent a car for a couple of days. This allowed us to see every part of the island. I love Curacao because every beach we went to there were very little people. There was two times that we drove to two beaches and were completely alone. No buildings, people, nothing around us. The snorkeling was great. I don't have much to compare it to, but with the rock cliffs it provides a great environment for seeing so many beautiful fish. We never went scuba diving because we had such a great time snorkeling. We bought our own gear before we went down there so we wouldn't have to rent. The car however allowed us to do so much more. We talked to other couples who said they stayed only at their hotels and wished they would have gotten out more. We took that little car we had on some pretty gnarly roads, but it paid off when we were completely away from everything. In the wilderness there were crabs running around everywhere and iguanas all over the place. After we went to a local eatery they informed us that they pay kids 5 bucks an iguana to put in their soup. We tasted it and was actually not bad. I could go on for days about the fun we had. We are not the type to go to real touristy destinations, but love to find new places and explore. I will be going back for sure. The people there were so nice. It did rain on us while we were there but came and went. The clouds actually were very nice. We paid a lot less to stay in the Kura Hulunda in town, but because we had a car it more than made up for it. This way we were able to see so many other beaches and not have to sit on the same one a whole week. Hope this helps. I really am picky about writing reviews, but I felt that I needed to write something to counter what people might say negative about this place. Some people are never happy because they choose not to be. Enjjoy!

Everything was great, except for the bed My favorite beach. The smallest, but best for snorkeling. Nobody was there.
27 of 30 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Arizona
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 8, 2011
Honeymoon paradise

We spent almost a week at Hotel Kura Hulanda Spa & Casino. We researched it and the island in general to finally pin point what area we wanted to be in but it wasn't until we got there that we realized what a jewel we really had. Our resort was such a perfect spot for a relaxing get away with prime location to get to the hot spots of downtown. We were so lucky to have stayed in such a cute, remodeled village. It was closed off and felt super safe from the streets (which weren't bad either) but we just felt like VIPs. This location has a pool that is exotic with lush trees around but another benefit of staying here is that they will shuttle you to there westward sister hotel that is on one of the most incredible beaches I've ever seen. It was some of the best snorkeling I've ever had the chance to experience too and it was just off the shore line! We rented a mask for under $10 and walked into the water and floated around for hours! Bottom line, GREAT hotel for an unbelievable price. We chose Curacao because it looked like the best value for our budget and our expectations were more than exceeded at every turn. We would go back in a heart beat! I was skeptical to order our travel package off of a website but it turned out to be such a great find! You cannot find this many great hotels and great packages prices anywhere else. I am constantly traveling and looking for the next best deal and I have to say now I ALWAYS check Cheap Caribbean first! Not only the deals but when I needed to call in a few times (and we missed our original flight out) I always got a LIVE, GOOD COMMUNICATOR on the line within 2-3 minutes. Everyone I talked to was more than helpful and went above and beyond to find out whatever information I needed. That was the best part about this company---knowing someBODY was on the other line that was nice and willing to help!

Honeymoon paradise Honeymoon paradise
8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Mount Dora, FL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 8, 2011
Outstanding

My wife and I travel quite a bit and quite often from cruising to time shares. This was one of our favorite vacations. The hotel was quaint and the staff wonderful. We would leave our room for a few moments and the bed would be turned down. It is little things like that which made our stay more comfortable. They provide a shuttle service to one of the beaches which I must say was beautiful. We are definitely planning to go back to Curacao and stay at the Kura Hulanda.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 29, 2012
Great choice for those wanting more than beaches o

We chose this hotel as we did not plan to spend all of our time on the beach and wanted to have some human interaction with the locals and get some local flavor. I believe that we made the perfect choice. The hotel is a very well conceived reconstruction of an old city neighborhood right in the down-town area. All the rooms are unique and do not give the impression of your average modern hotel where the architect's brief foresees all rooms being without surprises or differences. In the Kura Hulanda, you cannot possibly mistake being in Curaçao. While on a guided tour of the island, we had the chance to see many other resort hotels and all had the same non-descript appearance, where the guest could easily imagine themselves to be somewhere else. Since we decided against an all-inclusive package, we were also very appreciative of the fact that there dozens of top-notch restaurants and casinos within short walking distance. A last benefit is that the Kura Hulanda has a daily 45 minute shuttle service to their sister resort located on the beach. You can therefore readily enjoy the beauty of an exclusive isolated beach for the day before returning to the city for the evening. The pools at the Willemstad hotel are great for relaxation but not for swimming.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: have lived in 7 countries, now living in NJ
Age: 45-54

May 3, 2011
Great Caribbean destination

Curacao is a great destination in general, with its friendly population, beautiful beaches and capital city, and great cultural offerings. There is no better place to find a distillation of all three of these attributes than the Hotel Kura Hulanda. No, this hotel does not have its own beach, but its sister property does, and there is a frequent shuttle provided by the hotel to Blue Bay--which is 10 minutes away. The staff at the Kura Hulanda is the best we've ever encountered on any vacation; courteous, caring, and generally helpful in every regard. The hotel facility is singular with its antique buildings, furniture and art which reflects Curacao's history. There is a great museum right on the property which is not just local in its implications, but global. It is a three-minute walk to the pontoon bridge which joins the two sides of Willamstad, and it is endlessly interesting to watch it get moved when big ships move past. Concerts took place on the square right by the bridge while we were there. We loved the hotel's proximity to everything we wanted to see and do. We didn't have great food at the hotel's restaurants, but we did have good food. The coffee is strong and very good. The fitness studio was closed for most of the time we were there, but a wonderful facility when we could make use of it.


9 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: western Massachusetts
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

August 7, 2010
Great Winter Getaway

Hotel Kura Hulanda was a great space to spend part of our ever-so-cold January. We opted for the city resort rather than the beach resort and our decision fit us well: we enjoyed being able to walk to dinner or shops from our hotel and we weren't inconvenienced by taking the reliable shuttle to and from the beach. We did visit the Kura Hulanda beach resort briefly during our stay, and unless you are an avid diver or ocean kayaker, I think it would get boring because the beach is brief and rocky. The pools at Hotel Kura Hulanda were beautiful, but the town and people are so charming that we were left with little time at the pool. The dining options at the hotel were pricey, and the off-resort options were cheaper, but nothing too impressive. Don't visit Curacao for the food, but definitely visit!


5 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Springfield, IL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 30, 2010
Curacao - Excellent all around

I highly recommend a Curacao vacation using Cheap Caribbean. The island was beautiful, the hotel was world class, and the overall experience was excellent.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Bethel, CT
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 23, 2012
Living History on Curacao

This is a hotel unlike any other, on a Caribbean island with a very unique personality of its own. Comprised of beautifully restored Dutch Colonial buildings surrounding a mansion, the hotel offers all of the usual amenities: two swimming pools (comfortable but not large), several restaurants as well as a highly individual Museum of Slavery which is informative and totally appropriate to its location. (The Museum was built surrounding a 'Kura Hulanda' or Dutch Courtyard where slave auctions were once conducted.) A stay here is a step back into the history of Curacao. While this hotel doesn't offer direct beach access it does provide a shuttle service for its guests to nearby Blue Bay Beach, where there are opportunities to swim, snorkel and dine. While the Kura Hulanda may not fulfill all of the expectations of a five star hotel, it is definitely worthy of a vist.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: TN
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 14, 2017
Prime location

Kura Hulanda is a very good location. It is downtown where you can walk towards everything. There is restaurants and shopping centers within distances. There is no beach but there is a pool on site of the hotel. The beach is a short distances away where you can take a bus ride,cabs are super expensive in Curacao. Housekeeping cleans everyday, there does seem like a shortage of towels at times. Otherwise the hotel is In good shape.


2 of 2 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 31, 2010
One super vacation option

Curacao is, indeed, a European experience in the Carribean. This particular hotel given its amenities, staff and location proved to be quite more than we expected. We were delighted with it, the island, the people and the variety of experiences the island affords.


3 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: santa fe, new mexico
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year