All

Secrets the Vine Resort Reviews

Mexico | Mexico - Cancun Our Rating rating Details
InfoCustomer ReviewsQuestions & Answers
Customer Rating 251 Reviews
Value
 
4.6
Service
 
4.7
Beaches & Pools
 
4.7
Dining Options
 
4.5
Room Comfort
 
4.7
4.7 out of 5
"Awesome new hotel with an incredible staff. "The Vine" references all the special wine they have but is not included. Had a great time" – kdj004
272 out of 296 (92%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Looking out Pool Morning Sunrise pool/beach view Ocean front! View from our resort chairs. Beautiful Beach Pool Perfect View Sunset Main lobby area. One of many pools View from Balcony (22nd Floor) Boardwalk Beach View of the hotel zone from our balcony. The Beach Blue Skies Pool @ sunrise View on both sides from room View from our room. Beautiful (from room) Bedroom (22nd Floor) Beach Cool bar area View from our room Drink in the pool

All Secrets the Vine Resort Customer Reviews

1-10 of 251 reviews. Sort by
April 18, 2013
White-glove service

My husband and I just returned from a 5-night vacation. We selected this resort because it was new and seemed very nice, based on other reviews. It was a really incredible trip. We have stayed in many Sandals resorts throughout the Caribbean so we are used to all-inclusive environments. This was different and I'll tell you why: 1. The hotel has 750 employees (we finally had to ask someone when it seemed the staff outnumbered the guests by 2:1)---all who act like they work for you. The staff is extremely welcoming and seem to bend over backwards to help you. It seems like every time you turn around someone is offering to carry something for you, or bring you a new drink, or just smile. It was really nice. The entertainment staff was fantastic, too. Engaging but not pushy. 2. The food was very good. The sushi at the Dragon was our favorite--we ate there 3 out of 5 nights. It was great. All the restaurants were busy. We also liked the sports bar for casual, bar food. 3. The beach was terrific. It was really windy while we were there and the waves were crashing hard. But, we had a blast playing in the water and taking long walks early in the morning. 4. The room service menu was really great---we even ordered food at 4 in the morning one night, and it came in less than 20 minutes. 5. The double rain shower in the room was fabulous. We stayed in an oceanview honeymoon suite---a bit of an upgrade but it was really nice. We felt like celebrities! Very romantic. 6. The crowd (on average) was in their late 30s and seemed to be very professional and laid back. The atmosphere was more serene, than party-like (with a few exceptions noted below). 7. The coffee bar was really great. For anyone who needs their morning coffee, this place was great--and offered great snacks throughout the day, too. I visited at least 3X per day and it was great. 8. The 1:00PM chef show was so cool. You could sit by the pool and all the chefs walk around and hand you plates of awesome food (usually the specials of the day). It was something you should take advantage of because the food was really great, and it is brought to you so you don't have to get dressed up for lunch. There were some downsides worthy of mention, just so you know what to prepare for. 1. Bring about $100-200 in $1 bills so you can provide tips. Even though this is an all-inclusive resort, the staff seems to expect tips. We gave about $1-2 each round, but with dinner we left $5-10. They are very appreciative when you give them money, and don't make you feel bad if you do not give them something---but in general, we felt like we HAD to give tips. 2. Since this hotel is in Cancun, right next to the Hard Rock Hotel, evening noise is loud. If you want a quieter room, then book an oceanfront front room, or request an ocean view room facing Sandos Hotel. The Hard Rock was loud at night. 3. We didn't visit the spa, gym, and did not participate in the evening entertainment. We heard from others it was all really good--but we were morning people, not late night people. 4. It was our first time to Cancun and when we arrived and checked in with Olympus Tours to catch our ground transfer, we were diverted to a man who was trying to sell us a timeshare for El Cid resort. After about 20 minutes we handed him $5 and told him we were leaving. We really didn't like arriving to a sales pitch for another resort--we just wanted to go to our hotel. Be prepared for this! 5. The Preferred Club is worth the money if you like premium spirits, like unlimited wifi and phone calls, and want to hang out in the preferred club pool. We liked it because we used the phone call service to check on our kids every day. It was really nice. But, the preferred club does not come with any other perks, like expedited room service, expedited seating at dinner, etc. And, the preferred club pool was overrun with a corporate group on our final 2 days and they were loud, drunk, and annoying. We were really put off by this group and did not feel they should have been able to take over the entire preferred club area. 6. There was a wedding party in town the final 2 nights we were there. They were loud, drunk, liked to fight, and did not fit in with the other guests. It was like the Jersey Shore had decided to visit Secrets-The Vine. We were really displeased with this group because they were really disruptive. 7. The dress code is not overly enforced. We saw a lot of dress code violators, so if you are debating whether to wear pants or shorts (for the men) for dinner, don't sweat it too much. Ladies got really dressed up--all looked really nice. So ladies, don't be afraid to dress up. 8. Bring lots of sunscreen--lotion not spray kind--minimum 30 SPF. The winds are so high that spray sunscreen never applied right and everyone had striped burns by day 3. It was actually kind of funny to see, but I recommend you bring lotion sunscreen...and aloe for afterwards. The sun is REALLY HOT!!!!!!!! Long review--sorry for that. But overall it was a great trip--would go again. Next time we would book an oceanfront room--definitely a suite in the preferred club. We would bring more sunscreen. And, we would not let the Olympus Tours people steal even a second of our time. We would also check to see what corporate tours or private parties are planned---we would want to avoid large, loud groups. Everything else we would do again... Cheers


317 of 325 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image
Top 25 Contributor
From: Houston, TX
Age: 35-44
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

July 13, 2013
Cancun Jewel

We returned from 6 days, 5 nights at Secrets the Vine. We had an amazing time, we wish we booked a longer vacation! The hotel is stunning with it's contemporary flare. You are greeted with a glass of champagne. The staff and service was outstanding; so accommodating and extremely nice - you get treated like royalty. One night, my boyfriend placed his invisalign retainers on a plate while we were eating at one of the restaurants. Accidentally the waiter took all of the plates off of the table including the one with his retainers on them. When we realized they were missing, we talked to the waiter and he told us that everything is disposed in a garbage. We told them it was okay and continued with dessert. Before we left, the manager came out with a plate that had his invisalign retainers on them. They went through the garbage and found them then washed them for him. Of course we thanked them and took them to the room to clean them, but they went above and beyond to find them. In America, they would tell us tough luck. Restaurants: The restaurants were amazing. There were several different places to eat- Italian, Mediterranean, Steakhouse, Mexican, Asian Fusion and a Peruvian grill by the pool. All of the restaurants were good. Small portions, but no reservations are required so you can literally restaurant hop in one night if your hungry enough. The only downside was the wait. Sometimes there was a 30-45 minute wait, but they gave buzzers and you could walk around the hotel while you waited. Pool/Beach: There were three pools on the main floor and one on the 12th floor that was reserved for preferred guests. The pools are nice-water not too cold and not too warm. You can request floats to use. One pet peeve was the sloppy people bringing dishes of food by the pool area and dropping food in the pool while eating. The same for drinks. It's not the hotels fault- just disgusting people. However, the staff was always on top of cleaning up. The pool staff is amazing. Everyone is such a hard worker; they bring umbrellas and the drop of your request. They play light music in the early morning and around 10 they play dance music when the entertainment staff comes out which is only short lived. The rest of the day is light music. Some people on the reviews complained about this, but I think it was great. In fact they could have played dance music for more than they did. It makes the hotel lively and it's fun.... you're in Cancun Mexico...live a little. If the music is not your cup of tea, there is the third pool that is away from the ocean on the main floor that is more quiet and reserved, Overall, the music was great and there isn't a rowdy crowd of college kids to ruin the mood. The beach is nice but the waves are rough in cancun. There was beach activities during the day that were fun. The beach chairs are also very nice. ROOMS: We stayed on the 18th floor which is not the preferred guest section. The room was very nice. Comfy bed, huge shower with a rainfall shower head. The only thing is the bathroom had glass walls as a divider so not much privacy. The tv has playboy free for anyone who is interested. Many of us were surprised to see that. There is a maid service called turn down. It's were the maids come in in the late afternoon and prepare your bed for evening, turn the tv on to the spa aromatherapy channel and leave a tray with chocolate and the itinerary for the next day. Great concept, but terrible timing. One night my boyfriend and I were in the shower and the maid walked in. Another night we were on the balcony and the maid ran in and shut the blinds. We got scared because we didn't know what she was doing, but she just didn't want to interrupt us. We didn't particularly like that, but if you put the do not disturb sign outside your door while in the room, they won't come. Closet space is okay - a lot of drawers. Good lighting with many controls (you have to get use to it although the bell boy teaches you the first day). Apparently there is free clothes washing services because my boyfriend and I put a couple of dirty underwear in the laundry bag just for ourselves and the maids ended up taking it and washing them. Normally you have to fill out a sheet for laundry, but we didn't. Entertainment: We liked the fact that it was an adults only resort. Especially since there was a good mixture of age ranges. The entertainment during the day was good. The entertainment staff is fun and very nice. They make friends with everyone and keep people busy who want to participate. They are also around at night to host fun games (karaoke night or the newlywed game) or small shows (like the circus show in the lobby) in the hotel. There is the piano bar and the sports bar which is boring-only good for pool table. The piano bar is opened at night for music and games that the crew host. They also chaperone people from the hotel to downtown Cancun where all of the clubs are. You pay a fee of around $65 per person for open bar in the club and taxi ride to the club, but not back. Taxi rides back are expensive ($20 USD), We recommend taking the bus for $1. Besides that, the hotel is not very lively at night. We wish there was a club in the hotel so we didn't have to take the ride to downtown. All in all, it was a great vacation. No complaints. Definitely will be going back!


51 of 53 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New Jersey
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

February 28, 2013
Excellent Hotel, Service and Pools!

This hotel was absolutely gorgeous, and the staff was amazing! They were always there to get you a fresh towel at the pool, bring your drink in a hurry, and help in any possible way they could. We got a Concierge Room on the 25th, floor, and the view alone was worth it. When we landed, Olympus Tours was there to greet us and take us promptly to the hotel. Our room wasn't immediately ready, so when they took us to the 25th floor to check in with our personal Concierge, they took us down to breakfast and had our room ready within 30 minutes. The room itself was exactly as pictured, was gorgeous, brand new and had an awesome layout. It was perfect for a couple, and we had a huge King Bed, couch, sitting area, table, gigantic balcony overlooking the beautiful ocean and bay and had an amazing shower that could fit at least 10 people! :) The closets had ample space, the mini-bar was restocked multiple times throughout the day, and the turn down service happened every few hours! The ocean was the most beautiful blue I have ever seen, and the 4 pools were unbelievable. There were plenty of chairs and room to sit, layout, and even get cabanas in the afternoon. The only two negatives I can even think of about the hotel, were that the food was only OK, but the service with the food was amazing. I was slightly disappointed, because the other reviews I read said they food was just great. I would say it is only slightly better than cruise food, although the options were nice and there wasn't much of a wait time anywhere we went. The drinks were top shelf, including everything, and the staff always made sure everything was made correctly. The outside sitting areas were gorgeous, and the beach and pool chairs were very comfortable. I definitely felt "at home" at this hotel. The other thing that was slightly annoying was that the staff was always at the door, trying to clean the room, refresh the mini-bar or do anything, and would knock once and immediately walk in. We quickly realized to lock the door so no one could just enter at will. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel to any couple who wants to relax, enjoy the beach, sun and pool. The infinity pools are amazing, the sun is perfect, and the staff is beyond service oriented. It was a wonderful trip that was very well worth the money. And if you get the chance, I highly recommend Blue Ray Marina snorkeling tours, we had a blast and our guide Wilbert was awesome! A++++++!!!! Thanks Cheap Caribbean!


17 of 17 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
3.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Florida
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 19, 2013
Awesome anniversary trip!

My husband and I returned two weeks ago from our stay at Secrets The Vine and we absolutely loved it. We have been to several other all-inclusive hotels but none compared to this one. The hotel was immaculate and beautiful including the pools, beach, lobby, and rooms. The service was great and every employee had a smile on their face. I especially appreciated the attention to detail. For example, one night after dinner at Dragon's one of the waiter's ran around the hotel looking for us just so he could give my husband his cell which he left behind! I'm not sure how he found us but the fact that he took the time to do so was really appreciated. Everyone that works here anticipates your needs and are constantly making sure you are happy and tended to. As for the food, for the first time I can say that I enjoyed every meal that I ate. My experience with other all-inclusives has left much to be desired when it comes to food and drinks but this hotel exceeded my expectations. I enjoyed every single meal! I want to give a special thanks to Marcelo and Carlos from the Market Cafe who hosted a private dinner for us on our last night to celebrate our anniversary. They shut down a section of the cafe and had a table set up for us decorated beautifully with roses and candles. Our meal was amazing and we loved the quiet time that we could spend together. It was the icing on the cake! I came back raving about this hotel and have already convinced the people I know to come back with me next year... Overall a fantastic getaway that was truly memorable!


14 of 14 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: New York
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

June 5, 2015
Resort was beautiful...but that's about it

Sorry in advance for the lengthy review but I want to give everyone that might go there a chance to read this... We booked our vacation trough Cheap Caribbean and it was awesome! Everything was done for us and the flights, the room and the transportation to and from the resort went off without a hitch! Definitely will be using this website again. As for the resort, the view and the resort itself was absolutely beautiful and amazing. As soon as we walked in we were greeted with a cold towel and champagne. I think this is because we upgraded to the Preferred Club package. We had our swimsuits in our carryon so we met our butler, changed and went to the beach while our room was getting cleaned. Once we got on the beach, we were bothered by at least 4 different people trying to sell things...VERY annoying, so if you want to relax, stay by the pool or sit clear up by the stairs away from the front of the beach area. The service was excellent with getting drinks and towels for us while we sat down there and even when we went to the pool, the servers got us towels and any drink we wanted. We got a breakfast in bed menu for our anniversary morning with champagne so that was pretty nice! Once it turned 3:00, we got to check in and our room was amazing! Very modern, clean and they even put a Happy Anniversary banner on our door. :) You don't have to bring anything with you! They have toothbrushes, toothpaste, razors, shaving cream, sunscreen (SPF 15), you name it they have it! I can't say a bad thing about the rooms and the bed was super comfy. The butler service and "preferred club" upgrade really wasn't worth it. Other than the banner on our door and a breakfast in bed on our anniversary date, the butler didn't do much. When you go on the levels you can go on with the "preferred club" no one really asks you if you have the upgrade so anyone can go to the pool or lounge area. The service was hit or miss. Some servers were acting annoyed and some were very pleased to help you. Then some were hinting at tipping? The last couple all inclusive resorts we went too, we NEVER once tipped, granted we tried and they said they would lose their jobs if they took money from us...so I don't know if it's just Mexico or what? We paid for all-inclusive and that's the last thing I want to try to carry cash around everywhere for a tip. Granted we did tip for the drivers and excursions we did off the resort....but on the resort? As for the food....terrible. Never have been so disappointed in the quality of food at any resort before. There were maybe 2 things we liked from the whole resort, including the room service menu. Very disappointing. The Italian restaurant was supposed to be the best restaurant on the resort and it probably was the worst. The 4 cheese pizza was inedible because of the large amount of gorgonzola on it and my husband's pasta tasted like noodles and tomato paste. The Asian restaurant had good sushi, but the chicken teriyaki was SUPER salty. The Sea Side Grill was good and had the best fish tacos. Drinks were okay, nothing spectacular. The only reason I would come back is for the view, the resort itself for the cleanliness and comfortably of the room and then explore outside the resort some more.


12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 3
Value
 
4.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
1.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Portsmouth, VA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

November 18, 2015
Nice Short Romantic Getaway

I chose this vacation for my husband and I (36 & 30) for a quick getaway for our 11 year anniversary. I chose it for the Piano Bar and restaurant options.. I'm sure there were more reasons but I can't remember now! Anyway, I purchased the group transportation with AmStar. The driver was very nice and I felt safe. They want you to visit their booth as soon as you get to the hotel (to try and sell you excursions) but our Concierge said not to worry about it yet. (We checked in with them the day before we left and they were not happy about that - called our room every day) David Martinez, the concierge, was very nice. We had champagne as soon as we entered since we said it was our anniversary during booking. We got to the hotel around 1:00 and they couldn't check us in early so David told us to go have lunch and then meet back up with him. He wanted to tell us about the presentation we could do the next morning during breakfast to earn a free romantic dinner on the beach. We went ahead and accepted. At 3:00 our room was still not ready; David told us we could have our room in 20 minutes or upgrade to a better room for a 40 min wait. We accepted the 40 minute wait. He told us the view would be better but it was about the same as the room I booked with the "Deluxe Ocean View", however the room was bigger. I changed and worked out in the gym which had a lovely view of the ocean. At 3:45, our room was not ready so David gave me another $100 coupon. Finally in our room and it was great! Beautiful view of the bay on the left and ocean on the right, with a decent sized patio - not completely private but private enough. Bar was stocked with Coronas, Sodas, M&Ms and Pringles. Very clean room. The presentation the next day was low pressure and interesting. It was nice learning about more of their properties, however, it at first sounds like it will really save you money to join but once calculated it does not. Back to the hotel - The hotel is one of the tallest on the beach and the pools were some of the best from what I could see next door. People put items on chairs before they go to breakfast to save their spots but we could usually still find one after breakfast and if there wasn't one the pool staff could be asked for more chairs. The cabanas usually freed up too - I think people like to be in the sun more and have a better view of the ocean. Most of the cabanas only had a view of the pool. The wait staff was nice at the pool, however, I felt like you had to sort of flag them down to get help- they didn't readily come up to you and ask you for what you needed. Even with tipping. The already mixed frozen drinks had very cheap alcohol in them - tasted terrible. It's best to ask specifically for what you want. Food was average the hotel at best - reminded me of Cruise Food. Breakfast was decent with fresh omelettes and fruit -everything else was mediocre. The pool food was our favorite because the restaurants seem like they tried to be overly fancy but not actually tasty. We ordered fries and fajitas from the pool staff every day -- you have to ask for a menu.. it took us a while to figure out where people got the fajitas from. Sugar Reef had burgers you could have cooked for you at the bar, but the Sea Salt Grill wasn't our thing as my husband doesn't like sea food. The Asian fusion food was good, but again, the menu tried to hard to be fancy - we prefer simple. Every time I had chicken (in the mexican cafe, asian restaurant, outside, etc) it was very good and tender. The Italian restaurant had a nice salad and fresh cheese bar, but the entres again were mediocre. The wait staff at all restaurants were very friendly but not very quick in replenishing beverages. Room service food was again, mediocre and took 35-45 minutes at midnight. I think if we had more time we would have figured more out -- main thing to know is you have to ask for what you want. The room maids were wonderful and did a GREAT job at cleaning up after us. The hotel was very quiet and calm during the week but seemed to perk up a bit on Friday and Saturday when they were more full. Karoke on Thursday night was fun. The sports bar said their was a DJ every night but there was not. The speakers near the pool table were too loud -- there wasn't any one even in there watching the sports.. very empty most of the time. The DJ was in the VIne Bar for a little bit the couple nights we were there. He'd also come to the pool for about an hour around noon and there were dancers and some activities. This is definitely not a party place most of the week but nice for couples wanting a quiet getaway. Loved the look of the hotel, loved the room, the view, and the pools were GREAT. Would have love some better food and better alcohol without having to ask.

View on both sides from room
12 of 12 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
4.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
2.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Texas
Age: 25-34
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

July 8, 2015
PERFECT FOR COUPLES!

***Mainly for Couples*** After carefully reading the reviews, my boyfriend and I decided to give secrets the vine a shot. As soon as we arrived at the hotel we were greeted with warm towels and a glass of champagne. We arrived a little early (11am) so we had to wait for our room until 2pm and were given a pager to notify us when ready. We proceeded to check out the property which was beautiful and spotless. Very well kept up. The staff was the friendlies we've every encountered. We had lunch at Sea Salt Grill by the pool. (Great fish tacos) we continued to explore the property and the laid on the big couch near the front desk waiting on the room. We were exhausted and ended up passing out for about 30 min until the pager woke us. We were taken to our room by one of the employees, very informative. We did a deluxe ocean view which was a great view, the inside of the room was very modern and looked brand new. We had some of the best sleep on this bed, even looked up the brand to purchase but it seems to be a Mexican based company so not sure about shipping Etc, anyways on to the Food: no reservation are required which usually means for ridiculous wait times, but to our surprise the longest wait was about 30-45 min, which gives a good reason for a glass of wine at the bar. Dragons was by far the best restaurant, great sushi, dumplings, and teppanyaki. Don't forget to get the tempura fried ice cream. The Italian restaurant(nebullio) was very good as well, great little salad bar, ossobuco and lasagne were great. The steakhouse on the other hand was a little disappointing, usually we avoid steaks at all inclusive since they're usually poor quality meats but thought we'd give it a shot, well it was also poor quality. Would have rather dined at Dragons again. Room service was decent, had the steak and fries twice. Awesome the first time but way over cooked the second time. Didn't really care for anything else from there except for dessert, creme brûlée from service was GREAT! Probably had it like 4 times. The sports bar has awesome calamari. And the cowboy burger( flank steak sandwich) was great! I ditched the bread and just ate the steak. The buffet we only did for breakfast and it was decent. The pool very nice and very clean. They have these blue floating mats but always seems to be a shortage. The cabanas are nice to rent out(free) just find the "pool butler" I think his names Gustavo. A $20 should get you a cabana no problem. On that note! PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE tip these workers, and tip them good. I realize it said tip is included, but for great service I always believe you should give extra. These servers/bartender/housekeepers make about 5-20 USD per day. Every drink we ordered we'd tip $1-$5... Every dinner we had we'd give served $10-$20... We even gave the pool guy a $20 since we sat near the towel stand and this boy was running around all day. We watched him ask one of the servers if he could keep it and she said Of course that's for you. Anyways these guys work very hard to make our vacations enjoyable and to take care of us, so please take care of them. Overall a great experience we would definitely go back and would recommend this to any couple going to cancun.


11 of 11 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Orlando, FL
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year

June 25, 2013
Beautiful resort, but too many "upsale" attempts

The resort was beautiful, but our trip was short (only 3 nights), so we were quite put off by all of the upsale attempts. We had been looking forward to this vacation for quite some time, so could have done without wasting so much time being pitched on time share sales, and other hidden sales attempts, including the 25 minutes we spent having our waiter pitch us a great "exclusive" chef-prepared meal for couples "like us", who were celebrating our Anniversary. He seemed so sincere at first, and claimed it was free from the start, unlike the beachfront dinner that we were already aware of. After going through the whole explanation and deciding to do it, he took out a notepad to take our orders for the following night when we were going to do this. At the very end, he asked what type of wine we would like. When we stated we would just have the house wine, it was then when he advised us we were required to purchase a bottle of wine for this. We still decided to go ahead and do this, but when I picked a wine, the waiter then told me that I could not pick the one I chose and that it had to be a bottle valued at $90 or greater. I don't know about the majority of people, but when we put our money toward a so-called "all-inclusive" vacation, why would I then have to pay for what they consider "extras". Another example of this was when I tried to order a drink with a different brand of vodka. They told me they could make it, but that the vodka (Belvedere) I was requesting would be an up-charge, and was not considered "inclusive". Lastly, when we first checked in at the front desk, before even going to our room, they pull you over to another desk and pressure you into signing up for a time-share presentation the very next morning. They offer your standard time-share awards (in our case, a credit toward a spa treatment), which turn out to be not as good as they originally sound. The so-called hour and a half presentation ended up lasting closer to two and a half hours, and although we were told it was not high-pressure sales like other time shares, it certainly was. Overall, the resort was nice, but I would not return. When my wife and I finally get a chance to take a vacation without the kids, the last thing we want to do is sit through time share presentations and being upsold on other things through hidden sales pitches.


20 of 22 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 4
Value
 
3.0
Service
 
3.0
Beaches & Pools
 
4.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Austin, Texas
Age: 35-44
Travel: 1-2 trips/year

March 9, 2013
Fantastic Vacation

This was our first all inclusive vacation as well as first time to Cancun. We couldn't have made a better decision. The Vine is a beautiful building in a perfect spot on the beach. The service was outstanding. We didn't come across one employee that wasn't over the top kind or willing to help. On top of their incredible well manners, they were fun to talk to and joked around with us. No matter what our request or favor, they quickly jumped on their feet to serve us. I have never seen a group of better and classier well trained employees. They also spoke great english which was very helpful. The food was very delicious, which we were skeptical of. Much, MUCH better than a cruise ship! The rooms were beautiful with fantastic balconies and views of the beach. I have never seen such beautiful, blue water. You have the option of laying out on the beach or up by one of the pools. There is always someone coming around to check on you, bring you food or a drink, or drop an umbrella by you to cover you for some shade. Definitely would recommend this place to anyone looking for a great vacation. We had a wonderful time.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
4.0
Room Comfort
 
4.0
User Image

From: Salt Lake City, UT
Age: 25-34

September 6, 2015
Dont listen to the Negative Reviews!!

I booked this trip about 7 months before my wife and I went on it. I didn't think to look at the reviews until the Friday before the Monday I left. All I read were negative reviews about this resort and it definitely worried me. However, EVERYTHING about this trip (except 1 small thing below) was exactly as described if not better. The resort- AMAZING. The Staff- AMAZING. The Rooms- AMAZING. The View- AMAZING. The Restaurants-AMAZING. I am not really sure where all of the negativity expressed below came from, but it is definitely unwarranted. I mentioned above about a small thing, which was a pre-booked excursion. My Wife wanted to go Horseback riding on the beach so we booked it. The picture clearly shows a Horse on the beach with the Ocean to the side. Unfortunately, it was an old picture as Horses are not allowed on the Beach anymore. However, we were able to trade that excursion in for another activity so no harm no foul. What to do: CocoBongo (VIP gets all you can drink and good view of the show) WaveRunners (Right out front of the resort on the beach do not buy online $60- 30 min.) Avoid purchasing any excursions until you get there as there is a Cheap Caribbean representative who can set everything up for you at the resort for the same price. This will ensure you don't plan to much beforehand as the resort itself is the best part. I would recommend to get one of the Preferred Rooms so you can take advantage of the Private Pool and Special Food/Beverage room. The hotel is pretty quiet and has an Older Relaxed Luxury type feel. My wife and I (28/31 respectively) were probably the youngest people there, definitely the youngest that we saw. However, there is an all inclusive HardRock next door that you can get a day pass to if you want a more upbeat party.


8 of 8 found this helpful
Was this helpful? Yes No
Overall Rating: 5
Value
 
5.0
Service
 
5.0
Beaches & Pools
 
5.0
Dining Options
 
5.0
Room Comfort
 
5.0
User Image

From: Orange County, CA
Age: 25-34
Travel: 3-6 trips/year