All

Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel and Casino Reviews

Caribbean | Puerto Rico Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 39 Reviews
Value
 
4.2
Service
 
4.3
Beaches & Pools
 
3.2
Dining Options
 
3.4
Room Comfort
 
4.1
4.2 out of 5
"If you want a spot the is close to old San Juan , this is it but if you looking for beach/pool then is not" – Loko77
45 out of 50 (90%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
San Juan

All Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel and Casino Customer Reviews

1-10 of 39 reviews. Sort by
October 12, 2012
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino

The stay was very enjoyable. The hotel staff were very freindly and helpful. The managers of the staff have done an exceptional job in the hiring and training of their employees. The total experience was great. The only concern was the cost of dining at the hotel. We ate their once and though the food was very good the cost wasn't justified. We had to seek other dining alternatives which proved to be very enjoyable, and within reasonable cost. I would recommend the Sheraton Old San Juan to anyone, and my next trip to San Jaun I will make my reservations to stay their. We had a rather large group, that stayed at various locations in the San Juan area and our experience at the Sheraton by far was the best.


36 of 36 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Hudsonville Michigan
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 29, 2012

The biggest issue was probably with parking. We rented a car to make getting around the island much more convenient. While that proved true, parking options were either daily in an expensive garage or valet...daily. In the future it would be nice to see vouchers for 50%+ off parking included in the deal.


29 of 30 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Washington, DC
Age: 35-44

June 17, 2012
Great First Expeirience to OLD SAN JUAN

OLD San Juan Is a lovely quaint part of Puerto Rico, Laid back relaxed kinda place, where people stroll along. The people were friendly the weather was great although Hot, the location was in walking distance to the whole town, we walked all over, and we did hop the free trolley and we did take the local bus into isla verde and condado, the beaches are nice but the sand gets very very hot. My visit was a a gift to me and my daughter for graduation and although I was hesitant with the Sheraton due to reviews, I had a great time, Yes you may or may not get the view you want, but, who cares I was out all day, THE BEDS were to die for, had to litterally pull our selves away from them. they were so comfortable, the room was cool comfy no grand palace but good for us. The elevators were a bit slow being the only had two, but again no biggie. we did have to leave a deposit on credit cards but did not charge out once we left. The Chicago burger which is attached was good. The front desk was great and helpful, there is wi Fi in the rooms and in the lobby of the hotel. Cab service was great right outside the hotel. the staff was friendly. close to airport maybe 12-15 minutes from airport. There was two days of social invents at the hotel but did not bother US. some people are so picky, My first experience is definitely leading to another experience SOON, Once again the price was great and so was cheap carribean, for the package set up.


18 of 18 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: Bronx, NY/ NY, NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

April 19, 2012
perfect location with a view!

The location and the safety of accommodations was the reason we picked this hotel.Two ladies traveling alone who want to be close enough to walk every where.Convenient, clean with friendly and helpful staff and a decent casino.Fun slots.Good music.Liked having a waterfront view of the cruise ships.Beds are great and I'm fussy.Good food close-by and a CVS just down the street.Fabulous coffee a few short steps away.


35 of 38 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: USVI
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

October 1, 2012
Nice Hotel

Did not dine at the hotel, nor did we use the beach or pools --- but do not want to bring down their ratings so I gave them a GOOD. The hotel was a pretty nice hotel, aesthetically at least. The customer service was ok as well. The valet, Juan, was awesome. Nevertheless, when we arrived at the hotel we had reservation issues. We requested a single bed for my husband and I in my room, but they had a double reserved --- they fixed this with no problem. But when it was time to check in the other room in our reservation, their reservation was missing. It took about 40 minutes for them to clear that up. When they did give them a room, it was a single bed (of course they need doubles - not a couple). Then they told us there were no doubles available, we asked for the one that was previously assigned to my husband and I --- they instead gave them a room on another floor. After requesting for a room on the same floor --- they put them around the corner. I am not sure if the issue with the reservation was with Cheapcaribbean or the hotel, but I assume it was the hotel since I had all the confirmation information from Cheapcaribbean. Other than the registration/room mishaps the hotel was nice. The staff were very helpful with telling us about the city and things to do. I would use them again. The location was great and walking distance from some of the local sites. If I can suggest anything I would say reserve a rental car, it is much cheaper and it makes it easier to get to things like the rain forest --- especially when communication/language barriers may be an issue.


10 of 10 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

April 7, 2013
Great place to visit!

Good location for local food and architecture. Easy walking town. Incredibly friendly people and very present police force. Felt very comfortable. Wonderful Italian restaurant-Al Dente. Great breakfast 3.50! Next to Starbucks across from old Casino building-San Cristobel square. Lots of good local cuisine...ask around. Recommend taking bus if you want to go to nice beaches. $.75 each way versus $25.00 cab ride each way. Good way to see the sites too! El Yunque Rainforest tour is a must. Had fun ATV riding. Concierge has all the info.


7 of 7 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Annapolis MD
Age: 45-54
Travel: 7+ trips/year

March 21, 2013
Can't wait to come back!

We had such a great vacation in Puerto Rico! We've only been back a few days and are already planning our trip back. The hotel is great with an amazing staff. They were very friendly and always told us the good places to go for dinners or nights out on the town. The beds were very comfortable with big fluffy down comforters. The roof top pool is very small, but we did meet a lot of people while we were hanging out up there. We loved the casino and all the staff in there were great too! Overall, I will definitely go back and would stay at this hotel again. We were able to walk to everything we wanted and didn't need to rent a car or take very many cabs. Señor Frogs is right in front of the hotel and they had great food, drinks, and music. I suggest going there while you're in San Juan.


6 of 6 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Flagstaff, AZ
Age: 19-24
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 7, 2011
Sheraton Old San Juan

Excellent service friendly faces, Enjoyed stay will be back


40 of 55 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 250 Contributor
From: Rural Area west of chicago
Age: Over 65
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 3, 2013
Best choice ever

This hotel is best choice for all central location it is surrounded by all the historical sites and not to mention the wonderful restaurants and people. I was so glad that I made the choice to stay here. The people at the hotel like the black jack dealers Fransico and Ricardo were absolutely wonderful . My husband and I returned win or loose just to have a wonderful conversation about the island and its people. We ate at Mojito's and Barrachina the birth place of the Piña colada. The pork was great and the best was Mojito's the waitress was fabulos and the food and drinks were fantastic and very inexpensive. When your done stroll down to the park and meet Carlos the leather maker for bracelets and belts that were handcrafted in front of you and priced low. All the trolleys were outside the hotel and beautiful views of the harbor where you can watch the ships come in. I don't have anything really bad to say about the hotel and I most definitely will return. Beautiful place. See pic below outside the hotel


5 of 5 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
3.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York City
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 17, 2015
Good deal for the price

The hotel was in a great spot. Next to all the bars and restaurants, up the block from el paseo de la princesa, and a 10 min walk to el morro, rented a car paid about $7 a day to park it at the parking lot right across from the restaurant Raices I went in at 4pm and left at 10am...you really don't need a car but I like to travel to isla verde and loiza and anywhere there is Bomba music...So the hotel did the job for me.. I stayed in room 636 and it was right next to where the cleaning staff meet for the start of the shift and friday morning the staff was loud, screaming and joking..when I got up I told the front desk and the next morning it didn't happen again ...The room itself only thing i didn't like was that it has carpet, but bed was great and pillows great....My cleaning ladies were very nice and friendly The pool was nice with a nice view....the gym was good to get a nice pump before the pool or beach...


4 of 4 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Brookly NY
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year