All

Silver Point Hotel Reviews

Caribbean | Barbados Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 15 Reviews
Value
 
4.3
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
4.1
Dining Options
 
2.9
Room Comfort
 
4.5
4.2 out of 5
"We went to just about every beach and I found that the beach this is located on is perfect for kiting. If you want to kite, stay here. It's the most convenient - trust me." – Troyj
17 out of 17 (100%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
view from our room kiting in front of Silverpoint - view from a partial ocean view room View of the stars from one of the ocean side beds our room

All Silver Point Hotel Customer Reviews

1-10 of 15 reviews. Sort by
January 26, 2012
Great hotel, BUT it s in the sticks

The hotel itself is a very nice hotel and very comfortable. The biggest problem is if you don't rent a car, you will spend a lot of money on taxis. The hotel is far out from just about anything. There are NO restaurants or anything night life like around the hotel. Traveler beware...... if you get to the hotel past 9pm then you will have nothing to eat until breakfast the next morning!!! To add insult to injury, the hotel's restaurant is VERY expensive.......... one star out of five at the most. If it were not for the restaurant I would give the hotel 5 stars because I really did like the hotel, but alas... 3 1/2 stars is the most I could really give.


15 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: San Antonio, Texas
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 30, 2010
Great hotel!!

Wow!! This place was amazing! Our ocean view room, with 4 poster bed and french doors opening to our patio was so romantic. Excellent rain shower and spacious bathrooms. Great cabanas by the pool with ocean views, or head on down to an essentially private beach. In summary, the room, environment and complex are incredible -- would highly recommend!! It's about 10 minutes from town, so we rented a scooter while we were there. Taxis are very easy to do as well. The place wasn't too crowded when we visited (close to down season) so it was very quiet, but not much happening at the hotel at night. Overall, I would DEFINITELY recommend!!

view from our room our room
11 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: San Francisco, CA
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 11, 2010
more than fair air and room accomadations

we arrived late and had to have the guard shack take us to our room, which was not what i requested . lost one night in our oceanview room and it took nearly a half of the next day to straighten it out. but our room was lovely, however the pools were small and with just 1 restaurant pricy and not enough variations to keep you happy for a week. i did like the fact it was of the beating path quiet and relaxing beautiful barbabdos.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: colorado
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 19, 2013
Anniversary Time

Comfortable room. Ocean view upgrade is worth the cost. Restaurant is a poor value and the service is worse, actually horrible. If you do not rent a car you do not have other eating options. Beach is suitable for water sports, but not for swimming. The pool is small. The management is very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The grounds are beautiful. In short, if you are looking for an active vacation on the water or the opposite and just to lay in the sun and read, this is a perfect resort for you. If you are hoping to swim, experience the island and visit the best beaches, you are better off staying closer to Accra Beach or the Gold Coast on the west side of the island.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
2.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 35-44

July 17, 2015
Was great, but...

Silver Point hotel was great, staff is wonderful. Food options get tiring after a few days but it's close enough to Oistins and the Gap so jump in a dollar van to up your options. Only complaint is not about Silver Point but with American Airlines and Miami Airport, they are both horrible! AA charges for everything and you are guaranteed to miss your connecting flights if you connect in Miami. If you must connect in Miami give yourself at least 4 hours in between flights, trust me.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Atlanta
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

October 30, 2013
silver point

We booked an ocean view suite and were very happy with the room. Large living area, full size refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, tv and DVD player (no stove or toaster) . Very nice bathroom, Large bedroom with a king bed comfortable mattress, AC in BR only. Not a problem as you really only need AC to sleep. Beautiful veranda with dining table for two, constant trade winds and a nice view of the ocean. Staff are pleasant. Service ok. Pool area very nice. Don't waste money on the restaurant or bar. Very pricey and very mediocre. If you don't have a refrigerator in your room and a rental car this probably is not the spot for you. It's a little remote and you can feel a bit trapped. Best suited for windsurfing and kitesurfing enthusiasts. Awesome wind and waves but not a family friendly beach for swimming. Beautiful swimming beach about five minutes drive called Enterprise beach. Locals call it Miami Beach. Nightlife is about a twenty minute drive, Saint Lawrence Gap. Relying on cabs is an expensive proposition, but you can get a bus for a dollar US. If you're here to party, there are better locations in Barbados to stay. That said, it's a beautiful spot. My best advice about Barbados is that it is not for the all-inclusive traveling crowd. It's an alacarte island and you can wind up with sticker shock at the end of the day if you don't know your way around. The people are generally friendly, but you are their almost exclusive source of income, so you're always getting hit on one way or the other. Am pleased to say that Cheap Caribbean lived up to everything we purchased and we had no problems with them. I was a bit worried after booking and reading their reviews. Have to say they delivered without a hitch.


1 of 1 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: new jersey
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 19, 2014
You get what you pay for

Let start by saying I LOVED BARBADOS the people are so laid back and friendly. Most of all I enjoyed the little white local busses so much fun to ride them with the locals for $1.00 USA it takes you to the entire strip. On Fridays you must go to Fry Fish at Oistins. the beach at SP is not for swimming but its ok for a walk. go to the Boat Yard OMG so much fun and the water is calmer. House keeping is NOT so great all you really get is towels and make your bed. I did not find the staff to friendly EXCEPT Kim OMG at the reception area she will help you with anything. Kudos to her XOXO. the pool is small but will do for a few days in the sun. The food at the restaurant is OK a bit expensive but its a hit or miss. Service NOT SO GOOD. They have Loft style rooms which I did not like because you needed to go up and down the stairs for the bathroom and to watch TV so make sure you tell them you do not want ones of those unless you like it. and the lighting in the room very dimmed so to put makeup on was a project lol but over all nice hotel for a few days


2 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: New York NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 16, 2015
Beautiful but limited

A nice place but with some challenges. While they have security 24/7, the area is not the best and thus going for a run or a walk away from the hotel isn't an option. There isn't a fitness center. No in room coffee. Beds are hard as well as pillows. Windows in the suites are not solid but vanes and thus you will hear the tree fogs all night which makes sleeping difficult. This side of the island is the windy side so no surfing unless you're wanting to wind surf. No snorkeling due to the roughness of the wind/waves. Beaches have a lot of seaweed and no place to lay out except at the hotel which is a wood deck with adequate space. The staff was friendly and helpful. Dining is expensive both at the resort and in Christ Church. WiFi is only available at the bar and that's a walk from the room. WiFi was touch and go at times. Roads are bad so expect to pay for a tire/rim. All in all a beautiful place.


2 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
2.0
User Image

From: Colorado Springs
Age: 25-34
Travel: 7+ trips/year

January 23, 2013
Great Resort for kiting

We went to just about every beach and I found that the beach this is located on is perfect for kiting. If you want to kite, stay here. It's the most convenient - trust me.


0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Virginia
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 25, 2013
SilverPoint is rad!

Stayed 7 nights in Barbados at Silverpoint and it was a great experience. This hotel is as close to the beach as you can get. We chose this hotel due to our passion for Kitesurfing / Kiteboarding and this location is as prime as it gets for kiting. Silver Sands beach is literally 4 steps off of the hotel's deck and you can see kiters from basically any of the hotel rooms. Silver Sands has great winds, as well as Long Beach (Bay) which is about 1 mile NE from Silverpoint. We did quite a few downwinders from Long Bay to Silver Sands. It was great to put out right in front of the hotel. Very convenient. The hotel itself had beautiful grounds and maintenance. Room was kept very clean and the A/C worked great. The security is great - although we didn't worry too much in this area anyway - the neighborhood has mostly residential buildings as this is one of the few hotels in the area. If you want to have a great beach, access to some great walks along the coast, great kiting/wind, a courteous staff - then go for Silverpoint. Oh yes - the beds on the ocean deck (by the pool) are shweet! Laying on a bed by the beach? Who can beat that?

kiting in front of Silverpoint - view from a partial ocean view room View of the stars from one of the ocean side beds
0 of 0 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Richmond, VA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year