All

Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay Reviews

Caribbean | Jamaica Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 363 Reviews
Value
 
4.4
Service
 
4.5
Beaches & Pools
 
4.5
Dining Options
 
4.3
Room Comfort
 
4.6
4.6 out of 5
"First time to Jamaica and it was wonderful. Friendly staff, great views, and wonderful drinks. What more could you ask for?" – sonya1272
400 out of 434 (92%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Not just for Couples... easter celebration Arriving at Secrets Wild Orchid #NoFilterNeeded Lobby before dinner! Always fresh flowers catarman curise Me with Dr. O :-) View from our room beachside view Sunset our private pool at night beach View from the balcony the beach! Looking toward St. James View from my room. Our room Beautiful!! the good life. Room balcony view our view in the morning!! love it!!! A glass of sorrel juice with rum and ginger, on the patio of Secrets Wild Orchid Preferred Club amazing view View from our room Panorama View Of Perfererd Side a view from my suite my pool outside my suite View From Wild Orchid Perfererd Side View from my room Kayak Beach from room balcony from our balcony at sunset Montego Bay The wonderful beach! View from our room...I miss it! balcony view snorkeling at the resort one of the beaches The view from the ocean front entrance Look at that sunset. paradise! Me and the hubby...we survived our excursion a LATE morning coffee lol The elusive Jamaican Santa drinking a martini

All Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay Customer Reviews

1-10 of 363 reviews. Sort by
July 5, 2012
Best Vacation Ever

My husband I went to Secrets Wild Orchid for our honeymoon last week and we really could not have picked a better place. There are so many good things about this resort that I don't know where to start. -Arrival: when we first got to the resort we were ushered in to one of the front desks to check in. We were given a glass of champagne and a cold washcloth to help cool off. All of the staff made us feel so welcome. It made it seem like they had been waiting all day just for our arrival. It was very nice to have that as a first impression. The bellboy who brought our stuff up to our room was really great, too. He took the time to show us everything about our room such as the safe and how to enter a code, where to put dirty dishes, and just different things. Checking in was a breeze. -Food: Before coming to Jamaica we had heard over and over the food is terrible, but no one we knew had ever stayed at SWO and if they had they would not have said that. Every single meal we enjoyed. I think we both agreed that the meal at the Blue Mountain restaurant was our favorite. I think the least favorite for both of us was the Surf and Turf buffet on Friday nights, but even that was still good. We loved the way the restaurants were laid out and how it felt like you were going somewhere nice every night and didn't have to leave the resort. The breakfast buffet was amazing. I am pretty sure breakfast became my husband's favorite meal because of it. The servers all tried really hard to impress you at every restaurant. They really tried to make sure it was a great dining experience. -Bars/drinks: We didn't spend a lot of time at the bars because we mostly had drinks delivered while at the pool/beach, but all of the drinks we had no matter which bar they came from were all great. My favorite was the Jamaican Smile. I think my husband's was probably a mojito. The club Desires at night is a lot of fun. Also, the nightly entertainment SWO had were all great. They had a lot of variety in the shows we saw. All of the servers at the bars and around the pool/beach were also great. It was like they really did want to make you happy. -Room/resort overall: The rooms were gorgeous. We did the regular rooms, but ocean view. It was so much nicer than what we had pictured. The rooms are trendy and different than the norm, so it felt really special. The shower is awesome and, this may sound strange, but I miss the hair dryer there. The nightly turn down service was unexpected. When we came in after being out at night it was nice to have the bed already turned down and the room felt welcome. The resort overall was definitely a great surprise. We had not expected it to be as big and nice as it was. All the amenities and the layout were above our imagination of what they would be. If you do go I recommend staying on the Wild Orchid side instead of St. James just because of the walk to all the dining options, but since you have run of both areas either resort would work. Overall, this resort and the whole trip were awesome and definitely something we want to go back and do again.

View from our room...I miss it!
145 of 150 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 50 Contributor
From: Nashville, TN
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

January 2, 2011
Great, But I Would Not Call it "Unlimited Luxury"

Overall this was a wonderful vacation, we came back relaxed and happy, and though the weather was not perfect every day we were there, it was enough to give our skin and our outlooks a nice glow. The staff at Secrets Wild Orchid was just fabulous. Everyone is so happy-appearing and friendly -- I think that is Jamaica in general. I WOULD go again. Any shortcomings about this resort and any negative reviews I have read, I tend to pass off as just from whiners or malcontents. HOWEVER: Whiners and malcontents aside (I do not think I am one of those), I do want to give an honest review, and it does include some "things I wish were different" and some disappointments, so here goes. (And it turns out to be quite long. Apologies.) We traveled with our 26-year-old daughter. We have not had a vacation in many years, and we were exhausted and all three of us needed full-on pampering. For the cost of this trip, and the words "unlimited luxury" in the ad copy, I certainly expected that. I am not really sure we got it. What we got was nice, but not "unlimited luxury." The beach is lovely and kept pristine by daily raking early in the morning before most guests get up. The pools are cleaned daily, as well. There are plenty of deck and beach chairs (at least there were for the number of people there while we were there) and fresh towels on the beach. The ocean is clean and it was bathwater warm when we were there (last week of December). The rooms were well appointed. We loved the beds (very comfortable and clean, with nice pillows) we loved the cleanliness and newness of the rooms. The setup of the bathroom was concerning to our daughter. The rooms are definitely not set up for anything other than lovers, and mostly I would say honeymooners. There is only a mesh screen between the bathroom and one of the beds. The toilet area is behind a glass door, and the bathroom itself has a sliding glass door for semi-privacy, but anything that happens in that bathroom is visible and audible to anyone else in the room, and is within a couple of inches from one of the beds. When you first see the setup, it looks lovely and chic, but then the first time someone uses the bathroom, you realize it's not practical. I'm not concerned with undressing in front of others, but my daughter is. This is not suitable for anyone other than two people who are extremely intimate with each other -- so two men or women friends (not lovers) traveling together might find it uncomfortable. My daughter had this most valid observation: Logically it makes no sense to have two beds in a room with a bathroom that contains zero privacy. If you're not sleeping with that other person, you certainly don't want to see or hear them doing their thing in the bathroom. I thought that maybe this was only in a certain class of room, but other guests inquired of me whether this was the setup in our room, so that indicated to me that all the rooms are essentially identical, and that we weren't the only ones who found it a bit strange. As I've seen mentioned in many reviews about this resort, the shower leaked all over the floor into the toilet area. We never could figure out why that happened -- it didn't look like the shower should leak. But it made it quite unpleasant to have that wet floor and wet towels on the floor all the time, and the metal parts at the bottom of the glass doors were already showing rust (though this resort is brand new as of March 2010), and so it seems that this problem has been there from the start. There was plenty of food and plenty of alcohol, and we found service to be fast, cheerful and accommodating. But we are not big drinkers, and unfortunately I have to agree with some other reviewers that most of the food was only passably good -- sometimes it was VERY good (the beef filet in the French restaurant was excellent, as was the red snapper in the Italian restaurant, and I would say that the Christmas pudding in the French restaurant was the best Christmas pudding I've ever had -- really unique and delicious. Then again, I know that most of America doesn't even know what Christmas pudding is, so this would be irrelevant to them). But the food was mostly only passable and definitely not excitingly excellent as "unlimited luxury" would connote to me. The room service menu was appalling both in the number of items offered, and the foods on it -- definitely NOT full-on luxury for room service. Our Preferred package included unlimited DVD rentals, but when we asked where they were, we were told they were at the front desk of the main resort. We went over there, and the guy said that yesterday they had three, but they were old movies (Casablanca, Spiderman II, and something else), but that they have a problem with guests returning them, and they didn't have any available. Our Preferred package also included $200 in resort coupons. I used a couple of them in the spa, but honestly I feel that these coupons are a come-on. They are an inducement to get you to go and use services that are far more expensive than the coupons cover (and you can't use them for the less expensive services and can't combine them). Then there are coupons for $10 off wine, the cheapest bottle of which was a shiraz that I can buy at home in the supermarket for about $8, and the price for the bottle in the restaurant was $45. So I ended up drinking a glass of the free house wine with the meals I wanted wine with... and let's just say that the house wine also wasn't something I'd say fits in with "unlimited luxury." I liked the gym, though it was small -- WOW, the view from the elliptical machine, treadmill, or bikes was almost worth the price of the resort! (gorgeous ocean view, and often you could watch a cruise ship coming across the bay -- awesome!) The spa facilities are also lovely, and the massage I had was great. Again, though, not included in the price, and pretty expensive. The best deal in there is the day pass to the hydrotherapy/sauna/steam room: $55 That was quite wonderful, if you like that sort of thing (I do). I've seen some griping in some reviews about "absolutely no entertainment." I don't agree with this. There was something going on -- some of it quite great (wow, the fiddler one night had the most extensive and impressive and entertaining repertoire I might have ever seen before), every night. If you are dying for your Starbucks (or equivalent) fix, there is a wonderful coffee bar (all free and included in the price) for coffee, cappuccinos or lattes and alcoholic coffee drinks in the Wild Orchid shopping arcade (I don't really know what it is called, but that's what I'm calling it) that is very good. The coffee bar is called "Perfect Coffee." There is unlimited and free wifi in the room in the Preferred Club. Being very hooked into the net, my daughter and I really loved that. An unfortunate thing happened to us on checkout, though. Because of the Nor'Easter, we had extended our stay for two days. We inquired if they could accommodate us, and they could (for which we were very grateful), and we asked for the price. We were given a rate, they said it was confirmed, and we booked. But when we went to check out, they told us that that was a mistaken rate -- that it was for two persons, not three -- and they absolutely would not budge. I asked to talk to the manager and HER manager. (supposedly) They would not honor the rate they had quoted us, and I was very disappointed in that. However, it sure as heck beat lying on the floor in an airport somewhere with a mylar blanket over me. I do think it's a very unacceptable business practice to quote a rate, have the guests rely on that, and then not honor it. I also developed a bit of a crisis of conscience about the "tips included" portion of the all-inclusive package. About three days into our stay, I really started to wonder if the staff ever really see any tips, and I started tipping. I just couldn't bear to think that these people who worked so hard and were so cheerful and helpful all the time were not being appropriately compensated. Call me a bleeding heart -- I don't mind.

A glass of sorrel juice with rum and ginger, on the patio of Secrets Wild Orchid Preferred Club
73 of 75 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Vermont
Age: 45-54
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

May 12, 2011
Highly Recommend- Cannot wait to go back!

I will start off by saying that this was an amazing vacation! I think a lot of it comes down to expectations. Do not be turned off by the negative reviews; how someone can honestly think they are getting “5 star” for this price (all inclusive) is absurd. If you are looking for the quality of The Four Seasons, then pay more and go to The Four Seasons. If you want an affordable, beautiful vacation SWO will exceed your expectations. My husband and I traveled to SWO with another couple (all in our late 20s) for 1 week in April. Having done Preferred Club at other properties we did not even consider non-PC, and as always were very happy with our choice. We landed at the airport around 8:30am., and did not expect to be checked into our room prior to the 3pm check-in time. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by Jeffrey the singing bellhop in SWO PC. The staff brought us mimosas and cold towels and encouraged us to change into our swimsuits and enjoy the property for a few hours until our room was ready. We were on the beach before 10am. Perfect! We returned to the desk around 2:30 and were escorted to our rooms. The rooms are magnificent! Every room in PC has a stunning view (especially at sunset). The rooms are very clean and pretty chic (similar to the style of a W hotel). We had read about people having bathroom privacy issues and what I had in my head (a curtain separating the toilet and the bed) was not at all the case. There was a large Jacuzzi tub which was separated from the bedroom by a nice curtain, but we thought this was a great setup. You could relax in the tub after a long day on the beach and watch TV, have a view of the beach, etc. The toilet and shower were in their own separate rooms with frosted glass (Yes- frosted. As in opaque/ not see-through). The mini-bar was always stocked with whatever we requested, the room service was always hot and fast, and the “secret box” was a great feature. As I mentioned before, we did not expect 5 star dining (we are from NYC and have had plenty of legit 5-star meals). The food here was more than fine. Nothing was ever under-cooked or cold. We never had to do this, but if you are unhappy with your meal you can easily just order another dish. Our reviews of the food and restaurants/ bars and drinks are as follows: - Breakfast buffet- Wonderful. There was nothing I could have possibly wanted that was not offered. We mainly ate made-to-order egg white omelets with fresh veggies and sides of fresh fruit but there were certainly heavier options offered as well. - Lunch- We ate at the poolside restaurant at SWO the first day and were not too impressed with the menu, however the salad bar offered many great lunch options. The next day we tried the poolside restaurant at St James and were much happier. They have standard lunch items that were done well (club sandwiches, salads, burgers, etc). We also ate in the buffet once and were pleased with that, but enjoyed the poolside atmosphere much more. - Snacks- The mini buffet in the PC lobby was great. They offered breakfast in the morning and then an array of snacks throughout the day that were perfect to grab a bite when coming up from the beach for the restroom (finger sandwiches, veggies and dip, chicken, pastries, etc). Around dinner time the options would change again and usually included a variety of sushi rolls. Not bad! And of course who can forget the Jerky Jerky chicken man. Delicious! Some people complain that he was hard to find, but I cannot understand how this is possible. He walks around the property and sings all afternoon! There were also stations set up around the pools with fresh coconuts and fresh fruit. We never had a problem finding delicious snacks when we were hungry. - Dinner- Never had a bad meal, nor did we ever have a problem getting a table. There were times when we had a 30-40 minute wait for a 4 person table but they give you a buzzer and you can head to the open-air martini bar and enjoy live music while you wait. All restaurants at home have a wait so how can you complain about that! Breakdown: o French restaurant- our least favorite, but the food was fine o Hibachi- fantastic! Marlin is a star; you must request to be seated at his table! o Japanese (not at the Hibachi table)- our favorite meal. The pad thai was delicious! o Jamaican- also delicious! Seafood rice and beef stew were great o Italian- being with NY-raised Italian men we were skeptical, but were pleasantly surprised. We were displeased with the sauce upon first bite, but just tossed on a little EVOO, salt and pepper from the table and it was a game changer! Great meal! - Room Service- We called ahead the evening before for breakfast to be delivered on one of our mornings and sure enough there were fresh omlettes delivered the next day. We never ordered the lunch or dinner but the menus were standard. We did order some late-night snacks which were also delivered quickly. I am not sure what people are expecting when they complain about a limited menu; there are club sandwiches, burgers, nachos, etc available 24/7. Did you want a lobster tail at 4am? I mean, really. - Pool Bars- The beach waitresses at SWO PC were a little slow, but you need to remember that they are on island time. Danielle was great! And if you don’t want to wait 15 minutes there is a bar about 50 feet away. The drinks were delicious (especially Bob Marley, Jamaican Smile, and Dirty Banana). In addition to Red Stripe and Red Stripe Light you can get bottles of Heineken and Miller Light if you ask. Also, there is Grey Goose vodka at almost every bar (not just in PC- although Brian makes a great drink) so we couldn’t understand why everyone was not ordering it but we took full advantage. - Piano Bar- Wonderful! Alvin was the best bartender on property and Andre was an amazingly talented musician. There is a nightly piano sing-along where everyone makes requests and sings along with Andre. This is great fun… at one point everyone in the bar (all ages) was down on the ground singing and dancing to “That Loving Feeling” from Top Gun, and getting low with “Shout!” We had the best time here! - Nightclub- Desires had some very current music and a fun dance party scene if you are looking for a little night-cap. Guests of all ages were dancing together and having a great time! We had fun on the banana boat and the hobie cat on the property, and a wonderful excursion on the catamaran cruise (snorkeling and a visit to Margaritaville). This was a wonderful trip at a great value and we cannot wait to go back!


24 of 24 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 9, 2012
Best of all the Secrets and Dreams Resorts

Me and my husband have been traveling over 38 years to many different places .We usally visit one place once and move on to the next place for change, but we had to go back to this resort. It is our favorite resort of all the Secrets and Dreams .They took all the good things from each resort and put it all together in this one place.This resort is wonderfull, something for everyone, ocean is great, people very happy and friendly,food excellent, there is not one thing wrong at this resort. Go and have fun and be treated wonderfull!


26 of 28 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 1000 Contributor
From: New York
Age: 55-64
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

December 6, 2015
Fantastic Trip

We stayed at Wild Orchid for our honeymoon for 7 days. As soon as you get into the resort you are greeted with a "welcome home" and a beverage of choice while you wait to officially check in. We were asked if we would like to upgrade our package to a proffered club package which we chose to do. It was nice, quiet, and laid back, however, the fun seems to happen mostly in the main pool and beaches so we found the upgrade was not worth it for us as a young newlywed couple. The room was beautiful and cleaned daily by the wonderful staff. They came to clean/restock at times when you were away and if you didn't want to be bothered at the time, you could put on your privacy light and they would wait for a better time. The bed and pillows were not very comfy, but the beauty of the room, view, and atmosphere made up for it. The pools were so awesome! The swim up bars at the main pools were great and if you were at the preferred pools or any of the beaches, the staff walked around making sure you had a drink in your hand. The beaches were much smaller than we imagined and the water/sand was not as pretty as we hoped, but again the atmosphere and beauty really made up for it. The food was amazing. We did not have one meal that we did not enjoy. Make sure to make reservations as soon as you check in for the hibachi dinner. The food is delicious and the entertainment is great! Overall we had a great time and will definitely be going back again!


13 of 13 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Lewisberry, PA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 10, 2017
Relaxing vacation 2/25 to 3/4/17

This is a beautiful couples only resort. Every single person we encountered during our stay there worked tirelessly to do their jobs. My husband and I brought extra cash to tip these wonderful people, and were absolutely amazed and also embarrassed to see that other people did not tip these hard working people. These people hustle to bring you drinks and food, make your rooms immaculate, and thus they should be rewarded with tips, as they are providing you with a SERVICE. We are Americans and we understand how tipping works. In our country, it is customary to tip waitstaff, bartenders, drivers, and housekeepers for a job well done. These people are paid a lower wage and rely on tips to supplement their incomes. In Jamaica, which suffers from a much weaker economy... they are paid even less, and to see people not tipping for their exceptional service is ridiculous. There was a farmer's conference going on the week we were there, and we met some wonderfully kind, salt of the earth people. They shared they won this trip as a reward for selling grains. The resort was crowded as a result of this large group, as well of the opening of the sister resort Breathless opening on Tuesday, which shares the beach with Wild Orchid and St. James by walking across a footbridge. We noticed almost every group we sat near did not tip these hard-working people. Granted they won this trip, but at least have the courtesy to bring along some extra tip money to treat the workers here right. The snorkeling off the beach was amazing... swim out way past the buoys and there is a marine park with 40 foot reefs with white sandy bottoms with abundant aquatic life. Free snorkeling tours at 9, 10 and 2 offered by the resort are fabulous. They have gear you can borrow during that tour for free. We brought our own because we went out every morning... water was in the 80s and beautiful, even warmer than the pool water was. They have top shelf liquor at most bars, and you have to ask for it. You get a stronger drink if you walk up to the bar, watch them pour and tip them, they will make you whatever you want as strong as you want it. The only negative I can say about this place is the restaurant situation at dinner time. The morning breakfast buffet is always excellent. The Saturday night seafood buffet was excellent as well. I was disappointed in the dinner choices... there is no buffet at night except for Saturdays., so you have to make a reservation at one of their five themed restaurants.... a mexican, jamaican, hibachi japanese, italian and french. You can only make a reservation for one--the Hibachi. Otherwise, you just show up and put your name on the list and wait. Depending on how busy/what time you choose to eat, you may have to wait to eat. One plus is you can order as many entrees, apps and desserts as you wish from these.. but the quality of the food varies. We found ourselves eating at the french place three nights out of the seven, because it was the only one that had food choices that we found appetizing. For lunch, you can eat at the buffet, or Oceana pool bar--good wraps, or beach snack hut which had good burgers, beef patties, and fresh cut potato chips. The house band was EXCELLENT, and I wish they played more than they did. They had a great Oscar viewing party with appetizers while we were there, and a Mardi Gras themed street party on Fat Tuesday that week that was top notch. I saw the house band twice, other nights showed a Bob Marley movie, and the entertainment staff had some games. The outdoor entertainment stage is in back of the piano bar. There is an outdoor ampi-theater like seating area and stage that overlooks the bay and beautiful mountain backdrop. It's really breathtaking at night. The room was gorgeous. Our ocean front view suite was worth it. Soaking tub was jetted and was a treat, but only fit one person. Bed was super comfy. Private balconies were great. It was a real treat to be serenaded by a strolling saxaphone player on two evenings. We also enjoyed the market night (wed) where the resort brought in local craftsman to sell their wares, prices are negotiable. Kudos to the coffee bar at the resort. Just like having a Starbucks on premises.. . a real treat every day--they are open 24 hours, a real great feature. Delicious espresso, cappuchinos and macchiatos, as well as frappuchinos. They had an ice cream machine there as well that was a great feature of the resort. Loved the free nature walk at 10 am. The woman who did it was extremely knowledgable and truly had a passion for plants. A real standout was "Squash", a young man who worked mostly mornings as a towel attendant at the Wild Orchid pool. The first day we arrived, it was sunset, he personally stopped while picking up towels and arranging chairs to welcome us to the resort and brought me some handpicked flowers. He went above and beyond to welcome us "home" and really set the tone for our week there. Every time he saw us all week, he struck up conversation with us to make sure we were enjoying our time there. He was always hustling and working so very hard. If I had any suggestions for improvement, it would be to have a small buffet section (half of the usual maybe) open every night for people just looking to get in and out and be able to choose the foods they like.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: USA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

September 8, 2012
Our Third Return

Returned 8-26 to 9-1 for our third visit to Wild Orchid Preferred. So relaxing. The grounds were well kept. We enjoyed seeing some of our previous friendly staff at Preferred and the wonderful Barracuda Bar. The entertainment was great. The food was very good. The resort sent us a Champagne breakfast to honor our return visit and it was good. The Spa is out of this world with skilled, talented staff. We hated to leave but are looking forward to our return next year. Top notch!


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: College Station/Bryan, Tx
Age: 55-64
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 3, 2015
If you have an opportunity to do so - GO!!!!!

This was our first visit to Secrets Wild Orchid and our first time at an adults-only all-inclusive resort, and we loved almost everything about it!...and we will definitely return, as soon as we can!! The grounds are beautiful and well-maintained. The beaches (comprised of 4-5 separate coves) are pristine...with soft white sand, warm turquoise water, and virtually no seaweed. There were always plenty of lounge chairs available, and we really appreciated the abundance of palapas and palm trees that provided shade for those of us who needed it on the beach. The staff was exceptional!!...friendly, helpful, and quick to respond to our requests in every service area: front desk, concierge, housekeeping, maintenance, IT, food service, etc....and many of them went above and beyond in providing unexpected "extras" for us...such as flowers and a fruit&cheese plate accompanied by a bottle of chilled wine, in honor of our 40th anniversary (which I had only told them about upon check-in)! The food in all of the numerous dining venues (except one) was excellent! We especially liked the fact that we did not have to make advance reservations for the specialty restaurants, all of which operated on a first-come, first-served basis, AND we only had to wait in line for dinner one time during the entire week of our stay...and never for breakfast or lunch. We also appreciated NOT having to wear wrist-bands at this all-inclusive. And although this is a large resort, which was fully-booked during the week we were there, it never felt crowded - anywhere - and the overall "vibe" was mellow and relaxed...perhaps because this resort seems to cater to couples who are celebrating honeymoons, anniversaries, birthdays, or other special occasions, and who are not there to "party-hardy" in large, rowdy groups. We personally liked that very much!! We also liked the diversity of the guest-group: from many different countries and of different ethnicities and ages. My husband and I (ages 80 & 70) were, no doubt, among the "elders" in the group, but we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves among the younger folk! If I were to give one suggestion, in terms of what we would like to change, it would be to have a bit MORE music and entertainment available throughout the day and evening. If anything, it was a bit too quiet for our tastes...and, as previously noted, we are 70 & 80! ;-) Otherwise...I will highly recommend this resort to everyone I know who is looking for a child-free vacation option in Jamaica! Ya' Mon'!!


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: North Carolina, United States
Age: Over 65
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

December 30, 2012
Best Honeymoon Ever

I always read reviews before I make a choice so I wanted to give back because they truly do help. Me and my wife stayed for 6 days and 5 nights for our honeymoon. We never wanted to leave! The service is incredible and the room is just as great. I think it was the time of year but there was no way the resort was full. There was maybe max 10 people in the pool at one time. We never had to fight for a seat at the beach or pool and we would not go out till 11 or 12. You get to use both Secret resorts. You cant even tell they were two resorts unless someone told you. We did not do the preferred. They were more secluded. That is the only difference I could tell. But they do not check if you go to there beach or pool. I would recommend saving money and just do the standard. Every room has an awesome ocean view. The food is the only thing I didnt give 5 stars. It is just normal food. But it was still delicious! There is plenty of options so you never have to go to the same place twice. The chicken wraps for lunch were awesome. And dont miss the Jerk Chicken cart! Jerky Jerk Jerk! We can not wait to go back!


21 of 23 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: North Carolina
Age: 25-34

November 22, 2015
We Will Be Going Back!!!!

It was my husband and I first time in Jamaica. First time even out of the USA and Secrets Resort treated us with excellent care. Even thou staff are supposed to be nice, they were so genuine and ready to assist you at all times and any times. The whole establishment was clean and cared for. There were plenty of activities to do that was included in your package and plenty that were not. So if you didn't have any extra money to spend, not a problem. All inclusive was truly all inclusive. My FAVORITE was a drink wherever I was at or whenever I wanted it! Rum Punch, Rum Punch! Shane was awesome bartender. It rained one night but that didn't stop the wonderful indoor entertainment. Shopping off the resort with Esan & Brad was so informative and they stayed close by when we were around the city folks in Montego Bay shopping area. Shelly and Jermaine were great by the water sports. Wallisha and Sasha were the warmest ladies ever, Just everybody really. This trip was exactly what I was thinking of an island vacation. The food was of a different taste. this was the only low mark I would give. The Jerk Chicken is a must! But you have to hunt him down to get some. when he's out, he's out! Make a reservation ASAP when you get checked in for the Japanese Hibachi grill, you'll miss out if you don't. Most importantly ...I felt safe on the resort.

Kayak
9 of 9 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Kansas City, Missouri USA
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year