All

Sheraton Puerto Rico Reviews

Caribbean | Puerto Rico Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 34 Reviews
Value
 
3.9
Service
 
4.1
Beaches & Pools
 
3.7
Dining Options
 
3.1
Room Comfort
 
4.3
4 out of 5
"Puerto Rico is beautiful ,our stay at the Sheraton,overall is well. However the pool is not what it seems as it's 4 ft deep. Apparently continental breakfast is not for all guests." – KingRy
36 out of 45 (80%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Pool view

All Sheraton Puerto Rico Customer Reviews

1-10 of 34 reviews. Sort by
July 27, 2011
Nice place, bad location

My husband and I booked with this hotel for 6 nights. It is beautiful inside and out but not close to anything but the convention center(so if you are attending an event at the conv. center then it is perfect) Condado and Old San Juan are at least a $13 taxi ride one way. We wound up taking the bus often because of the price difference from the taxis which are outrageously expensive and not for everyday spending! So from the bus we got to see a lot of the projects in the local area...nice! No refrigerator in the room which was a pain so we couldn't really keep any leftovers. The one restaurant in the hotel - Texas de Brazil was delicious and great service but not for eating at every night because it is expensive and you eat so much!! So the other food choices in the hotel are not good and very few. And there is no where in walking distance to get a bite to eat. The infinity pool is beautiful but got crowded often and closed early evening around 7pm. Also at the end of the stay, we got a letter under our door telling us that checkout would be at 11am not their usual 12pm...nice again! And also a bill for $55 for local phone calls which I found out were to Florida - we live in New York and don't call Florida ever so that means someone used our phone! So the concierge was helpful and told us that they were going to disregard the charges because I was upset. So anyway - the concierges were extremely helpful and pleasant and well as most of the other staff - just the location is a big downer - we would definitely stay out on the west or southern coast next time or in Old San Juan since that is where we spent most of our time.


30 of 31 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
3.0
User Image

From: Carmel,New York
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 12, 2012
BAD LOCATION, Service BAD too

If you are not familiar with Puerto Rico and want to see this beautiful island this IS NOT the Hotel to stay at. The food was EXTREMELY overpriced and there is nothing else nearby that isn't high. Service was also a shame with rude staff that seemed irritated that I did not speak spanish, which is unfortunate because this is a beautiful place. If you are an American, I would not recommend this hotel. We had 1 young lady named Cynthia who went above and beyond to ease mine and my 2 young childrens mind. In spite of this hotel, I do highly recommend San Juan. But...do some research and go to a more resort and tourist district. :)


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 2
Value
 
1.0
Service
 
1.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Buchanan, GA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

November 14, 2012
High Marks for Puerto Rico and CheapCaribbean.com!

We just finished a great trip to Puerto Rico that was purchased through CheapCaribbean.com. It was our first time using this travel service, so we were nervous. Nevertheless, everything went perfectly. The hotel was quite nice--especially for the deal we were given. This particular Sheraton is next to the convention center and not a beach front property, so I think that might be an issue for some, but it also likely more reasonably priced because of that. We didn't mind the walk to the beach on the one day we stayed right in the area. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Most all spoke very good English. They do have some nice restaurants in and around the hotel, but they are pricey. We did not pre-book any activities since we were there during the quieter time of the year. And, just as we had hoped, the concierge was able to coordinate the tours and activities we wanted to do with just one or two days' notice. From the catamaran snorkeling trip to the rainforest hike and swim in the waterfalls to the tour of the historical sights in Old San Juan, we found Puerto Rico to be a wonderful vacation destination. No passports are required, they use US currency, and most people you interact with speak enough English to help you with what you need. We highly recommend Puerto Rico and CheapCarribean.com!


15 of 16 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Boulder, Colorado
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 24, 2011
Amazing Time

Just came back from San Juan Puerto Rico. Amazing time seeing the sights and being back in warmer weather. Old San Juan is a great place to visit especially with the two forts. Great history and great authentic food. Everywhere we turned, we had an amazing opportunity for some great pictures. The architecture is so different from where we live. The one thing that we learned while we were down there is that there really is not a whole lot of public transportation. While they have taxis galore, the price for them is not cheap. You are better off renting a car. Bring your GPS or rent one. Signs are not as abundant as they are in the States. Would recommend to anyone to take a trip at least once to San Juan.


19 of 21 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Boston
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

March 9, 2011

Awesome hotel. Brand new. Awesome pool, good food and drinks. Not very close to Condado. Probably a half hour walk. But for the price it was great.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Boston, MA
Age: 19-24
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 14, 2011
Sheraton Casino Hotel

This a fairly new property. The accommodations are excellent,the service is excellent. The Green Program makes sense and I'm sure is helping the environment. Located right across the street from the convention center is handy to both Old San Juan and the Condado. Will stay there again.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Rural Area west of chicago
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 24, 2015

Stayed at the Sheraton in San Juan because I wanted to be more "in-town" with better access to shops, restaurants, erc. Everything here was excellent except for the location. The Convention Center location is nowhere near anything. Although the facility was very nice, and the staff even better, we felt isolated form Puerto Rican culture. There is a bus stop very close, and the busses are only 75 cents. Taxis are also available, but they have no meters, and if you don't know what the going rate is, they will try to get what they can. We went to the beach in Condado one day, and this is a must do. Food options were limited to the hotel, which was pricey (nearly $60 for lunch which was soup, a salad, a sandwich, dessert and coffee). Everything was delicious, just couldn't do that three times a day for 5 days. The only other restaurant close to the hotel was a Mexican restaurant. Food was excellent and prices a little better. BUT, we didn't come to Puerto Rico to eat Mexican food. All in all, it was great, but I might stay at a beach hotel next time.


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Sharon, PA
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 2, 2011
Good Times

This was a great place to stay. It was only 2 years old. Very beautiful. The staff was helpful, and advise us where to go visit. Only downside was the lack of places to eat in a walking distance. Even though everything was pretty close via car or taxi, it was hard to get a cup of coffee at 6pm. From what I understand the area is still under development. Hopefully my next visit there will more in the area. The pool area was lovely, but the pool water was cold. Overall good experience.

Good Times
4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Los Angeles, CA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

August 20, 2012
San Juan

Not knowing a lot about staying in San Juan Puerto Rico we booked this package. Hotel was ok but not great. Noisy pool party on floor below us that lasted till 3 in morning. Dining at Shearton hotel and casino was extremely expensive and rather snobby places to eat. No access to beach at all. Nearest public beach about mile walk away. Public transportaton nill. Any taxi ride 14 dollars. Tours were not great you are better off doing your own tour in old San Juan which luckily we did first day. Rain forest tour ok but would have liked to actually walked one of the trails. All in all liked Puerto Rico but would not buy a package again. Better off find a hotel you like rent a car and do your own thing.


3 of 3 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
2.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
2.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Colorado
Age: 55-64

March 6, 2012
Nice & reasonable.

The Sheraton was nice but NOT on the beach (close but maybe not even walking). The people were really nice. The dinning choices were very expensive. Limited balcony choices. Short distance to Old San Juan - ride the bus for .75 which was fun and cheap. Hotel had a private party the first night and therefore pool was unavailable. Spa was really really nice. Great workout room. Casino was small but ok. Great Mexican food right across the street - Would NOT have wanted to stay at Old San Juan Sheraton in case you were thinking of changing - this one on the blvd was much better - less busy.


6 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Rochester, NY
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year